DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claims 1-13 have been examined.
Claims 1-13 are rejected.
Drawings
The present application contains no drawings.
Specification Objections
[1] The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In para. [0030], Labsphere is a registered trademark; the mark should appear as Labsphere®, consistent with the listing in para. [0033].
In para. [0041], the phrase “using vitro methods” should be amended to read “using in vitro methods.”
In para. [0041], the phrase “or vitro SPF” should be amended to read “or in vitro SPF.”
[2] The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code (paras. [0031] and [0034]. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
[3] Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, Claim 2 recites the broad recitation "two or more of the properties", and the claim also recites “preferably all three of the properties” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Similarly, Claim 4 recites the broad recitation "at least one mineral UV filter", and the claim also recites “preferably titanium dioxide and/or zinc oxide” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
[4] Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the UV absorbing system consists of at least one of avobenzone, bemotrizinol, Octisalate, Ensulizole, Homosalate, Octocrylene, and mixtures thereof.” Pursuant to MPEP 2173.04, a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear.
Claim 6, which depends from Claim 1, introduces avobenzone as an optional component of the “UV absorbing system.” In contrast, Claim 5 recites that the composition of Claim 1 “further comprising avobenzone,” thereby requiring the presence of avobenzone when claim 5 is invoked.
As a result, it is unclear whether Claim 6 is intended to further limit the UV absorbing system recited in Claim 1 or instead to redefine or replace that system. Claim 6 therefore creates ambiguity as to whether avobenzone is an essential component of the UV absorbing system or merely an optional selection.
[5] Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “wherein the UV absorbing system consists of at least one of mineral UV filter, avobenzone, bemotrizinol, Octisalate, Ensulizole, Homosalate, Octocrylene, and mixtures thereof.” Pursuant to MPEP 2173.04, a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear.
Claim 7, which depends from Claim 1, introduces a mineral UV filter into the recited “UV absorbing system.” However, Claim 1 does not recite or contemplate a mineral UV filter. As a result, it is unclear whether Claim 7 is intended to further limit the UV absorbing system recited in Claim 1 or instead to redefine or replace that system. The phrase “wherein the UV absorbing system” therefore creates ambiguity as to whether the mineral UV filter is an additional component or an alternative component of the UV absorbing system.
. Accordingly, the claims fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
[7] Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 depends from Claim 1 and recites “wherein the UV absorbing system consists of at least one of avobenzone, bemotrizinol, Octisalate, Ensulizole, Homosalate, Octocrylene, and mixtures thereof.” In contrast, Claim 1 recites “a UV absorbing system comprising bemotrizinol and at least one additional organic UV filter selected from the group consisting of Octisalate, Ensulizole, Homosalate, and Octocrylene, and mixtures thereof.” Accordingly, Claim 1 requires, at minimum, the presence of two (2) UV filters.
Further, Claim 5, which depends from claim 1, recites “further comprising avobenzone.” When Claims 1 and 5 are read together, the UV absorbing system is required to include at least three (3) UV filters, namely bemotrizinol, avobenzone, and at least one additional organic UV filter selected from octisalate, ensulizole, homosalate, or octocrylene.
By comparison, Claim 6, rather than further limiting the UV absorbing system, impermissibly broadens the scope of the invention by allowing the UV absorbing system to consist of merely one UV filter selected from the listed group. As such, Claim 6 is inconsistent with, and broader than, the scope of Claim 1 from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
[8] Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 7 depends from Claim 1 and recites “wherein the UV absorbing system consists of at least one of mineral UV filter, avobenzone, bemotrizinol, Octisalate, Ensulizole, Homosalate, Octocrylene, and mixtures thereof.” In contrast, Claim 1 recites “a UV absorbing system comprising bemotrizinol and at least one additional organic UV filter selected from the group consisting of Octisalate, Ensulizole, Homosalate, and Octocrylene, and mixtures thereof.” Accordingly, Claim 1 requires, at minimum, the presence of two (2) UV filters.
Further, Claim 5, which depends from claim 1, recites “further comprising avobenzone.” When Claims 1 and 5 are read together, the UV absorbing system is required to include at least three (3) UV filters, namely bemotrizinol, avobenzone, and at least one additional organic UV filter selected from octisalate, ensulizole, homosalate, or octocrylene.
By comparison, Claim 7, rather than further limiting the UV absorbing system, impermissibly broadens the scope of the invention by allowing the UV absorbing system to consist of merely one UV filter selected from the listed group. As such, Claim 7 is inconsistent with, and broader than, the scope of Claim 1 from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
[9] Claims 1 -13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spaulding et al. (Patent WO2014168773A1, published 10/16/2014).
With regards to Claims 1, 2, and 4-9, Spaulding et al. teaches a sunscreen composition comprising bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxy triazine, see Spaulding et al., para. [0050]), octisalate, homosalate, octocrylene, avobenzone, titanium dioxide, and zinc oxide, or any combination thereof (Claim 2, inter alia).
Spaulding et al. further teaches a critical wavelength of at least 370 nm (paras. [0070] - [0071]; Table 3) and a UVAPF/SPF ratio of at least 1/3 (paras. [0076] and [0079]; Table 7).
Spaulding et al. expressly teaches that the UV absorbing system may comprise any combinations of the listed UV filters (Claim 2, inter alia). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily envisage embodiment comprising bemotrizinol and avobenzone without the inclusion of mineral UV filters such as titanium dioxide and/or zinc oxide, thereby meeting the limitation of Claim 8, which recites “the composition is free of mineral UV filters.”
Similarly, because Spaulding et al. teaches optional inclusion of UV filters and expressly permits “any combination thereof,” embodiments omitting oxybenzone and/or octinoxate are also envisaged, thereby meeting the limitation of Claim 9, which recites that “the composition is free of oxybenzone and/or octinoxate.” Furthermore, Spaulding et al. is silent with respect to octinoxate, the “and/or” language of Claim 9 is satisfied by embodiment omitting octinoxate alone.
With regards to Claim 3, Spaulding et al. teaches the composition achieving an SPF value of at least 30 (Figure 1; paras. [0075] - [0077]; Tables 5-8).
With regards to Claims 10-12, Spaulding et al. teaches that the composition is anhydrous (Claim 23; paras. [0013], [0017], and [00105], inter alia), in the form of an emulsion (paras. [0014]and [0093]), and comprising at least one coloring agent (Claim 13; para. [00106]).
With regards to Claim 13, Spaulding et al. teaches a composition comprising variety of active agents (Claims 2, inter alia). The specification of the instant application as filed teaches that the term “UV filters,” as used therein, refers to sunscreen active agents approved by a governmental regulatory agency, such as the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) or the EU Commission, and includes organic UV filters such as avobenzone, and octocrylene, as well as mineral UV filters such as zinc oxide and titanium dioxide (para. 0024). Accordingly, a UV filter such as avobenzone would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to constitute an active agent, as taught by Spaulding et al.
[10] Claims 1 - 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spaulding et al. (Patent WO2015152865A1, published 10/08/2015).
With regards to Claims 1, 2, and 4-9, Spaulding et al. teaches a sunscreen composition comprising bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxy triazine, see para. [0028]), octisalate, homosalate, octocrylene, avobenzone, titanium dioxide, and zinc oxide, or any combination thereof (Claim 2, inter alia).
Spaulding et al. further teaches a critical wavelength of at least 370 nm (Claim 18, inter alia) and a UVAPF/SPF ratio of at least 1/3 (Claim 19; para. [0040]).
Spaulding et al. expressly teaches that the UV absorbing system may comprise any combination of the recited UV filters (Claim 2, inter alia). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily envisage embodiments comprising bemotrizinol and avobenzone without the inclusion of mineral UV filters such as titanium dioxide and/or zinc oxide, thereby meeting the limitation of Claim 8, which requires that UV absorbing system is free of mineral UV filters.
Similarly, because Spaulding et al. teaches optional inclusion of UV filters and expressly permits “any combination thereof,” embodiments omitting oxybenzone and/or octinoxate are also envisaged, thereby meeting the limitation of Claim 9. Furthermore, Spaulding et al. is silent with respect to octinoxate, the “and/or” language of Claim 9 is satisfied by embodiment omitting octinoxate alone.
With regards to Claim 3, Spaulding et al. teaches a composition achieving an SPF value of at least 30 (paras. [0083] - [0084]; Tables 2 and 4).
With regards to Claims 10-12, Spaulding et al. teaches the composition is anhydrous (Claim 27; inter alia), in the form of an emulsion (paras. [0012] and [0041]), and comprising at least one coloring agent (Claim 12; para. [0086]).
With regards to Claim 13, Spaulding et al. teaches a composition comprising a variety of active agents (Claim 2, inter alia). The specification of the instant application as filed teaches that the term “UV filters,” as used therein, refers to sunscreen active agents approved by a governmental regulatory agency, such as the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) or the EU Commission, and includes organic UV filters such as avobenzone, and octocrylene, as well as mineral UV filters such as zinc oxide and titanium dioxide (para. 0024). Accordingly, a UV filter such as avobenzone would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to constitute an active agent, as taught by Spaulding et al.
[11] Claims 1-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johncock and Claus (Patent US11723850B2, published 08/15/2023).
With regards to Claims 1, 2, and 4-9, Johncock and Claus teach a sunscreen composition comprising bemotrizinol, octisalate, homosalate, octocrylene, avobenzone, titanium dioxide, and zinc oxide, or any combination thereof (Claims 1, 6, and 22; col. 3, paras. 1 and 5-6; col. 32, para. 1 and 3, inter alia).
Johncock and Claus further teach a critical wavelength of at least 370 nm (Claim 8) and a UVAPF/SPF ratio of at least 1/3 (Claim 9).
Johncock and Claus teach that the UV absorbing system may comprise any combination of the recited UV filters (Claim 1, inter alia). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily envisage embodiments comprising bemotrizinol and avobenzone without the inclusion of mineral UV filters, thereby meeting the limitation of Claim 8, which requires that UV absorbing system is free of mineral UV filters.
Similarly, because Johncock and Claus teach optional inclusion of UV filters, embodiments omitting oxybenzone and/or octinoxate are also envisaged, thereby meeting the limitation of Claim 9.
With regards to Claim 3, Johncock and Claus teach a composition achieving an SPF value of at least 30 (Examples 1-4, inter alia).
With regards to Claims 11-12, Johncock and Claus teach the composition is in the form of an emulsion (Claims 13, 14, and 20) and comprising at least one coloring agent (Claim 6, col. 46, para. 1, ln. 11, inter alai). The instant application identifies coloring agents as including dyes and pigments (para. [0118]).
With regards to Claim 13, Johncock and Claus teach a composition comprising a variety of active agents (Claim 1, inter alia). The specification of the instant application as filed teaches that the term “UV filters,” as used therein, refers to sunscreen active agents approved by a governmental regulatory agency, such as the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) or the EU Commission, and includes organic UV filters such as avobenzone, and octocrylene, as well as mineral UV filters such as iron oxide, zinc oxide and titanium dioxide (para. 0024). Accordingly, a UV filter such as avobenzone would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to constitute an active agent, as taught by Johncock and Claus.
Double Patenting
[12] Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 10-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-11 of copending Application No. 18/543130 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending application 18/543130 teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol and titanium dioxide, as well as additional organic UV filters (see claims 1, 5, and 7) with the same properties and SPF value as listed in instant claims 1 and 3 (see claims 2-4). The reference copending application teaches that the composition is anhydrous, an emulsion, comprising at least one coloring agent, and comprising at least one active agent (see claims 8-11).
In the instant application, the UV filters recited in claim 1 are organic UV filters and likewise recited in claims 6 and 7. Accordingly, the disclosure and teaching directed to organic UV filters are not claim-specific and apply equally to each of these claims. The chemical compound remains the same irrespective of how it is labeled or referenced in the claims; therefore, the teachings concerning organic UV filters disclosed in connection with one claim are fully transferable to and applicable to claims 6 and 7.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
[13] Claims 1-9 and 11-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-10 and 13-15 of copending Application No. 18/543287 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending application 18/543287 teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol as well as additional organic and mineral UV filters (see claims 1, 7, and 8) with the same properties and SPF value as listed in instant claims 1 and 3 (see claims 5 and 6).
The reference copending application teaches that the composition is free of mineral UV filters as well as oxybenzone and/or octinoxate (see claims 9 and 10). Application 18/543287 further teaches that the composition is an emulsion, comprising at least one coloring agent, and comprising at least one active agent (see claims 13-15).
In the instant application, the UV filters recited in claim 1 are organic UV filters and likewise recited in claims 6 and 7. Accordingly, the disclosure and teaching directed to organic UV filters are not claim-specific and apply equally to each of these claims. The chemical compound remains the same irrespective of how it is labeled or referenced in the claims; therefore, the teachings concerning organic UV filters disclosed in connection with one claim are fully transferable to and applicable to claims 6 and 7.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
[14] Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 7-13 of copending Application No. 18/543343 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending application 18/543343 teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol, avobenzone, and at least one additional UV filter (i.e., organic UV filter, see claim 7) as well as mineral UV filters (see claims 1, 4 and 7) with the same properties and SPF value as listed in instant claims 1 and 3 (see claims 1-3).
The reference copending application teaches that the composition is free of mineral UV filters as well as oxybenzone and/or octinoxate (see claims 8 and 9). Application 18/543343 further teaches that the composition is anhydrous, an emulsion, comprising at least one coloring agent, and comprising at least one active agent (see claims 10-13).
In the instant application, the UV filters recited in claim 1 are organic UV filters and likewise recited in claims 6 and 7. Accordingly, the disclosure and teaching directed to organic UV filters are not claim-specific and apply equally to each of these claims. The chemical compound remains the same irrespective of how it is labeled or referenced in the claims; therefore, the teachings concerning organic UV filters disclosed in connection with one claim are fully transferable to and applicable to claims 6 and 7.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
[15] Claims 1-7, 9, and 11-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 10 and 12-13 of copending Application No. 18/543375 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending application 18/543375 teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol, titanium oxide, organic UV filter (see claim 1, 2, and 5) as well as mineral UV filters (see claims 7) with the same properties and SPF value as listed in instant claims 1 and 3 (see claims 2-4).
The reference copending application teaches that the composition is free of oxybenzone and/or octinoxate (see claim 10). Application 18/543375 further teaches that the composition is an emulsion, and comprising at least one active agent (see claims 12 and 13).
In the instant application, the UV filters recited in claim 1 are organic UV filters and likewise recited in claims 6 and 7. Accordingly, the disclosure and teaching directed to organic UV filters are not claim-specific and apply equally to each of these claims. The chemical compound remains the same irrespective of how it is labeled or referenced in the claims; therefore, the teachings concerning organic UV filters disclosed in connection with one claim are fully transferable to and applicable to claims 6 and 7.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
[16] Claims 17, 9-11 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 9-12 of copending Application No. 18/985642 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending application 18/985642 teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol, iron oxide, organic UV filter (see claim 1, 2 and 5) as well as mineral UV filters (see claim 1 and 6) with the same properties and SPF value as listed in instant claims 1 and 3 (see claims 2-4).
The reference copending application teaches that the composition is free of oxybenzone and/or octinoxate (see claim 9). Application 18/985642 further teaches that the composition is anhydrous, an emulsion, and comprising at least one active agent (see claims 10-12).
In the instant application, the UV filters recited in claim 1 are organic UV filters and likewise recited in claims 6 and 7. Accordingly, the disclosure and teaching directed to organic UV filters are not claim-specific and apply equally to each of these claims. The chemical compound remains the same irrespective of how it is labeled or referenced in the claims; therefore, the teachings concerning organic UV filters disclosed in connection with one claim are fully transferable to and applicable to claims 6 and 7.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ALI MUSTAFA ALAOUIE/Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614