DETAILED ACTION
Drawings/Specification
Figure 2 shows a micro-flow pipeline 31, coiled, as if sitting on top of the “object stage 32.” It is unclear from the drawing and [0029] of the specification whether 31 is perched on top of 32 or embedded within 32.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “ultrasonic processing system configured for conducting ultrasonic-assisted,“ “flow subsystem is configured for mixing cellulase solution and plant raw material suspension and conveying mixed cellulase solution,” and “a reactor control system configured to …” in claim 1.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “a reactor control system configured for detecting … concentration of plant phenols…” in claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure fails to show how the concentration is determined, and what type of sensor or analyzer is employed. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 5, and 7are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of CN 1952046 A and WO 2009/071294 A2.
CN teaches an ultrasonic reactor system having ultrasonic transducers (4-1 and 4-2) inside, and reactor inlets and outlets as claimed. See the figures. The system also has a flow system as claimed (figure 2), and a control system. It has a jacket with inlet and outlet in which hot fluid can be circulated to control or maintain the temperature.
It is noted that claim 1 has only three structural items: the ultrasonic processor, the flow system and the controller. The details of the enzymatic hydrolysis, mixing cellulose solutions, raw materials, etc., are intended use or material worked upon, and are not patentable in the apparatus claims.
CN fails to teach that the control system is configured to determine the concentration of the reactants, hot fluid circulation in the jacket,and a plurality of reactors connected in series.
WO teaches (see fig. 5) plurality of ultrasonic reactors connected in series as claimed. Each reactor (US) has inlets and outlets as claimed and are inter-connected as claimed. The system has a control unit CU 65. See the flow system in fig. 8 and others. Fig. 8 is also capable of temperature control (see figure 8 caption.)
WO fails to teach determining concentration, and the heating jackets with associated heating system and controls.
Regarding the concentration determination, see MPEP 2144.04, automatic vs. manual activity: broadly providing an automatic mans to replace a manual activity is … not sufficient distinguish over a prior art.
Regarding the heating jacket in WO and the associated heater provisions, as seen in CN, having a heating jacket in a reactor for maintaining its temperature is well-known and is not a patentable element. Having a heating source such as electrical for the jacket fluid is also implied or prima facie obvious. It would also have been obvious to link the heating jacket circuit of multiple units to the same heating system.
Location of the temperature sensor is not a patentable invention, unless otherwise shown. See MPEP 2144.04: rearrangement of parts.
Plural units in the CN reference is series would have been obvious over the teaching of WO to increase the capacity, or processing more than one streams as taught by WO.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of these references to arrive at the claimed invention. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is pram facie obvious – MPEP 2143, examples of rationales.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, after overcoming any 112(b) issues.
These claims recite additional limitations in detail which are specific to the intended use of the system and not taught by any references.
Conclusion
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777