DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “evacuation means” and is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “evacuation means” in claim 3.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the formation" in the 9th line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lucas (US 2007/0171954), which shows all of the claimed limitations. Lucas shows:
1. An aluminum scrap melting system for melting aluminum scrap, the melting system comprising: - a melting furnace intended to melt said aluminum scrap 3 (para. 0033,0043), and comprising: - a drum 1 internally delimiting a melting chamber intended to receive said aluminum scrap to be melted; - a burner 10 comprising a firing device, at least one oxidant injector 13, and at least one fuel injector 14, said oxidant injector being configured to inject an oxidant flow inside the melting chamber, said fuel injector being configured to inject a fuel flow inside the melting chamber, and the firing device being configured to start a combustion of the oxidant and the fuel injected into the melting chamber, to supply heat into the melting chamber (fig. 1); - evacuation means 18 configured to make it possible to extract all or some of the combustion fumes from inside the melting chamber to a vent zone located outside the melting chamber and where air is free to circulate; - a suction hood 18 (broadest reasonable interpretation of a hood - HOOD Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster “an enclosure or canopy provided with a draft for carrying off fumes, sprays, smokes, or dusts”) disposed outside the melting chamber and intended to capture by suction all or some of said combustion fumes present in the vent zone, said suction hood furthermore comprising an inspection pipe comprising a carbon monoxide sensor 5 configured to measure a value of a carbon monoxide concentration in said combustion fumes captured by the suction hood, the carbon monoxide sensor comprising a laser emitter configured to emit a laser radiation, and a laser receiver configured to receive said emitted laser radiation, and to measure an absorption spectrum of said received laser radiation, the value of the carbon monoxide concentration being determined on the basis of said absorption spectrum thus measured (para. 0027 – inherent function of a laser diode CO detector); - a control device 8 configured to receive an item of input information representative of the value of the carbon monoxide concentration measured by the carbon monoxide sensor, and to pilot said oxidant flow injected by said oxidant injector and/or said fuel flow injected by said fuel injector, according to said item of input information, the oxidant and fuel flows being piloted to contain the volatile organic compound content at the output of the melting furnace at concentrations less than a safety value (para. 0039,0040).
2. The system according to claim 1, wherein the melting furnace is a rotary furnace comprising a rotary drum configured to be rotated (Title – inherent function).
3. The system according to claim 1, wherein the evacuation means of the melting furnace comprise at least one opening formed in a wall of the melting furnace (fig. 1).
5. The system according to claim 1, wherein the oxidant injector is an industrially pure oxygen injector (para. 0016).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas (US 2007/0171954) in view of Koder (LINDE AG - DE 102013012831).
Lucas discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach the additional oxidant.
Koder, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that it is known in the art to provide a second oxidant 110c.
Koder teaches that such an arrangement provides for smelting contaminated aluminum which reduces safety and health hazards, increases efficiency, and reduces aluminum burn-up (para. 0007).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention incorporate the additional oxidant as taught by Koder into the invention disclosed by Lucas, so as to provide for safety and health.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas (US 2007/0171954) in view of Rheker (US 2011/0154949).
Lucas discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach the filter.
Rheker, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that it is known in the art to provide a filter 11.
Rheker teaches that such an arrangement provides for filtering exhaust gasses (para. 0047).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention incorporate the filter as taught by Rheker into the invention disclosed by Lucas, so as to provide for filtering exhaust gasses.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. These references disclose devices with many of the claimed components. Nevertheless, in order to avoid overburdening the applicant with redundant rejections, these references were not applied.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the rejection under 112 above.
Conclusion
To contact the examiner’s supervisor please call MICHAEL HOANG whose telephone number is 571 272 6460.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Tech Center telephone number is 571 272 3700.
April 18, 2026
/ALFRED BASICHAS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762