Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON SERA et al (KR 20240047260 A) in view of Zhao et al (US 20240036375) and in view of Liu (US 20190203388)
Regarding Claim 1,
KWON SERA et al discloses (Drawing 5a, also pasted below) a substrate (110), comprising a base (111) and a plurality of solder pad terminals (130) disposed on the base; a plurality of conductive connectors (121) disposed on the plurality of the solder pad terminals (130); and a plurality of miniature light emitting diodes (120) comprising a plurality of connection terminals (“…According to one embodiment, one micro LED may be a flip chip. According to one embodiment, one micro LED 51 may include a pair of connection pads 52. For example, the pair of connection pads 52 includes a first connection pad 52-1 and a second connection pad 52-2 disposed to be spaced apart from the first connection pad 52-1. can do. According to one embodiment, a pair of connection pads 52 of each micro LED 51 may be disposed on one side (eg, a side facing the substrate 70) of each micro LED 51.…”), wherein the connection terminals are electrically connected to corresponding ones of the solder pad terminals (130) through the conductive connectors; wherein the conductive connectors comprise a thermoplastic material and a conductive material (shown in black dots) distributed in the thermoplastic material.
KWON SERA et al does not disclose a melting point of the thermoplastic material is less than or equal to 200 degrees Celsius, the conductive connectors cover entire surfaces of corresponding ones of the solder pad terminals, and an overlapping surface area between each conductive connector and corresponding each solder pad terminal is larger than a contact area between each connection terminal and corresponding each conductive connector.
Liu discloses wherein a melting point of the thermoplastic material is less than or equal to 200 degrees Celsius.[0049]
Zhao et al discloses (Fig. 2) the conductive connectors (41) cover entire surfaces of corresponding ones of the solder pad terminals (2), and an overlapping surface area between each conductive connector (41) and corresponding each solder pad terminal (2) is larger than a contact area (where 3) between each connection terminal and corresponding each conductive connector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kwon Sera et al and Ohsawa et al to include Liu’s melting point of the thermoplastic material is less than or equal to 200 degrees Celsius, motivated by the desire to be able to create a melting point for the thermoplastic so it can be melted [0049], to further include Zhao et al’s conductive connectors (41) cover entire surfaces of corresponding ones of the solder pad terminals (2), and an overlapping surface area between each conductive connector (41) and corresponding each solder pad terminal (2) is larger than a contact area (where 3) between each connection terminal and corresponding each conductive connector motivated by the desire to provide a reliable strong electrical connection between the elements [0077].
Regarding Claim 11,
KWON SERA et al discloses (Drawing 5a, also pasted above) comprising a liquid crystal display panel (background art) and a backlight, ) a substrate (110), comprising a base (111) and a plurality of solder pad terminals (130) disposed on the base; a plurality of conductive connectors (121) disposed on the plurality of the solder pad terminals (130); and a plurality of miniature light emitting diodes (120) comprising a plurality of connection terminals (“…According to one embodiment, one micro LED may be a flip chip. According to one embodiment, one micro LED 51 may include a pair of connection pads 52. For example, the pair of connection pads 52 includes a first connection pad 52-1 and a second connection pad 52-2 disposed to be spaced apart from the first connection pad 52-1. can do. According to one embodiment, a pair of connection pads 52 of each micro LED 51 may be disposed on one side (eg, a side facing the substrate 70) of each micro LED 51.…”), wherein the connection terminals are electrically connected to corresponding ones of the solder pad terminals (130) through the conductive connectors; wherein the conductive connectors comprise a thermoplastic material and a conductive material (shown in black dots) distributed in the thermoplastic material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4,6-10,12-14,16-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON SERA et al (KR 20240047260 A) and of Liu (US 20190203388) in view of Ohsawa et al (US 20170279125)
Regarding Claim 2,12,
Kwon Sera et al and Liu discloses everything as disclosed above.
Kwon Sera et al and Liu does not disclose wherein the conductive material is black in color.
Ohsawa et al discloses wherein the conductive material is black in color [0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kwon Sera et al and Liu to include Ohsawa et al’s conductive material is black in color [0033] motivated by the desire to improve the output performance.
Regarding Claim 3,13,
In addition to Kwon Sera et al, Liu and Ohsawa et al , Ohsawa et al discloses wherein the conductive material comprises at least one of carbon nanotubes, graphene, MXene, iron black, pyrrole, or aniline [0041-0042].
Regarding Claim 4,14,
In addition to Kwon Sera et al, Liu and Ohsawa et al , Ohsawa et al discloses wherein the conductive material further comprises silver powder or tin powder [0056] and [0044].
Regarding Claim 6,16,
In addition to Kwon Sera et al, Liu, and Ohsawa et al, Liu discloses wherein the melting point of the thermoplastic material ranges from 100 degrees Celsius to 200 degrees Celsius [0049].
Regarding Claim 7,17,
In addition to Kwon Sera et al, Liu and Ohsawa et al , Ohsawa et al discloses wherein the thermoplastic material comprises at least one of epoxy resin, polypropylene, polymethyl methacrylate, or polyethylene terephthalate [0064].
Regarding Claim 8,18,
In addition to Kwon Sera et al, Liu and Ohsawa et al , Ohsawa et al discloses wherein the thermoplastic material is a thermal curing material or an ultraviolet curing material [0100].
Regarding Claim 9,19,
In addition to Kwon Sera et al, Liu and Ohsawa et al , KWON SERA et al discloses (Drawing 5a, also pasted above) wherein the conductive connectors (121) cover the solder pad terminals (130).
Regarding Claim 10,20,
In addition to Kwon Sera et al, Liu and Ohsawa et al , KWON SERA et al discloses (Drawing 5a, also pasted above) wherein the substrate further comprises a plurality of driving circuits, and the driving circuits drive corresponding ones of the miniature light-emitting diodes to emit light. (“… According to one embodiment, the display device 1 may further include a processor (not shown). According to one embodiment, the plurality of display modules 20 include an IC chip, and the IC chip generates a driving signal for a plurality of micro LEDs based on an image signal received from a processor, and generates a plurality of driving signals for the plurality of micro LEDs based on the driving signal. An image can be displayed by controlling the emission of a plurality of pixels included in the display modules 20…”)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871