DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are now pending and will be examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 7, and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). In the instant case, it is not clear whether the limitation is drawn to the generic teaching of “two or more of the properties” or the “all three of the properties” in claim 2. One with ordinary skill in the art would not understand the metes and bound of the claim as written, thus the claim is indefinite. For purposes of search and consideration, the broader, more generic limitation is understood to be the limitation of the claim (i.e., two or more of the properties).
Claim 7 recites the limitation of a "mineral UV filter" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of search and consideration, the claim is understood to read “wherein the composition further comprises 5% or less…”
Claim 10, as written, is not a complete thought/sentence and as such one with ordinary skill in the art would not understand the metes and bounds of the claim. For purposes of search and consideration, the claim is understood as “The composition of claim 1, wherein the composition is in the form of an emulsion.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US PGPUB 2024027152 A1 (Russell, 2024).
In regards to claims 1, 5-6, and 8, Russell teaches a sunscreen composition comprising avobenzone, bemotrizinol, octisalate, homosalate, octocrylene, titanium dioxide, zinc oxide (i.e., mineral UV filters), or combinations thereof (see claims 21-22). As the teachings of Russell allow one with ordinary skill in the art to easily envisage a composition comprising bemotrizinol and avobenzone, for example, there would not be octocrylene present and as such meet the requirements of claim 8.
In regards to claims 1-2 and 11, as the teachings of Russell would yield an identical composition as instantly claimed, the properties, such as those listed in claim 1 and claim 11, of the composition would be the same. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658. As the prior art teaches an identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Claim 11 further claims a future intended use (i.e. upon application to skin), however the future intended use of a product is not considered to contribute to the overall patentability of the instant invention, particularly when the product itself is claimed and that same product is taught in the prior art. It is also worth noting that it is taught that the UVAPF is at least 1/3 of the SPF (see paragraph 0017) of the composition.
In regards to claim 3, the composition is taught to have an SPF value of greater than or equal to 50 (see claim 38).
In regards to claims 12-13, it is taught that the composition further comprises colorants, pigments, and a variety of active agents (see claim 31). Further, it is worth noting that the specification as filed teaches that the “UV filters” as it is used herein means sunscreen active agents approved by a governmental regulatory agency such as the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in the U.S. (see paragraph 0025 of the instant specification as filed) and as such, the UV filters such as bemotrizinol would be understood as active agents as well.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US PGPUB 20180221271 A1 (Hwang, 2018) as evidenced by Clifton (2021).
In regards to claims 1, 5-6, and 8, Hwang teaches a sunscreen composition comprising one or more sunscreen active agents such as octocrylene, octisalate, homosalate, titanium dioxide, zinc oxide, bemotrizinol, or a combination thereof (see claims 1-2). As the teachings of Hwang allow one with ordinary skill in the art to easily envisage a composition comprising bemotrizinol and homosalate, for example, there would not be octocrylene present and as such meet the requirements of claim 8.
In regards to claims 1-2 and 11, as the teachings of Hwang would yield an identical composition as instantly claimed, the properties, such as those listed in claim 1 and claim 11, of the composition would be the same. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658. As the prior art teaches an identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Claim 11 further claims a future intended use (i.e. upon application to skin), however the future intended use of a product is not considered to contribute to the overall patentability of the instant invention, particularly when the product itself is claimed and that same product is taught in the prior art.
In regards to claim 10, it is taught that the composition comprises an emulsifier (see claims 1, 8, and 10). It is taught that the emulsifier is used to stabilize the composition as an emulsion (see claim 1).
In regards to claim 12, titanium dioxide is a known pigment (see Clifton, page 1, paragraph 2) used in sunscreens (see Clifton, page 2, “sunscreen”).
In regards to claim 13, the specification as filed teaches that the “UV filters” as it is used herein means sunscreen active agents approved by a governmental regulatory agency such as the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in the U.S. (see paragraph 0025 of the instant specification as filed) and as such, the UV filters such as bemotrizinol, titanium dioxide, or zinc oxide would be understood as active agents as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PGPUB 2024027152 A1 (Russell, 2024).
The teachings of Russell have been described supra.
In regards to claim 7, Russel further teaches that the sunscreen composition comprises sunscreen actives in an amount of about 15% by weight of the composition (see paragraph 0022) wherein multiple sunscreen actives are used in combination (see paragraph 0022). As such it would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to easily envisage a sunscreen composition comprising bemotrizinol, avobenzone, and a metal oxide such as titanium dioxide in equal amounts for a total of 15% by weight of the composition as they are all taught as sunscreen actives (see paragraph 0019). In this case, the metal oxide (i.e., mineral UV filter) would comprise 5% by weight of the composition. MPEP 2144.05 states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists" quoting In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
In regards to claims 9-10, the composition is taught to be in an anhydrous form or emulsion form (see paragraph 0039).
Russell does not teach with sufficient specificity to anticipate and so the claims are obvious. It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange the teachings of Russell with a reasonable expectation of success to obtain the composition of the instant claims.
A reference is analyzed using its broadest teachings. MPEP 2123 [R-5]. “[W]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007)(quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. A person of ordinary skill in the art who is not an automaton is capable of producing the composition of the instant claims with predictable results.
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 20180221271 A1 (Hwang, 2018).
The teachings of Hwang have been described supra.
In regards to claim 3, the composition is taught to have an SPF value of at least 60 (see paragraph 0043).
In regards to claims 4 and 7, Hwang teaches in Table 1 an example of a sunscreen composition comprising octocrylene, octisalate, homosalate, and avobenzone (see Table 1). It would within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to substitute one of the other known sunscreen compounds, such as bemotrizinol, for one of those used in the example. E.g., it would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to envisage a sunscreen composition comprising homosalate in an amount from 8-15% by weight, bemotrizinol in an amount from 5-10% by weight, octisalate in an amount of 5-10% by weight, and avobenzone in an amount of 1-5% by weight. In this case, the weight ratio of bemotrizinol to the additional organic UV filters would be about 1:3 (5:14 using the low end and 10:30 using the high end of the ranges). Further, it would also be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to substitute titanium dioxide or zinc oxide for of the other UV filters as they are all taught as equivalents (see claim 2). As such, a composition comprising homosalate in an amount from 8-15% by weight, bemotrizinol in an amount from 5-10% by weight, octisalate in an amount of 5-10% by weight, and titanium dioxide in an amount of 1-5% by weight would meet the requirements of claim 7. MPEP 2144.05 states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists" quoting In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Further, in regards to claims 12-13, the composition is taught to comprise colorants and various active agents (see paragraph 0037).
Hwang does not teach with sufficient specificity to anticipate and so the claims are obvious. It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange the teachings of Hwang with a reasonable expectation of success to obtain the composition of the instant claims.
A reference is analyzed using its broadest teachings. MPEP 2123 [R-5]. “[W]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007)(quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. A person of ordinary skill in the art who is not an automaton is capable of producing the composition of the instant claims with predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/543130 (the reference application) in view of US PGPUB 20180221271 A1 (Hwang, 2018).
18543130 teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol and titanium dioxide, as well as additional organic UV filters (see claims 1 and 5-7) with the same properties and SPF value as listed in instant claims 1 and 3 (see claims 2-4). It is taught that the composition is in the form of an anhydrous composition or is in the form of an emulsion (see claims 8-9). It is taught that the composition further comprises at least one coloring agent and at least one active agent (see claims 10-11).
18543130 is silent on the percent ratio of the at least one additional organic UV filter, the specific organic UV filters listed in instant claim 5 and exclusions of instant claim 8, and the amount of the mineral UV filter.
The teachings of Hwang have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-13, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of the reference application and Hwang as both references are drawn towards sunscreen compositions comprising similar compounds in similar forms. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Hwang according to the known method of producing a sunscreen composition (see Hwang, paragraphs 0038-0040) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-9 of copending Application No. 18/543141 (the reference application) in view of US PGPUB 20180221271 A1 (Hwang, 2018).
The reference application teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol and zinc oxide with the same properties and SPF value as the instant claims (see claims 1-4). It is taught that the composition is in the form of an anhydrous composition or is in the form of an emulsion (see claims 6-7). It is taught that the composition further comprises at least one coloring agent and at least one active agent (see claims 8-9).
The reference application is silent on the use of an at least one additional organic UV filter, the percent ratio of the at least one additional organic UV filter, the specific organic UV filters listed in instant claim 5 and exclusions of instant claim 8, and the amount of the mineral UV filter.
The teachings of Hwang have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-13, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of the reference application and Hwang as both references are drawn towards sunscreen compositions comprising similar compounds in similar forms. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Hwang according to the known method of producing a sunscreen composition (see Hwang, paragraphs 0038-0040) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, and 9-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-8, 10, and 13-15 of copending Application No. 18543287 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a composition comprising bemotrizinol, an at least one additional organic UV filter such as avobenzone, octocrylene, octisalate, homosalate, and mixtures thereof, and a mineral UV filter. The claims also recite the same properties and SPF values for both compositions. Further, both claims teach that the composition is free of oxybenzone and octinoxate and that the composition is in an anhydrous or emulsion form. Further both claims teach that the composition comprises at least one coloring agent and at least one active agent. As such, it would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of the reference application with a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-8, 10, and 13-15 of copending Application No. 18543287 (the reference application) in view of US PGPUB 20180221271 A1 (Hwang, 2018).
The teachings of the reference application have been described supra.
The reference application is silent on the percent ratio of the at least one additional organic UV filter and the amount of the mineral UV filter.
The teachings of Hwang have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-13, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of the reference application and Hwang as both references are drawn towards sunscreen compositions comprising similar compounds in similar forms. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Hwang according to the known method of producing a sunscreen composition (see Hwang, paragraphs 0038-0040) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 9-13 of copending Application No. 18543309 (the reference application) in view of US PGPUB 20180221271 A1 (Hwang, 2018).
The reference application teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol and at least one additional organic UV filter selected from octisalate, homosalate, octocrylene, and mixtures thereof with the same properties and SPF value as the instant claims (see claims 1-3). The composition is further taught to comprise at least one mineral UV filter and avobenzone (see claims 4-7) and is free of oxybenzone and octinoxate (see claim 9). It is taught that the composition is in the form of an anhydrous composition or is in the form of an emulsion (see claims 10-11). It is taught that the composition further comprises at least one coloring agent and at least one active agent (see claims 12-13).
The reference application is silent on the percent ratio of the at least one additional organic UV filter and the amount of the mineral UV filter.
The teachings of Hwang have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-13, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of the reference application and Hwang as both references are drawn towards sunscreen compositions comprising similar compounds in similar forms. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Hwang according to the known method of producing a sunscreen composition (see Hwang, paragraphs 0038-0040) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 9-13 of copending Application No. 18543343 (the reference application) in view of US PGPUB 20180221271 A1 (Hwang, 2018).
The reference application teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol, avobenzone, and at least one additional organic UV filter selected from octisalate, homosalate, octocrylene, and mixtures thereof with the same properties and SPF value as the instant claims (see claims 1-3 and 7). The composition is further taught to comprise at least one mineral UV filter (see claims 4-5) and is free of oxybenzone and octinoxate (see claim 9). It is taught that the composition is in the form of an anhydrous composition or is in the form of an emulsion (see claims 10-11). It is taught that the composition further comprises at least one coloring agent and at least one active agent (see claims 12-13).
The reference application is silent on the percent ratio of the at least one additional organic UV filter and the amount of the mineral UV filter.
The teachings of Hwang have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-13, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of the reference application and Hwang as both references are drawn towards sunscreen compositions comprising similar compounds in similar forms. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Hwang according to the known method of producing a sunscreen composition (see Hwang, paragraphs 0038-0040) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, and 10-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 10, and 12-13 of copending Application No. 18543375 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a composition comprising bemotrizinol, an at least one additional organic UV filter such as avobenzone, octocrylene, octisalate, homosalate, and mixtures thereof, and titanium dioxide. The claims also recite the same properties and SPF values for both compositions. Further, both claims teach that the composition is free of oxybenzone, octocrylene, and octinoxate and that is in an emulsion form. Further both claims teach that the composition comprise at least one active agent. As such, it would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of the reference application with a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over 1-5, 7, 10, and 12-13 copending Application No. 18543375 (the reference application) in view of US PGPUB 20180221271 A1 (Hwang, 2018).
The teachings of the reference application have been described supra.
The reference application is silent on the percent ratio of the at least one additional organic UV filter and the amount of the mineral UV filter as well as the use of at least one coloring agent.
The teachings of Hwang have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-8 and 10-13, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of the reference application and Hwang as both references are drawn towards sunscreen compositions comprising similar compounds in similar forms. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Hwang according to the known method of producing a sunscreen composition (see Hwang, paragraphs 0038-0040) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over 1-3, 7-8, and 10-11 copending Application No. 18543443 (the reference application) in view of US PGPUB 20180221271 A1 (Hwang, 2018).
The reference application teaches a sunscreen composition comprising bemotrizinol (see claim 1) and at least one additional organic UV filter (see claims 2-3). The composition is taught to be in the form of an emulsion or is anhydrous (claims 7-8). The composition is taught to comprise at least one active agent and is non-greasy upon application to skin (see claims 10-11).
The reference application is silent on the percent ratio of the at least one additional organic UV filter, the specific organic UV filters listed in instant claim 5 and exclusions of instant claim 8, the use of and the amount of the mineral UV filter, and the use of a coloring agent. It is also noted that the reference application is silent on the properties and SPF value of the composition as listed in instant claims 1 and 3.
The teachings of Hwang have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-13, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of the reference application and Hwang as both references are drawn towards sunscreen compositions comprising similar compounds in similar forms. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Hwang according to the known method of producing a sunscreen composition (see Hwang, paragraphs 0038-0040) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10 of copending Application No. 18/543597 (the reference application) in view of US PGPUB 20180221271 A1 (Hwang, 2018).
The reference application teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol and at least one active agent (see claims 1-5). The composition is taught to further comprise additional UV filters (see claim 6). It is taught that the composition is in the form of an anhydrous composition or is in the form of an emulsion (see claims 7-8). It is taught that the composition further comprises at least one coloring agent (see claim 10).
The reference application is silent on the percent ratio of the at least one additional organic UV filter, the specific organic UV filters listed in instant claim 5 and exclusions of instant claim 8, the use of and the amount of the mineral UV filter. It is also noted that the reference application is silent on the properties and SPF value of the composition as listed in instant claims 1, 3, and 11.
The teachings of Hwang have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-13, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of the reference application and Hwang as both references are drawn towards sunscreen compositions comprising similar compounds in similar forms. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Hwang according to the known method of producing a sunscreen composition (see Hwang, paragraphs 0038-0040) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 10-13 of copending Application No. 18/543618 (the reference application) in view of US PGPUB 20180221271 A1 (Hwang, 2018).
The reference application teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol and a carrier (see claim 1). The claims also recite the same properties and SPF values for both compositions (see claims 2-4). Further, the claims teach that the composition is free of oxybenzone, and octinoxate (see claim 10). It is also taught that the composition is in an anhydrous form (see claim 11). It is taught that the composition further comprises at least one coloring agent and at least one active agent (see claims 12-13).
The reference application is silent on the use of an at least one additional organic UV filter, the percent ratio of the at least one additional organic UV filter, the specific organic UV filters listed in instant claim 5 and exclusions of instant claim 8, the use of and the amount of the mineral UV filter. It is also not taught that the composition is non-greasy upon application to skin.
The teachings of Hwang have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-13, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of the reference application and Hwang as both references are drawn towards sunscreen compositions comprising similar compounds in similar forms. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Hwang according to the known method of producing a sunscreen composition (see Hwang, paragraphs 0038-0040) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-7 and 9-11 of copending Application No. 18/543702 (the reference application) in view of US PGPUB 20180221271 A1 (Hwang, 2018).
The reference application teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol and an additional organic UV filter (see claims 1 and 9). The claims also recite the same properties and SPF values for both compositions (see claims 4-6). Further, the claims teach that the composition is free of oxybenzone and octinoxate (see claim 10). It is also taught that the composition is in an emulsion form (see claim 7). It is taught that the composition further comprises at least one active agent (see claim 11).
The reference application is silent on the percent ratio of the at least one additional organic UV filter, the specific organic UV filters listed in instant claim 5, the use of and the amount of the mineral UV filter or a coloring agent. It is also not taught that the composition is non-greasy upon application to skin.
The teachings of Hwang have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-8 and 10-13, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of the reference application and Hwang as both references are drawn towards sunscreen compositions comprising similar compounds in similar forms. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Hwang according to the known method of producing a sunscreen composition (see Hwang, paragraphs 0038-0040) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-7 and 9-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7 of copending Application No. 18/543721 (the reference application) in view of US PGPUB 20180221271 A1 (Hwang, 2018).
The reference application teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol and octinoxate (see claim 1) and an additional organic UV filter (see claims 2-3). It is also taught that the composition is in an emulsion form or anhydrous form (see claims 4-5). It is taught that the composition further comprises at least one coloring (see claim 7).
The reference application is silent on the percent ratio of the at least one additional organic UV filter, the specific organic UV filters listed in instant claim 5, the use of and the amount of the mineral UV filter or an active agent. It is also noted that the reference application is silent on the properties and SPF value of the composition as listed in instant claims 1, 3, and 11.
The teachings of Hwang have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-7 and 9-13, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of the reference application and Hwang as both references are drawn towards sunscreen compositions comprising similar compounds in similar forms. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Hwang according to the known method of producing a sunscreen composition (see Hwang, paragraphs 0038-0040) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, and 7-8 of copending Application No. 18/543756 (the reference application) in view of US PGPUB 20180221271 A1 (Hwang, 2018).
The reference application teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol, avobenzone, and optionally octinoxate (see claim 1) and an additional organic UV filter (see claims 3-4). It is also taught that the composition is in an emulsion form (see claim 5). It is taught that the composition further comprises at least one coloring and at least one active agent (see claims 7-8).
The reference application is silent on the percent ratio of the at least one additional organic UV filter, the use of and the amount of the mineral UV filter. It is also noted that the reference application is silent on the properties and SPF value of the composition as listed in instant claims 1, 3, and 11.
The teachings of Hwang have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-8 and 10-13, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of the reference application and Hwang as both references are drawn towards sunscreen compositions comprising similar compounds in similar forms. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Hwang according to the known method of producing a sunscreen composition (see Hwang, paragraphs 0038-0040) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 6-8, and 10-11 of copending Application No. 18/543921 (the reference application) in view of US PGPUB 20180221271 A1 (Hwang, 2018).
The reference application teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol (see claim 1) and an additional organic UV filter (see claims 2 and 6). It is also taught that the composition is in an emulsion form or an anhydrous form (see claims 7-8). It is taught that the composition further comprises at least one coloring and at least one active agent (see claims 10-11).
The reference application is silent on the specific organic UV filters and exclusions of the instant claims, the percent ratio of the at least one additional organic UV filter, the use of and the amount of the mineral UV filter. It is also noted that the reference application is silent on the properties and SPF value of the composition as listed in instant claims 1, 3, and 11.
The teachings of Hwang have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-13, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of the reference application and Hwang as both references are drawn towards sunscreen compositions comprising similar compounds in similar forms. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Hwang according to the known method of producing a sunscreen composition (see Hwang, paragraphs 0038-0040) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/985622 (the reference application) in view of US PGPUB 20180221271 A1 (Hwang, 2018).
The reference application teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol and at least one coloring agent (see claim 1) and an additional organic UV fi