DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the response filed on July 23, 2026, where:
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, 16, 17, 19 and 23 are pending;
Claims 2-6, 9, 12-15, 18, 20-22 and 24 are Withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, 16, 17, 19 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0248247 issued to Yamaguchi et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Yamaguchi et al. teaches in Figures 1-27 and respective portions of the specification of: a drive unit system (1) for an axle of an electric vehicle, the drive unit system comprising:
a first drive unit (2A) comprising a first rotor (15A) inside a first stator (14A);
a first transmission (12A) for a first wheel (LWr) of the axle (1), the first transmission (12A) having a first input shaft (16a) coupled to a first gear (26A) having a first helix angle (θ1; see at least paragraph [0261]);
a second transmission (12B) for a second wheel (RWr) of the axle (1), the second transmission (12B) having a second input shaft (16B) coupled to a second gear (26B) having a second helix angle (θ1) opposite to the first helix angle (θ1); and
a coupling (50) connecting the first (16a) and second (16b) input shafts to each other (see Figures 2 and 3 shows the coupling 50 connects the input shaft 16a and 16b by connecting input shaft 16a to transmission 12A to coupling 50 to transmission 12B to shaft 16b).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamaguchi et al. teach the coupling (50) provides load cancelation (via the two-way clutch 50) between the first (12A) and second (12B) transmissions.
Regarding Claim 8, Yamaguchi et al. teach in the second embodiment in Figures 12-14 the coupling comprises a thrust bearing (42A, 42B) coupled to the first (16A) and second (16B) input shafts.
Regarding Claim 10, Yamaguchi et al. teach a second drive unit (2B) comprising a second rotor (15B) inside a second stator (15B), the first (2A) and second drive units (2B) being a twin drive unit for the drive unit system (10, wherein the first drive unit (2A) drives the first input shaft (16a), and wherein the second drive unit (2B) drives the second input shaft (16B).
Regarding Claim 11, Yamaguchi et al. teach the coupling (50) provides torque control (via the two-way clutch) between the first (16a) and second (16a) input shafts.
Regarding Claim 16, Yamaguchi et al. teach the coupling (50) provides load cancelation (via the two-way clutch 50) between the first (12A) and second (12B) transmissions.
Regarding Claim 17, Yamaguchi et al. teach in the second embodiment in Figures 12-14 the coupling comprises a thrust bearing (42A, 42B) coupled to the first (16A) and second (16B) input shafts.
Regarding Claim 19, Yamaguchi et al. teach in Figures 1-27 and respective portions of the specification of a twin drive unit system for an axle of an electric vehicle, the twin drive unit system comprising:
a first drive unit (2A) comprising a first rotor (15A) inside a first stator (14a);
a second drive unit (2B) comprising a second rotor (15B) inside a second stator (14B);
a first transmission (12A) for a first wheel (LWr) of the axle, the first transmission (12A) having a first input shaft (16a), wherein the first drive unit (2A) drives the first input shaft (1);
a second transmission (12B) for a second wheel (RWr) of the axle (1), the second transmission (12B) having a second input shaft (16B), wherein the second drive unit (2B) drives the second input shaft (16B); and
a coupling (50) connecting the first (16a) and second (16b) input shafts to each other (see Figures 2 and 3 shows the coupling 50 connects the input shaft 16a and 16b by connecting input shaft 16a to transmission 12A to coupling 50 to transmission 12B to shaft 16b).
Regarding Claim 23, Yamaguchi et al. teach in the second embodiment in Figures 12-14 the coupling comprises a thrust bearing (42A, 42B) coupled to the first (16A) and second (16B) input shafts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, beginning page 5, that Yamaguchi does not show “a coupling connecting the first and second input shafts to each other.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Figures 2 and 3 shows the coupling (the two-way clutch 50) connects the first (16a) and second (16b) inputs together. While there are intermediate elements of the planetary gear sets (ring gears 24A, 24B, pinions 26A, 26B, 27A, 27B, planetary gears 22A), there is no claim limitation requiring the first and second inputs to be directly coupled to each other. The two-way clutch (50) meets the claim limitation of “a coupling [50] connecting the first and second input shafts together”. It is noted that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, page 5, “claim 1 mapping does not adequately establish the required input-shaft/gear relationship”.
As best understood, Applicant is arguing the claim limitation “the first transmission having a first input shaft coupled to a first gear”.
As disclosed above, Yamaguchi et al. shows the first transmission (12A) has a first input shaft (the electric motor’s 2A output shaft 16A which is the input for the transmission 12A). Figures 2 and 3 show the input shaft (16A) is coupled to a first gear (26A)”. This arrangement meets the claim limitation of “the first transmission (12A) having a first input shaft (16a) coupled to a first gear (26A)”.
Similarly, Yamaguchi et al. shows the second transmission (12B) has a first input shaft (the electric motor’s 2B output shaft 16B which is the input for the transmission 12B). Figures 2 and 3 show the input shaft (16B) is coupled to a first gear (26B)”. This arrangement meets the claim limitation of “the first transmission (12B) having a second input shaft (16B) coupled to a second gear (26B)”.
Claims 1 and 19 have been clarified above without altering the basis of the claim rejection for the Office Action filed on February 23, 2026.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRIAN SWENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3618
/BRIAN L SWENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613