DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 6 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the third set" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the positive input" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the transformer" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 4, 6 and 16 inherit the same from claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230142063) in view of Seok (US 20160359404).
Claim 1; Zhou et al disclose, figure 9, an input side (e.g. 905.1), said input side comprising: a first set of two Si or SiC MOSFETS (915.1/910.1) connected to a positive side (145) of an alternating current (AC) voltage (e.g. fig. 8, 273.2); a second set of two SiC or Si MOSFETS (110.1) connected to a negative side (145) of the AC voltage (input to 910.1); an input side capacitor (at 930), wherein the input side capacitor is connected in parallel between the second set and a third set (910.1) connected to a positive input (of 135.2) of the transformer (200); a fourth set (910.1) of two Si or SiC MOSFETS connected to a negative input (of 135.2) of the transformer (200); wherein the first set are connected in parallel to the second set (1st bridge 910.1), the second set are connected in parallel to the third set (of 2nd bridge 910.1), and the third set are connected in parallel to the fourth set (2nd bridge 910.1); an output side (905.2), and said output side comprising: a fifth set (910.2) connected to a positive output (of 135.1) of the transformer (200); a sixth set (of bridge 910.2) connected to a negative output (of 135.1) of the transformer (200); and an output side capacitor (between 113.1 and 110.3) connected in parallel to the sixth set, wherein the fifth set are connected in parallel to the sixth set, wherein the transformer (200) connects the input side (905.1) to the output side (905.2), and wherein the AC voltage input is converted to a direct-current (DC) voltage output (930) on the output side, and wherein the U-PEBB comprises a bi-directional and isolated ac to dc converter module.
However, Zhou et al. does not disclose whether there is a positive-side inductor connected in series on the positive side of the AC voltage and current input and a negative-side inductor connected in series on the negative side of the AC voltage and current input.
Seok teaches that it is well known in the art to provide inductors at the positive and negative side of an AC input in order to provide an AC line filter circuit to block frequency noise.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Zhou et al. to include provide inductors at the positive and negative side of an AC input in order to provide an AC line filter circuit to block frequency noise as taught by Seok.
Claim 4; Zhou et al. disclose the U-PEBB is operated at a selected voltage or voltage range and current or current range by the selected the first, second, third, fourth, fifth and sixth sets of two Si or SiC MOSFETS that have voltage and current ratings within the selected voltage range and current range MOSFET ratings, timing of gate switching signals, and selection of current and voltage ratings for the input side capacitor, the output side capacitor, and ratings of the transformer within the selected voltage range and current range.
Claim 14; Zhou et al. disclose the third set connected directly (145/135.2) to the positive input of the transformer (200); and the fourth set are connected directly to the negative input (145/135.2) of the transformer (200).
Claim 15; Zhou et al. disclose the fifth set connected directly to the positive output (135.1) of the transformer (200); and the sixth set connected directly (135.2) to the negative output of the transformer (200).
Claim 16; Zhou et al. disclose single winding secondary transformer 135.1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. in view of Seok and further in view of Hirota (US 20220085461).
Zhou et al. and Seok disclose the claimed subject matter in regards to claim 1 supra, except for a battery, connected in parallel between the MOSFETS connected to the negative side of the input and two MOSFETS connected to the positive input of the transformer.
Hirota teaches a battery 106 in parallel to an AC/DC converter 126 and a DC/AC converter coupled to a transformer (602). The circuit charges the battery for use in a power system for a plug in hybrid electric vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Zhou et al. and Seok to include a battery, connected in parallel between the MOSFETS connected to the negative side of the input and two MOSFETS connected to the positive input of the transformer in order to charge the battery for use in a power system for a plug in hybrid electric vehicle as taught by Hirota.
Claim(s) 7, 10, 13 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. in view of Akagi (US 20060233000) and further in view of Seok.
Claim 7; Zhou et al disclose, figure 9, an input side (e.g. 905.1), said input side comprising: a first set of two Si or SiC MOSFETS (915.1/910.1) connected to a positive side (145) of an alternating current (AC) voltage (e.g. fig. 8, 273.2); a second set of two SiC or Si MOSFETS (110.1) connected to a negative side (145) of the AC voltage (input to 910.1); an input side capacitor (at 930), wherein the input side capacitor is connected in parallel between the second set and a third set (910.1) connected to a positive input (of 135.2) of the transformer (200); a fourth set (910.1) of two Si or SiC MOSFETS connected to a negative input (of 135.2) of the transformer (200); wherein the first set are connected in parallel to the second set (1st bridge 910.1), the second set are connected in parallel to the third set (of 2nd bridge 910.1), and the third set are connected in parallel to the fourth set (2nd bridge 910.1); an output side (905.2), and said output side comprising: a fifth set (910.2) connected to a positive output (of 135.1) of the transformer (200); a sixth set (of bridge 910.2) connected to a negative output (of 135.1) of the transformer (200); and an output side capacitor (between 113.1 and 110.3) connected in parallel to the sixth set, wherein the fifth set are connected in parallel to the sixth set, wherein the transformer (200) connects the input side (905.1) to the output side (905.2), and wherein the AC voltage input is converted to a direct-current (DC) voltage output (930) on the output side, and wherein the U-PEBB comprises a bi-directional and isolated ac to dc converter module.
However, Zhou et al. do not disclose whether the circuit is a delta-connected cascaded multilevel converter comprising a plurality of universal power electronics building blocks. Nor, does Zhou et al. disclose whether there is a positive-side inductor connected in series on the positive side of the AC voltage and current input and a negative-side inductor connected in series on the negative side of the AC voltage and current input.
Akagi teaches (e.g. fig. 5) a delta connected bidirectional power converter system comprising plural converters 20-1 used to for controlling a motor with variable speed reduced EMI and suppressed harmonics.
Seok teaches that it is well known in the art to provide inductors at the positive and negative side of an AC input in order to provide an AC line filter circuit to block frequency noise.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Zhou et al. to include a delta- connected cascaded multilevel converter comprising a plurality of universal power electronics building blocks for controlling a motor with variable speed with reduced EMI and suppressed harmonics as taught by Akagi. And, it would have been obvious to include provide inductors at the positive and negative side of an AC input in order to provide an AC line filter circuit to block frequency noise as taught by Seok.
Claim 10; Zhou et al. disclose the U-PEBB is operated at a selected voltage or voltage range and current or current range by the selected the first, second, third, fourth, fifth and sixth sets of two Si or SiC MOSFETS that have voltage and current ratings within the selected voltage range and current range MOSFET ratings, timing of gate switching signals, and selection of current and voltage ratings for the input side capacitor, the output side capacitor, and ratings of the transformer within the selected voltage range and current range.
Claim 13; Zhou et al., Akagi and Seok disclose the claimed subject matter in regards to claim 7 supra, except for wherein the plurality is nine.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Zhou et al., Akagi and Seok to include nine blocks since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPT 215 (CCPA 1980).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Zhou et al., Akagi and Seok to include nine blocks with three on each phase in order to provide power greater than a single converter block could provide.
Claim 17; Zhou et al. disclose the third set connected directly (145/135.2) to the positive input of the transformer (200); and the fourth set are connected directly to the negative input (145/135.2) of the transformer (200).
Claim 18; Zhou et al. disclose the fifth set connected directly to the positive output (135.1) of the transformer (200); and the sixth set connected directly (135.2) to the negative output of the transformer (200).
Claim 19; Zhou et al. disclose single winding secondary transformer 135.1.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al., Akagi and Seok in view of Hirota..
Zhou et al., Akagi and Seok disclose the claimed subject matter in regards to claim 7 supra, except for a battery, connected in parallel between the MOSFETS connected to the negative side of the input and two MOSFETS connected to the positive input of the transformer.
Hirota teaches a battery 106 in parallel to an AC/DC converter 126 and a DC/AC converter coupled to a transformer (602). The circuit charges the battery for use in a power system for a plug in hybrid electric vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Zhou et al. Akagi and Seok to include a battery, connected in parallel between the MOSFETS connected to the negative side of the input and two MOSFETS connected to the positive input of the transformer in order to charge the battery for use in a power system for a plug in hybrid electric vehicle as taught by Hirota.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY L LAXTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 7/29/2026