DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 6/29/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2012/0256645, hereinafter Nguyen.
Regarding claim 1, Nguyen teaches a capacitive sensor system (figure 1) comprising: a sensor array (item 110) including a plurality of sense capacitors (item 120) and a top plate (figure 1); a comparator (item 130) operatively connected to the top plate of the sensor array (figure 1); a switch matrix (item 114) operatively connected to each sense capacitor of the sensor array (figure 1); and a digital controller (item 150) operatively connected to the comparator and the switch matrix (figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Nguyen teaches further comprising a read-out circuit formed by the sensor array, the comparator, the digital controller, and the switch matrix (figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Nguyen teaches the digital controller includes a conversion logic engine that controls testing operations of the capacitive sensor system (paragraphs [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 9, Nguyen teaches a capacitive sensor system (figure 1) comprising: a sensor array (item 110) including a plurality of sense capacitors (item 120) and a top plate (figure 1); a comparator (item 130) operatively connected to the top plate of the sensor array (figure 1); a switch matrix (item 114) operatively connected to each sense capacitor of the sensor array (figure 1); a digital controller (item 150) operatively connected to the comparator and the switch matrix (figure 1); and a read-out circuit formed by the sensor array, the comparator, the digital controller, and the switch matrix (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of WO 99/08105, hereinafter Goodman.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Nguyen teaches the sensor array includes at least two sections (a upper and lower half of item 120), a first array section including a first set of sense capacitors (the upper half of item 120) and a second array section including a second set of sense capacitors (the lower half of item 120).
Nguyen fails to teach the first array section has a first ink on the first set of sense capacitors and the second array section has a second ink on the second set of sense capacitors and the first ink includes a first chemical reagent formulated to detect a first analyte, and the second ink includes a second chemical reagent formulated to detect a second analyte that is different from the first analyte.
Goodman teaches a system for analyte detection which utilizes ink on the sensors and different monomer can be polymerized to prepare a library of different polymers to distinguish different analytes of concern (Goodman, page 27, lines 22-35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized two different inks on the sense capacitors made up of different polymers because it would allow for distinguish different analytes of concern (Goodman, page 27, lines 22-35).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Nguyen teaches the sensor array includes at least three sections (a upper portion a middle portion and a lower portion of item 120), a first array section including a first set of sense capacitors (the upper portion of item 120), a second array section including a second set of sense capacitors (the middle portion of item 120) and a third array section including a third set of sense capacitors (the lower portion of item 120)
Nguyen fails to teach the first array section has a first ink on the first set of sense capacitors, the second array section has a second ink on the second set of sense capacitors, and the third array section has a third ink on the third set of sense capacitors and the first ink includes a first chemical reagent formulated to detect a first analyte, and the second ink includes a second chemical reagent formulated to detect a second analyte that is different from the first analyte, and the third ink includes a third chemical reagent formulated to detect a third analyte that is different from both the first analyte and the second analyte.
Goodman teaches a system for analyte detection which utilizes ink on the sensors and different monomer can be polymerized to prepare a library of different polymers to distinguish different analytes of concern (Goodman, page 27, lines 22-35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized three different inks on the sense capacitors made up of different polymers because it would allow for distinguish different analytes of concern (Goodman, page 27, lines 22-35).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Nguyen teaches the sensor array includes at least two sections (an upper and lower half of item 120), a first array section including a first set of sense capacitors (the upper half of item 120) and a second array section including a second set of sense capacitors (the lower half of item 120).
Nguyen fails to teach the first array section has a first ink on the first set of sense capacitors and the second array section has a second ink on the second set of sense capacitors and the first ink includes a first chemical reagent formulated to detect a first analyte, and the second ink includes a second chemical reagent formulated to detect a second analyte that is different from the first analyte.
Goodman teaches a system for analyte detection which utilizes ink on the sensors and different monomer can be polymerized to prepare a library of different polymers to distinguish different analytes of concern (Goodman, page 27, lines 22-35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized two different inks on the sense capacitors made up of different polymers because it would allow for distinguish different analytes of concern (Goodman, page 27, lines 22-35).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Nguyen teaches the sensor array includes at least three sections (a upper portion a middle portion and a lower portion of item 120), a first array section including a first set of sense capacitors (the upper portion of item 120), a second array section including a second set of sense capacitors (the middle portion of item 120) and a third array section including a third set of sense capacitors (the lower portion of item 120)
Nguyen fails to teach the first array section has a first ink on the first set of sense capacitors, the second array section has a second ink on the second set of sense capacitors, and the third array section has a third ink on the third set of sense capacitors and the first ink includes a first chemical reagent formulated to detect a first analyte, and the second ink includes a second chemical reagent formulated to detect a second analyte that is different from the first analyte, and the third ink includes a third chemical reagent formulated to detect a third analyte that is different from both the first analyte and the second analyte.
Goodman teaches a system for analyte detection which utilizes ink on the sensors and different monomer can be polymerized to prepare a library of different polymers to distinguish different analytes of concern (Goodman, page 27, lines 22-35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized three different inks on the sense capacitors made up of different polymers because it would allow for distinguish different analytes of concern (Goodman, page 27, lines 22-35).
Claim(s) 8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of United States Application Publication No. 2013/0193003, hereinafter Reed.
Regarding claim 8, Nguyen teaches all limitations of claim 7; however, Nguyen fails to teach the digital controller further includes discovery phase logic engine that controls an initial discovery phase to determine at least locations of sense capacitors in a first array section having a first ink.
Reed teaches a sensing device which has a calibration step which determines the which sensor measurements are different than the rest in order to determine which sensor is what (Reed, paragraph [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a discovery phase to determine which sense capacitors have a first ink because it would allow for the device to determine what sense capacitor is what (Reed, paragraph [0148]).
Regarding claim 14, Nguyen teaches the digital controller includes a conversion logic engine that controls testing operations of the capacitive sensor system (paragraphs [0044]-[0045]).
However, Nguyen fails to teach the digital controller further includes discovery phase logic engine that controls an initial discovery phase to determine at least locations of sense capacitors in a first array section having a first ink.
Reed teaches a sensing device which has a calibration step which determines the which sensor measurements are different than the rest in order to determine which sensor is what (Reed, paragraph [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a discovery phase to determine which sense capacitors have a first ink because it would allow for the device to determine what sense capacitor is what (Reed, paragraph [0148]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Nguyen which teaches a sensor array, a comparator, a switch matrix and a digital controller. However, the prior art does not disclose, teach or suggest the claimed combination of the digital controller configured to toggle the sense capacitors, including setting the top plate to float, and operating the switch matrix to switch the values of each sense capacitor of the first array section from the first value to the second value and each sense capacitor of the second array section from the second value to the first value; and run a conversion algorithm, including determining by the digital controller which ratios of the first array section and the second array section need to be set to make the capacitance equal to each other.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796