DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-4, 6, 8-9 and 11-13 in the reply filed on 07/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 6, 8-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sacripante et al. (US PGP 2014/0134534) in view of CN 10-3108945.
Sacripante teaches a toner comprising resin particles that composed substantially of biodegradable and recycled materials (Abstract). The recycled materials are taught to be comprise polyethylene terephthalate polymers ([0020]). The PET polymers are taught to comprise from 5 to 70% by weight of the polymers and the bio-based polymers are taught to be 25 to 90% by weight of the polymers ([0019]). The PET polymers are taught to be polyesters and specifically sulfonated polyesters ([0022], [0024], [0032]). Sacripante teaches that amounts outside of those ranges can also be used as design choice to achieve the desired sustainability content and therefore it is clear that Sacripante envisions an embodiment wherein the toner contains more recycled polymers than bio-based polymers ([0018-19]). In addition to the recycled PET based polymers above, Sacripante also teaches the use of plant-based polymers ([0025]).
In addition to the amorphous resin described above an aqueous dispersion comprising said resin is further taught by Sacripante ([0087-88]). Additionally, Sacripante teaches that a shell may be formed on the resin/toner particles and that said shell may be a sulfonated polyester resin ([0032], [0103-106] and [0116]). The toner may further comprise a crystalline polyester ([0024], [0036-9]), a release agent ([0066-70]) and a colorant ([0050-57]). The toner is further taught to comprise a colorant ([0050-57]) and a release agent ([0066-70]). The toner is additionally taught to comprise an external additive (surface additive, [0076-82]). The toners are further taught to be paired with carrier particles to form two component developer compositions ([0125-130]).
The toners and developers are additionally taught to be used in an image forming apparatus that performs and image forming method that reads on the Applicant’s limitations recited in claims 15-18 ([0131-138]). Sacripnate does not, however, teach a suitable molar percentage of sulfo group in the amorphous polymers.
CN ‘945 teaches the water solubility or water dispersability of a sulfonated polyester may be improved by setting the sulfonated monomer content within between 4 and 25 mol% ([0067-71]). As Sacripante is silent regarding suitable sulfonated monomer content in the amorphous polyester resins and as Sacripante teaches forming an aqueous dispersion of the sulfonated polyester resins one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the prior art for guidance as to a suitable sulfonated monomer content. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to have imparted the sulfonated polyester resins of Sacripante with a sulfo group content within the range taught by CN ‘945.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sacripante et al. (US PGP 2014/0134534) in view of CN 10-3108945 as applied to claims 1, 3-4 and 6, 8-9 and 11-13 above, and further in view of Yamashita et al. (US PGP 2023/0195005).
The complete disclosures of Sacripante and CN ‘945 above are included herein. Neither teach a solubility parameter for the sulfonated polyester resins.
Yamashita teaches a toner comprising resin particles having core particles and a resin shell ([0039-40]). The shell resin is taught to include resins comprising a sulfonic acid group and a solubility parameter of 9 to 13 (cal/cm3)1/2 ([0042], [0057-61] and [0094]). Yamashita teaches that a solubility parameter within this range is desirable in terms of ease of formation of the toner particles and that the SP value of the resin can be adjusted by changing monomer and monomer ratios through routine laboratory technique ([0094-95]). As such, it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to have optimized the SP value of the resins of Sacripante as modified above by CN ‘945 to a value within the range taught by Yamashita for the shell resin of the resin particles in order to improve the ease of formation of the toner particles.
Conclusion
/PETER L VAJDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 07/25/2026