DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Applicant remarks, filed on 01/06/2026 regarding 35 U.S.C. 103
rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7, applicant’s remark states the combination of references does not address an energy efficient crane with shared actuators, relays, and variable speed drive.
However, the energy efficiency feature is not disclosed in the claim. Furthermore, as disclosed in the first action, Reddy discloses controlling multiple motors/actuators through a single VFD and relay. Moreover, new reference Assfalg teaches different drive devices, similar to the actuators, to control different movements of the crane.
On page 7, applicant’ remark asserts that Neubert teaches controlling of single crane movement not multiple movements, and does not disclose eco-design benefits of reduced number of variable speed drives.
However, as disclosed above, the benefits of reducing the number of variable speed drives is not disclosed in the claims. Moreover, new reference Assfalg discloses a crane system where different drive devices/actuators control different movements of the crane components.(Assfalg, paragraph 13, The drive devices, which are subjected to the mentioned limitations in the various operating modes, in particular in the above-described extended limit load range, can be assigned to different movement axes of the crane)
On page 8, applicant’s remark states that Reddy is related to hydraulic fracturing pumps not crane piloting, and it does not address the controlling of multiple distinct crane movements. However, Reddy is used to address the similar electrical components such as the VFD/VSD, relay, and motor/actuators which perform similar functions in both hydraulic fracturing pumps and crane systems.
On page 8, applicant’ remark asserts one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to implement the performance of multiple distinct movements using fewer drives.
However, Reddy discloses one of the reasons for reducing the number of controllers(VFD) is to reduce the cost of the hydraulic fracturing system. One of ordinary in the skill in the art would be motivated to implement Reddy’s VFD-actuator set system on a crane to reduce the cost of crane piloting system. Reddy, paragraph 50, Reducing the amount of motor controllers used in a hydraulic fracturing system 100 may significantly reduce cost of the hydraulic fracturing system 100. )
On page 9, applicant’ remark asserts the combination of the references does not address the amended claim where the actuators function alternately( not simultaneously).
However, Reddy's operation of each motor individually by closing and opening circuits demonstrates the relay’s capability to operate motors alternately. Moreover, new reference Assfalg discloses the actuation of different drive devices/actuators alternately (not simultaneously).(Assfalg, paragraph 13, The drive devices, which are subjected to the mentioned limitations in the various operating modes, in particular in the above-described extended limit load range, can be assigned to different movement axes of the crane in particular the hoist, the trolley and the slewing gear of the crane or the said components associated [lifting mechanism], trolley drives and slewing drives include, so that in the said extended payload range, the hoist, the trolley and the slewing of the crane now individually, i.e. no longer simultaneously, but only one after the other are actuated. Reddy, paragraph 24, The relay 130 includes an electrically operated switch that closes or opens various circuits (or contacts), thereby electrically connecting or disconnecting one or more electric motors 112 from the motor controller 128. Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually.).
On page 9, applicant’s remark states Neubert and Reddy do not disclose the controlling of multiple actuators for different crane movements because Neubert teaches a single jib/boom movement while Reddy discloses actuating a pump in a hydraulic fracturing pump.
However, as disclosed above, new reference Assfalg discloses a crane system where different drive devices/actuators control different movements of crane components. (Assfalg, paragraph 13, The drive devices, which are subjected to the mentioned limitations in the various operating modes, in particular in the above-described extended limit load range, can be assigned to different movement axes of the crane).
On page 9, applicant’s remark states Reddy does not teach the motors being operated alternately.
However, as discussed above, Reddy's operation of each motor individually by closing and opening circuits demonstrates relay’s capability to operate motors alternately. Furthermore, new reference Assfalg’s discloses actuation of different drive devices/actuators alternately (not simultaneously). (Assfalg, paragraph 13, The drive devices, which are subjected to the mentioned limitations in the various operating modes, in particular in the above-described extended limit load range, can be assigned to different movement axes of the crane in particular the hoist, the trolley and the slewing gear of the crane or the said components associated [lifting mechanism], trolley drives and slewing drives include, so that in the said extended payload range, the hoist, the trolley and the slewing of the crane now individually, i.e. no longer simultaneously, but only one after the other are actuated. Reddy, paragraph 24, The relay 130 includes an electrically operated switch that closes or opens various circuits (or contacts), thereby electrically connecting or disconnecting one or more electric motors 112 from the motor controller 128. Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually.).
On page 10, applicant asserts none of the references Umeda, Grimaud, and Leudtke address the Variable speed drive connected to multiple actuators via a relay that perform the actuation of the actuators alternatively.
However, as discussed above, the combination of Neubert, Reddy, and Assfalg teaches addresses the variable speed drive connected to multiple actuators via a relay that perform the actuation of the actuators alternatively.
On page 10, applicant asserts that claim 12, 21,22, and the dependent claims should be allowed because it would not haven obvious to combine the references on record.
However, claim 12 remains rejected as shown in this section of the office action. Similarly, the rejection for claims 21, 22, and the dependent is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12,13,21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Neubert (WO 2022122934 A1) (hereinafter Neubert) in view of Reddy (US 20220018234 A1) (hereinafter Reddy) in further view of Assfalg (EP 2847121 B1) (hereinafter Assfalg).
Regarding claim 12, Neubert teaches a piloting system for piloting a crane in work(Neubert, paragraph 2, The present invention relates to a hoist, in particular in the form of a luffing jib crane, with at least one jib, a jib adjustment mechanism comprising at least one hydraulic actuator for adjusting the jib, and a control device for controlling the movement of the hydraulic actuator), the piloting system comprising at least:
a piloting interface(The specification discloses piloting interface could be in the form of a control joystick. Neubert discloses a control device that includes joystick used to enter adjustment input. Neubert, paragraph 37, the control device 7 can, for example, include input means on a control station or a remote control, in order to be able to enter an adjustment request for adjusting the boom 2, wherein said input means can include, for example, a joystick or slide switch) configured to enable a crane operator to pilot displacement movements of a load by the crane(The input means of Neubert allows the controlling of adjustment according to operator’s command. Neubert, paragraph 7,the control device for controlling the boom adjustment includes a displacement control with at least one pump for adjusting the hydraulic actuator. Such a displacer control…allows for quick response and precise control of boom movement according to operator commands.);
a control-command system connected to the piloting interface configured to receive piloting signals originating from the piloting interface and generate piloting commands according to the piloting signals( Neubert discloses control commands that are based on the request input received though the interface. Neubert, paragraph 37, the control device 7 can, for example, include input means on a control station or a remote control, in order to be able to enter an adjustment request for adjusting the boom 2, wherein said input means can include, for example, a joystick or slide switch or a touch screen or other control command input means. The input request of the crane driver is converted into control commands that adjust the hydraulic actuator 5 in order to adjust the boom 2 according to the crane driver's request);
work actuators for implementing the displacement movements of the load(Neubert, paragraph 7, control device for controlling the boom adjustment includes a displacement control with at least one pump for adjusting the hydraulic actuator); and
variable-speed drives connected to the control-command system and to the work actuators(Neubert, paragraph 10, at least one pump can be designed as a constant pump with a variable-speed drive, for example in the form of an electric motor, so that a Speed control of the boom hydraulic actuator can be done by adjusting the speed of the pump drive motor.) and configured to receive the piloting commands originating from the control- command system(Neubert discusses the controlling of its actuators according to operators command. Neubert, paragraph 37, the control device for controlling the boom adjustment includes a displacement control with at least one pump for adjusting the hydraulic actuator. Such a displacer control….allows for quick response and precise control of boom movement according to operator commands)and transmit to the work actuators speed setpoints according to the piloting commands(According to the specification, set points are speed setpoints to send to at least one work actuator(motor), and the operator determines the speed of the motor. Similarly, Neubert discloses crane operator’s ability to input the setpoint speed for its luffing movement of its crane which is moved by an actuator. Neubert, paragraph 58, if a crane operator enters an adjustment request via the input device of the control device 7, in particular a setpoint speed for a luffing up or a luffing down of the boom 2, the control device 7 controls the at least at least one pump 9 to circulate a corresponding volume of pressure medium.),
While Neubert discloses a crane system with different actuators and variable speed drive to control the displacement of a crane actuators, it specifically fails to disclose a crane system wherein at least one of the variable-speed drives is a first common variable-speed drive, and at least two of the work actuators are shared actuators, wherein each of the actuators is in charge of distinct displacement movements among the displacement movements and wherein the at least one first common variable-speed drive is connected to the at least two shared actuators via a distribution relay, the distribution relay being piloted so as to alternately connect the at least one first common variable-speed drive with each of the at least two shared actuators, so that the at least two shared actuators function alternately such that the distinct displacement movements implemented by the shared actuators cannot be performed simultaneously.
However, Reddy, which is in a similar analogous art and that teaches about a system for driving a hydraulic fracturing pump, discloses motor control system wherein at least one of the variable-speed drives is a first common variable-speed drive(The controller of Reddy includes variable frequency drive that is similar to variable speed drive (hereinafter “VFD” ), and one controller(VFD) can control multiple motors individually through a single relay. Reddy, paragraph 22, the motor controller 128 may include a soft starter, self-starter, variable frequency drive (VFD), or other type of motor controller), and at least two of the work actuators are shared actuators (Reddy’s teaching of controlling multiple motors through a single VFD and relay indicates the motors(actuators) sharing the relay and VFD. Reddy, paragraph 24, a single relay may be electrically connected to multiple electric motors. Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually), and wherein the at least one first common variable-speed drive( Reddy, paragraph 22, the motor controller 128 may include a soft starter, self-starter, variable frequency drive (VFD), or other type of motor controller.) is connected to the at least two shared actuators via a distribution relay(The actuator can be a motor which has a similar function. Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually), the distribution relay being piloted so as to alternately connect the at least one first common variable-speed drive with each of the at least two shared actuators, so that the at least two shared actuators function alternately(Reddy's operation of each motor individually by closing and opening circuits demonstrates relay’s capability to operate motors alternately. Reddy, paragraph 24, The relay 130 includes an electrically operated switch that closes or opens various circuits (or contacts), thereby electrically connecting or disconnecting one or more electric motors 112 from the motor controller 128. Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Neubert with Reddy’s single variable frequency driver(VFD) to control multiple motors one at a time through a relay. Neubert teaches controlling of actuators(motors) variable frequency driver, but it specifically fails to disclose controlling of multiple actuators that can be performed by a single variable frequency drive(VFD). Even though Reddy does not specifically teach about cranes, its general motor control system can be used to control the displacement of different actuators through single VFD. By incorporating variable frequency driver and single relay, it is possible to selectively choose between different actuators to perform individual or isolated movement so that the crane only moves in one direction at a time. Additionally, cost of mechanical equipment can be reduced by using a single variable speed drive instead of multiple drives for each actuator.
While the combination Neubert and Reddy teaches controlling crane actuators and a single variable speed drive to control multiple actuators, it fails to disclose a crane system wherein each of the actuators is in charge of distinct displacement movements among the displacement movements; such that the distinct displacement movements implemented by the shared actuators cannot be performed simultaneously.
However, Assfalg, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a crane control discloses a crane system wherein each of the actuators is in charge of distinct displacement movements among the displacement movements(Assfalg discloses different drive devices which are similar to the actuators that control different movement of the crane. Assfalg, paragraph 13, The drive devices, which are subjected to the mentioned limitations in the various operating modes, in particular in the above-described extended limit load range, can be assigned to different movement axes of the crane. Assfalg, paragraph 18, a trolley 6 can be mounted longitudinally movable, which can be moved by a trolley drive device 11 ); such that the distinct displacement movements implemented by the shared actuators cannot be performed simultaneously(Assfalg, paragraph 13, The drive devices, which are subjected to the mentioned limitations in the various operating modes, in particular in the above-described extended limit load range, can be assigned to different movement axes of the crane in particular the hoist, the trolley and the slewing gear of the crane or the said components associated [lifting mechanism], trolley drives and slewing drives include, so that in the said extended payload range, the hoist, the trolley and the slewing of the crane now individually, i.e. no longer simultaneously, but only one after the other are actuated).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Neubert and Reddy with Assfalg to control each displacement movements with different actuators/ drive devices. By using different drive devices, it is possible to operate each component of a crane independently without affecting other components. Furthermore, it is possible to increase work efficiency by operating different tasks using synchronized independent components.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Neubert, Reddy, Assfalg teaches the piloting system according to claim 12(Neubert, paragraph 37, the control device; Reddy, paragraph 22, the motor controller 128 may include variable frequency drive (VFD); Assfalg, paragraph 13, The drive devices…different movement axes of the crane), wherein the distribution relay is piloted by the at least one first common variable-speed drive(As disclosed above, the controller of Reddy includes variable frequency drive. Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay ) which is configured to send to the distribution relay distribution setpoints according to the piloting commands originating from the control-command system(According to the specification, set points are speed setpoints that are to be sent to at least one work actuator. The operator determines the speed of the motor, and variable-speed drive sends the specified speed to the actuator through the distribution relay. Similarly, Reddy discloses the controller(that includes a variable-speed drive) can determine the speed of the motors set by the user(operator). Reddy, paragraph 43, In some examples, the electric motor 112 may be configured to operate at the predetermined speed. Additionally, and/or alternatively, a user may specify, via the controller 132, the predetermined speed).
Regarding claim 21, Neubert teaches a crane comprising a piloting system according to claim 12(Neubert, paragraph 2, the present invention relates to a hoist, in particular in the form of a luffing jib crane, with at least one jib, a jib adjustment mechanism comprising at least one hydraulic actuator for adjusting the jib, and a control device for controlling the movement of the hydraulic actuator).
Regarding claim 22, Neubert teaches a piloting method for piloting a crane in work(Neubert, paragraph 2, The present invention relates to a hoist, in particular in the form of a luffing jib crane, with at least one jib, a jib adjustment mechanism comprising at least one hydraulic actuator for adjusting the jib, and a control device for controlling the movement of the hydraulic actuator), the method comprising at least:
a piloting step in which a crane operator pilots displacement movements of a load(The input means of Neubert allows the controlling of adjustment according to operator’s command. Neubert, paragraph 7,the control device for controlling the boom adjustment includes a displacement control with at least one pump for adjusting the hydraulic actuator. Such a displacer control…allows for quick response and precise control of boom movement according to operator commands) by the crane on a piloting interface(The specification discloses piloting interface could be in the form of a control joystick. Neubert discloses a control device that includes joystick used to enter adjustment input. Neubert, paragraph 37, the control device 7 can, for example, include input means on a control station or a remote control, in order to be able to enter an adjustment request for adjusting the boom 2, wherein said input means can include, for example, a joystick or slide switch);
a step of receiving piloting signals originating from the piloting interface by a control-command system connected to the piloting interface(Neubert discloses control commands that are based on the request input received though the interface. Neubert, paragraph 37, the control device 7 can, for example, include input means on a control station or a remote control, in order to be able to enter an adjustment request for adjusting the boom 2, wherein said input means can include, for example, a joystick or slide switch or a touch screen or other control command input means. The input request of the crane driver is converted into control commands that adjust the hydraulic actuator 5 in order to adjust the boom 2 according to the crane driver's request);
a step of generating by the control-command system piloting commands according to the piloting signals(Neubert discloses control commands that are based on the request input received though the interface. Neubert, paragraph 37, the control device 7 can, for example, include input means on a control station or a remote control, in order to be able to enter an adjustment request for adjusting the boom 2, wherein said input means can include, for example, a joystick or slide switch or a touch screen or other control command input means. The input request of the crane driver is converted into control commands that adjust the hydraulic actuator 5 in order to adjust the boom 2 according to the crane driver's request);
a step of transmitting the piloting commands to variable-speed drives which are connected to the control-command system(Neubert, paragraph 10, at least one pump can be designed as a constant pump with a variable-speed drive, for example in the form of an electric motor, so that a Speed control of the boom hydraulic actuator can be done by adjusting the speed of the pump drive motor) and to work actuators for implementing the displacement movements of the load(Neubert, paragraph 7, control device for controlling the boom adjustment includes a displacement control with at least one pump for adjusting the hydraulic actuator); and
a control step in which the variable-speed drives transmit to the work actuators (Neubert, paragraph 10, at least one pump can be designed as a constant pump with a variable-speed drive, for example in the form of an electric motor, so that a Speed control of the boom hydraulic actuator can be done by adjusting the speed of the pump drive motor)speed setpoints according to the piloting commands(According to the specification, set points are speed setpoints to send to at least one work actuator(motor), and the operator determines the speed of the motor. Similarly, Neubert discloses crane operator’s ability to input the setpoint speed for its luffing movement of its crane which is moved by an actuator. Neubert, paragraph 58, if a crane operator enters an adjustment request via the input device of the control device 7, in particular a setpoint speed for a luffing up or a luffing down of the boom 2, the control device 7 controls the at least at least one pump 9 to circulate a corresponding volume of pressure medium. Neubert, paragraph 10, at least one pump can be designed as a constant pump with a variable-speed drive, for example in the form of an electric motor, so that a Speed control of the boom hydraulic actuator can be done by adjusting the speed of the pump drive motor.).
While Neubert discloses a crane system with different actuators and variable speed drive to control the displacement of a crane actuators, it specifically fails to disclose a crane method wherein at least one of the variable-speed drives is a common variable-speed drive, and at least two of the work actuators are shared actuators, wherein the at least one common variable-speed drive is connected to the at least two shared actuators via a distribution relay, wherein each of the work actuators is in charge of distinct displacement movements among the displacement movements, and wherein the piloting method further includes a switching step in which the distribution relay is piloted so as to alternately connect the at least one common variable- speed drive with each of the at least two shared actuators, so that the at least two shared actuators function alternately and cannot be functioned simultaneously.
However, Reddy, which is in a similar analogous art and that teaches about a system for driving a hydraulic fracturing pump, discloses a method wherein at least one of the variable-speed drives is a common variable-speed drive(The controller of Reddy includes variable frequency drive that is similar to variable speed drive (hereinafter “VFD” ), and one controller(VFD) can control multiple motors individually through a single relay. Reddy, paragraph 22, the motor controller 128 may include a soft starter, self-starter, variable frequency drive (VFD), or other type of motor controller), and at least two of the work actuators are shared actuators(Reddy’s teaching of controlling multiple motors through a single VFD and relay indicates the motors(actuators) sharing the relay and VFD. Reddy, paragraph 24, a single relay may be electrically connected to multiple electric motors. Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually),
wherein the at least one common variable-speed drive(Reddy, paragraph 22, the motor controller 128 may include a soft starter, self-starter, variable frequency drive (VFD), or other type of motor controller) is connected to the at least two shared actuators via a distribution relay(The actuator can be a motor which has a similar function. Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually), and
wherein the piloting method further includes a switching step in which the distribution relay is piloted so as to alternately connect the at least one common variable- speed drive with each of the at least two shared actuators, so that the at least two shared actuators function alternately(Reddy's operation of each motor individually by closing and opening circuits demonstrates relay’s capability to operate motors alternately. Reddy, paragraph 24, The relay 130 includes an electrically operated switch that closes or opens various circuits (or contacts), thereby electrically connecting or disconnecting one or more electric motors 112 from the motor controller 128. Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually).
While the combination Neubert and Reddy teaches controlling crane actuators and a single variable speed drive to control multiple actuators, it fails to disclose a crane piloting method wherein each of the work actuators is in charge of distinct displacement movements among the displacement movements; actuators function alternately and cannot be functioned simultaneously.
However, Assfalg, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a crane control discloses work actuators is in charge of distinct displacement movements among the displacement movements(Assfalg discloses different drive devices which are similar to the actuators that control different movement of the crane. Assfalg, paragraph 13, The drive devices, which are subjected to the mentioned limitations in the various operating modes, in particular in the above-described extended limit load range, can be assigned to different movement axes of the crane. Assfalg, paragraph 18, a trolley 6 can be mounted longitudinally movable, which can be moved by a trolley drive device 11); actuators function alternately and cannot be functioned simultaneously(Assfalg, paragraph 13, The drive devices, which are subjected to the mentioned limitations in the various operating modes, in particular in the above-described extended limit load range, can be assigned to different movement axes of the crane in particular the hoist, the trolley and the slewing gear of the crane or the said components associated [lifting mechanism], trolley drives and slewing drives include, so that in the said extended payload range, the hoist, the trolley and the slewing of the crane now individually, i.e. no longer simultaneously, but only one after the other are actuate).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Neubert and Reddy with Assfalg to control each displacement movements with different actuators/ drive devices. By using different drive devices, it is possible to operate each component of a crane independently without affecting other components. Furthermore, it is possible to increase work efficiency by operating different tasks using synchronized independent components.
Claim 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Neubert (WO 2022122934 A1) (hereinafter Neubert) in view of Reddy (US 20220018234 A1) (hereinafter Reddy) in further view of Assfalg (EP 2847121 B1) (hereinafter Assfalg) in further view of Umeda (JP 2018168666 A) (hereinafter Umeda).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Neubert, Reddy, Assfalg teaches the piloting system according to claim 12(Neubert, paragraph 37, the control device; Reddy, paragraph 22, the motor controller 128 may include variable frequency drive (VFD); Assfalg, paragraph 13, The drive devices…different movement axes of the crane),
While the combination of Neubert and Reddy teaches about crane displacement control using different actuators by a single shared variable speed drive, it specifically fails to disclose wherein the control-command system is configured to transmit to the piloting interface an alert message for the crane operator when the crane operator acts on the piloting interface in order to pilot two movements at the same time associated to shared actuators that can function only alternately
However, Umeda, which is in a similar analogous art and that teaches about a shovel with hydraulic actuator discloses a system wherein the control-command system is configured to transmit to the piloting interface an alert message for the crane operator when the crane operator acts on the piloting interface in order to pilot two movements at the same time associated to shared actuators that can function only alternately(Umeda, page 11 line 13, a notification prompting not to perform a composite operation that simultaneously operates a plurality of actuators, and the bucket 6 before operating the attachment).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Neubert, Reddy and Assfalg with Umeda to alert the pilot/operator two movements can not to performed simultaneously. Even though Umeda discloses the alerting system of a shovel apparatus, the notification system can be implemented for crane apparatus as both shovel and crane can operate with similar actuators. The combination of Neubert and Reddy discloses operating of multiple actuators in alternate, however it fails disclose an alerting system that can send notification to the piloting interface when two movements are prompted simultaneously. Umeda addresses Neubert and Reddy’s deficiency by its teaching of notification system that alerts the operator when an operation is being prompted to use plurality of actuators simultaneously instead of one operation at a time. By incorporating the notification system of Umeda, it is possible to alert the pilot/operator to choose between different actuators to perform isolated movement at a time so that the crane only moves in one direction. Furthermore, it lets the pilot operate the actuators sequentially rather than simultaneously.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Neubert (WO 2022122934 A1) (hereinafter Neubert) in view of Reddy (US 20220018234 A1) (hereinafter Reddy) in further view of Assfalg (EP 2847121 B1) (hereinafter Assfalg) in further view of Grimaud (EP 3470361 A1) (hereinafter Grimaud).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Neubert, Reddy, Assfalg teaches the piloting system according to claim 12(Neubert, paragraph 37, the control device; Reddy, paragraph 22, the motor controller 128 may include variable frequency drive (VFD); Assfalg, paragraph 13, The drive devices…different movement axes of the crane), wherein the work actuators comprise a hoisting actuator associated with a hoisting movement(Neubert disclosed actuators that control the hoist of a crane. Neubert, paragraph 3, in various hoists, the jib, from which a hoisting rope with a load-carrying device attached to it, for example in the form of a load hook, can run off, can be adjusted by means of one or more hydraulic actuators in order to move the load-carrying device to the desired location or to adapt the jib to the respective lifting task ), the at least two shared actuators(The specification discloses shared actuators are work actuators in charge of the two displacement movements. Reddy discloses multiple motors(actuators) that can be controlled by single controller/VFD through a single relay that indicates the actuators sharing a VFD and relay. Reddy, paragraph 24, a single relay may be electrically connected to multiple electric motors. Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually) comprise the hoisting actuator (Neubert, paragraph 3, in various hoists, the jib, from which a hoisting rope with a load-carrying device attached to it, for example in the form of a load hook, can run off, can be adjusted by means of one or more hydraulic actuators in order to move the load-carrying device to the desired location or to adapt the jib to the respective lifting task ).
While the combination of Neubert and Reddy teaches about crane displacement control using different actuators by a single shared variable speed drive, it specifically fails to disclose a steering actuator associated with a steering movement and a dispensing actuator associated with a dispense movement for the crane, and the steering actuator in a first configuration, or the at least two shared actuators comprise the hoisting actuator and the dispensing actuator in a second configuration.
However, Grimaud, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about securing a mechanical lifting movement of a load discloses a steering actuator associated with a steering movement(Grimaud, paragraph 47, a steering motor device 43 coupled to the boom 4, able to move said boom) and a dispensing actuator associated with a dispense movement for the crane(Grimaud, paragraph 47, a lifting motor device 41 coupled to the winch, able to move the load 2 according to a lifting movement, according to received instructions; a delivery device 42 coupled to the carriage 7, adapted to move said carriage 7 according to a dispensing movement, according to received instructions), and a motor device comprise the steering actuator in a first configuration(Grimaud, paragraph 47, a steering motor device 43 coupled to the boom 4, able to move said boom. a lifting motor device 41 coupled to the winch, able to move the load 2 according to a lifting movement, according to received instructions; a delivery device 42 coupled to the carriage 7, adapted to move said carriage 7 according to a dispensing movement, according to received instructions; a steering motor device 43 coupled to the boom 4, able to move said boom).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Neubert, Reddy, and Assfalg with Grimaud’s actuators that control different movements of a crane such as dispensing actuators and steering actuators. Neubert discloses different actuators for crane operation such as hoisting and jib luffing, but does not specifically teach about steering and dispensing actuators. Therefore, it is an obvious modification to include the Grimaud’s actuators for dispensing and steering. By including multiple different actuators, it possible to accomplish different specialized tasks such as a steering of boom which can be used to move loads from one place to another.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Neubert, Reddy, Assfalg, and Grimaud teaches the piloting system according to claim 15(Neubert, paragraph 37, the control device; Reddy, paragraph 22, the motor controller 128 may include variable frequency drive (VFD); Assfalg, paragraph 13, The drive devices…different movement axes of the crane; Grimaud, paragraph 47, a steering motor device; Grimaud, paragraph 47, adapted to move said carriage 7 according to a dispensing movement, according to received instructions), wherein the variable-speed drives include a second common variable-speed drive distinct from the at least one first common variable-speed drive(Reddy discloses having multiple controllers/VFD for different motors. Reddy, paragraph 22, the hydraulic fracturing system 100 further includes one or more motor controllers (e.g., a starter) 128 electrically connected to a power source 126 and the electric motors 112 via wiring 129 and a relay 130. The motor controller 128 may include a soft starter, self-starter, variable frequency drive (VFD), or other type of motor controller), and the dispensing actuator(Grimaud, paragraph 47, a steering motor device 43 coupled to the boom 4, able to move said boom. a lifting motor device 41 coupled to the winch, able to move the load 2 according to a lifting movement, according to received instructions; a delivery device 42 coupled to the carriage 7, adapted to move said carriage 7 according to a dispensing movement, according to received instructions; a steering motor device 43 coupled to the boom 4, able to move said boom) is connected to the second common variable-speed drive in the first configuration(As disclosed above, Reddy teaches controlling of two motors using a single VFD. Similarly, two actuators can be controlled by the VFD of Reddy, for example a single common controller/VFD can control a dispenser and hoisting. Reddy, paragraph 24, a single relay may be electrically connected to multiple electric motors. Reddy, paragraph 22, The motor controller 128 may include a soft starter, self-starter, variable frequency drive (VFD). Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually).
Claims 17,18,19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Neubert (WO 2022122934 A1) (hereinafter Neubert) in view of Reddy (US 20220018234 A1) (hereinafter Reddy) in further view of Assfalg (EP 2847121 B1) (hereinafter Assfalg) in further view of Grimaud (EP 3470361 A1) (hereinafter Grimaud) ) in further view of Luedtke (US 20070155551 A1) (hereinafter Luedtke).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Neubert, Reddy, Assfalg and Grimaud teaches the piloting system according to claim 16(Neubert, paragraph 37, the control device; Reddy, paragraph 22, the motor controller 128 may include variable frequency drive (VFD); Assfalg, paragraph 13, The drive devices…different movement axes of the crane; Grimaud, paragraph 47, a steering motor device; Grimaud, paragraph 47, adapted to move said carriage 7 according to a dispensing movement, according to received instructions), wherein: in the first configuration: the second common variable-speed drive (Reddy, paragraph 24, a single relay may be electrically connected to multiple electric motors.)is connected to the dispensing actuator(Grimaud, paragraph 47, a lifting motor device 41 coupled to the winch, able to move the load 2 according to a lifting movement, according to received instructions; a delivery device 42 coupled to the carriage 7, adapted to move said carriage 7 according to a dispensing movement, according to received instructions) via another distribution relay( Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually), the other distribution relay being piloted so as to alternately connect the second common variable-speed drive(Having multiple distribution relay is merely a duplication of parts. Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually) with the dispensing actuator(Grimaud, paragraph 47, a lifting motor device 41 coupled to the winch, able to move the load 2 according to a lifting movement, according to received instructions; a delivery device 42 coupled to the carriage 7, adapted to move said carriage 7 according to a dispensing movement, according to received instructions), so that the dispensing actuator function alternately(The operating of motors individually indicates that the relay operating the motors can alternate between different motors. Reddy, paragraph 24, The relay 130 includes an electrically operated switch that closes or opens various circuits (or contacts), thereby electrically connecting or disconnecting one or more electric motors 112 from the motor controller 128. Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually);
The combination of Neubert, Reddy, Assfalg and Grimaud fails to disclose a variable-speed drive connected to a translational actuator associated with a translational movement.
However, Luedtke, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about variable speed transmission discloses a variable-speed drive connected to a translational actuator associated with a translational movement(Translation movement as discussed in the specification indicates translation actuator moving crane along a rail which indicates a lateral movement. Similarly, Luedtke has a linear actuator that moves laterally connected to a pulley and variable speed. Luedtke, paragraph 24, A linear actuator 42 is connected to the variable speed drive pulleys 24, and more particularly, to one of the variable speed drive pulleys 24 that operates as the control pulley.)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Neubert, Reddy, Assfalg, and Grimaud with Luedtke’s linear actuator to move crane actuators laterally along a translation rail of a crane. Luedtke’s linear actuator are similar to translational actuators. By including the translation actuator, it is possible to reduce mechanical requirements such as cables and drums for load displacement. Additionally, by combining translational actuators with different actuators such hoisting actuators, coordinated motion can be performed for load displacement control.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Neubert, Reddy, and Assfalg teaches the piloting system according to claim 12(Neubert, paragraph 37, the control device; Reddy, paragraph 22, the motor controller 128 may include variable frequency drive (VFD); Assfalg, paragraph 13, The drive devices…different movement axes of the crane), wherein the crane is a jib crane(Neubert, paragraph 2, The present invention relates to a hoist, in particular in the form of a luffing jib crane, with at least one jib, a jib adjustment mechanism comprising at least one hydraulic actuator for adjusting the jib) and the work actuators comprise a hoisting actuator associated with a hoisting movement(Neubert, paragraph 3, in various hoists, the jib, from which a hoisting rope with a load-carrying device attached to it, for example in the form of a load hook, can run off, can be adjusted by means of one or more hydraulic actuators in order to move the load-carrying device to the desired location or to adapt the jib to the respective lifting task ), a steering actuator associated with a steering movement(Grimaud, paragraph 47, a steering motor device 43 coupled to the boom 4, able to move said boom) and a jib luffing actuator associated with a jib luffing movement for the crane(Neubert, paragraph 2, The present invention relates to a hoist, in particular in the form of a luffing jib crane, with at least one jib, a jib adjustment mechanism comprising at least one hydraulic actuator for adjusting the jib), and the at least two shared actuators(Reddy, paragraph 24, a single relay may be electrically connected to multiple electric motors. Reddy, paragraph 22, The motor controller 128 may include a soft starter, self-starter, variable frequency drive (VFD). Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually) comprise the hoisting actuator and the steering actuator(By using Reddy’s single controller that controls multiple motors, it possible to selectively choose between different actuators to perform individual or isolated movement so that the crane only moves in one direction at a time. For example, controlling hoisting and steering actuators using single common relay and controller(VFD). As Grimaud and Neubert disclose actuators that control the movement of hoisting and steering, it is possible to incorporate the actuators of Grimaud and Neubert to control hoisting and steering displacement using the single VFD and relay system of Reddy’s motor control system. Neubert, paragraph 3, in various hoists, the jib, from which a hoisting rope with a load-carrying device attached to it, for example in the form of a load hook, can run off, can be adjusted by means of one or more hydraulic actuators in order to move the load-carrying device to the desired location or to adapt the jib to the respective lifting task. Grimaud, paragraph 47, a steering motor device 43 coupled to the boom 4, able to move said boom ).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Neubert, Reddy, and Assfalg teaches the piloting system according to claim 18(Neubert, paragraph 37, the control device; Reddy, paragraph 22, the motor controller 128 may include variable frequency drive (VFD); Assfalg, paragraph 13, The drive devices…different movement axes of the crane), wherein the jib luffing actuator is connected to a second common variable-speed drive, amongst the variable-speed drives, distinct from the first common variable-speed drive(As disclosed above, the actuator of Neubert is connected to variable-speed drive, however, connecting to a second variable-speed drive is mere duplication of parts. Furthermore, as discussed above, Reddy discloses having multiple controllers/VFD for different motors. It would be obvious to incorporate the jib actuator of Neubert into Reddy’s control system. Neubert, paragraph 2, a jib adjustment mechanism comprising at least one hydraulic actuator for adjusting the jib, and a control device for controlling the movement of the hydraulic actuator. Reddy, paragraph 24, a single relay may be electrically connected to multiple electric motors. Reddy, paragraph 22, The motor controller 128 may include a soft starter, self-starter, variable frequency drive (VFD). Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually. Reddy, paragraph 22, the hydraulic fracturing system 100 further includes one or more motor controllers (e.g., a starter) 128 electrically connected to a power source 126 and the electric motors 112 via wiring 129 and a relay 130. The motor controller 128 may include a soft starter, self-starter, variable frequency drive (VFD), or other type of motor controller).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Neubert, Reddy, Assfalg teaches the piloting system according to claim 19((Neubert, paragraph 37, the control device; Reddy, paragraph 22, the motor controller 128 may include variable frequency drive (VFD); Assfalg, paragraph 13, The drive devices…different movement axes of the crane), wherein the second common variable-speed drive(Reddy, paragraph 24, a single relay may be electrically connected to multiple electric motors.) is connected to a translational actuator associated with a translational movement (Luedtke, paragraph 24, A linear actuator 42 is connected to the variable speed drive pulleys 24, and more particularly, to one of the variable speed drive pulleys 24 that operates as the control pulley)and to the jib luffing actuator(Neubert, paragraph 2, The present invention relates to a hoist, in particular in the form of a luffing jib crane, with at least one jib, a jib adjustment mechanism comprising at least one hydraulic actuator for adjusting the jib) via another distribution relay(Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually), the other distribution relay being piloted so as to alternately connect the second common variable-speed drive with the translational actuator and the jib luffing actuator, so that the translational actuator and the jib luffing actuator function alternately(Reddy discloses the controlling of different motors via single relay and VFD. These can be different motors with different functions such as hydraulic fracturing. However, it is possible to incorporate and control the different actuators(motors) that can accomplish different task sequentially such as jib luffing and translation. As disclosed above, Neubert disclose Jib luffing actuators that can be connect to variable speed drive, and Luedtke teaches a linear actuators similar to translational actuators used for a pulley system. Therefore, using these teachings, it is possible for different actuators to perform individual or isolated movement so that the crane only does jib luffing or translation one at a time. Reddy, paragraph 24, the motor controller 128 is electrically connected to a plurality of electric motors via the relay 130 and may be configured start electric motors individually. Reddy, paragraph 24, The relay 130 includes an electrically operated switch that closes or opens various circuits (or contacts), thereby electrically connecting or disconnecting one or more electric motors 112 from the motor controller 128 ).
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure.
Rollins(US-20220390194-A1), discloses a system with a single VFD device is used to drive more than one motor. For example, a single VFD device that can be used to drive multiple pump motors.
Maida(US-20190329142-A1)teaches an VFD per motor or one VFD for multiple motors.
Fanduzzi (DE-102020110078-A1) discloses a motor drive control system that can be a drive with variable frequency (also referred to as a frequency converter or a variable-speed drive).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BESUFEKAD LEMMA TESSEMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665