DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the "same invention" type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that "whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process ... may obtain a patent therefor ..." (Emphasis added). Thus, the term "same invention," in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957); and In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the conflicting claims so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 19 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 18. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 706.03(k). Note that claim 19 is dependent on claim 14 but it does not further limit the components of claim 14 and thus it further limits the corresponding limitation of claim 12, which makes it essentially same as claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKeon et al. (US 2024/0101930 A1) in view of Mayer et al. (US 8,497,234 B2).
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 11, McKeon teaches a unit dose fabric treatment composition (abstract, 9) comprising; a water soluble film material with two compartments; [50, 52, 55], enclosing a liquid material (i.e. first compartment) with 5-60 wt.% non-aqueous solvents; [11, 111], surfactants such as methyl ester sulfonate (MES), alcohol ethoxylate (AE), laurethethyl sulfate (AES); [95, 120]. The second compartment encloses solid ingredients; [55, 135-136], and is not taught in details. However, according to McKeon (135) this is identical to the analogous prior art of Mayer’s teaching, wherein the compartment comprises sulfonated methyl ester (MES) lauryl sulfate (SLS); [13: 2-30], and methyl ester ethoxylate (MEE); [12: 1-5]. As stated by McKeon and evidenced by Mayer, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the solid ingredient compartment taught by Mayer to be utilized for McKeon’s second compartment as an actual functional equivalent composition. It should be noted that (instant 11) Mayer teaches the enzymes such as lipase and protease within the solid ingredients of its corresponding compartment (i.e. 2nd compartment); [15: 60-67].
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Regarding the instantly claimed percent swelling of the unit dose McKeon, and the unit dose product’s (instant claim 7) Zein score (skin irritation potential of surfactants) does not expressly teach this property. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, in the claimed ranges, was prepared under similar conditions, and that the original specification specifies that the properties arise from a combination of specific ingredients or process step and that it is rendered obvious by the applied art. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. “percent swelling of the unit dose”, would expectedly be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants’ position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients.
“Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Regarding claims 2-5, 6, and 8-10, McKeon teaches nonaqueous solvents of polyethylene glycol in amounts of 10-60%, glycerin in amount of 5-40%, and polyethylene glycol (PEG 200-1000 D, preferred 400 D) in amounts of 0-20%; [15, 17, 25-26], wherein their instantly claimed ratios (instant claims 3-4) are met with a considerable overlaps. The liquid material compartment further (instant 6) comprises anti-redeposition, defoamer, enzyme and bleaching agents; [123-124], and (instant 8) alcohol ethoxylate; [95], and alcohol ethoxy sulfate; [120]. McKeon teaches (instant 10) alcohol ethoxy sulfate (anionic surfactant) in the amount of 0-50%; [119-120]. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed Cir. 1990), [MPEP 2144.05, R5].
Note that (instant 9) Mckeon the instantly claimed amount of nonionic alcohol ethoxylate surfactant (AE). However, the analogous art of Mayer teaches a similar unit dose product wherein the total amount of nonionic (including alcohol ethoxylate; [11: 22-30, 40], is 5-30%; [12: 55-58]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to increase the amount of AE to about 15% (as instantly claimed) without any adverse effect and with motivation enhancing its effective degreasing, soil suspension, and cold-water cleaning properties (please consult any general chemistry textbook) as taught by Mayer.
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKeon et al. (US 0101930 A1) in view of Mayer et al. (US 8,497,234 B2).
Regarding claims 12, 14-15 and 20, McKeon teaches a unit dose fabric treatment composition (abstract, 9) comprising; a water soluble film material with two compartments; [50, 52, 55], enclosing a liquid material (i.e. first compartment) with 5-60 wt.% non-aqueous solvents; [11, 111], comprising polyethylene glycol in amounts of 10-60%, glycerin in amount of 5-40%, and polyethylene glycol (PEG 200-1000 D, and preferred PEG 400 D) in amounts of 0-20%; [15, 17, 25-26], wherein their instantly claimed ratios (instant claims 14-15) are met with a considerable overlaps. McKeon teaches the surfactants such as methyl ester sulfonate (MES), alcohol ethoxylate (AE), laurethethyl sulfate (AES); [95, 120], and additives such as comprises anti-redeposition, defoamer, enzyme and bleaching agents; [123-124].
The second compartment encloses solid ingredients; [55, 135-136], and is not taught in details. However, according to McKeon (135) this is identical to the analogous prior art of Mayer’s teaching, wherein the solid compartments comprises sulfonated methyl ester (MES) lauryl sulfate (SLS); [13: 2-30], and methyl ester ethoxylate (MEE); [12: 1-5]. Total amounts of nonionic and anionic surfactants, by Mayer, are 2-30% + 5-30% (total of 5-60%) correspondingly; [13: 64-67, 12: 55-58]. As stated by McKeon and evidenced by Mayer, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the solid ingredient compartment taught by Mayer to be utilized for McKeon’s second compartment as an actual functional equivalent composition. It should be noted that Mayer teaches (instant 20) the enzymes such as lipase and protease within the solid ingredients of its corresponding compartment (i.e. 2nd compartment); [15: 60-67].
Regarding claims 12-13, Regarding the instantly claimed percent swelling of the unit dose McKeon, and the unit dose product’s Zein score (skin irritation potential of surfactants) does not expressly teach this property. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, in the claimed ranges, was prepared under similar conditions, and that the original specification specifies that the properties arise from a combination of specific ingredients or process step and that it is rendered obvious by the applied art. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. “percent swelling of the unit dose”, would expectedly be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants’ position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients.
“Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Regarding claims 16-18, McKeon teaches alcohol ethoxylate in the liquid composition; [95], and alcohol ethoxy sulfate; [120], and the solid composition’s alcohol ethoxy sulfate; [120]. McKeon teaches (instant 17) anionic surfactant (i.e. alcohol ethoxy sulfate) in the amount of 0-50%; [119-120]. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed Cir. 1990), [MPEP 2144.05, R5]. Mayer teaches the anionic surfactants (including methyl ester sulfonate; 13: 3-5) in solid composition (instant 18) comprises the amount of 2-30%; [13: 65-67]. It is noted that; “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected [the claimed product and a product disclosed in the prior art] to have the same properties.” Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). [MPEP 2131.03, R6].
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/02/20
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767