DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
RU 2720261 C1 (BAKAEV ALEKSEJ VALENTINOVICH) further discloses an antenna structure comprising a feed line connected to a width portion wherein a capacitor is disposed near the connection point.
CN 110323577 A (BAO, Jin-chao et al.) further discloses a multi frequency antenna disposed on two sides of a substrate with a feed line and capacitor structure
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites the limitation “a shared microstrip line is disposed between the middle-frequency vibrator circuit and the low- frequency vibrator circuit” which renders the claim unclear. The claim traches a shared microstrip line that is between the middle and low vibrators 3 and 4, but also teaches the shared line as having a first and second microstrip on the back side. Since the specifications and claims teach the vibrators 3 and 4 as being made up of components on the front side, it is unclear as to how the shared microstrip is placed between 3 and 4 if part of it exist on the backside independent of 3 and 4. For the purposes of examination, the examiner, as best understood, will interpret the limitation of claim 1 to mean “a shared microstrip line, wherein a portion of the shared microstrip line is disposed between the middle-frequency vibrator circuit and the low- frequency vibrator circuit” to bring the claims more in line with what is taught in the specifications and drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein an eighth microstrip line and a ninth microstrip line” which render the claim indefinite. Claim 8 recites a eighth and ninth microstrip line but claim 8 depends from claim 1 which only recites a second microstrip line. As such the term “eighth microstrip line” lacks insufficient antecedent basis since it is unclear as to how a eighth line exists when we don’t have a seventh. The seventh microstrip line is not recited until claim 6 but claim 8 has no dependency on claim 6. For the purposes of examination, the examiner, as best understood, will interpret claim 8 to depend form claim 6 to provide proper antecedent basis for the limitations of claim 8.
Claims 9-10 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 20210114710 A1) in view of Sampo (US 20240154316 A1) and Tanaka et al. (JP 2010124436 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Wei discloses An external triple-frequency antenna for an unmanned aerial vehicle (Antenna 20 can operate in three frequencies and is disposed in UAV 10 as seen in figures 1-3 of Wei), comprising:
a substrate (Antenna 20 includes multiple vibrators 241, 242, and 243 arranged on a substrate; Paragraphs 30-62 and figures 1-3 of Wei);
vibrator circuits laid on the substrate, wherein the vibrator circuits comprise a high-frequency vibrator circuit, a middle-frequency vibrator circuit, and a low-frequency vibrator circuit (Vibrator 243, 242, and 241 respectfully serve as a high-frequency, intermediate frequency, and a low frequency vibrator; Paragraphs 30-62 and figures 1-3 of Wei); and a shared microstrip line is disposed between the middle-frequency vibrator circuit and the low- frequency vibrator circuit and configured to couple the middle-frequency vibrator circuit and the low-frequency vibrator circuit, wherein the shared microstrip line comprises a third microstrip line disposed on a front side of the substrate along a width direction of the substrate (A shared microstrip line in the form of feed band 23 is disposed at least partially between a middle vibrator 242 of the top side 21 and a low vibrator 241 of a bottom side 22 wherein 23 comprises a width portion 232 that may serve as a third microstrip line along a width of the substrate; Paragraphs 30-62 and figures 1-3 of Wei); and a feed line, comprising a first feed line and
a second feed line, wherein the first feed line is connected to the high-frequency vibrator circuit; and the second feed line is connected to the third microstrip line (Feed structure 28 comprises a first feed line 291 that would connect to the high frequency vibrator 243 of the top side 21 and a second feed line 292 that is connected to the third microstrip structure 232; Paragraphs 30-62 and figures 1-3 of Wei ).
Wei fails to explicitly disclose wherein the shared microstrip line comprises a first microstrip line and a second microstrip line disposed on a back side of the substrate along a length direction of the substrate and a capacitor is disposed at a connection of the second feed line and the third microstrip line.
However, Sampo does disclose wherein the shared microstrip line comprises a first microstrip line and a second microstrip line disposed on a back side of the substrate along a length direction of the substrate (Radiation portions 20 and 30 are connected to a shared microstrip structure that comprises a first and second microstrip line 31a disposed on a first surface of substrate along a length direction and the other side includes the radiating units 20 and 30 that are fed by another part of the shared microstrip structure 21; Paragraph 31, 59, and 108-138 as well as figures 1-2 of Sampo).
Tanaka et al. further discloses wherein the shared microstrip line comprises a first microstrip line and a second microstrip line disposed on a back side of the substrate along a length direction of the substrate and a capacitor is disposed at a connection of the second feed line and the third microstrip line (Antenna structure comprises a substrate wherein a first and second microstrip 17a and 17b are arranged on the back side and a front side comprises a second feed line like 21b that is connected to a third microstrip component width component holding the feed point 24a wherein said point comprises a capacitor 56 since a portion 55b of the capacitor is connected to the point; Paragraph 21-46 and figure 3 of Tanaka et al.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Wei to have wherein the shared microstrip line comprises a first microstrip line and a second microstrip line disposed on a back side of the substrate along a length direction of the substrate as taught by Sampo to make a thinner antenna and offer more degrees of freedom in arranging the antenna (Paragraph 59-60).
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date to have of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Wei and Sampo to have a capacitor is disposed at a connection of the second feed line and the third microstrip line as taught by Tanaka et al. to prevent current leakage and improve directivity (Paragraph 32-33 of Tanaka et al.).
Claim(s) 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 20210114710 A1) in view of Sampo (US 20240154316 A1), Tanaka et al. (JP 2010124436 A), and Xiang et al. (WO 2019228309 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Wei further discloses wherein the high-frequency vibrator circuit comprises a first high- frequency vibrator circuit and a second high-frequency vibrator circuit (Antenna structure 10 comprises a first high frequency vibrator 243 on the top side 21 and a second high frequency vibrator 243 on the bottom side 22; Paragraphs 30-62 and figures 1-3 of Wei).
Wei, Sampo, and Tanaka et al. fail to disclose the first high-frequency vibrator circuit and the second high-frequency vibrator circuit are symmetrically disposed on the front side of the substrate and the back side of the substrate.
However, Xiang et al. does disclose the first high-frequency vibrator circuit and the second high-frequency vibrator circuit are symmetrically disposed on the front side of the substrate and the back side of the substrate (Third radiating portion 11 serves as a first high-frequency vibrator circuit disposed on a first surface 11 and fourth radiating portion 52 serves as a second second-high frequency vibrator circuit disposed on a second surface 12; Pg. 12-15 and figure 6-7 of Xiang et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Wei, Sampo, and Tanaka et al. to have the first high-frequency vibrator circuit and the second high-frequency vibrator circuit are symmetrically disposed on the front side of the substrate and the back side of the substrate as taught by Xiang et al. to effectively use the existing space of the substrate of the antenna so the antenna can be miniaturized (Pg. 13 of Xiang et al.) and to increase the area where the antenna can radiate.
Regarding Claim 3, Wei further discloses wherein the first high-frequency vibrator circuit and the second high-frequency vibrator circuit are both provided with two high-frequency vibrator circuit units, and both of the high- frequency vibrator circuit units comprise a U-shaped microstrip line (The two high-frequency vibrators 243 comprises two branches connected by a width unit 231 such that they would have a U-shape; Paragraphs 30-62 and figures 1-3 of Wei).
Wei and Sampo fail to disclose both of the high- frequency vibrator circuit units comprise an extended microstrip line extending at two ends of the U-shaped microstrip line.
However Tanaka et al. does disclose both of the high- frequency vibrator circuit units comprise an extended microstrip line extending at two ends of the U-shaped microstrip line (Antenna structure comprises multiple High-frequency vibrator units 12H wherein these multiple 12H units comprise a U-shaped antenna on a + side and a another U-shaped microstrip that extends from two ends below the unit 12H such that they form a H shape wherein this extended microstrip is on the - side; Paragraph 21-46 and figure 3-4 of Tanaka et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Wei and Sampo to have both of the high-frequency vibrator circuit units comprise an extended microstrip line extending at two ends of the U-shaped microstrip line as taught by Tanaka et al. to couple the radiators to other electrical components like a ground (Paragraph 24-26 of Tanaka et al.) and to improve the radiation pattern.
Regarding Claim 4, Wei and Sampo fails to disclose wherein the substrate on one side of the extended microstrip line is provided with a notch.
However, Tanaka et al. disclose wherein the substrate on one side of the extended microstrip line is provided with a notch (Notches 20 are placed on the upper and lower portion on the substrate 11a wherein the notch on the bottom would be on one side of an extended microstrip of an element 12H; Paragraph 21-46 and figure 3-4 of Tanaka et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Wei and Sampo to have wherein the substrate on one side of the extended microstrip line is provided with a notch as taught by Tanaka et al. to pass a feeder through the notches and connect electrical components (Paragraph 16-18 of Tanaka et al.).
Regarding Claim 5, Wei further discloses wherein both of the middle-frequency vibrator circuit and the low-frequency vibrator circuit are in a U-shape (The middle-frequency vibrator circuit and low-frequency vibrator circuit 242 and 241 comprises two branches that are connected to width units like 231/232 such that they would form a U-shape; Paragraphs 30-62 and figures 1-3 of Wei).
Regarding Claim 6, Wei further discloses wherein two ends of the third microstrip line extend to two sides along the length direction of the substrate, respectively, with a fourth microstrip line, a fifth microstrip line, a sixth microstrip line, and a seventh microstrip line (Third microstrip line 232 is a width structure that extends to two sides along the length direction wherein two ends are connected to the two branches of the middle vibrator 242 serving as a fourth and fifth microstrip line and 232 is also connected to the two branches of the low vibrator 241 which serve as a sixth and seventh microstrip line; Paragraphs 30-62 and figures 1-3 of Wei).
Regarding Claim 7, Wei further discloses wherein the fourth microstrip line, the fifth microstrip line, and the shared microstrip line form the middle-frequency vibrator circuit; and the sixth microstrip line, the seventh microstrip line, and the shared microstrip line form the low-frequency vibrator circuit (Middle vibrator 242 is formed by its two branches serving as the fourth/fifth microstrip lines as well as the third microstrip width portion and the low vibrator 241 is formed by its two branches serving as the sixth/seventh microstrip lines and the third microstrip width portion; Paragraphs 30-62 and figures 1-3 of Wei).
Claim(s) 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 20210114710 A1) in view of Sampo (US 20240154316 A1), Tanaka et al. (JP 2010124436 A), Xiang et al. (WO 2019228309 A1), and Song et al. (CN 112886215 A).
Regarding Claim 8 as best understood, Wei, Sampo, Tanaka et al., and Xiang et al. fail to disclose wherein an eighth microstrip line and a ninth microstrip line are respectively disposed along the length direction of the substrate on the front side of the substrate and the back side of the substrate, and the eighth microstrip line and the ninth microstrip line are respectively connected to the high-frequency vibrator circuit unit.
However, Song et al. does disclose (Fig. 1-2) wherein an eighth microstrip line (221b) and a ninth microstrip line (222) are respectively disposed along the length direction of the substrate on the front side of the substrate and the back side of the substrate (10), and the eighth microstrip line (221b) and the ninth microstrip line (222) are respectively connected to the high-frequency vibrator circuit unit (22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Wei, Sampo, Tanaka et al., and Xiang et al. to have an eighth microstrip line and a ninth microstrip line are respectively disposed along the length direction of the substrate on the front side of the substrate and the back side of the substrate, and the eighth microstrip line and the ninth microstrip line are respectively connected to the high-frequency vibrator circuit unit as taught by Song et al. to fully use the space of the substrate through reasonable structure wiring that would miniaturization the structure while meeting larger bandwidth requirements (Pg. 6 of Song et al.).
Regarding Claim 9, Wei, Sampo, Tanaka et al., and Xiang et al. fail to disclose wherein the substrate is provided with a tenth microstrip line connected to the third microstrip line along the length direction of the substrate.
However, Song further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein the substrate (10) is provided with a tenth microstrip line (top middle line of 211) connected to the third microstrip line (211a, 212a) along the length direction of the substrate (10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Wei, Sampo, Tanaka et al., and Xiang et al. to have wherein the substrate is provided with a tenth microstrip line connected to the third microstrip line along the length direction of the substrate as taught by Song et al. to fully use the space of the substrate through reasonable structure wiring that would miniaturization the structure while meeting larger bandwidth requirements (Pg. 6 of Song et al.).
Regarding Claim 10, Wei, Sampo, Tanaka et al., and Xiang et al. fail to disclose wherein an eleventh microstrip line and a twelfth microstrip line are respectively disposed along the width direction of the substrate in middle parts of the front side of the substrate and the back side of the substrate, the eleventh microstrip line being connected to the ninth microstrip line, and the twelfth microstrip line being connected to the tenth microstrip line
However, Song further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein an eleventh microstrip line (221a) and a twelfth microstrip line (center line of 211 adjacent to middle line of 211) are respectively disposed along the width direction of the substrate (10) in middle parts of the front side of the substrate and the back side of the substrate (10), the eleventh microstrip line (221a) being connected to the ninth microstrip line (222), and the twelfth microstrip line being connected to the tenth microstrip line (top middle line of 211).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Wei, Sampo, Tanaka et al., and Xiang et al. to have wherein an eleventh microstrip line and a twelfth microstrip line are respectively disposed along the width direction of the substrate in middle parts of the front side of the substrate and the back side of the substrate, the eleventh microstrip line being connected to the ninth microstrip line, and the twelfth microstrip line being connected to the tenth microstrip line as taught by Song et al. to fully use the space of the substrate through reasonable structure wiring that would miniaturization the structure while meeting larger bandwidth requirements (Pg. 6 of Song et al.).
Additional Comments Regarding the Claim Rejections
Examiner’s note – Regarding claim 1, the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein avoidance slots are disposed respectively at ends of the fourth microstrip line, the fifth microstrip line, the sixth microstrip line, and the seventh microstrip line” as recited in claim 11.
Wei, Sampo, Tanaka et al., and Xiang et al., are cited as teaching some of the elements of the claimed invention including an external triple-frequency antenna comprising a substrate, a first high-frequency vibrator circuit, a second high-frequency vibrator circuit, a middle-frequency vibrator circuit, a low-frequency vibrator circuit, a shared microstrip line, a first microstrip line, a second microstrip line, a width third microstrip line, a first feed line, a second feed line, a notch, a fourth microstrip line, a fifth microstrip line, a sixth microstrip line, and a seventh microstrip line. Wei, Sampo, Tanaka et al., and Xiang et al. fail to teach a avoidance slot disposed at the ends of the fourth/fifth/sixth/seventh microstrip line.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
RU 2720261 C1 (BAKAEV ALEKSEJ VALENTINOVICH) further discloses an antenna structure comprising a feed line connected to a width portion wherein a capacitor is disposed near the connection point.
CN 110323577 A (BAO, Jin-chao et al.) further discloses a multi frequency antenna disposed on two sides of a substrate with a feed line and capacitor structure
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845