DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph 39 writes “body 60” which is inconsistent with the rest of the disclosure. Examiner continued assuming “body 62” was correct. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim s 1 and 3- 7 are rejected under 35 U.S .C. 102 FILLIN "Insert either \“(a)(1)\” or \“(a)(2)\” or both. If paragraph (a)(2) of 35 U.S.C. 102 is applicable, use form paragraph 7.15.01.aia, 7.15.02.aia or 7.15.03.aia where applicable." \d "[ 2 ]" (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being FILLIN "Insert either—clearly anticipated—or—anticipated—with an explanation at the end of the paragraph." \d "[ 3 ]" anticipated by FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 4 ]" Smith (US 5115755 A) . Regarding claim 1 , Smith discloses a n eye (sail hank) for a watercraft (boat) comprising: a body (figure 3) including a first leg (25, arm) , a second leg (27, arm) , and a connector portion (29, pivot point) extending between and coupled to a first end of both the first leg and the second leg (figure 3) , wherein an opening (26) is defined between the first leg (25, arm) , the second leg (27, arm) , and the connector portion (29, pivot point) in combination, the first leg (25, arm) and the second leg (27, arm) being connectable to another component (column 6, lines 34-35) ; and a retention feature (21, hook) extending from the body (figure 4) , wherein a clearance (22, opening) for receiving a tension member (3, stay) is defined by the retention feature (21, hook) . Regarding claim 3, Smith discloses the retention feature (21, hook) is a separate component affixed to the body (figure 5 C -5D) . Regarding claim 4 , Smith discloses the retention feature (21, hook) is positioned at an interface between the first end of the second leg (27, arm) and the connector portion (29, pivot point) (column 6, lines 31-34) . Regarding claim 5, Smith discloses the retention feature (21, hook) protrudes radially outward (figure 4) from the second leg (27, arm) . Regarding claim 6 , Smith discloses the retention feature (21, hook) extends about only a portion of a periphery of the body (figures 3-4 ) . Regarding claim 7 , Smith discloses the retention feature is a rib (figure 5D) . Claims 1 , 3 -5 , 8 -1 2, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 FILLIN "Insert either \“(a)(1)\” or \“(a)(2)\” or both. If paragraph (a)(2) of 35 U.S.C. 102 is applicable, use form paragraph 7.15.01.aia, 7.15.02.aia or 7.15.03.aia where applicable." \d "[ 2 ]" (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being FILLIN "Insert either—clearly anticipated—or—anticipated—with an explanation at the end of the paragraph." \d "[ 3 ]" anticipated by FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 4 ]" Gillespie ( US 3863588 A ) . Regarding claim 1 , Gillespie discloses a n eye (eye assembly) for a watercraft (boat) comprising: a body (12, eye) including a first leg (7, leg) , a second leg (9, leg) , and a connector portion (U-shape of eye) extending between and coupled to a first end of both the first leg and the second leg (figure 2) , wherein an opening is defined between the first leg, the second leg, and the connector portion in combination, the first leg and the second leg being connectable to another component ( column 2, lines 37- 39 ) ; and a retention feature (34, eye-bolt) extending from the body (12, eye) , wherein a clearance for receiving a tension member is defined by the retention feature (inner space of eye bolt, 34) . Regarding claim 3 , Gillespie discloses the retention feature (34, eye-bolt) is a separate component affixed to the body ( column 2, lines 50-58 ) . Regarding claim 4 , Gillespie discloses the retention feature (34, eye - bolt) is positioned at an interface between the first end of the second leg and the connector portion (figure 2) . Regarding claim 5, Gillespie discloses the retention feature (34, eye bolt) protrud es radially outward from the body (figure 12) from the second leg (9, leg). Regarding claim 8, Gillespie discloses the retention feature (34, eye-bolt) extends about an entire periphery of the body. Examiner interpreted the plate means 30 which extends about an entire periphery of the body, as part of the retention feature assembly. Regarding claim 9 , Gillespie discloses the retention feature is a collar. Examiner interpreted the plate means 30 and eye-bolt 34 , as part s of the retention feature assembly , and considered both to be collars . Regarding claim 10 , Gillespie discloses the retention feature (34, eye-bolt) includes a plurality of pieces connectable to one another (figure 12) about the body (12, eye) via a fastener (3 8 , nuts) . Regarding claim 11 , Gillespie discloses the retention feature (34, eye-bolt) includes a retaining member (inner space of eye-bolt 34) oriented parallel to a leg of the body (figure 2) , the retaining member being radially spaced from a surface of the body. Regarding claim 12 , Gillespie discloses a watercraft (boat) comprising: a hull (10) ; and an eye (eye assembly) mounted to the hull (10) , the eye having a body (14, eye) and a retention feature (34, eye bolt) protruding radially outward from the body (figure 12) , wherein a clearance ( inner loop of eye bolt, 34 ) is formed between a surface of the hull (10) and the retention feature (34, eye bolt) for receiving a tension member ( 42, chain ) . Regarding claim 15, Gillespie discloses the retention feature (34, eye-bolt) extends about an entire periphery of the body. Examiner interpreted the plate means 30 which extends about an entire periphery of the body, as part of the retention feature assembly. Regarding claim 1 6, Gillespie discloses the retention feature (34, eye-bolt) includes a plurality of pieces connectable to one another about the body (12, eye) via a fastener (32, clamp nuts) . Regarding claim 1 7, Gillespie discloses the retention feature (34, eye-bolt) includes a retaining member (inner space of eye-bolt 34) oriented parallel to a leg of the body (figure 2) , the retaining member being radially spaced from a surface of the body. Regarding claim 18, Gillespie discloses the retention feature is a collar. Examiner interpreted the plate means 30 and eye-bolt 34, as parts of the retention feature assembly, and considered both to be collars. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 1 , 2, 4 - 7, 1 0 -14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" Hull (US 0520110 A) in view of Gillespie ( US 3863588 A) . Regarding claim 1 , Hull discloses a n eye (1, clevis) comprising: a body including a first leg (2, upper terminal) , a second leg (3, lower terminal) , and a connector portion extending between and coupled to a first end of both the first leg and the second leg (figure 1) , wherein an opening is defined between the first leg, the second leg, and the connector portion in combination (figure 1) , the first leg and the second leg being connectable to another component (lines 23-27) ; and a retention feature (7, slot) extending from the body, wherein a clearance (8, openings) for receiving a tension member is defined by the retention feature (7, slot) . Hull does not explicitly disclose the eye (1, clevis) being on a watercraft. Gillespie teaches a n eye (eye assembly) for a watercraft (boat). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention , to have used the clevis of Hull to be used on a boat as taught Gillespie in order to have a clevis that locks in a convenient and quick manner while still remaining safe from being accidentally or prematurely withdrawn (lines 9-13). Hull teaches a clevis that is simple to use and securely lock (lines 81-83) , which is important to ensure it is installed and used correctly. Regarding claim 2 , the previously made combination of Hull/Gillespie discloses the retention feature (7, slot of Hull ) is integrally formed with the body (lines 37-40 of Hull ) . Regarding claim 4, the previously made combination of Hull/Gillespie discloses the retention feature (7, slot) is positioned at an interface between the first end of the second leg (3, lower terminal) and the connector portion (figure 1) . Regarding claim 5, the previously made combination of Hull/Gillespie discloses the retention feature (7, slot ) protrudes radially outward from the second leg ( slot, 7 extends through openings, 8; lines 37-42) . Regarding claim 6 , the previously made combination of Hull/Gillespie discloses the retention feature (7, slot) extends about only a portion of a periphery of the body (figure 1) . Regarding claim 7 , the previously made combination of Hull/Gillespie discloses the retention feature is a rib (figure 2) . Examiner has interpreted the slot, 7 combined with the cover, 10 as generally rib shaped. Regarding claim 1 0, the previously made combination of Hull/Gillespie discloses the retention feature (7, slot) includes a plurality of pieces connectable to one another about the body via a fastener (11, bolt) (lines 44-54) . Regarding claim 1 1, the previously made combination of Hull/Gillespie discloses the retention feature (7, slot) includes a retaining member (openings, 8 with cover, 10) oriented parallel to a leg (3, lower terminal) of the body, the retaining member (openings, 8 with cover, 10) being radially spaced from a surface of the body (figure 2) . Regarding claim 12 , the previously made combination of Hull/Gillespie discloses a watercraft (boat of Gillespie ) comprising: a hull (10 of Gillespie) ; and an eye (1, clevis of Hull) mounted to the hull (10, of Gillespie) , the eye (1, cle vis) having a body and a retention feature protruding radially outward from the body ( slot , 7 extend ing through openings, 8; lin es 37-42) , wherein a clearance (8, openings) is formed between a surface of the hull (10, of Gillespie) and the retention feature (7, slot) for receiving a tension member. Regarding claim 13 , the previously made combination of Hull/Gillespie discloses the retention feature (7, slot) extends about only a portion of a periphery of the body (figure 1) . Regarding claim 14, the previously made combination of Hull/Gillespie discloses the retention feature is a rib (figure 2) . Examiner has interpreted the slot, 7 combined with the cover, 10 as generally rib shaped. Regarding claim 16 , the previously made combination of Hull/Gillespie discloses the retention feature (7, slot) includes a plurality of pieces connectable to one another about the body via a fastener (11, bolt) (lines 44-54) . Regarding claim 17 , the previously made combination of Hull/Gillespie discloses the retention feature (7, slot) includes a retaining member ( openings, 8 with cover, 10 ) oriented parallel to a leg (3, lower terminal) of the body, the retaining member ( openings, 8 with cover, 10 ) being radially spaced from a surface of the body (figure 2) . Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hull/Gillespie as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Jannausch ( US 5228408 A ). Regarding claim 19, the previously made combination of Hull/Gillespie discloses a watercraft (boat) , but does not explicitly disclose the watercraft (boat) having a cover or an affixing system for that cover. Jannausch discloses a watercraft (boat), further comprising a cover (12) having an affixing system (boat cover assembly) for coupling the cover to the hull (11) , wherein a portion of the affixing system is received (boat cover assembly) when the cover is in a tightened configuration (tightened around the hull) . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the watercraft of Hull/Gillespie with the cover as taught by Jannausch to protect the watercraft and to keep it from being damaged from the elements especially during storage during the wintertime or otherwise (column 1, lines 10-17). Jannausch teaches the importance of covering a watercraft with a durable, reusable cover . It is reasonable to assume that one could use the affixing system of the cover from Jannausch (column 4, lines 54-58) to secure the cover to the watercraft of Hull/Gillespie. The result is the watercraft of Hull/Gillespie as applied to claim 12 above, further comprising a cover (12) having an affixing system for coupling the cover to the hull (column 4, lines 54-58) , wherein a portion of the affixing system (93, 94, ends) is received within the clearance (8, openings) when the cover is in a tightened configuration. Regarding claim 20 , the previously made combination of Hull/Gillespie/Jannausch discloses, the portion of the affixing system received within the clearance (8, opening of Hull) when the cover (12 of Jannausch) is in the tightened configuration is at least one tension member (93, 94, ends of Jannausch ) . Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Utterback ( US 20170313232 A1 ) teaches a method and device for removably connecting articles including ropes, straps, and covers to boats or trucks. Nett et al. ( US 8794886 B1 ) teaches a cargo tie down for use with items such as boats, trucks, or other vehicles on D-rings or eyes . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT KARA BROOKS whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-9484 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F: 8am-5pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Jason San can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-6531 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /K.J.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3677 /JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677