Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 6, 2026 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 1, 5, and 8-9. Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed October 21, 2025. The examiner withdraws the 112(b) rejections and the Claims objections in light of the amendments to the Claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 8 and 10, “the front side and the back side of the substrate” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “the front side of the substrate and the back side of the substrate”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sone (US PGPUB 2019/0190136 A1) in view of Qu et al. (CN 110718752 B), hereinafter known as Qu.
Regarding claim 1, Sone teaches (Fig. 1-2 and 9A-9B) An external triple-frequency antenna for an unmanned aerial vehicle ([0020], vehicle includes a unmanned aerial vehicle), comprising: a substrate (40, 55); vibrator circuits (30, 20, 50) laid on the substrate (40, 55), wherein the vibrator circuits comprise a high-frequency vibrator circuit (50), a middle-frequency vibrator circuit (30), and a low-frequency vibrator circuit (20); and a shared microstrip line ([0060]) is disposed between the middle-frequency vibrator circuit (30) and the low-frequency vibrator circuit (20); and a feed line (47, 57), comprising a first feed line (57) and a second feed line (47), wherein the first feed line (57) is connected to the high-frequency vibrator circuit (50); and the second feed line (47) is connected to the shared microstrip line ([0060]), and a capacitor (C1, C2) is disposed at a connection of the second feed line (47) and the shared microstrip line ([0060])
but does not specifically teach and configured to couple the middle-frequency vibrator circuit and the low-frequency vibrator circuit.
However, Qu teaches (Fig. 3) a shared microstrip line (107) is disposed between the middle-frequency vibrator circuit (104 top) and the low-frequency vibrator circuit (104 bottom) and configured to couple the middle-frequency vibrator circuit (104 top) and the low-frequency vibrator circuit (104 bottom).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the external triple-frequency antenna for the unmanned aerial vehicle of Sone with Qu to include “and configured to couple the middle-frequency vibrator circuit and the low-frequency vibrator circuit,” as taught by Qu, for the purpose of removing unwanted resonance (see also [0008] of machine translation).
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (CN 112886215 A with references made to corresponding US PGPUB 2024/0030605 A1) in view of Sone.
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches (Fig. 1-2) An external triple-frequency antenna for an unmanned aerial vehicle (Abstract), comprising: a substrate (10); vibrator circuits (21, 22) laid on the substrate, wherein the vibrator circuits comprise a high-frequency vibrator circuit (221, 222), a middle-frequency vibrator circuit (212), and a low-frequency vibrator circuit (211); and a shared microstrip line (211a, 212a) is disposed between the middle-frequency vibrator circuit (212) and the low-frequency vibrator circuit (211) and configured to couple the middle-frequency vibrator circuit (212) and the low-frequency vibrator circuit (211); and a feed line (31, 32), comprising a first feed line (32) and a second feed line (31), wherein the first feed line (32) is connected to the high-frequency vibrator circuit (22); and the second feed line (31) is connected to the shared microstrip line (211a, 212a), but does not specifically teach and a capacitor is disposed at a connection of the second feed line and the shared microstrip line.
However, Sone teaches (Fig. 3) a capacitor (C1, C2) is disposed at a connection of the second feed line (47) and the shared microstrip line ([0060]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the external triple-frequency antenna for the unmanned aerial vehicle of Song with Sone to include “a capacitor is disposed at a connection of the second feed line and the shared microstrip line,” as taught by Sone, for the purpose of impedance matching (see also [0060]).
Regarding claim 2, Song further teaches (Fig. 1) wherein the high-frequency vibrator circuit (22) comprises a first high-frequency vibrator circuit (221) and a second high-frequency vibrator circuit (222); and the first high-frequency vibrator circuit (221) and the second high-frequency vibrator circuit (222) are symmetrically disposed on a front side and a back side of the substrate ([0082]).
Regarding claim 3, Song further teaches (Fig. 1) wherein the first high-frequency vibrator circuit (221) and the second high-frequency vibrator circuit (222) are both provided with two high-frequency vibrator circuit units (221, 222), and both of the high-frequency vibrator circuit units (221, 222) comprise a U-shaped microstrip line and an extended microstrip line (32) extending at two ends of the U-shaped microstrip line.
Regarding claim 4, Song further teaches (Fig. 1) wherein the substrate (10) on one side of the extended microstrip line is provided with a notch (notch at bottom of 10).
Regarding claim 5, Song further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein the shared microstrip line (211a, 212a, 213) comprises a first microstrip line (left 213) and a second microstrip line (right 213) disposed on the back side of the substrate (10) along a length direction of the substrate, and a third microstrip line (211a, 212a) disposed on the front side of the substrate along a width direction of the substrate, and wherein the third microstrip line (211a, 212a) is connected to the second feed line (31).
Regarding claim 6, Song further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein two ends of the third microstrip line (211a, 212a) extend to two sides along the length direction of the substrate (10), respectively, with a fourth microstrip line (bottom left line of 212), a fifth microstrip line (bottom right line of 212), a sixth microstrip line (top left line of 211), and a seventh microstrip line (top right line of 211).
Regarding claim 7, Song further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein the fourth microstrip line (bottom left line of 212), the fifth microstrip line (bottom right line of 212), and the shared microstrip line form the middle-frequency vibrator circuit (212); and the sixth microstrip line (top left line of 211), the seventh microstrip line (top right line of 211), and the shared microstrip line form the low-frequency vibrator circuit (211).
Regarding claim 8, Song further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein an eighth microstrip line (221b) and a ninth microstrip line (222) are respectively disposed along the length direction of the substrate on the front side and the back side of the substrate (10), and the eighth microstrip line (221b) and the ninth microstrip line (222) are respectively connected to the high-frequency vibrator circuit unit (22).
Regarding claim 9, Song further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein the substrate (10) is provided with a tenth microstrip line (top middle line of 211) connected to the third microstrip line (211a, 212a) along the length direction of the substrate (10).
Regarding claim 10, Song further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein an eleventh microstrip line (221a) and a twelfth microstrip line (center line of 211 adjacent to middle line of 211) are respectively disposed along the width direction of the substrate (10) in middle parts of the front side and the back side of the substrate (10), the eleventh microstrip line (221a) being connected to the ninth microstrip line (222), and the twelfth microstrip line being connected to the tenth microstrip line (top middle line of 211).
Claims 2-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sone in view of Qu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yao et al. (CN 207852912 U), hereinafter known as Yao.
Regarding claim 2, Sone does not specifically teach wherein the high-frequency vibrator circuit comprises a first high-frequency vibrator circuit and a second high-frequency vibrator circuit; and the first high-frequency vibrator circuit and the second high-frequency vibrator circuit are symmetrically disposed on a front side and a back side of the substrate.
However, Yao teaches (Fig. 1-3) wherein the high-frequency vibrator circuit comprises a first high-frequency vibrator circuit (51 of 5) and a second high-frequency vibrator circuit (51 of 6); and the first high-frequency vibrator circuit (51) and the second high-frequency vibrator circuit (51) are symmetrically disposed on a front side and a back side of the substrate (2, 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the external triple-frequency antenna for the unmanned aerial vehicle of Sone with Yao to include “wherein the high-frequency vibrator circuit comprises a first high-frequency vibrator circuit and a second high-frequency vibrator circuit; and the first high-frequency vibrator circuit and the second high-frequency vibrator circuit are symmetrically disposed on a front side and a back side of the substrate,” as taught by Yao, for the purpose of improving isolation and data throughout (see also final paragraph of page 3 of machine translation).
Regarding claim 3, Sone does not specifically teach wherein the first high-frequency vibrator circuit and the second high-frequency vibrator circuit are both provided with two high-frequency vibrator circuit units, and both of the high-frequency vibrator circuit units comprise a U-shaped microstrip line and an extended microstrip line extending at two ends of the U-shaped microstrip line.
However, Yao teaches (Fig. 1-3) wherein the first high-frequency vibrator circuit (5) and the second high-frequency vibrator circuit (6) are both provided with two high-frequency vibrator circuit units, and both of the high-frequency vibrator circuit units (5, 6) comprise a U-shaped microstrip line (5, 6) and an extended microstrip line extending at two ends of the U-shaped microstrip line (A, C).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the external triple-frequency antenna for the unmanned aerial vehicle of Sone with Yao to include “wherein the first high-frequency vibrator circuit and the second high-frequency vibrator circuit are both provided with two high-frequency vibrator circuit units, and both of the high-frequency vibrator circuit units comprise a U-shaped microstrip line and an extended microstrip line extending at two ends of the U-shaped microstrip line,” as taught by Yao, for the purpose of improving isolation and data throughout (see also final paragraph of page 3 of machine translation).
Regarding claim 4, Sone further teaches (Fig. 10) wherein the substrate (55) on one side of the extended microstrip line is provided with a notch (notches in 55).
Regarding claim 5, Sone further teaches (Fig. 9A) wherein the shared microstrip line comprises a first microstrip line (P2) and a second microstrip line (P3) disposed on a back side of the substrate (40) along a length direction of the substrate, and a third microstrip line (P1) disposed on a front side of the substrate (40) along a width direction of the substrate, and wherein the third microstrip line (P1) is connected to the second feed line (47).
Regarding claim 8, Sone further teaches (Fig. 10) wherein an eighth microstrip line (P13) and a ninth microstrip line (P14) are respectively disposed along the length direction on the front side and the back side of the substrate (55), and the eighth microstrip line (P13) and the ninth microstrip line (P14) are respectively connected to the high-frequency vibrator circuit unit (50).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845