DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8-12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moloney (US 2017/0247798 A1) ("Moloney" herein- cited previously) and further in view of Dhawan et al. (US 2019/00062187 A1) ("Dhawan" herein).
Claim 1.
Moloney discloses a method comprising: .
introducing a paraffin wax dispersant composition to a hydrocarbon fluid, wherein the paraffin wax dispersant composition comprises: [0009, 0079-0082]
a sorbitol-based compound; (i.e. gas hydrate inhibitor) [0060]
a quaternary ammonium compound; (i.e.1-40%) [0039-0042]
a solvent; (i.e. 40wt.%-80 wt.%) [0038]
monoethanolamine; (i.e. hydrogen sulfide scavenger) [0049] and
an alkyl benzene sulfonic acid. (i.e. 0.5 wt.% -5 wt.%) [0024-0026, 0049]
2- mercaptoethanol, (i.e. 1-15wt %) [0048]
Moloney however does not explicitly disclose, wherein a mass ratio of the monoethanolamine to the alkyl benzene sulfonic acid in the paraffin wax dispersant composition is equal to or equal to or greater than 1:1 and less than 10:1.
Dhawan teaches the above limitation. (See paragraphs 0112-0113→ Dhawan teaches this limitation in that the corrosion control composition can further comprise a hydrogen sulfide scavenger. The composition can comprise from about 1 wt.-% to about 50 wt.-%, …of a hydrogen sulfide scavenger, based on total weight of the composition. Suitable additional hydrogen sulfide scavengers include, but are not limited to, … triazines (e.g., monoethanolamine triazine, monomethylamine triazine, and triazines from multiple amines or mixtures thereof). The corrosion control composition can further comprise a gas hydrate inhibitor. The composition can comprise from about 0.1 wt.-% to about 25 wt.-%,.. has hydrate inhibitor, based on total weight of the composition. Suitable gas hydrate inhibitors include, but are not limited to, thermodynamic hydrate inhibitors (THI), kinetic hydrate inhibitors (KHI), and anti-agglomerates (AA). Suitable thermodynamic hydrate inhibitors include, but are not limited to, …….sugar alcohols (e.g. sorbitol, mannitol).) for the purpose of having corrosion control compositions. [0054]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Maloney, with the above limitation, as taught by Dhawan, in order to have a corrosion control composition.
Since Moloney discloses the same composition comprising a sorbitol-based compound, a quaternary ammonium compound, a solvent, monoethanolamine; an alkyl benzene sulfonic acid, and 2-mercaptoethanol, it would be a paraffin wax dispersant.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 5.
Moloney discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a total activity of the paraffin wax dispersant composition is in a range of from 20 wt.% to 50 wt.% based on a total weight of the paraffin wax dispersant composition, wherein the total activity is defined as a sum wt.% of the sorbitol-based compound, the quaternary ammonium compound, the
monoethanolamine, and the alkyl benzene sulfonic acid in the paraffin wax dispersant composition. (i.e. calculated by examiner amount of solvent 80 wt. %,[0038] total of all the components : sorbitol-based compound + a quaternary ammonium compound + monoethanolamine + an alkyl benzene sulfonic acid = 20 wt. %); [0024-0026, 0039- 0042, 0049, 0060]
Claim 8.
Moloney discloses the method of claim 1, having from 2 wt.% to 5 wt.% of the 2- mercaptoethanol based on a total weight of the paraffin wax dispersant composition. [0048]
Claim 9.
Moloney discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a concentration of the paraffin wax dispersant composition in the hydrocarbon fluid is in a range of from 100 ppmw to 1,000 ppmw based on a total weight of the hydrocarbon fluid. [0009, 0079-0082] .
Claim 10.
Moloney discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a total activity of the paraffin wax dispersant composition is in a range of from 20 wt.% to 50 wt.% based on a total weight of the paraffin wax dispersant composition, wherein the total activity is defined as a sum wt.% of the sorbitol-based compound, the quaternary ammonium compound, the monoethanolamine, the alkyl benzene sulfonic acid, and the 2-mercaptoethanol in the paraffin wax dispersant composition. (i.e. calculated by examiner amount of solvent 80wt. %,[0038] total of all the components : sorbitol-based compound + a quaternary ammonium compound + monoethanolamine + an alkyl benzene sulfonic acid + 2-mercaptoethanol= 20wt.%); [0024-0026, 0039-0042, 0048-0049, 0060]
Claim 11.
Moloney discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the hydrocarbon fluid comprises a crude oil, a hydrocarbon gas, a condensate, or combinations thereof. [0009, 0079- 0082]
Claim 12.
Moloney discloses a paraffin wax dispersant composition comprising:
a sorbitol-based compound; [0060]
a quaternary ammonium compound; (i.e.1-40%) [0039-0042]
a solvent; (i.e. 40wt.%-80wt.%) [0038]
monoethanolamine; [0049] and
an alkyl benzene sulfonic acid. (i.e. 0.5wt.% -5wt.%) [0024-0026, 0049]
2- mercaptoethanol, (i.e. 1-15wt %) [0048]
2- mercaptoethanol, (i.e. 1-15wt %) [0048]
2- mercaptoethanol, (i.e. 1-15wt %) [0048]
Moloney however does not explicitly disclose, wherein a mass ratio of the monoethanolamine to the alkyl benzene sulfonic acid in the paraffin wax dispersant composition is equal to or equal to or greater than 1:1 and less than 10:1.
Dhawan teaches the above limitation. (See paragraphs 0112-0113→ Dhawan teaches this limitation in that the corrosion control composition can further comprise a hydrogen sulfide scavenger. The composition can comprise from about 1 wt.-% to about 50 wt.-%, …of a hydrogen sulfide scavenger, based on total weight of the composition. Suitable additional hydrogen sulfide scavengers include, but are not limited to, … triazines (e.g., monoethanolamine triazine, monomethylamine triazine, and triazines from multiple amines or mixtures thereof). The corrosion control composition can further comprise a gas hydrate inhibitor. The composition can comprise from about 0.1 wt.-% to about 25 wt.-%,.. has hydrate inhibitor, based on total weight of the composition. Suitable gas hydrate inhibitors include, but are not limited to, thermodynamic hydrate inhibitors (THI), kinetic hydrate inhibitors (KHI), and anti-agglomerates (AA). Suitable thermodynamic hydrate inhibitors include, but are not limited to, …….sugar alcohols (e.g. sorbitol, mannitol).) for the purpose of having corrosion control compositions. [0054]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Maloney, with the above limitation, as taught by Dhawan, in order to have a corrosion control composition.
Since Moloney discloses the same composition comprising a sorbitol-based compound, a quaternary ammonium compound, a solvent, monoethanolamine; an alkyl benzene sulfonic acid, and 2-mercaptoethanol, it would be a paraffin wax dispersant.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 17.
Moloney discloses the paraffin wax dispersant composition of claim 12, having from 2 wt.% to 5 wt.% of the 2-mercaptoethanol based on a total weight of the paraffin wax dispersant composition. [0048]
Claim 18.
Moloney discloses the paraffin wax dispersant composition of claim 12, containing
the sorbitol-based compound, [0060]
12 wt.% to 31 wt.% quaternary ammonium compound, ;(i.e.1-40%) [0039-0042]
the monoethanolamine, [0049]
0.2 wt.% to 0.5 wt.% of the alkyl benzene sulfonic acid, (i.e. 0.5 wt. % -5 wt.%)
[0024-0026, 0049]
2 wt.% to 5 wt.% of the 2-mercaptoethanol [0048] and
56 wt.% to 78 wt.% of the solvent, (i.e. 40wt.%-80 wt.%) [0038]
based on a total weight of the paraffin wax dispersant composition. Moloney, however, does not explicitly disclose containing 2 wt.% to 4 wt.% of the sorbitol-based compound, and 1.3 wt.% to 2.9 wt.% of the monoethanolamine based on a total weight of the paraffin wax dispersant composition. (Same as claim 12)
Claim 19.
Moloney discloses the paraffin wax dispersant composition of claim 16, having a total activity in a range of from 20 wt.% to 50 wt.% based on a total weight of the paraffin wax dispersant composition, wherein the total activity is defined as a sum wt.% of the sorbitol-based compound, the quaternary ammonium compound, the monoethanolamine, the alkyl benzene sulfonic acid, and the 2- mercaptoethanol. (i.e. calculated by examiner amount of solvent 20 wt.% [0038] total of all the components : sorbitol-based compound + a quaternary ammonium compound + monoethanolamine + an alkyl benzene sulfonic acid + 2-mercaptoethanol= 80wt.%);
[0024-0026, 0039-0042, 0048-0049, 0060] .
Claim 20.
Moloney discloses a mixture comprising:
a hydrocarbon fluid; [0079-0082] and the paraffin wax dispersant composition of claim 12. [0009, & claim 12]
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 07/27/2026, with respect to Claims 1, 5, 11, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipate by Moloney (US 2017/0247798 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in set forth below.
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Maloney does not disclose the workable range for using monoethanolamine in combination with alkyl benzene sulfonic acid as a paraffin wax dispersant so as to render the claimed mass ratio obvious, and 2) the presence of 2-mercaptoethanol in the paraffin wax dispersant composition produces unexpected results,” it is well settled that a patent cannot be granted for a an applicant’s discovery of a result, even though it may be unexpectedly good, which would flow logically from the teaching of the prior art. In re Rau , 117 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1958).
It is elementary that the mere recitation of a newly discovered function or property possessed by things in the prior art, does not cause a claim drawn to distinguish over the prior art. Additionally, where the Patent Office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed invention, may in fact, be a characteristic of the prior art, it possess the authority to require the applicant to prove that the subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SILVANA C RUNYAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616 08/27/2026