DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meredith (4330129) in view of Woitas (US 11391548). Regarding claim 1, Meredith discloses a plate target system, comprising: a base having an elongated frame having a length (fig. 1, main frame 12), a forward end, and a rearward end (figure 1, forward end is end furthest away from target), a target plate (8) pivoted to the base frame and configured to be set in a generally upright position (figure 1), and an extension frame (figure 1, stabilizer frame 32), the extension frame foldably mounted to the base frame and movable between an extended position and a folded position (figures 1 and 2).
Although Meredith discloses that target plate (8) is pivotable from an upright position to a horizontal position (col. 5, lines 47-50) via crank shaft 9, Meredith fails to disclose that the target is caused to fall rearwardly to a down position when struck on a front surface thereof and an impact pad located at rearward position of the base frame to be contacted by the target plate when it falls to the down position, the impact pad isolating impact forces of the target plate from the base frame. However, Woitas teaches that it is known to provide target systems like that of Meredith with construction such that the target is caused to fall rearwardly when struck (abstract, figs. 1 and 4) along with an impact pad (112) located at rearward position of the base frame to be contacted by the target plate when it falls to the down position, the impact pad isolating impact forces of the target plate from the base frame (col. 5, lines 33-42). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to have provided the target system of Meredith with construction as taught by Woitas for the purpose of indicating a hit and reducing potential damage to the target.
Regarding claim 2, Meredith as modified by Woitas above meets such limitations due to the positioning of the impact pad of Woitas along the base frame as shown in figure 1 and the folded positioning of the extension frame of Meredith as shown in figure 2.
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to arrange the impact pad, base frame and extension frame such that in the folded position the impact pad is positioned forward of the forward end of the base frame as such would depend on relative positioning of the impact pad, relative size and/or scalability or the target and base extension and regardless of the impact pad positioning, the device would not perform differently with either size/positioned impact pad. See MPEP 2144.04 IV, A and VI, C.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meredith (4330129) in view of Woitas (US 11391548), as stated above, and further in view of Burks (US 20140284880). Regarding claim 8, Meredith, as modified by Woitas, discloses most of the claimed elements but for the base frame includes stake down tabs to stake the base frame to the ground.
Burks teaches that it is known to provide a target base frame with stake down tabs to secure the frame to the ground (holes 22, fig. 2C, paragraph 27). Therefore it would have been obvious to include stake down tabs with the device of Meredith, as modified by Woitas, for the purpose of further securing the device in place.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-21 are allowed.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715