Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitations "the freewheel direction", “the tooth engagement”, and “the locking direction”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakajima (US 2019/0217662).
In re claim 1, Nakajima discloses a freewheel (12) of a vehicle, comprising: a crankshaft (14); an output shaft (16) having a first gear cog (62); a freewheel element (74) having a second gear cog (52); and a friction element (30),
wherein the first gear cog and the second gear cog are configured to, when engaged with each other, effect a torque transfer between the output shaft and the freewheel element (see [0080]),
wherein the freewheel element is arranged to be displaceable in the axial direction on the crankshaft (as shown in Figures 5-6),
wherein the freewheel element is arranged to be non-rotatable relative to the crankshaft in the circumferential direction (as shown in Figures 5-6), and
wherein the freewheel element and the friction element are connected to each other by way of a helical mechanism (44) which is configured to effect a translational displacement of the freewheel element and the friction element relative to each other during relative rotation of the freewheel element and the friction element (as shown in Figures 7-9).
In re claim 2, Nakajima further discloses wherein the helical mechanism (44) includes a thread as shown in Figure 7.
In re claim 3, Nakajima further discloses wherein a predetermined friction closure (via assembly 37 holding internals in place) in the circumferential direction is formed between the output shaft and the friction element.
In re claim 4, Nakajima further discloses wherein the frictional closure between the output shaft and the friction element includes a frictional force (via clip 37a) in the circumferential direction.
In re claim 5, Nakajima further discloses wherein the friction force is generated by way of at least one screw and/or by way of a friction ring (37a).
In re claim 7, Nakajima further discloses a stop (34) configured to limit the translational displacement of the freewheel element relative to the friction element.
In re claim 8, Nakajima further discloses wherein the stop is formed on the friction element (as shown in Figure 5).
In re claim 9, Nakajima further discloses wherein the stop is designed such that, when the freewheel element adjoins the stop, the gear cogs are completely disengaged from one another (at least in Figure 5).
In re claim 10, Nakajima further discloses wherein the helical mechanism is designed such that the corresponding relative translational displacement during relative rotation in the freewheel direction disengages the tooth engagement of the gear cogs and, during relative rotation in the locking direction, engages the tooth engagement of the gear cogs (as shown in Figures 5-6).
In re claim 12, Nakajima further discloses wherein the freewheel element is attached to the crankshaft in an axially displaceable manner and in a non-rotatable manner in the circumferential direction by way of a radial gear cog (internal portion of member 74 that engages splines 44).
In re claim 14, Nakajima further discloses wherein: the output shaft is designed as a hollow shaft, and the crankshaft is rotatably mounted within the output shaft (as shown in Figure 2).
In re claim 15, Nakajima further discloses a vehicle (bicycle) comprising a freewheel according to claim 1.
In re claim 17, Nakajima further discloses wherein the vehicle is a two-wheeler (bicycle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima.
In re claim 13, Nakajima further discloses wherein: the freewheel element is designed in one part, with a gear cog including the second gear cog and with a fixed ring (inner portion of 74) including a part of the helical mechanism (engaging splines 44), but does not disclose the freewheel element being in two parts, with the gear cog and the fixed ring connected to each other in a rotationally fixed manner. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the freewheel element of Nakajima such that it was made of two parts, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima in view Walthert (US 10,995,806).
In re claim 18, Nakajima further discloses wherein the vehicle is a bicycle but not an electric bike. Walthert, however, does disclose a bicycle with a freewheel wherein the bicycle is an electric bike (column 1, line 23-26). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bike of Nakajima such that it comprised the electric drive of Walthert to advantageously provide the bicycle with auxiliary power.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The specific limitations of “wherein the force closure between the output shaft and the friction element includes a magnetic force” is not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record in the examiner’s opinion. The Examiner notes that the prior art does not disclose a magnetic force closure between an output shaft and friction element.
Claim 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The specific limitations of “wherein the friction element30 is attached to the output shaft16 in an axially non-displaceable manner” is not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record in the examiner’s opinion. The Examiner notes that the prior art does not teach a friction element that is axially non-displaceable with respect to the output shaft and that due to the biasing member (34) of Nakajima allowing them to be displaceable with respect to one another, it would not have been obvious to do so.
Claim 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The specific limitations of “further comprising: a drive unit connected to the output shaft, and a crank drive connected to the crankshaft” is not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record in the examiner’s opinion. The Examiner notes that the prior art does not disclose a freewheel as claimed with a drive unit connected to the output shaft and a crank drive connected to the crankshaft.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references cited on the attached PTO-892 teach freewheels of interest.
/MICHAEL R STABLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611