DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on application number 18/543120 filed on 12/18/2023. Claims 1-5 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-4, drawn to an electrode body, classified in H01M 4/70.
II. Claim 5, drawn to a method of manufacturing an electrode body, classified in H01M 10/128.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions Group I and Group II are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process, such as welding the region having a width to the extending portion of the first collector.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
a) each Group possesses a separate classification as set forth above; and
b) each Group requires a separate field of search to find relevant prior art. See M.P.E.P. § 808.02.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
In a voice mail left by William H. Mandir on 6/19/2026, a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-4. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Byun (US 20120177982 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Byun discloses an electrode assembly for a secondary battery (abstract). The electrode assembly comprises a positive electrode plate (110) (equivalent to an electrode body) (par. 20, fig. 2). The positive electrode (110) comprising, in the following order, a positive electrode material (111) (equivalent to a first collector), a positive active material (112) (equivalent to a first active material layer), a separator (130) (equivalent to an electrolyte layer), a negative active material (122) (equivalent to a second active material layer), and a negative electrode material (121) (equivalent to a second collector) (par. 20-21, fig. 2), wherein:
the positive electrode material (111) has a positive electrode non-coated portion (111a) (equivalent to an extending portion) that extends outward from the positive active material (112) (par. 20, fig. 2), the separator (130), the negative active material (122), and the negative electrode material (121), and
the positive electrode non-coated portion (111a) includes a region having a width that is smaller than a maximum width of the positive electrode material (111) (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4: Byun discloses the secondary battery can be a lithium ion battery, or a lithium polymer battery using a high-molecular weight solid electrolyte (par. 18). The second battery comprises the electrode body of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun (US 20120177982 A1) as applied in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2: Byun discloses an electrode assembly for a secondary battery as described in paragraph 8 above. Byun also discloses a width (W1) of the positive electrode non-coated portion (111a) is 50-92% of the entire width (A) of the positive electrode plate (110) and the negative electrode plate (120) (par. 38, fig. 5). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun (US 20120177982 A1) as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Yawata et al. (US 20200373565 A1).
Regarding claim 3: Byun discloses an electrode assembly for a secondary battery (abstract) as described in paragraph 8 above. Byun fails to explicitly disclose a total Young's modulus of the first active material layer, the electrolyte layer and the second active material layer is greater than or equal to 6 GPa. However, Yawata et al. disclose a battery (abstract). The battery comprises a negative electrode active material layer (2) (equivalent to the second active material layer), a solid electrolyte layer (3), and a positive electrode active material layer (4) (equivalent to the first active material layer) (par. 46, fig. 1). The solid electrolyte layer (3) has Young’s modulus of 15 GPa (Table 1) (As the solid electrolyte layer (3) has Young’s modulus greater than 15 GPa, the total Young's modulus of the first active material layer, the electrolyte layer and the second active material layer is expected to be greater than 6 GPa). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the solid electrolyte layer (3) with the Young’s modulus of 15 GPa of Yawata et al. as the separator (130) of Byun because Yawata et al. teach that this can provide an all-solid state secondary battery having excellent cycle characteristics, discharge load characteristics, and high-speed charging characteristics (par. 8).
Conclusion
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717