Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-20 recite an abstract idea of performing a mental process. The claim limitations are not indicative of integration into a practical application and the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as discussed below.
Step 1 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter
More specifically, regarding Step 1, of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, the claims are drawn to at least one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition).
Step 2a1 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance
Next, the claims are analyzed to determine whether it is directed to a judicial exception.
Claims 1-9 recite: a system comprising:
a processor; and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor following a receipt of first data associated with a gaming establishment personnel identification device and an establishment, based at least in part on the first data, of a designated mode of a gaming establishment device, cause the processor to:
determine if any non-volatile memory clearing events occur in association with the gaming establishment device, and
responsive to an occurrence of a non-volatile memory clearing event in association with the gaming establishment device, communicate, to a component of a gaming establishment device management system, data associated with the occurrence of the non-volatile memory clearing event and second data associated with the gaming establishment personnel identification device.
Claims 10-11 recite: a system comprising:
a processor; and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor following enabling an identified electronic gaming machine operator access to service an electronic gaming machine, cause the processor to:
determine any resetting of a meter of the electronic gaming machine that tracks fund transactions, and
responsive to an occurrence of a resetting of the meter of the electronic gaming machine, communicate, to a component of a gaming establishment device management system, data associated with each of the occurrence of the resetting of the meter of the electronic gaming machine and the identified electronic gaming machine operator.
Claims 12-20 recite a method of operating a system, the method comprising:
following a receipt of first data associated with a gaming establishment personnel identification device and an establishment, based at least in part on the first data, of a designated mode of a gaming establishment device:
determining, by a processor, if any non-volatile memory clearing events occur in association with the gaming establishment device, and
responsive to an occurrence of a non-volatile memory clearing event in association with the gaming establishment device, communicating, to a component of a gaming establishment device management system, data associated with the occurrence of the non-volatile memory clearing event and second data associated with the gaming establishment personnel identification device.
The underlined limitations recite an abstract idea of performing a mental process.
Step 2a2 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance
The second prong of step 2a is the consideration of whether the claim recites additional elements that are indicative of integration into a practical application.
An additional element or combination of additional elements that are indicative of integrating the abstract idea into a practical application include:
-Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
-Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo
-Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b)
-Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
-Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo
Additional element or combination of additional elements that are not indicative of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application include:
-Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)
-Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)
-Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h)
Claims 1-20 not apply a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment, and do not transform or reduce a particular article to a different state or thing.
Claims 1-20 are not directed to an improvement to a function of a computer. There is no improvement to a technical field. In addition, the claims do not apply the judicial exception with, or by use of a particular machine. The claims do not apply or use the judicial exception in a meaningful way.
The additional elements of : receipt data amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
The processor and memory is recited at a high level of generality and therefore acts as a generic computer to perform the abstract idea.
For the reasons discussed above, the additional elements identified above considered alone and in combination fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2b of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance
Next, the claims as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the exception.
Claims 1-20 recite a processor, memory configured to receipt of data, and communicate data.
Chen (US 2006/0116208) discloses it is well known of electronic gaming machine to comprise a processor, and memory device (paragraph 5).
The steps of communicating, transmitting data over a network is well known, routine and conventional. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
The claim limitations individually and as a whole do not amount to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
Dependent claims further recite an abstract idea of performing a mental process Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified abstract idea. Looking at the additional elements as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For example, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons discussed above with respect to the conclusion that the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The dependent clams merely include limitations that further define the abstract idea and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract. The claim limitations individually and as a whole do not amount to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, a processor; and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor following a receipt of first data associated with a gaming establishment personnel identification device and an establishment, based at least in part on the first data, of a designated mode of a gaming establishment device. The claim is indefinite because it is not clear if the claim is requiring the processor to be programmed to receive the first data.
In addition, the claim indefinite because it is not clear when infringement would occur. The claim limitation of following a receipt of first data appears to be a performed step rather than instructions stored in a memory device that a processor is programmed to perform. The claim is indefinite because it is not clear whether infringement occurs when one creates a system comprising a processor and a memory stores instructions to cause the processor the determine if any non-volatile memory clearing event occurs and responsive to an event, communicate data or whether infringement occurs when once creates the system and after the first data is received.
Claims 2-9 are rejected by dependency.
Claim 10 recites, system comprising: a processor; and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor following enabling an identified electronic gaming machine operator access to service an electronic gaming machine, cause the processor to. The claim is indefinite because it is not clear if the claim is requiring the processor to be programmed enable an identified electronic gaming machine operator access to service an electronic gaming machine .
In addition, the claim indefinite because it is not clear when infringement would occur. The claim limitation of following enabling an identified electronic gaming machine operator access to service an electronic gaming machine appears to be a performed step that occurs rather than instructions stored in a memory device that a processor is programmed to perform. The claim is indefinite because it is not clear whether infringement occurs when one creates a system or whether infringement occurs when once creates the system and after an identified electronic gaming machine operator is enabled access to service an electronic gaming machine.
Claim 11 are rejected by dependency.
Claim 12 recite, the method comprising: following a receipt of first data associated with a gaming establishment personnel identification device and an establishment, based at least in part on the first data, of a designated mode of a gaming establishment device. The claim is indefinite because it is not clear of the step of receiving first data associated with a gaming establishment personnel identification device is required for the claimed method.
Claims 13-20 are rejected by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 10, 12-15, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins (US 2022/0335782) in view of Bitterlin (US 2020/0372748)
Claim 1. Higgins discloses a system (server, paragraphs 24-25) comprising: a processor (paragraph 100); and a memory device (paragraph 100) that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor following a receipt of first data associated with a gaming establishment personnel identification device and an establishment, based at least in part on the first data, of a designated mode of a gaming establishment device, cause the processor to (receiving operator identifier and component of a gaming establishment management system in operator mode; paragraphs 12, 23-24, 26-27, 31, 38):
determine if any non-volatile memory (gaming data including an award is stored in non-volatile memory; paragraph 125) events occur in association with the gaming establishment device (gaming event such as jackpot award event requiring operator intervention; paragraphs 12, 34, 37),
and responsive to an occurrence of a non-volatile memory event in association with the gaming establishment device, communicate, to a component of a gaming establishment device management system, data associated with the occurrence of the non-volatile memory clearing event and second data associated with the gaming establishment personnel identification device (Operator communicates sets of information regarding the EGM and the player to provide the award; paragraph 34, 37-40).
Higgins discloses the claimed system but fails to teach that the event is a memory a clearing event. Nevertheless, such modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. Higgins discloses that the event can be a jackpot awarding event. When a jackpot is award, the prize meter is rest or cleared to zero. For instance, In analogous art to wagering games, Bitterlin discloses that when a prize amount is award at a machine, the displayed meter amount drops to zero or resets (paragraphs 3, 33, 70). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Higgin’s invention and incorporate a clearing event in order to provide the predictable result of resetting the award meter after awarding the award to the player.
Claim 2. Higgins discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the second data associated with the gaming establishment personnel identification device comprises a subset of the first data associated with the gaming establishment personnel identification device (paragraphs 23-24, 26-27, 31, 38).
Claim 3. Higgins discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the second data associated with the gaming establishment personnel identification device comprises an identifier of gaming establishment personnel (paragraphs 23-24, 26-27, 31, 38).
Claim 4. Higgins in view of Betterlin discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the occurrence of the non-volatile memory clearing event is associated with a resetting of a meter of the gaming establishment device (see rejection for claim 1 above).
Claim 6. Higgins in view of Betterlin the system of claim 4, wherein the meter tracks an amount of funds distributed by the gaming establishment device (see rejection for claim 1 above).
Claim 7. Higgins discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the gaming establishment device comprises an electronic gaming machine (paragraphs 12, 23-24, 26-27, 31, 38).
Claim 10. Higgins discloses a system (server, paragraphs 24-25) comprising: a processor (paragraph 100); and a memory device (paragraph 100) that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor following enabling an identified electronic gaming machine operator access to service an electronic gaming machine (i.e. access via operator mode; paragraphs 12, 31, 38), cause the processor to:
determine an electronic gaming machine event \ (gaming event such as jackpot award event requiring operator intervention; paragraphs 12, 34, 37),
and responsive to an occurrence of a resetting of the meter of the electronic gaming machine, communicate, to a component of a gaming establishment device management system ((Operator communicates sets of information regarding the EGM and the player to provide the award; paragraph 34, 37-40).
Higgins discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach that the event include any resetting of a meter of the electronic gaming machine that tracks fund transactions, and the data is associated with each of the occurrence of the resetting of the meter of the electronic gaming machine and the identified electronic gaming machine operator. Nevertheless, such modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. Higgins discloses that the event can be a jackpot awarding event. When a jackpot is award, the prize meter is rest or cleared to zero. For instance, In analogous art to wagering games, Bitterlin discloses that when a prize amount is award at a machine, the displayed meter amount drops to zero or resets (paragraphs 3, 33, 70). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Higgin’s invention and incorporate reset the award meter in order to provide the predictable result of awarding the award to the player.
Claims 12-15, 17-18. See rejections above.
Conclusion
/JASSON H YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715