DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form (i.e. not claim form) and generally limited to a single paragraph (i.e. not a single sentence) on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. Additionally, it should avoid phrases that are implied, such as “The application discloses.”
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the locking part separated from the buckling part, as required by claim 1 and 13, must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(1). When an exploded view is shown in a figure which is on the same sheet as another figure, the exploded view should be placed in brackets. See Figure 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claims 1 and 13 require an unlocked state, in which the locking part is separated from the bucking part. However, Figures 8 and 9, which show the unlocked state, show the locking part in contact with the buckling part, i.e. not separated.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1 and 13 require an unlocked state, in which the locking part is separated from the bucking part. However, Figures 8 and 9, which show the unlocked state, show the locking part in contact with the buckling part, i.e. not separated.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1 and 13, the second occurrence of “an axial direction” should be --the axial direction--.
In claim 9, “a plug” should be --the plug--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heinrich (US 2015/303620)
Regarding claim 1, Heinrich discloses a pop-up connector, comprising: a plugging part (10), wherein the plugging part is provided with a slot, and the slot is suitable for plugging and mating with a plug (50); a buckling part (30), wherein the buckling part is installed on the plugging part, and the buckling part is movable along an axial direction of the slot relative to the plugging part; and a locking part (20), provided on the plugging part and suitable for switching between a locked state (Fig. 4) and an unlocked state (Fig. 6); wherein in the locked state, the buckling part is buckled with the locking part, and the buckling part at least partially overlaps with the plugging part; and in the unlocked state, the locking part is separated from the buckling part, and the buckling part is movable away from the plugging part along an axial direction of the slot.
Regarding claim 2, Heinrich discloses an installation opening (12) communicating with the slot is provided on a side wall of the plugging part, and the locking part is rotatably connected with the installation opening.
Regarding claim 5, Heinrich discloses an elastic member (35), wherein the elastic member is installed between the buckling part and the plugging part; in the locked state, the buckling part compresses the elastic member and buckles with the locking part; and in the unlocked state, the elastic member drives the buckling part to move away from the plugging part along the axial direction of the slot.
Regarding claim 6, Heinrich discloses a limiting step (not labeled, see Fig. 6) provided on the plugging part, a second end of the elastic member abuts against the limiting step, and in the unlocked state, a first end of the elastic member abuts against the buckling part to drive the buckling part to move.
Regarding claim 9, Heinrich discloses a base (40), wherein a first end of the base is provided with the slot for inserting a plug, the buckling part is telescopically connected with the first end of the base, and a second end of the base is used for connecting with a device body.
Regarding claim 12, Heinrich discloses the buckling part being an outer bushing, and the outer bushing is telescopically sheathed outside the plugging part (see Figs. 4-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinrich in view of Belack (US 8,721,355).
Regarding claim 7, Heinrich discloses the elastic member (35) sheathed on the plugging part, a second end of the elastic member abuts against the limiting step, and in the unlocked state, a first end of the elastic member abutting against the buckling part.
Regarding claim 8, Heinrich discloses there are a plurality of spring turns, and adjacent spring turns have opposite elastic force directions.
Belack teaches the use of reed springs (92) as an alternative to coil springs. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use reeds, as taught by Belack, in order to provide the desire spring force.
Regarding claim 10, Belack teaches the plugging part further comprising: a tongue (24), connected with the base, wherein the connecting end of the tongue and the plug is located in the slot. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a tongue, as taught by Belack, in order to provide the desired interface.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinrich.
Regarding claim 11, to the extent that Heinrich does not disclose a sealing ring, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a sealing ring sheathed on the base (right side in Fig. 2), and is used to seal a gap between the base and the device body, in order to improve waterproofing and reduce rattling.
Regarding claim 13, to the extent that Heinrich does not explicit disclose the connector installed in an interface of a device body, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use the connector of Heinrich on a number of known devices, such as an electronic device, comprising: a device body with an interface; wherein the pop-up connector is installed in the interface, in order to provide a secure and reliable connector to the device.
Regarding claim 14, Heinrich discloses an installation opening (12) communicating with the slot is provided on a side wall of the plugging part, and the locking part is rotatably connected with the installation opening.
Regarding claim 17, Heinrich discloses an elastic member (35), wherein the elastic member is installed between the buckling part and the plugging part; in the locked state, the buckling part compresses the elastic member and buckles with the locking part; and in the unlocked state, the elastic member drives the buckling part to move away from the plugging part along the axial direction of the slot.
Regarding claim 18, Heinrich discloses a limiting step (not labeled, see Fig. 6) provided on the plugging part, a second end of the elastic member abuts against the limiting step, and in the unlocked state, a first end of the elastic member abuts against the buckling part to drive the buckling part to move.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinrich in view of Belack (US 8,721,355).
Regarding claim 19, Heinrich discloses the elastic member (35) sheathed on the plugging part, a second end of the elastic member abuts against the limiting step, and in the unlocked state, a first end of the elastic member abutting against the buckling part.
Regarding claim 20, Heinrich discloses there are a plurality of spring turns, and adjacent spring turns have opposite elastic force directions.
Belack teaches the use of reed springs (92) as an alternative to coil springs. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use reeds, as taught by Belack, in order to provide the desire spring force.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 15-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833