DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the upper cover (2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0043] sentence 2 “gas-solid separation flow channel 21” should be 221
Paragraph [0042], sentence 1 “one” should read “on”
Paragraph [0047], sentence 5 “mica plate 261” should read “weak structure 261”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the recitation "wherein the gas-solid separation flow channel is located on a same plane" is indefinite because, as phrased, seemingly applicant is claiming that the gas-solid separation flow channel is on the same plane as another feature which is not stated.
For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation has been interpreted as “wherein the gas-solid separation flow channel is located on a plane.”
Claim 3 is rejected as it depends from, and therefore incorporates the claimed subject matter from claims rejected under this statute.
The term “weak” in claim 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “weak” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The nature of the structure or degree of weakness necessary to qualify as a "weak structure" and provide the claimed limitation is not clear.
For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation has been interpreted as a structure that is thinned enough to allow the flue gas in the cell installation compartment to penetrate the structure and enter the gas inlet of the gas-solid separation flow channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Reinprecht et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0359374 A1), listed in the IDS as EP3910699 (A1).
Regarding claim 1, Reinprecht et al. teaches a battery pack (10, Fig. 1, [0083]), comprising: a box body (body of 20 and body of 64 see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1 below, [0084] and [0098]) having a cell installation compartment (hollow of 20, [0084]) and an exhaust compartment (hollow of 64, [0098]); and an upper cover (30, [0087]) covering the box body and having a gas-solid separation flow channel (32/37, [0089]) (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1 below) adapted to centrifugally separate gas from particulate matter in flue gas flowing through the gas-solid separation flow channel (32/37, see [0098] - [0099]), wherein a gas inlet (34, Fig. 1) of the gas-solid separation flow channel (32/37) communicates with the cell installation compartment (hollow of 20) (see [0087]), and a gas outlet (46, Fig. 1, B-B) of the gas-solid separation flow channel (32/37) communicates with the exhaust compartment (hollow of 64) (see Fig. 1 B-B, see [0096] - [0098]).
Regarding claim 2, Reinprecht et al. teaches wherein the gas-solid separation flow channel (32/37) is located on a same plane (see Fig. 1, B-B, [0087]; see 112b rejection above for interpretation of same plane).
Regarding claim 3, Reinprecht et al. teaches wherein the plane (see Fig. 1, B-B) where the gas-solid separation flow channel (32/37) is located is perpendicular to a height direction of the box body (body of 20 and body of 64) (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, Reinprecht et al. teaches wherein the box body (body of 20 and body of 64) has a chamber (hollow of 22 and hollow of 64, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1 above), a partition (36 and 40, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1 above) is installed in the chamber (hollow of 22 and hollow of 64), the partition (36 and 40) divides the chamber (hollow of 22 and hollow of 64) into the cell installation compartment (hollow of 20) and the exhaust compartment (hollow of 64) (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1 above), and the cell installation compartment (hollow of 20) and the exhaust compartment (hollow of 64) communicate with each other only through the gas-solid separation flow channel (32/37) when the upper cover (30) covers the box body (body of 20 and body of 64, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1 above) (see [0039] and [0089]).
Regarding claim 14, Reinprecht et al. teaches the battery pack, further comprising an explosion-proof valve (38, Fig. 1), the explosion-proof valve (38) is installed on the box body (body of 20 and body of 64) and is adapted to discharge gas in the exhaust compartment (hollow of 64) when in an open state (see [0089]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reinprecht et al (US 2021/0359374 A1), listed on the IDS as EP3910699 (A1) in view of Jang et al. (US 2023/0411781 A1), listed on the IDS as WO2023068657.
Regarding claim 4, Reinprecht et al. teaches wherein the gas-solid separation flow channel (32/37, see [0089]) comprises a plurality of separation flow channel sections communicating with each other (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1 above, see [0088] - [0089]).
Reinprecht et al. does not teach the separation flow channel sections in sequence are connected end to end to form a spiral structure.
However, Jang et al. teaches a battery pack (see [0052]), wherein the separation flow channel sections (330(P1) and 330(P2), Fig. 10) in sequence are connected end to end to form a spiral structure (the center of the spiral part of the first path, P1, Fig. 10, and the center of the spiral part of the second path, P2, Fig. 10, may be engaged with each other as is shown in B11, Fig. 9 (Figure 10 may be a modification of a configuration of Fig. 9 (see [0101]), see [0098]-[0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Reinprecht et al. by connecting the separation flow channel sections in sequence end to end to form a spiral structure as taught by Jang et al. because the spiral structure leads to an increased flow path for the venting gas, in addition to, rotation and creation of a centrifugal force, both of which more effectively prevent a flame or active material particles from being discharged to the outside (see Jang et al. [0097]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 5, Reinprecht et al. teaches wherein the upper cover has solid storage compartments (33, Fig. 1, B-B, see [0087]) corresponding to the separation flow channel sections (32/37).
Reinprecht et al. does not teach and each of the solid storage compartments is located on a circumferential outer side of corresponding one of the separation flow channel sections and communicates with corresponding one of the separation flow channel sections.
However, Jang et al. teaches a battery pack (see [0052]), wherein each of the solid storage compartments (G1 and G2, Fig. 10) is located on a circumferential outer side of corresponding one of the separation flow channel sections (330, Fig. 10) and communicates with corresponding one of the separation flow channel sections (Protrusion paths may include spiral parts, and concave portions may be formed in the spiral shape. The concave portion may be concave outward more than other portions in a spiral form. An outer side may refer to a side away from the center of a spiral shape. see Fig. 10, [0102]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Reinprecht et al. by placing the storage compartments on the outer circumference of the spiral parts, having communication with the corresponding spiral parts as taught by Jang at al. in order to improve particle collection by the storage compartments and to more effectively prevent particles such as an active material from being discharged to the outside and acting as a heat source to cause propagation of thermal runaway or the like (see Jang et al., [0103]-[0105]).
Regarding claim 6, Reinprecht et al. does not teach wherein the gas inlet is located on an outer ring of the spiral structure, the gas outlet is located on an inner ring of the spiral structure, and a flow cross section of each of separation flow channel sections decreases in order from being close to the gas inlet to being away from the gas inlet.
However, Jang et al. teaches a battery pack, wherein the gas inlet (C1,C1’, Figs. 5 and 6, see [0079]) is located on an outer ring of the spiral structure (330, Figs. 5 and 6) (arrow through H1, Fig. 3), the gas outlet (O1, Fig. 3, see [0080]) is located on an inner ring of the spiral structure (330) (arrow to O1, Fig. 3) , and a flow cross section of each of separation flow channel sections decreases in order from being close to the gas inlet (C1,C1’) to being away from the gas inlet (see Fig. 3) (see [0056]-[0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Reinprecht et al. by forming the gas inlet on the outer ring of the spiral part, the gas outlet on the inner ring of the spiral part, and having the flow cross section of each separation flow channel section decrease going from being close to the gas inlet to being away from the gas inlet as taught by Jang et al. in order to more reliably implement a configuration for guiding the flow of venting gas in the gas-solid separation flow channel to ensure the venting gas can only be discharged via the gas-solid separation flow channel (see [0080]).
Regarding claim 7, Reinprecht et al. does not teach wherein a flow cross section of the gas-solid separation flow channel gradually decreases from an end close to the gas inlet to an end away from the gas inlet.
However, Jang et al. teaches wherein a flow cross section of the gas-solid separation flow channel (330, Fig. 3) gradually decreases from an end close to the gas inlet (C1/C1’, Figs. 5 and 6) to an end away from the gas inlet (C1/C1’, Figs. 5 and 6) (see 330, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Reinprecht et al. by forming the flow cross section of the gas-solid separation flow channel to gradually decrease from an end close to the gas inlet to and end away from the gas inlet as taught by Jang et al. in order to more reliably implement a configuration for guiding the flow of venting gas in the gas-solid separation flow channel to ensure the venting gas can only be discharged via the gas-solid separation flow channel (see [0080]).
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reinprecht et al (US 2021/0359374 A1), listed on the IDS as EP3910699 (A1) in view of Shin et al (US 20230318130 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Reinprecht et al. teaches a battery pack (10, Fig. 1, [0083]), wherein the upper cover (30, [0087]) comprises a gas-solid separation flow channel (32/37, [0089]) (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1 above), and the exhaust structure (15, Fig. 1) communicates with the gas inlet (34, Fig. 1) (see [0086]-[0087]), but does not teach wherein the upper cover comprises the claimed combination and orientation of plates in order to provide the gas-solid separation flow channel.
More specifically, Reinprecht et al. does not teach, wherein the upper cover comprises an upper plate, a lower plate, and a flow channel combination plate sandwiched between the upper plate and the lower plate, the gas-solid separation flow channel is arranged in the flow channel combination plate, the lower plate faces the box body, an exhaust structure is arranged on a region of the lower plate covering the cell installation compartment.
However, Shin et al. teaches a battery pack (100) wherein the upper cover (130+122, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2 below) comprises an upper plate (133, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2 below), a lower plate (122, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2 below) , and a flow channel combination plate (131+132, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2 below) sandwiched between the upper plate and the lower plate, the lower plate faces the box body (121, Fig. 1), an exhaust structure (123a-d, see Examiner’s Annotated Figs. 2 and 3 below) is arranged on a region of the lower plate (122) covering the cell installation compartment (hollow accommodation space, [0046]). Shin further teaches that this cover structure guides the movement of gas or high temperature spark to a location far away from adjacent battery modules via the shortest route, to effectively reduce the movement of the high temperature gas to the adjacent battery modules, minimizing thermal runaway of the other battery cells or gas explosion propagation (see Shin et al. [0023]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Reinprecht et al. by modifying the upper cover to comprise a multi-layer cover structure consisting of multiple gas inlets, gas outlets, and gas channels in communication with the battery cells and exit ports as taught by Shin et al. in order to guide the movement of gas or high temperature spark to a location far away from adjacent battery modules via the shortest route, to effectively reduce the movement of the high temperature gas to the adjacent battery modules, minimizing thermal runaway of the other battery cells or gas explosion propagation (see Shin et al. [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 9, Reinprecht et al. does not teach wherein the flow channel combination plate comprises a flow channel plate and a buffer plate arranged in a stack, the flow channel plate is located between the upper plate and the buffer plate, a flow channel groove is arranged on a side of the flow channel plate facing the buffer plate, the buffer plate is connected to the flow channel plate, covers the flow channel groove, and is matched with the flow channel groove to define the gas-solid separation flow channel, a gas outlet end of the flow channel groove penetrates a side of the flow channel plate facing the upper plate to form the gas outlet, and the buffer plate is provided with a first ventilation opening penetrating the buffer plate, and the first ventilation opening overlaps at least a portion of a gas inlet end of the flow channel groove to define the gas inlet.
However, Shin et al. teaches wherein the flow channel combination plate (131+132, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 below) comprises a flow channel plate (131, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5 below) and a buffer plate (132, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 below) arranged in a stack, the flow channel plate (131) is located between the upper plate (133) and the buffer plate (132), a flow channel groove (137, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5 below) is arranged on a side of the flow channel plate (131) facing the buffer plate (132), the buffer plate (132) is connected to the flow channel plate (131), covers the flow channel groove (137), and is matched with the flow channel groove (137), a gas outlet end of the flow channel groove (137) penetrates a side of the flow channel plate (131) facing the upper plate (133) to form the gas outlet (133a-d), (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5 below and [0053]), and the buffer plate (132) is provided with a first ventilation opening (132a-d) penetrating the buffer plate (132), and the first ventilation opening (132a-d) overlaps at least a portion of a gas inlet end of the flow channel groove (137) to define the gas inlet (132, see Examiner’s Annotated Figs. 2 above and 8 below and [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Reinprecht et al. by further modifying the upper cover to comprise a multi-layer structure which incorporates the gas channel and defines the gas inlet and gas outlet for the gas channel as taught by Shin et al. in order to guide the movement of gas or high temperature spark to a location far away from adjacent battery modules via the shortest route, to effectively reduce the movement of the high temperature gas to the adjacent battery modules, minimizing thermal runaway of the other battery cells or gas explosion propagation (see Shin et al. [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 10, Reinprecht et al. does not teach wherein a buffer compartment is arranged on a side of the buffer plate facing the lower plate to cover the exhaust structure, and a gas inlet end of the first ventilation opening penetrates an inner wall of the buffer compartment to communicate with the buffer compartment.
However, Shin et al. teaches the battery pack wherein a buffer compartment (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 above) is arranged on a side of the buffer plate (132) facing the lower plate (122) to cover the exhaust structure (123a-d), and a gas inlet end of the first ventilation opening (132a-d) penetrates an inner wall of the buffer compartment (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 above) to communicate with the buffer compartment (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Reinprecht et al. by further modifying the upper cover to comprise a buffer plate, containing buffer compartments, between the battery cell accommodation space and the gas channel as taught by Shin et al. in order to guide the movement of gas or high temperature spark to a location far away from adjacent battery modules via the shortest route, to effectively reduce the movement of the high temperature gas to the adjacent battery modules, minimizing thermal runaway of the other battery cells or gas explosion propagation (see Shin et al. [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 11, Reinprecht et al. teaches the flue gas in the cell installation compartment (22, Fig. 1) is discharged through the exhaust structure (15, Fig. 1) and flows through the gas-solid separation flow channel (32/37, Fig. 1) and then enters the exhaust compartment (64, Fig. 1) (see [0086] - [0089]).
Reinprecht et al. does not teach wherein each of the flow channel plate, the buffer plate, and the lower plate are provided with a second ventilation opening communicating with the exhaust compartment, a groove is arranged on a side of the upper plate facing the flow channel plate to communicate the gas outlet with the second ventilation opening on the flow channel plate, and the flue gas in the cell installation compartment sequentially flows through the buffer compartment, the first ventilation opening, and then enters the exhaust compartment through the second ventilation opening.
However, Shin et al. teaches the battery pack wherein each of the flow channel plate (131), the buffer plate (132), and the lower plate (122) are provided with a second ventilation opening (131a-d, 132a-d, 123a-d, respectively, see Examiner’s Annotated Figs. 2-4 above) communicating with the exhaust compartment (hollow structure of 242, Fig. 14, see [0097]), a groove (133a-d) is arranged on a side of the upper plate (133) facing the flow channel plate (131) to communicate the gas outlet (133a-d) with the second ventilation opening on the flow channel plate (131a-d), and the flue gas in the cell installation compartment (hollow accommodation space of 120, Fig. 2, see [0046]) sequentially flows through the buffer compartment (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 above), the first ventilation opening (132a-d), and then enters the exhaust compartment (hollow structure of 242, Fig. 14, see [0097]) through the second ventilation opening (133a-d) (see Fig. 14 and [100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Reinprecht et al. by modifying the upper cover to comprise a multi-layer structure consisting of multiple gas inlets, gas outlets, and gas channels in communication with the battery cells and exit ports as taught by Shin et al. in order to guide the movement of gas or high temperature spark to a location far away from adjacent battery modules via the shortest route, to effectively reduce the movement of the high temperature gas to the adjacent battery modules, minimizing thermal runaway of the other battery cells or gas explosion propagation (see Shin et al. [0023]-[0024]).
Conclusion
/K.L.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723