DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II; Figure 2 in the reply filed on 20 January 2026 is acknowledged.
An action on the merits of Claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, 16, 17, 19 and 23 follows below. (Claims 2-6, 9, 12-15, 18, 20-22 and 24 are withdrawn.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, 16, 17, 19 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0248247 issued to Yamaguchi et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Yamaguchi et al. teaches in Figures 1-27 and respective portions of the specification of: a drive unit system (1) for an axle of an electric vehicle, the drive unit system comprising:
a first drive unit (2A) comprising a first rotor (15A) inside a first stator (14A);
a first transmission (12A) for a first wheel (LWr) of the axle (1), the first transmission (12A) having a first input shaft (16a) coupled to a first gear (26A) having a first helix angle (θ1; see at least paragraph [0261]);
a second transmission (12B) for a second wheel (RWr) of the axle (1), the second transmission (12B) having a second input shaft (16B) coupled to a second gear (26B) having a second helix angle (θ1) opposite to the first helix angle (θ1); and
a coupling (50) connecting the first (16a) and second (16b) input shafts to each other (see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamaguchi et al. teach the coupling (50) provides load cancelation (via the two-way clutch 50) between the first (12A) and second (12B) transmissions.
Regarding Claim 8, Yamaguchi et al. teach in the second embodiment in Figures 12-14 the coupling comprises a thrust bearing (42A, 42B) coupled to the first (16A) and second (16B) input shafts.
Regarding Claim 10, Yamaguchi et al. teach a second drive unit (2B) comprising a second rotor (15B) inside a second stator (15B), the first (2A) and second drive units (2B) being a twin drive unit for the drive unit system (10, wherein the first drive unit (2A) drives the first input shaft (16a), and wherein the second drive unit (2B) drives the second input shaft (16B).
Regarding Claim 11, Yamaguchi et al. teach the coupling (50) provides torque control (via the two-way clutch) between the first (16a) and second (16a) input shafts.
Regarding Claim 16, Yamaguchi et al. teach the coupling (50) provides load cancelation (via the two-way clutch 50) between the first (12A) and second (12B) transmissions.
Regarding Claim 17, Yamaguchi et al. teach in the second embodiment in Figures 12-14 the coupling comprises a thrust bearing (42A, 42B) coupled to the first (16A) and second (16B) input shafts.
Regarding Claim 19, Yamaguchi et al. teach in Figures 1-27 and respective portions of the specification of a twin drive unit system for an axle of an electric vehicle, the twin drive unit system comprising:
a first drive unit (2A) comprising a first rotor (15A) inside a first stator (14a);
a second drive unit (2B) comprising a second rotor (15B) inside a second stator (14B);
a first transmission (12A) for a first wheel (LWr) of the axle, the first transmission (12A) having a first input shaft (16a), wherein the first drive unit (2A) drives the first input shaft (1);
a second transmission (12B) for a second wheel (RWr) of the axle (1), the second transmission (12B) having a second input shaft (16B), wherein the second drive unit (2B) drives the second input shaft (16B); and
a coupling (50) connecting the first (16A) and second (16B) input shafts to each other.
Regarding Claim 23, Yamaguchi et al. teach in the second embodiment in Figures 12-14 the coupling comprises a thrust bearing (42A, 42B) coupled to the first (16A) and second (16B) input shafts.
BRIAN SWENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3618
/BRIAN L SWENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613