DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 30 June 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-7 and 9-18 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 1 April 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rahman et al (US 20150267818).
Regarding Claim 17, Rahman et al disclose a connection module for a fluid (together 56, 110, 58 and 108 in Figure 4) with a body (12 generally) with a first opening (from 20) and a second opening (to 16) connected to each other by a channel (into which 58 is inserted in Figure 3) so that the fluid can flow between the first opening and the second opening through the channel (Figure 3);
a first valve (56) placed inside the channel to control the flow of the fluid (¶ 66);
a side passage (into which 58 is inserted through the bottom as orientated in Figure 3) configured to receive the first valve so that it can be placed within the channel (Figure 4);
wherein the channel has a first arm (to 20) terminating in the first opening (Figure 3) and a second arm (to 32) intersecting with the first arm and terminating in the second opening (Figure 3), and wherein the side passage is formed by an axial extension of the second arm (Figure 3);
wherein the connection module further comprises a fixing element (58 generally) that includes a collar (118 and 120 together; Figure 4) and a cap (112), where the collar includes an axial opening (through 120; Figure 3) and a side opening (122), and the cap extends laterally from and perpendicular to the axial opening (Figures 3-4 to fit fasteners 108).
Regarding Claim 18, Rahman et al disclose where the fixing element (58 generally) is stationary relative to the body (by 108), and wherein the fixing element is configured to be introduced through the side passage towards the first valve (Figures 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 19, Rahman et al disclose a connection module for a fluid (together 56, 110, 58 and 108 in Figure 4) with a body (12 generally) with a first opening (from 20) and a second opening (to 16) connected to each other by a channel (into which 58 is inserted in Figure 3) so that the fluid can flow between the first opening and the second opening through the channel (Figure 3);
a first valve (56) placed inside the channel to control the flow of the fluid (¶ 66);
a side passage (into which 58 is inserted through the bottom as orientated in Figure 3) configured to receive the first valve so that it can be placed within the channel (Figure 4);
wherein the channel has a first arm (to 20) terminating in the first opening (Figure 3) and a second arm (to 32) that terminates in the second opening (Figure 3);
wherein the connection module further comprises a fixing element (58 generally) that includes a collar (118 and 120 together; Figure 4) and a cap (112), where the collar includes an axial opening (through 120; Figure 3) and a side opening (122), and the cap extends laterally from and perpendicular to the axial opening (Figures 3-4 to fit fasteners 108).
Regarding Claim 20, Rahman et al disclose where the second arm intersects the first arm (Figure 3), and wherein the side passage is formed by an axial extension of the second arm (Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peric (US 7721973) in view of Rahman et al (US 20150267818).
Regarding Claim 1, Peric discloses a connection module for a fluid (20 generally). The connection module comprising:
a body (22) with a first opening (the end of 28) and a second opening (the end of 32) connected to each other by a channel (through 74 as seen in Figure 13A) so that the fluid can flow between the first opening and the second opening through the channel (Figure 13C);
a first valve (Figures 6-8 generally) placed inside the channel to control the flow of the fluid (Figure 13A);
a side passage (through 36 as seen in Figure 2) configured to receive the first valve so that it can be placed within the channel (Figures 2 and 13A);
wherein the channel has a first arm (28) terminating in the first opening (the end of 28) and a second arm (32) intersecting with the first arm and terminating in the second opening (the end of 32), and
wherein the side passage is formed by an axial extension of the second arm (Figure 2);
wherein the connection module further comprises a fixing element (38) that includes a collar (see Annotated Figure A) and a cap (see Annotated Figure A), where the collar includes an axial opening (out 58) and a side opening (52), wherein the fixing element is configured to be introduced through the side passage towards the first valve and immobilize the first valve (Figure 13A),
but fails to expressly disclose where the cap extends laterally from and perpendicular to the axial opening.
Rahman et al teach a connection module for a fluid (together 56, 110, 58 and 108 in Figure 4) with a body (12 generally) with a first opening (from 20) and a second opening (to 16) connected to each other by a channel (into which 58 is inserted in Figure 3) so that the fluid can flow between the first opening and the second opening through the channel (Figure 3);
a first valve (56) placed inside the channel to control the flow of the fluid (¶ 66);
a side passage (into which 58 is inserted through the bottom as orientated in Figure 3) configured to receive the first valve so that it can be placed within the channel (Figure 4);
wherein the channel has a first arm (to 20) terminating in the first opening (Figure 3) and a second arm (to 32) intersecting with the first arm and terminating in the second opening (Figure 3), and wherein the side passage is formed by an axial extension of the second arm (Figure 3);
wherein the connection module further comprises a fixing element (58 generally) that includes a collar (118 and 120 together; Figure 4) and a cap (112), where the collar includes an axial opening (through 120; Figure 3) and a side opening (122), and the cap extends laterally from and perpendicular to the axial opening (Figures 3-4 to fit fasteners 108) ,wherein the fixing element is configured to be introduced through the side passage towards the first valve and immobilize the first valve (Figures 3-4), wherein the fixing element is stationary relative to the body once introduced into the body (via 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cap of Peric with the cap as taught by Rahman et al for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (providing a cap extending laterally from and perpendicular to the axial opening) to yield predictable results (to cover and seal the side passage, allowing access to the end of the cover on the exterior of the body for easier contact by a user during maintenance or repair).
Regarding Claim 2, Peric discloses where the channel includes a first section with a first diameter (see Annotated Figure A) and a second section with a second diameter (see Annotated Figure A), the first diameter being smaller than the second diameter (see Annotated Figure A), the channel including a step (at 60) in-between the first section and the second section arranged so that the first valve rests at an end of the first section adjacent to the step and an end of the second section (Figure 13B).
Annotated Figure A - Peric
Regarding Claim 3, Peric discloses where the fixing element (38) is configured to enable flow between the first arm and the second arm (via at least 52 and 58 as seen in Figures 9-12).
Regarding Claim 4, Peric discloses where the first valve (Figures 6-8) is a check valve (Figure 13A with port 28 blocked in the presence of flow from 30 or 32).
Regarding Claim 5, Peric discloses wherein an angle between the first arm and the second arm is between 15 and 165 degrees (Figure 13A shows a 90 degree angle).
Regarding Claim 6, Peric discloses wherein an angle between the first arm and the second arm is 90 degrees (Figure 13A shows a 90 degree angle).
Regarding Claim 7, as best understood, Peric discloses where the fixing element is a second valve (via the interaction of 92).
Regarding Claim 9, Peric discloses where the collar (see Annotated Figure A) is held in place by the cap (see Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 10, Peric discloses where the cap (see Annotated Figure A) is integral with the collar (see Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 11, as best understood, Peric discloses where the collar (see Annotated Figure A) is held in place by a second valve (at least by the support of at least spring 84 of second valve 92).
Regarding Claim 12, Peric discloses where the collar (see Annotated Figure A) includes a side wall with an axial opening for the fluid (out 58) and a side opening for the fluid (52) so that the fluid can travel through the collar between the axial opening and the side opening (Figure 13A).
Regarding Claim 15, Peric discloses where the side opening (52) is separated from the axial opening (58; Figure 12).
Claim(s) 13-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious over Peric (US 7721973) in view of Rahman et al (US 20150267818).
Regarding Claim 13, Peric discloses all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where the side opening is merged with the axial opening.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the side and axial openings to be merged since a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a shape that easily allows for fluid connection between the openings using less material on the collar.
Regarding Claim 14, Peric discloses all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where the side opening has a rectangular shape.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the side opening to have a rectangular shape since a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a shape that easily allows for efficient fabrication.
Regarding Claim 16, Peric discloses where the collar includes additional side openings (at least at 70), but fails to expressly disclose wherein together the side openings are evenly distributed around an extension axis of the collar.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the side opening of Peric to include additional side openings since a mere duplication of essential working part of device involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide additional means to introduce fluid into the system in the event that one of the openings is inoperable or clogged.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the side openings to be evenly distributed since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an optimal arrangement of the openings to provide sufficient fluid throughput.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground of rejection is applied to the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753