DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “indicative of con information” is recited. The examiner believes that the limitation should instead recite “indicative of coin information”.
The applicant is advised that should claim 22 be found allowable, claim 23 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
The same applies to claims 24 and 30.
Double Patenting
Claims 17-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,875,626. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application are broader than the claims of the conflicting patent, except as indicated below:
Current application 18/543,242
Conflicting patent 11,875,626
17
A currency processing system comprising:
a chamber configured to receive a batch of coins;
one or more coin holding devices operatively coupled to the chamber; and
a coin processing unit operatively coupled to the chamber and the one or more coin holding devices and configured to transfer coins therebetween, the coin processing unit including:
a transport mechanism configured to impart motion to the coins;
a system adjacent the transport mechanism configured to guide the coins, responsive to motion imparted by the transport mechanism, to the one or more coin holding devices; and
an array of sensors disposed adjacent to the transport mechanism, the array of sensors configured to sense each of the coins and output signals indicative of coin information for processing the coins,
wherein the signals indicative of coin information include signals correlated to coin authenticity as a function of location and the coin processing unit transfers the coins as a function of the signals indicative of con information that correlate to coin authenticity as a function of location.
1
A method for inspecting coins, comprising:
A “system” is not recited here; however, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the subject matter of the method in a currency processing system.
receiving a plurality of coins at a processing system having an inspection chamber and a mechanical transport;
packaging each coin using a packaging system coupled to the mechanical transport and configured to receive the processed coins and to package one or more coins
Presence of “one or more coin holding devices” is/are understood once the coins are packaged.
processing each coin using an optical sensor assembly mounted at least partially within the inspection chamber adjacent the mechanical transport, the optical sensor assembly being configured to analyze coins moving on the mechanical transport and to generate image signals indicative of coin image information for processing the coins, the optical sensor assembly including one or more light emitting devices and a control device communicatively coupled to and operable for controlling the one or more light emitting devices; and packaging each coin using a packaging system coupled to the mechanical transport and configured to receive the processed coins and to package one or more coins
The conflicting patent does not appear to include the same subject matter in the left column. However, secondary reference Dabic (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0301009) discloses a coin rail 203 in Fig. 2A and [0063] that is adjacent to a carousel 205 (transport mechanism) to the implied coin holding devices of the packaging system. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “a system adjacent the transport mechanism configured to guide the coins, responsive to motion imparted by the transport mechanism, to the one or more coin holding devices” to the conflicting patent for the expected and predictable result of preventing coin jams during transport.
processing each coin using an optical sensor assembly mounted at least partially within the inspection chamber adjacent the mechanical transport, the optical sensor assembly being configured to analyze coins moving on the mechanical transport and to generate image signals indicative of coin image information for processing the coins, the optical sensor assembly including one or more light emitting devices and a control device communicatively coupled to and operable for controlling the one or more light emitting devices;
The conflicting patent does not appear to include all the same subject matter; however, Truong (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0355864) discloses in Fig. 2 and [0031]: “The apparatus 200 includes a positioning device 202 capable of receiving a coin and maintaining the coin in a position in which a feature of the coin is directed toward one or two sensing devices 204. The sensing devices 204 are generally fixed relative to the positioning device 202 in order to capture images of the coin. The sensing devices 204 are in communication (wired or wireless) with a computer 206 to transmit captured images to the computer 206.” It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the capability of processing signals from an array of sensors for the expected and predictable result of authentication of both sides of a coin.
wherein the coin image information comprises a set of pixels of image data associated with a location where the coin was acquired.
The conflicting patent does not appear to include all the same subject matter (“signals correlated to coin authenticity as a function of location and the coin processing unit transfers the coins as a function of the signals indicative of con information that correlate to coin authenticity as a function of location.”) in the left column. However, Truong discloses in Fig. 4 and [0050]: “Authentication may be performed by…iii) coin processors in order to verify that coins are not counterfeit prior to sorting, rolling and wrapping coins.” The authentication is performed by identifying a family to which a coin belongs, as seen in [0038]: “Authentication may be performed following the method of FIG. 1 and includes comparing 400 a digital representation of the acquisition area with digital representations stored in memory and identifying 402 the coin. Identification may include identifying a family to which the coin belongs, identifying a sub-family to which the coin belongs or uniquely identifying the coin.” The family identifies a minting facility or lineage of the coin, as seen in [0025]: “The common component may further be referred to as a family component when the common component is unique to a group of coins manufactured at the same minting facility or manufactured using the same die, for example. The common components may be used to trace the lineage of the coin.”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the capability to process “signals correlated to coin authenticity as a function of location and the coin processing unit transfers the coins as a function of the signals indicative of con information that correlate to coin authenticity as a function of location” to the conflicting patent for the expected and predictable result of improved sorting of recognized coins that are input.
18
The system of claim 17 wherein the signals correlated to coin authenticity comprise locations associated with origins of the coins.
The conflicting patent does not appear to include the same subject matter; however, Truong teaches in [0025]: “The acquisition area includes a feature that is unique to the coin. The feature may include a first component, which may be referred to as a common component, meaning that other coins may include the first component as part of their feature, and a second component, which is unique to the manufactured item and may be referred to as a random component. The common component may further be referred to as a family component when the common component is unique to a group of coins manufactured at the same minting facility or manufactured using the same die, for example. The common components may be used to trace the lineage of the coin.”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the capability of processing signals that “comprise locations associated with origins of the coins” for the expected and predictable result of use of a common coin attribute for improved authentication.
19
The system of claim 17 wherein the signals correlated to coin authenticity comprise locations where the coins were found.
1
wherein the coin image information comprises a set of pixels of image data associated with a location where the coin was acquired.
20
The system of claim 17 wherein the signals from each of the array of sensors are processed to determine coin authenticity.
The conflicting patent does not appear to include the same subject matter; however, Dabic (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0301009) discloses in [0047]: “In the imaging region 105, image data is collected by which coins are identified by denomination, type, date, and origin of mint.” Then see [0065]: “The coin may then pass through an auxiliary sensor 202 such as an inductance coil which can provide information regarding a coin's secondary attributes such as size, diameter, conductivity and weight.” It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the capability of processing signals from each of the array of sensors for the expected and predictable result of more rigorous authentication.
21
The system of claim 17 wherein the signals from two or more sensors of the array of sensors are used to determine coin authenticity.
The conflicting patent does not appear to include the same subject matter; however, Dabic (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0301009) discloses in [0047]: “In the imaging region 105, image data is collected by which coins are identified by denomination, type, date, and origin of mint.” Then see [0065]: “The coin may then pass through an auxiliary sensor 202 such as an inductance coil which can provide information regarding a coin's secondary attributes such as size, diameter, conductivity and weight.” It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the capability of processing signals from two sensors of the array of sensors for the expected and predictable result of more rigorous authentication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 18, 20-27, and 29-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dabic (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0301009) in view of Truong (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0355864).
Claim 17 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
Dabic discloses:
A currency processing system (See the Abstract.) comprising:
a chamber configured to receive a batch of coins (See Fig. 2A and [0052], sockets 212 serving as the claimed chamber.);
one or more coin holding devices operatively coupled to the chamber (See [0049]: “The coin pickup assembly 154 places the coins onto a coin rail 171 along which the coins pass a sensor 166 and move towards a means for mechanical discrimination of the coins. For example, if, based on the image data and/or sensor data, it is determined that the coin can and should be accepted, a controllable deflector flap 167 is activated to divert coins from their gravitational path to a coin tube 168 for delivery to a primary coin bin, or trolley, 158.”); and
a coin processing unit operatively coupled to the chamber and the one or more coin holding devices and configured to transfer coins therebetween, the coin processing unit including (See Fig. 2A, coin pickup assembly (or carousel) 205.):
a transport mechanism configured to impart motion to the coins (See ledge 209 in Fig. 2A and [0063]: “After image capture and image processing, the carousel 205 advances the coin to the apex of the coin sliding surface 213 where a hole in the coin sliding surface produces a ledge 209 that causes the coins to slide over and fall behind the plane of the coin sliding surface 213…”.);
a system adjacent the transport mechanism configured to guide the coins, responsive to motion imparted by the transport mechanism (See Fig. 2A, guide rail 203 and [0063]: “After image capture and image processing, the carousel 205 advances the coin to the apex of the coin sliding surface 213 where a hole in the coin sliding surface produces a ledge 209 that causes the coins to slide over and fall behind the plane of the coin sliding surface 213 onto a coin rail 203 which guides coins, e.g. coin 204, behind the plane of the coin sliding surface 213.”), to the one or more coin holding devices (See [0067]: “A means for mechanically discriminating the coins, depending on the processed image data and/or auxiliary sensor data, can be employed to separate coins based on predetermined factors. For example, coins may then be mechanically discriminated by a servomechanism 239 (FIG. 2C), or solenoid driven actuator which controls a discriminating means such as a door or flap 201 which can alter the trajectory of coins into bins, chutes, return trays, etc.”); and
an array of sensors disposed adjacent to the transport mechanism, the array of sensors configured to sense each of the coins and output signals indicative of coin information for processing the coins (See Fig. 2A, 207a, 207b, and [0051]: “FIG. 2A depicts a side view of an embodiment of a coin collection region, or hopper 214, a coin pickup assembly 205, imaging devices 207 a,b, a guide rail 203, an auxiliary sensor 202 and a means for mechanical discrimination 201.”),
Dabic does not explicitly disclose the following; however, Truong discloses:
wherein the signals indicative of coin information include signals correlated to coin authenticity as a function of location and the coin processing unit transfers the coins as a function of the signals indicative of con information that correlate to coin authenticity as a function of location (See [0050]: “Authentication may be performed by…iii) coin processors in order to verify that coins are not counterfeit prior to sorting, rolling and wrapping coins.” The authentication is performed by identifying a family to which a coin belongs, as seen in [0038]: “Authentication may be performed following the method of FIG. 1 and includes comparing 400 a digital representation of the acquisition area with digital representations stored in memory and identifying 402 the coin. Identification may include identifying a family to which the coin belongs, identifying a sub-family to which the coin belongs or uniquely identifying the coin.” The family identifies a minting facility or lineage of the coin, as seen in [0025]: “The common component may further be referred to as a family component when the common component is unique to a group of coins manufactured at the same minting facility or manufactured using the same die, for example. The common components may be used to trace the lineage of the coin.”).
Dabic and Truong together teach the limitations of claim 17. Truong is directed to a similar field of art (coin identification, authentication, and sorting). Therefore, Dabic and Truong are combinable. Dabic identifies “primary attributes” such as origin of mint, but does not explicitly authenticate coins based on these attributes (see [0047]). Dabic does explicitly authenticate coins based on “secondary attributes” (non-location-related data) found by measuring changes in inductance as a coin passes by. Modifying the system and method of Dabic by adding the capability of processing “signals indicative of coin information include signals correlated to coin authenticity as a function of location and the coin processing unit transfers the coins as a function of the signals indicative of con information that correlate to coin authenticity as a function of location”, as taught by Truong, would yield the expected and predictable result of more robust coin authentication by considering both image data and inductive measurements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dabic and Truong in this way.
Claim 18 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
And Truong further discloses:
the signals correlated to coin authenticity comprise locations associated with origins of the coins (See [0025]: “The common component may further be referred to as a family component when the common component is unique to a group of coins manufactured at the same minting facility or manufactured using the same die, for example. The common components may be used to trace the lineage of the coin.”).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 17.
Claim 20 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
And Truong further discloses:
the signals from each of the array of sensors are processed to determine coin authenticity (See Fig. 2, both cameras 204 and [0033]: “In yet another example, the sensing devices are digital cameras and the feature is a surface feature of the coin… Two cameras may also be used when the surface feature is only on one side of the manufactured item.” Both sets of data are used in the authentication method of Fig. 4.).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 17.
Claim 21 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
And Truong further discloses:
the signals from two or more sensors of the array of sensors are used to determine coin authenticity (See Fig. 2, both cameras 204 and [0033]: “In yet another example, the sensing devices are digital cameras and the feature is a surface feature of the coin… Two cameras may also be used when the surface feature is only on one side of the manufactured item.” Both sets of data are used in the authentication method of Fig. 4.).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 17.
Claim 22 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
And Truong further discloses:
a coin is determined to be counterfeit when a signal from a first sensor is inconsistent with a signal from a second sensor (See Fig. 4, “digital representation of acquisition area of coin” meets “signal from a first sensor” and “digital representations stored in memory” (created by registration of previously acquired images by a sensor, as seen in [0036]-[0037]) meets “signal from a second sensor”.).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 17.
Claim 23 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
And Truong further discloses:
a coin is determined to be counterfeit when a signal from a first sensor is inconsistent with a signal from a second sensor (See Fig. 4, “digital representation of acquisition area of coin” meets “signal from a first sensor” and “digital representations stored in memory” (created by registration of previously acquired images by a sensor, as seen in [0036]-[0037]) meets “signal from a second sensor”.).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 17.
Claim 24 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
And Truong further discloses:
a coin is determined to be non-authentic as a function of image data from a first sensor and electrical data from a second sensor (See [0032]: “The sensing devices used to capture an image may be of an opto-electronic type, x-ray sensitive, infrared sensitive, ultra-violet sensitive and ultrasonic sensitive.”).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 17.
Claim 25 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
Dabic, as modified by Truong in the treatment of claim 17, discloses:
a coin is determined to be non-authentic as a function of image data from a first sensor and image data from a second sensor (See the “primary attributes” extracted from image data (by either of cameras 207a and b in Fig. 2A) in [0047] and “secondary attributes” determined from inductance measurements in [0065].).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 17.
Claim 26 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
Dabic, as modified by Truong in the treatment of claim 17, discloses:
a coin is determined to be non-authentic as a function of image data from a first sensor, image data from a second sensor and electrical data from a third sensor (See the “primary attributes” extracted from image data (by both cameras 207a and b in Fig. 2A) in [0047] and “secondary attributes” determined from inductance measurements in [0065].).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 17.
Claim 27 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
Dabic, as modified by Truong in the treatment of claim 17, discloses:
a coin is determined to be non-authentic as a function of image data from a first sensor associated with a location and electrical data from a second sensor associated with a location (See the “primary attributes” (including origin of mint) extracted from image data (by either of cameras 207a and b in Fig. 2A) in [0047] and “secondary attributes” determined from inductance measurements in [0065]: “The coin may then pass through an auxiliary sensor 202 such as an inductance coil which can provide information regarding a coin's secondary attributes such as size, diameter, conductivity and weight.” Variance in surface conductivity meets “electrical data…associated with a location”.).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 17.
Claim 29 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
And Truong further discloses:
a coin is determined to be non-authentic as a function of image data from a first sensor failing to match authentic image data and data from a second sensor (See [0051]: “When family identification is performed, the authentication method generally identifies the coin by outputting a pass or fail result or by outputting the type or denomination of the coin.”).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 17.
Claim 30 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
And Truong further discloses:
a coin is determined to be non-authentic as a function of image data from a first sensor and electrical data from a second sensor (See [0032]: “The sensing devices used to capture an image may be of an opto-electronic type, x-ray sensitive, infrared sensitive, ultra-violet sensitive and ultrasonic sensitive.”).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 17.
Claim 31 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
Dabic, as modified by Truong in the treatment of claim 17, discloses:
a coin is determined to be authentic when a signal from a first sensor matches data associated with a location and a signal from a second sensor matches data associated with the location (See the “primary attributes” (including origin of mint) extracted from image data (by either of cameras 207a and b in Fig. 2A) in [0047] and “secondary attributes” determined from inductance measurements in [0065]: “The coin may then pass through an auxiliary sensor 202 such as an inductance coil which can provide information regarding a coin's secondary attributes such as size, diameter, conductivity and weight.” Variance in surface conductivity meets “a signal…associated with a location”.).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 17.
Claim 32 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
Dabic, as modified by Truong in the treatment of claim 17, discloses:
a coin is determined to be authentic when a signal from a first sensor matches data associated with a location, a signal from a second sensor matches data associated with the location, and a signal from a third sensor matches data associated with the location (See the “primary attributes” (including origin of mint) extracted from image data (by both cameras 207a and b in Fig. 2A) in [0047] and “secondary attributes” determined from inductance measurements in [0065]: “The coin may then pass through an auxiliary sensor 202 such as an inductance coil which can provide information regarding a coin's secondary attributes such as size, diameter, conductivity and weight.” Variance in surface conductivity meets “a signal…associated with a location”.).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 17.
Claim 33 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
And Truong further discloses:
a coin is determined to be non-authentic when a signal from a first sensor matches data associated with a country and a signal from a second sensor matches data associated with a different country (See Fig. 4, “digital representation of acquisition area of coin” with a matched identifier (see [0036]-[0037) meets “signal from a first sensor matches data associated with a country” and “digital representations stored in memory” with another matched identifier meets “signal from a second sensor associated with a different country”, based on mint facilities located in various countries.).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 17.
Claim 34 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
And Truong further discloses:
a coin is determined to be non-authentic when a signal from a first sensor matches data associated with a location and a signal from a second sensor matches data associated with a different location (See Fig. 4, “digital representation of acquisition area of coin” with a matched identifier (see [0036]-[0037) meets “signal from a first sensor matches data associated with a country” and “digital representations stored in memory” with another matched identifier meets “signal from a second sensor associated with a different country”, based on mint facilities located in different locations.).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 17.
Claim 35 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
And Dabic further discloses:
the array of sensors is a linear array of sensors (See imaging devices 207a and 207b in Fig. 2A.).
Claim 36 is met by the combination of Dabic and Truong, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
And Dabic further discloses:
the array of sensors faces the transport mechanism (See imaging devices 207a and 207b in Fig. 2A that face opposite sides of the carousel 205 and ledge 209.)
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dabic (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0301009) in view of Truong (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0355864) in view of Jönsson (WO2011144931A1).
Claim 28 is met by the combination of Dabic, Truong, and Jönsson, wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong discloses:
The system of claim 17 wherein
The combination of Dabic and Truong does not appear to disclose the following; however, Jönsson teaches:
a coin is determined to be non-authentic when image data from a first sensor and electrical data from a second sensor matches predetermined data (See page 15, lines 10-14: “The electronic processor typically includes a database of stored reference data indicative of properties of the coin that indicate that a coin is genuine, bogus, or both.”).
Dabic, Truong, and Jönsson together teach the limitations of claim 28. Jönsson is directed to a similar field of art (coin discrimination and sorting). Therefore, Dabic, Truong, and Jönsson are combinable. Modifying the system and method of Dabic & Truong by adding the capability of “a coin is determined to be non-authentic when image data from a first sensor and electrical data from a second sensor matches predetermined data”, as taught by Jönsson, would yield the expected and predictable result of more robust coin authentication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dabic, Truong, and Jönsson in this way.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable (1) if the double patenting rejection is overcome and (2) if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. None of the prior art of record discloses or suggests: “wherein the signals correlated to coin authenticity comprise locations associated with origins of the coins.” See the reasons for allowance given in the Notices of Allowance in U.S. App. Nos. 14/538,640, 15/180,867, and 17/389,514.
Contact
/Jonathan S Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677