DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 04/21/2026. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 1-20 has/have been amended; no claim(s) has/have been cancelled and no new claim(s) has/have been added. Thus, claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rabin et al (US 2009/0220222).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabin et al (US 2009/0220222) in view of Takeuchi et al (US 6,155,268).
Regarding claim 1, Rabin discloses a vaporization apparatus that is placed within a surrounding environment to vaporize liquid into the surrounding environment, comprising:
at least one liquid source (Fig. 6 #612 wick extension);
a plurality of vaporization ports (Fig. 6 #412 one or more orifices) formed at predetermined locations in a structure, each of the vaporization ports (Fig. 6 #412 one or more orifices) comprising a single through hole (The ports are shown to have a hole.), having predetermined lateral dimensions (Each port will have a general lateral dimension.), that is in fluid communication with the liquid source (Fig. 6 #612 wick extension) on a first side of the structure (Shown in the figure below) and the surrounding environment on a second side of the structure (Shown in the figure below);
a plurality of heating elements (Fig. 6 #104 electric resistance heater) formed on the second side of the structure and disposed around the plurality of vaporization ports (Fig. 6 #412 one or more orifices), the plurality of heating elements (Fig. 6 #104 electric resistance heater) being electrically connected to enable one or more of the heating elements (Fig. 6 #104 electric resistance heater) to be powered when connected to a power supply (Fig. 8 #804 power supply).
However, Rabin does not disclose wherein liquid from the liquid source enters the through hole at the first side of the structure to the second side of the structure through the through hole, wherein sufficient heat from the heating elements applied to the liquid in the through hole releases vapor into the surrounding environment at the second side of the structure.
Nonetheless, Takeuchi in the same field of endeavor being vaporizer devices teaches wherein liquid (Liquid of Fig. 1 #34 liquid flavor source) from the liquid source (Fig. 1 #34 liquid flavor source) enters the through hole (Fig. 1 #37 liquid passageway) at the first side (Fig. 1 #36a lower end) of the structure to the second side (Fig. 1 #36b outlet portion) of the structure through the through hole (Fig. 1 #37 liquid passageway), wherein sufficient heat from the heating elements (Fig. 1 #42 heater) applied to the liquid (Liquid of Fig. 1 #34 liquid flavor source) in the through hole (Fig. 1 #37 liquid passageway) releases vapor into the surrounding environment at the second side (Fig. 1 #36b outlet portion) of the structure (Shown in the figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vaporization apparatus of Rabin by incorporating the through hole and heating arrangement as taught by Takeuchi for the benefit of providing a flavor-generating device which can be driven with a low energy, which effectively prevents a flavor source from being wasted. (Takeuchi Col. 1 fifth para.)
Regarding claim 9, Rabin discloses a vaporizing structure, for use with a vaporization apparatus that is placed within a surrounding environment to vaporize a liquid from a liquid source into the surrounding environment, the vaporizing structure comprising:
a plurality of vaporization ports (Fig. 6 #412 one or more orifices) formed at predetermined locations in a structure, each of the vaporization ports (Fig. 6 #412 one or more orifices) comprising a single through hole (The ports are shown to have a hole.), having predetermined lateral dimensions (Each port will have a general lateral dimension.);
a plurality of heating elements (Fig. 6 #104 electric resistance heater) formed on a second side of the structure and disposed around the plurality of vaporization ports (Fig. 6 #412 one or more orifices), the plurality of heating elements (Fig. 6 #104 electric resistance heater) being electrically connected to enable one or more of the heating elements (Fig. 6 #104 electric resistance heater) to be powered when connected to a power supply (Fig. 8 #804 power supply).
However, Rabin does not disclose a through hole that is adapted to receive a liquid at a first side of the structure; wherein sufficient heat from the heating elements applied to the liquid in the through hole releases vapor into the surrounding environment at the second side of the structure.
Nonetheless, Takeuchi teaches a through hole (Fig. 1 #37 liquid passageway) that is adapted to receive a liquid (Liquid of Fig. 1 #34 liquid flavor source) at a first side (Fig. 1 #36a lower end) of the structure;
wherein sufficient heat from the heating elements (Fig. 1 #42 heater) applied to the liquid (Liquid of Fig. 1 #34 liquid flavor source) in the through hole (Fig. 1 #37 liquid passageway) releases vapor into the surrounding environment at the second side (Fig. 1 #36b outlet portion) of the structure (Shown in the figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vaporization apparatus of Rabin by incorporating the through hole and heating arrangement as taught by Takeuchi for the benefit of providing a flavor-generating device which can be driven with a low energy, which effectively prevents a flavor source from being wasted. (Takeuchi Col. 1 fifth para.)
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabin et al (US 2009/0220222) in view of Takeuchi et al (US 6,155,268) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Gruenbacher et al (US 2015/0367356).
Regarding claim 2, Rabin in view of Takeuchi teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein one or more of the heating elements may be selectively powered for a time duration when connected to a power supply.
Nonetheless, Gruenbacher in the same field of endeavor being microfluidic delivery systems teaches wherein one or more of the heating elements may be selectively powered for a time duration when connected to a power supply ([0074] lines 1-6 ---" Referring to FIG. 10, the microprocessor supplies firing pulses having a fire time (denoted t.sub.FIRE) to a heating element 134. In some embodiments as shown in FIG. 10, a plurality of individual heating elements are fired sequentially (1, 2, 3, 4, etc), with an interposed delay time (denoted t.sub.DELAY), in a sequence referred to as a burst.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selective powering of the one or more heaters of Rabin in view of Takeuchi by incorporating the burst operation of the one or more heaters as taught by Gruenbacher for the benefit of delivering vapor at a desired frequency.
Regarding claim 3, Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Gruenbacher teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Gruenbacher teaches wherein one or more of the heating elements may be pulsed for a time duration when connected to a power supply ([0074] lines 1-6 ---" Referring to FIG. 10, the microprocessor supplies firing pulses having a fire time (denoted t.sub.FIRE) to a heating element 134. In some embodiments as shown in FIG. 10, a plurality of individual heating elements are fired sequentially (1, 2, 3, 4, etc), with an interposed delay time (denoted t.sub.DELAY), in a sequence referred to as a burst.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selective powering of the one or more heaters of Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Gruenbacher by incorporating the burst operation of the one or more heaters as taught by Gruenbacher for the benefit of delivering vapor at a desired frequency.
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabin et al (US 2009/0220222) in view of Takeuchi et al (US 6,155,268)as applied to claim 1, in view of Hierholzer, Jr. et al (US 3,846,726).
Regarding claim 4, Rabin in view of Takeuchi teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein at least some of the plurality of heating elements are thin-film resistive heating elements.
Nonetheless, Hierholzer, Jr. in the same field of endeavor being electric resistive heating devices teaches wherein at least some of the plurality of heating elements (Fig. 3 #22 electrical resistance heater) are thin-film resistive heating elements (Col. 2 lines 47-49 ---" Referring to FIG. 3, the electrical resistance heater 22 comprises a thin flexible film 40 and a thin flexible metallic resistance element 42 bonded to the film 40.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating element of Rabin in view of Takeuchi by incorporating the thin-film resistive heating elements as taught by Hierholzer, Jr. for the benefit of providing an electrical resistance heater which is particularly economical to construct. (Hierholzer, Jr. Col. 1 para. 5)
Regarding claim 5, Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Hierholzer, Jr. teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 4), and Hierholzer, Jr. teaches wherein the thin-film resistive heating elements (Fig. 3 #22 electrical resistance heater) are connected by electrode leads (Fig. 1 #s 26 and 28 leads) that are adapted to be connected to the power supply.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating element of Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Hierholzer, Jr. by incorporating the leads as taught by Hierholzer, Jr. for the benefit of providing an electrical connection to a power supply.
Regarding claim 6, Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Hierholzer, Jr. teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 5), and Hierholzer, Jr. teaches wherein the electrode leads (Show in the figure below) are connected to electrical connection pads (Show in the figure below) that are adapted to be connected to the power supply.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating element of Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Hierholzer, Jr. by incorporating the electrical connection pads as taught by Hierholzer, Jr. for the benefit of providing an electrical connection to a power supply.
Regarding claim 7, Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Hierholzer, Jr. teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 5), and Hierholzer, Jr. teaches wherein at least some of the electrical leads have a lower electrical resistance compared to at least some of the heating elements (Claim 4 ---"A bimetal actuator comprising an elongated bimetal strip having a thin, flexible, electrical resistance heater bonded to the high expansion side thereof, said heater comprising a thin elongated strip of insulating film lying longitudinally along the high expansion side of said bimetal strip and a thin, flexible, metallic, electrical resistance element bonded to one side of said film, the other side of said film being bonded to said bimetal element, said flexible insulating film including end portions thereof extending laterally from said bimetal strip, said electrical resistance element having a high resistance portion comprising a thin, long, relatively narrow, metallic strip lying in a generally serpentine pattern with elongated transversely extending and closely spaced parallel portions joined by short portions, and relatively wide integral end portions extending laterally from said bimetal strip and bonded to said laterally extending film portions, thereby to provide integral flexible leads of relatively low resistance.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least some of the electrical leads having a lower electrical resistance compared to at least some of the heating elements, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabin et al (US 2009/0220222) in view of Takeuchi et al (US 6,155,268) as applied to claim 1, in view of Cooper et al (US 2001/0045424).
Regarding claim 8, Rabin in view of Takeuchi teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the plurality of heating elements are connected in a series and parallel combination.
Nonetheless, Cooper in the same field of endeavor being electric resistive heating devices teaches wherein the plurality of heating elements (Fig. 6 #s12a-12c thin film heater conductor elements) are connected in a series and parallel combination (Shown in Fig. 6).
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plurality of heating elements being connected in a series and parallel combination, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 V. C.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabin et al (US 2009/0220222) in view of Takeuchi et al (US 6,155,268) as applied to claim 9, in view of Gruenbacher et al (US 2015/0367356).
Regarding claim 10, Rabin in view of Takeuchi teaches the structure as appears above (see the rejection of claim 9), but does not teach wherein one or more of the heating elements may be selectively powered for a time duration when connected to a power supply.
Nonetheless, Gruenbacher teaches wherein one or more of the heating elements may be selectively powered for a time duration when connected to a power supply ([0074] lines 1-6 ---" Referring to FIG. 10, the microprocessor supplies firing pulses having a fire time (denoted t.sub.FIRE) to a heating element 134. In some embodiments as shown in FIG. 10, a plurality of individual heating elements are fired sequentially (1, 2, 3, 4, etc), with an interposed delay time (denoted t.sub.DELAY), in a sequence referred to as a burst.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selective powering of the one or more heaters of Rabin in view of Takeuchi by incorporating the burst operation of the one or more heaters as taught by Gruenbacher for the benefit of delivering vapor at a desired frequency.
Regarding claim 11, Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Gruenbacher teaches the structure as appears above (see the rejection of claim 10), and Gruenbacher teaches wherein one or more of the heating elements may be pulsed for a time duration when connected to a power supply ([0074] lines 1-6 ---" Referring to FIG. 10, the microprocessor supplies firing pulses having a fire time (denoted t.sub.FIRE) to a heating element 134. In some embodiments as shown in FIG. 10, a plurality of individual heating elements are fired sequentially (1, 2, 3, 4, etc), with an interposed delay time (denoted t.sub.DELAY), in a sequence referred to as a burst.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selective powering of the one or more heaters of Rabin by incorporating the burst operation of the one or more heaters as taught by Gruenbacher for the benefit of delivering vapor at a desired frequency.
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabin et al (US 2009/0220222) in view of Takeuchi et al (US 6,155,268) as applied to claim 9, in view of Hierholzer, Jr. et al (US 3,846,726).
Regarding claim 12, Rabin in view of Takeuchi teaches the structure as appears above (see the rejection of claim 9), but does not teach wherein at least some of the plurality of heating elements are thin-film resistive heating elements.
Nonetheless, Hierholzer, Jr. in the same field of endeavor being electric resistive heating devices teaches wherein at least some of the plurality of heating elements (Fig. 3 #22 electrical resistance heater) are thin-film resistive heating elements (Col. 2 lines 47-49 ---" Referring to FIG. 3, the electrical resistance heater 22 comprises a thin flexible film 40 and a thin flexible metallic resistance element 42 bonded to the film 40.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating element of Rabin in view of Takeuchi by incorporating the thin-film resistive heating elements as taught by Hierholzer, Jr. for the benefit of providing an electrical resistance heater which is particularly economical to construct. (Hierholzer, Jr. Col. 1 para. 5)
Regarding claim 13, Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Hierholzer, Jr. teaches the structure as appears above (see the rejection of claim 12), and Hierholzer, Jr. teaches wherein the thin-film resistive heating elements (Fig. 3 #22 electrical resistance heater) are connected by electrode leads (Fig. 1 #s 26 and 28 leads) that are adapted to be connected to the power supply.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating element of Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Hierholzer, Jr. by incorporating the leads as taught by Hierholzer, Jr. for the benefit of providing an electrical connection to a power supply.
Regarding claim 14, Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Hierholzer, Jr. teaches the structure as appears above (see the rejection of claim 13), and Hierholzer, Jr. teaches wherein the electrode leads (Show in the figure below) are connected to electrical connection pads (Show in the figure below) that are adapted to be connected to the power supply.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating element of Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Hierholzer, Jr. by incorporating the electrical connection pads as taught by Hierholzer, Jr. for the benefit of providing an electrical connection to a power supply.
Regarding claim 15, Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Hierholzer, Jr. teaches the structure as appears above (see the rejection of claim 13), and Hierholzer, Jr. teaches wherein at least some of the electrical leads have a lower electrical resistance compared to at least some of the heating elements (Claim 4 ---"A bimetal actuator comprising an elongated bimetal strip having a thin, flexible, electrical resistance heater bonded to the high expansion side thereof, said heater comprising a thin elongated strip of insulating film lying longitudinally along the high expansion side of said bimetal strip and a thin, flexible, metallic, electrical resistance element bonded to one side of said film, the other side of said film being bonded to said bimetal element, said flexible insulating film including end portions thereof extending laterally from said bimetal strip, said electrical resistance element having a high resistance portion comprising a thin, long, relatively narrow, metallic strip lying in a generally serpentine pattern with elongated transversely extending and closely spaced parallel portions joined by short portions, and relatively wide integral end portions extending laterally from said bimetal strip and bonded to said laterally extending film portions, thereby to provide integral flexible leads of relatively low resistance.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least some of the electrical leads having a lower electrical resistance compared to at least some of the heating elements, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabin et al (US 2009/0220222) in view of Takeuchi et al (US 6,155,268) as applied to claim 9, in view of Cooper et al (US 2001/0045424).
Regarding claim 16, Rabin in view of Takeuchi teaches the structure as appears above (see the rejection of claim 9), but does not teach wherein the plurality of heating elements are connected in a series and parallel combination.
Nonetheless, Cooper in the same field of endeavor being electric resistive heating devices teaches wherein the plurality of heating elements (Fig. 6 #s12a-12c thin film heater conductor elements) are connected in a series and parallel combination (Shown in Fig. 6).
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plurality of heating elements being connected in a series and parallel combination, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 V. C.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabin et al (US 2009/0220222) in view of Takeuchi et al (US 6,155,268) as applied to claim 9, in view of Gruenbacher et al (US 2015/0367356).
Regarding claim 17, Rabin discloses a vaporization apparatus that is placed within a surrounding environment to vaporize liquid into the surrounding environment, comprising:
at least one liquid source (Fig. 6 #612 wick extension);
a plurality of vaporization ports (Fig. 6 #412 one or more orifices) formed at predetermine locations in a structure, each of the vaporization ports (Fig. 6 #412 one or more orifices) comprising a single through hole (The ports are shown to have a hole.), having predetermined lateral dimensions (Each port will have a general lateral dimension.), that is in fluid communication with the liquid source (Fig. 6 #612 wick extension) on a first side of the structure (Shown in the figure below) and the surrounding environment on a second side of the structure (Shown in the figure below), wherein liquid from the liquid source enters the through hole at the first side of the structure;
at least one heating element (Fig. 6 #104 electric resistance heater) formed on the second side of the structure (Shown in the figure below) and disposed around the plurality of vaporization ports (Fig. 6 #412 one or more orifices), and wherein sufficient heat from the heating element (Fig. 6 #104 electric resistance heater) applied to the fluid transported through the structure releases vapor into the surrounding environment (Abstract).
However, Rabin does not disclose wherein liquid from the liquid source enters the through hole at the first side of the structure to the second side of the structure through the through hole, wherein sufficient heat from the heating elements applied to the liquid in the through hole releases vapor into the surrounding environment at the second side of the structure; wherein the at least one heating element may be selectively powered for a time duration.
Nonetheless, Takeuchi teaches wherein liquid (Liquid of Fig. 1 #34 liquid flavor source) from the liquid source (Fig. 1 #34 liquid flavor source) enters the through hole (Fig. 1 #37 liquid passageway) at the first side (Fig. 1 #36a lower end) of the structure to the second side (Fig. 1 #36b outlet portion) of the structure through the through hole (Fig. 1 #37 liquid passageway), wherein sufficient heat from the heating elements (Fig. 1 #42 heater) applied to the liquid (Liquid of Fig. 1 #34 liquid flavor source) in the through hole (Fig. 1 #37 liquid passageway) releases vapor into the surrounding environment at the second side (Fig. 1 #36b outlet portion) of the structure (Shown in the figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vaporization apparatus of Rabin by incorporating the through hole and heating arrangement as taught by Takeuchi for the benefit of providing a flavor-generating device which can be driven with a low energy, which effectively prevents a flavor source from being wasted. (Takeuchi Col. 1 fifth para.)
Furthermore, Gruenbacher teaches wherein the at least one heating element may be selectively powered for a time duration ([0074] lines 1-6 ---" Referring to FIG. 10, the microprocessor supplies firing pulses having a fire time (denoted t.sub.FIRE) to a heating element 134. In some embodiments as shown in FIG. 10, a plurality of individual heating elements are fired sequentially (1, 2, 3, 4, etc), with an interposed delay time (denoted t.sub.DELAY), in a sequence referred to as a burst.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selective powering of the one or more heaters of Rabin by incorporating the burst operation of the at least one heater as taught by Gruenbacher for the benefit of delivering vapor at a desired frequency.
Regarding claim 18, Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Gruenbacher teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 17), and Gruenbacher teaches wherein the at least one heating element may be pulsed for a time duration when connected to a power supply ([0074] lines 1-6 ---" Referring to FIG. 10, the microprocessor supplies firing pulses having a fire time (denoted t.sub.FIRE) to a heating element 134. In some embodiments as shown in FIG. 10, a plurality of individual heating elements are fired sequentially (1, 2, 3, 4, etc), with an interposed delay time (denoted t.sub.DELAY), in a sequence referred to as a burst.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selective powering of the at least one heater of Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Gruenbacher by incorporating the burst operation of the one or more heaters as taught by Gruenbacher for the benefit of delivering vapor at a desired frequency.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabin et al (US 2009/0220222) in view of Takeuchi et al (US 6,155,268) and Gruenbacher et al (US 2015/0367356) as applied to claim 17, further in view of Hierholzer, Jr. et al (US 3,846,726).
Regarding claim 19, Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Gruenbacher teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 17), but does not teach wherein the at least one heating element is a thin-film resistive heating element.
Nonetheless, Hierholzer, Jr. teaches wherein at least one heating element (Fig. 3 #22 electrical resistance heater) is a thin-film resistive heating element (Col. 2 lines 47-49 ---" Referring to FIG. 3, the electrical resistance heater 22 comprises a thin flexible film 40 and a thin flexible metallic resistance element 42 bonded to the film 40.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating element of Rabin in view of Takeuchi and Gruenbacher by incorporating the thin-film resistive heating element as taught by Hierholzer, Jr. for the benefit of providing an electrical resistance heater which is particularly economical to construct. (Hierholzer, Jr. Col. 1 para. 5)
Regarding claim 20, Rabin in view of Takeuchi, Gruenbacher, and Hierholzer, Jr. teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 19), and Hierholzer, Jr. teaches wherein the thin-film resistive heating element (Fig. 3 #22 electrical resistance heater) is connected by at least one electrode lead (Fig. 1 #s 26 and 28 leads) that is adapted to be connected to the power supply.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating element of Rabin in view of Takeuchi, Gruenbacher, and Hierholzer, Jr. by incorporating the leads as taught by Hierholzer, Jr. for the benefit of providing an electrical connection to a power supply.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7 filed 04/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 6 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 2-5 and 7-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Takeuchi et al (US 6,155,268).
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach that orifice 412 does not receive a liquid or facilitate vaporization of the liquid. Examiner respectfully agrees.
However, newly cited prior art Takeuchi teaches a through hole where liquid to be vaporized is introduced on one side of the hole, is vaporized by a heater at the other side of the hole, and released from the same side of the hole where the liquid is vaporized.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOE E MILLS JR./ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761