DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s December 18, 2025, submission. Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 19, and 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2008/0018613 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a touch sensor (Title) comprising: a controller (440), a sensor electrode (142) connected to the controller (440), a touch panel (110) overlying the sensor electrode (142), and a dielectric (120; ¶ [0052]) covering separating the sensor electrode (142) from the touch panel (110).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses that the dielectric (120) covering is configured to protect the controller (440) from electrostatic discharge (inherent with the insulating material; ¶ [0052]).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses that the controller (440) detects a change in capacitance relative to the sensor electrode (142) to sense a touch (¶¶ [0079-[0080]).
Claims 19 and 20 include language similar to that of Claims 1 and 2, respectively, and are rejected for reasons at least similar to those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Sleeman.
Kim discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed PCB and display.
However, Sleeman discloses (i) a printed circuit board (PCB) to which the sensor electrode (505, X1, Y1) and the controller (502) are mounted (¶¶ [0023], [0028]), as recited in Claim 7, (ii) that the PCB comprises a trace and the sensor electrode (505, X1, Y1) is connected to the controller (502) via the trace (¶ [0023]), as recited in Claim 8, and (iii) a display mounted to the PCB and connected to the controller (502; via 705, inherently disclosed at (¶¶ [0008], [0033]), as recited in Claim 9. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide optical feedback to a device user.
Claim 14 includes language similar to that of Claim 1 and is rejected for reasons at least similar to those discussed above. Regarding Claim 15, Kim discloses that the dielectric (120) covering is configured to protect the controller (440) from electrostatic discharge (inherent with the insulating material; ¶ [0052]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Kim discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed MCU. However, it would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an MCU and provide signal detection and processing. It has been concluded that absent any convincing showing of the criticality of the design, this particular design is nothing more than the inventor choice without departing from the scope of the invention. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Kim discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed material. However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide durability and increased device lifespan since it has been held to be within the general ordinary skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Kim discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed material. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize such a thickness and breakdown voltage to ensure proper electrostatic discharge since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY R JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831