DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 2023-036660, filed on March 9, 2023.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. (US PG Pub 20230364969 A1, newly cited).
As to claim 1 Maeda et al. discloses a thermal management system (see e.g. thermal management system 1 in Par. 41) provided in an electrical device (see e.g. thermal management system 1 according to the present embodiment is applied to an electric vehicle in Par. 41), the thermal management system comprising:
a first flow path (see e.g. a heating medium circuit including second through sixth medium join portions 45b through 45f at the side of the low-temperature-side circuit 42 in Par. 88 and a first flow path containing a battery 51 in Fig. 1), a second flow path (see e.g. a second flow path containing a motor generator 53 in Fig. 1), a third flow path (see e.g. a third flow path containing a low-temperature-side radiator 423 in Fig. 1), and a fourth flow path (see e.g. a fourth flow path containing a chiller 20 in Fig. 1) through which a heat medium is able to flow (see e.g. the heating medium circuit circulates a heating medium that is temperature-regulated by the refrigeration cycle equipment in Par. 24);
a power storage device (battery 51) that exchanges heat with the heat medium flowing through the first flow path (see e.g. the cooling water channel 51a of the battery 51 is comparable to a first heat exchange portion that provides heat exchange between the multiple battery cells forming battery 51 and the heating medium in Par. 90, in Fig. 1);
a drive device (high-voltage instrument 50) that exchanges heat with the heat medium flowing through the second flow path (see e.g. each of the cooling water channels 52a through 54a of the high-voltage instrument 50 is a second heat exchange portion that provides heat exchange between the high-voltage instrument 50 and the heating medium in Par. 92, in Fig. 1) and supplies driving force to the electrical device (see e.g. the motor generator 53 functions as an electric motor supplied with electric power to output a driving for traveling in Par. 45);
a radiator (radiator 423) provided in the third flow path (see e.g. the radiator-side outlet 422e of the five-way valve 422 connects with the heating medium inlet side of the low-temperature-side radiator 423 in Par. 99, in Fig. 1);
a chiller (chiller 20) provided in the fourth flow path (see e.g. the low-temperature-side circuit 42 connects with the heating medium channel 20b of the chiller 20 in Par. 89, in Fig. 1);
and a switching device (see e.g. a five-way valve 422 in Par. 89, in Fig. 1) that is able to switch a connection state of the first flow path, the second flow path, the third flow path, and the fourth flow path (see e.g. the five-way valve 422 is a low-temperature-side circuit switching portion that switches the circuit configuration of the low-temperature-side circuit 42 in Par. 95, in Fig. 1).
Maeda et al., Figure 1
Maeda et al., Figure 1
Maeda et al. further discloses a battery temperature sensor 68 that includes multiple temperature sensors and detects temperatures at multiple locations of the battery 51 in Par. 142. Therefore, the controller 60 can detect temperature differences among battery cells forming the battery 51 in Par. 142. A low-temperature-side heating medium circuit control section 60b is configured to control operations of the five-way valve 422 in Par. 148. Maeda et al. discloses a quick charging and cooling mode in Par. 388. The controller 60 controls operations of the five-way valve 422 to connect the outlet side of the cooling water channel 51a of the battery 51 with the inlet side pf the heating medium channel 20b of the chiller 20. At the same time, the controller 60 activates the circuit that connects the outlet side of the cooling water channel 51a of the battery 51 with the heating medium inlet side of the low-temperature-side radiator 423 in Par. 392, in Fig. 12.
Maeda et al., Figure 12
Maeda et al. does not explicitly disclose when a temperature difference between a high temperature portion and a low temperature portion of the power storage device is equal to or greater than a threshold value, the switching device separates the second flow path from other flow paths, and makes a circuit in which the heat medium circulates through at least the first flow path and the fourth flow path, the device of Maeda et al. which includes the 5 way valve 422 which is controlled via controller 60 from the input of temperature sensors in various locations and specifically that:
[0241] The controller 60 controls operations of the five-way valve 422 to connect the outlet side of the cooling water channel 51a of the battery 51 with the inlet side of the heating medium bypass channel 424. At the same time, the controller 60 switches to the circuit that connects the outlet side of the cooling water channels 52a through 54a of the high-voltage instrument 50 with the inlet side of the heating medium channel 20b of the chiller 20.
[0392] The controller 60 controls operations of the five-way valve 422 to connect the outlet side of the cooling water channel 51a of the battery 51 with the inlet side of the heating medium channel 20b of the chiller 20. At the same time, the controller 60 activates the circuit that connects the outlet side of the cooling water channel 51a of the battery 51 with the heating medium inlet side of the low-temperature-side radiator 423.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the low-temperature-side circuit in Maeda et al. so that when a temperature difference between a high temperature portion and a low temperature portion of the power storage device is equal to or greater than a threshold value, the switching device will activate a configuration, separating the second flow path from other flow paths and making a circuit in which the heat medium circulates through at least the first flow path and the fourth flow path as taught in Maeda et al. in order to cool the battery as taught by Maeda et al. in Par. 397, depending on the level of cooling or heating desired.
Furthermore, it is noted that the recited switching regarding temperature difference threshold values is merely a recitation of an intended use. Maeda et al. is structurally configured in a similar manner to the claimed apparatus and thus is considered to be capable of performing the intended use (see MPEP 2144 and 2173.05(g)). The Examiner notes that the claim does not require any particular structural programming of the system, just that the “switching device that is able to…” perform certain functions under certain conditions, and the prior art may be operated, such as manually, to perform the claimed functionality.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. (US PG Pub 20230364969 A1), of record, in view of Kawabe et al. (US PG Pub 20210300144 A1), newly cited.
As to claim 2 Maeda et al. discloses the thermal management system according to claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1).
Maeda et al. discloses a B2C3 mode, battery-temperature averaging mode and high-voltage-instrument cooling mode, in Par. 305,306. The controller 60 controls operations of the five-way valve 422 to connect the outlet side of the cooling water channel 51a of the battery 51 with the inlet side of the heating medium bypass channel 424. At the same time, the controller 60 activates the circuit that connects the outlet side of the cooling water channels 52a through 54a of the high-voltage-instrument 50 with the heating-medium inlet side of the low-temperature-side radiator 423 in Par. 308, in Fig. 10. The refrigeration cycle equipment 10 in the B2C3 mode prevents the refrigerant from flowing into the chiller 20 in Par. 307.
Maeda et al., Figure 10
Maeda et al. does not disclose further comprising a pump that is provided in the fourth flow path and sends the heat medium toward the chiller, wherein the pump stops when the temperature difference becomes the threshold value or a value less than a set value smaller than the threshold value.
Kawabe et al. discloses a water pump 45 for circulating coolant in Par. 36, in Fig. 2. Kawabe et al. discloses the water pumps 45 and 46 control the amount of heat transferred to the refrigerant circuit RE via a chiller 34, based on the flow velocity of the coolant in Par. 37, in Fig. 2. Kawabe et al. further discloses the flow path pattern of each thermal circuit shown in Fig. 7, for the case in which the battery 41 has a low temperature and cooling by the air conditioner is desired in Par. 60. A flow path for circulating the coolant in the first drive unit 42, the second drive unit 43, and the radiator 44 with the water pump 46 is formed in Par. 60. The other flow paths are unused in this scenario, including the flow path containing the water pump 45 upstream of the chiller 34, in Fig. 7.
Kawabe et al., Figure 7
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the low-temperature-side circuit in Maeda et al. to include a pump in the fourth flow path that sends the heat medium toward the chiller, wherein when a temperature difference becomes the threshold value or a value less than a set value smaller than the threshold value, the pump stops as taught in Kawabe et al. for the scenario where cooling by air conditioner is desired, but the battery has a low temperature as taught in Kawabe et al. in Par. 60.
Furthermore, it is noted that the recited switching and stopping of the pump regarding temperature difference threshold values is merely a recitation of an intended use. Maeda et al. in view of Kawabe et al. is structurally configured in a similar manner to the claimed apparatus and thus is considered to be capable of performing the intended use (see MPEP 2144 and 2173.05(g)).
As to claim 3 Maeda et al. in view of Kawabe et al. discloses the thermal management system according to claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1), further comprising a grille shutter (see e.g. Kawabe et al. discloses the radiator 43 has a radiator core, a grill shutter, and a radiator fan in Par. 36) that is able to adjust a volume of air flowing toward the radiator by adjusting an opening degree (see e.g. Kawabe et al. discloses the grill shutter is disposed in front of the radiator core and increases or decreases the amount of ventilation to the radiator core in Par. 36)
Maeda et al. in view of Kawabe et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein when the temperature difference is equal to or greater than the threshold value, the switching device separates the second flow path from the other flow paths, and makes a circuit in which the heat medium circulates through the first flow path, the third flow path, and the fourth flow path, and the grille shutter is closed.
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the low-temperature-side circuit in Maeda et al. wherein when the temperature difference is equal to or greater than the threshold value, the switching device separates the second flow path from the other flow paths, and makes a circuit in which the heat medium circulates through the first flow path, the third flow path, and the fourth flow path, and the grille shutter is closed as taught in Maeda et al. in order to cool the battery as taught by Maeda et al. in Par. 397.
Furthermore, it is noted that the recited switching and grille shutter closing regarding temperature difference threshold values is merely a recitation of an intended use. Maeda et al. in view of Kawabe et al. is structurally configured in a similar manner to the claimed apparatus and thus is considered to be capable of performing the intended use (see MPEP 2144 and 2173.05(g)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Johnston (US PG Pub 20160107507 A1) discloses a multi-mode vehicle thermal management system.
Mancini et al. (US PG Pub 20190070924 A1) discloses a vehicle thermal management system that includes a vehicle heat pump system, a battery system coolant loop, a drive train coolant loop, and control electronics.
Wei (US PG Pub 20240140171 A1) discloses an integrated heat pump air conditioning and heat management system with a five-way valve and a control method.
/COLIN MICHAEL ZORIJ/Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723