Detailed Action
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 112
4. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “optical module” in claim 1.
Because the claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1 is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
As for the limitation "optical module”, a review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph): [0080] of the specification and Figs. 1-10 of the drawing disclose the "optical module” correspond to a micro lens, a micro prism, or micro mirror.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
If applicant does not wish to have the claim limitation treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), applicant may amend the claim so that it will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), or present a sufficient showing that the claim recites sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-8, 11-15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LI (US 20220344313 A1).
Regarding claim 1, LI (e.g., Fig. 6) discloses a light-emitting diode (LED) pixel unit (Fig. 6B shows an example of a tri-color LED pixel unit, which is reproduced for reference), comprising:
a plurality of micro light-emitting diodes (micro-LEDs) with different emission wavelengths, stacked to form a stacked structure (a tri-color LED pixel unit comprising a red micro-LED, a green micro-LED, and a blue micro-LED with a stacked LED structure; [0207], [0220], and [0234]);
wherein the stacked structure has a light-emitting surface (light-emitting surface S of the tri-color LED unit), and the stacked structure is configured to emit, from the light-emitting surface, light emitted by the plurality of micro-LEDs at a first emission angle (emission light from the tri-color LED unit has a divergence angle; [0382]); and
an optical module (micro lens 602; [0375]), disposed above the light-emitting surface (light-emitting surface S) and at a predetermined distance from the light-emitting surface (predetermined distance between the micro lens and the tri-color LED unit; [0385]);
wherein a projection area of a vertical projection of the optical module is greater than or equal to a projection area of a vertical projection of the stacked structure (Figs. 6A-6D and [0374]; a projection area of the micro lens 602 is greater than a projection area of the LED stacked structure); and
the optical module (micro lens 602) is configured to emit, at a second emission angle, the light emitted by the light-emitting surface ([0375] and [0382]; LED light from the micro lens 602 having a reduced divergence angle).
Regarding claim 2, LI (e.g., Fig. 6) discloses the LED pixel unit as claimed in claim 1, wherein a width of the stacked structure is d1, a width of the optical module is d2, the predetermined distance between the optical module and the light-emitting surface is d3, and the first emission angle is A; and d1≤d2≤2d3tan
A
2
, A≤130° (Fig. 6D is reproduced for reference. According to Fig. 6D, LI teaches the LED stacked structure has a width d1 and a light divergence angle A, the micro lens 602 has a width d2, and a distance between the micro lens and the light-emitting surface of the LED stacked structure is d3, and d1<d2, d2=2d3tan
A
2
, [0382] teaches a range of divergence angle A and A<130°).
Regarding claim 3, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-9) discloses the LED pixel unit as claimed in claim 1, wherein projection areas of vertical projections of the plurality of micro-LEDs are equal ([0048]), and the plurality of micro-LEDs have same light-emitting axes ([0049]).
Regarding claim 4, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-9) discloses the LED pixel unit as claimed in claim 1, wherein projection areas wherein projection areas of vertical projections of the plurality of micro-LEDs are decreased (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-9), and the plurality of micro-LEDs have same light-emitting axes (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-9; and [0049], [0267], [0221], and [0235]).
Regarding claim 5, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-9) discloses the LED pixel unit as claimed in claim 1, wherein projection areas of vertical projections of the plurality of micro-LEDs are decreased (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-9), and a light-emitting axis of the micro-LED at a side of the stacked structure facing away from the light-emitting surface coincides with a light-emitting axis of the micro-LED at a side of the stacked structure proximate to the light-emitting surface (Figs. 1-2 and 6-9; e.g., red micro LED and blue micro LED have a same light-emitting axis; [0017], [0049], and [0267]).
Regarding claim 6, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-9) discloses the LED pixel unit as claimed in claim 3, wherein a central axis of the optical module coincides with the light-emitting axes of the plurality of micro-LEDs ([0380]).
Regarding claim 7, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-9) discloses the LED pixel unit as claimed in claim 4, wherein a central axis of the optical module coincides with the light-emitting axes of the plurality of micro-LEDs (Fig. 6 and [0380]; micro lens 602 and LED pixel unit).
Regarding claim 8, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-9) discloses the LED pixel unit as claimed in claim 5, wherein a central axis of the optical module coincides with the light-emitting axis of the micro-LED at the side of the stacked structure proximate to the light-emitting surface (Fig. 6 and [0380]; micro lens 602 and LED pixel unit).
Regarding claim 11, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-9) discloses the LED pixel unit as claimed in claim 1, wherein a light-emitting angle α2 of the LED pixel unit is less than or equal to 80° ([0382]; light divergence angle).
Regarding claim 12, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-9) discloses the LED pixel unit as claimed in claim 1, wherein the stacked structure comprises, from bottom to top, a red LED chip, a green LED chip, and a blue LED chip (LED stacked structure comprising a red micro-LED, a green micro-LED, and a blue micro-LED; [0207], [0220], and [0234]).
Regarding claim 13, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-11) discloses a display panel (Fig. 11; micro LED display panel 1100; [0176]), comprising: a substrate (Figs. 6C and 6D; substrate 690); and a plurality of pixel units (pixel unit 612), disposed on the substrate (substrate 690); wherein each of the plurality of pixel units is the LED pixel unit (Figs. 6A and 6B; LED pixel unit) as claimed in claim 1, the stacked structure of the LED pixel unit is disposed on the substrate (Fig. 6; LED pixel unit on substrate 690), and the optical module of the LED pixel unit is disposed at a side of the stacked structure facing away from the substrate (Fig. 6; micro lens 602 on LED pixel unit).
Regarding claim 14, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-11) discloses the display panel as claimed in claim 13, wherein a width of the stacked structure is d1, a width of the optical module is d2, the predetermined distance between the optical module and the light-emitting surface is d3, and the first emission angle is A; and d1≤d2≤2d3tan
A
2
, A≤130° (Fig. 6D is reproduced reference. According to Fig. 6D, LI teaches the LED stacked structure has a width d1 and a light divergence angle A, the micro lens 602 has a width d2, and a distance between the micro lens and the light-emitting surface of the LED stacked structure is d3, and d1<d2, d2=2d3tan
A
2
, [0382] teaches a range of divergence angle A and A<130°).
Regarding claim 15, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-11) discloses the display panel as claimed in claim 14, wherein a width of each of the plurality of pixel units is d4, and d1≤d2≤d4 (Fig. 6D; each pixel unit comprising a LED stacked structure and a micro lens and having a width d4, and d1<d2 and d2=d4).
Regarding claim 17, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-11) discloses the display panel as claimed in claim 13, wherein a central axis of the optical module (e.g., Fig. 6; micro lens 602) and a light-emitting axis of the stacked structure (e.g., Fig. 6; LED stacked structure) are both perpendicular to the substrate (e.g., Fig. 6; substrate 690).
Regarding claim 19, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-11) discloses the display panel as claimed in claim 13, wherein a central axis of the optical module coincides with light-emitting axes of at least two of the plurality of micro-LEDs (e.g., Fig. 6 and [0380]).
Regarding claim 20, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-11) discloses a display screen (Figs. 6 and 11; micro LED display), comprising: the display panel as claimed in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 9-10, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over LI (US 20220344313 A1) in view of JOHNSON (US 20150301343 A1).
Regarding claim 9, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-9) discloses the LED pixel unit as claimed in claim 1, but does not disclose wherein an angle α1 between a central axis of the optical module and light-emitting axes of the plurality of micro-LEDs is greater than 5°. However, JOHN (e.g., Figs. 5-8) discloses a LED pixel unit, wherein an angle α1 between a central axis of an optical module (micro lens 64) and light-emitting axes of a plurality of micro-LEDs (LED pixel unit 60) is greater than 5° (e.g., Figs. 5-8 and [0086]-[0087]; e.g., 15°). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching from JOHNSON with the LED pixel unit of LI. The combination/motivation would be to provide a full-color autostereoscopic display device having an arrangement of display pixels for directing different views to different spatial positions.
Regarding claim 10, LI in view of JOHNSON discloses the LED pixel unit as claimed in claim 9, LI discloses wherein the light-emitting axes of the plurality of micro-LEDs are the same (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-9; and [0049], [0267], [0221], and [0235]).
Regarding claim 16, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-9) discloses the display panel as claimed in claim 13, but does not disclose wherein a central axis of the optical module is perpendicular to the substrate, and an angle between the stacked structure and the substrate is β1, which is greater than 5°. However, JOHNSON (e.g., Figs. 5-8) discloses a display panel comprising LED pixel units, wherein a central axis of the optical module (micro lens 64) is perpendicular to the substrate (substrate 62), and an angle between the LED structure (LED pixel unit 600) and the substrate (substrate 62) is β1, which is greater than 5° (e.g., Figs. 5-8 and [0086]-[0087]; e.g., 15°). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching from JOHNSON with the LED pixel unit of LI. The combination/motivation would be to provide a full-color autostereoscopic display device having an arrangement of display pixels for directing different views to different spatial positions.
Regarding claim 18, LI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-9) discloses the display panel as claimed in claim 13, wherein the plurality of micro-LEDs have same light-emitting axes (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 6-9; and [0049], [0267], [0221], and [0235]), but does not disclose an angle al between a central axis of the optical module and the light-emitting axis of each of the plurality of micro-LEDs is greater than 5°. However, JOHNSON (e.g., Figs. 5-8) discloses a display panel comprising LED pixel units, wherein an angle al between a central axis of an optical module (micro lens 64) and the light-emitting axis of each of a plurality of micro-LEDs (LED pixel unit 600) is greater than 5° (e.g., Figs. 5-8 and [0086]-[0087]; e.g., 15°). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching from JOHNSON with the LED pixel unit of LI. The combination/motivation would be to provide a full-color autostereoscopic display device having an arrangement of display pixels for directing different views to different spatial positions.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623