DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 objected because of the following informalities: claim 14 recites “quantum hardware”; it must be recited as “a quantum hardware”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 including depending claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “a quantum computing system”. It is unclear if the bolded limitation refers to the previously claimed limitation recited in claim 1. Not only does the phrase in the claim lacks a definite article (e.g. the or said) but the limitation is inconsistently recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Olivadese (US 2020/0151133 A1).
Claim 1: Olivadese discloses cryogenic cooling system (paragraph [14]: dilution fridges are cryogenic apparatus) for a quantum computing system (paragraph [40]: FIG.1 diagram of input line conditioning for quantum computing devices), the cryogenic cooling system (paragraph [14]) comprising
a plurality of stages (paragraph [14]: facilitate temperature transition and cooling operation plural stages; dilution fridges having 5-temperature stages, 77 K to 0.01 K), each stage associated with an operating temperature (paragraph [14]: facilitate temperature transition/cooling operation), each stage being progressively cooler when moving from a first stage of the plurality of stages to a subsequent stage of the plurality of stages (paragraph [41]: stages 102, 104, …106), wherein the first stage of the plurality of stages is associated with an operating temperature of about 60 kelvin or greater (paragraph [14]: dilution fridges having 5-temperature stages, 77 K to 0.01 K).
Claim 4: Olivadese discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein each stage comprises a cooling unit (paragraph [14]: dilution fridge used as cooling unit) and a thermal plate (paragraph [41]: transition plate used as thermal plate) thermally coupled to the cooling unit (paragraph [15]: plates and fridge).
Claim 13: Olivadese discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a dilution refrigerator with series connected mixing stages (paragraph [17]: transmission lines from one dilution fridge stage to the next dilution fridge stage through ports).
Claim 14: Olivadese discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 13, wherein a first mixing stage of the series connected mixing stages (paragraph [41]: stages 102, 104, …106) is thermally coupled to a thermal plate (paragraph [41]: transition plate used as thermal plate) of a cooling stage associated with quantum hardware (paragraph [40]: quantum computing devices).
Claim 15: Olivadese discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 14, wherein a second mixing stage of the series connected mixing stages (paragraph [41]: stages 102, 104, …106) is thermally coupled to a thermal plate (paragraph [41]: transition plate used as thermal plate) of an intermediate cooling stage (to clarify, intermediate cooling stage is a stage that is not the first stage, and that is not the last stage; for example the third stage out of 5-temperature stages) of the cryogenic cooling system (paragraph [14]).
Claim 16: Olivadese discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim a quantum computing system (paragraph [40]: FIG.1 diagram of input line conditioning for quantum computing devices) comprising:
one or more superconducting qubits (paragraph [13]: signals/pulses are used to control measure superconducting qubits);
one or more classical processors (paragraph [4]: computers used today known as classical computers);
one or more signal lines (paragraph [15]: transmission lines carry signals providing connection points for line ports of lines between two consecutive stages) coupled between the one or more superconducting qubits (paragraph [13]: signals/pulses are used to control measure superconducting qubits) and the one or more classical processors (paragraph [4]: computers used today known as classical computers);
one or more cryogenic cooling systems (paragraph [14]: dilution fridges are cryogenic apparatus) configured to cool the superconducting qubits (paragraph [13]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5-12, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olivadese (US 2020/0151133 A1).
Claim 2: Olivadese discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first stage (paragraph [41]: stages 102, 104, …106) is associated with an operating temperature (paragraph [14]: 77 K to 0.01 K), except for about 80 kelvin or greater.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Olivadese to include about 80 kelvin or greater in order to enhance cooling of processor, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art - Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B.
Claim 3: Olivadese discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first stage (paragraph [41]: stages 102, 104, …106) is associated with an operating temperature (paragraph [14]: 77 K to 0.01 K), except for in a range of about 80 kelvin to about 100 kelvin.
20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Olivadese to include in a range of about 80 kelvin to about 100 kelvin in order to enhance cooling of processor, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A.
Claim 5: Olivadese discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of stages further comprise a second stage, a third stage, a fourth stage, a fifth stage (paragraph [41]: 5 temperature-stages), except for a sixth stage, and a seventh stage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Olivadese to include a sixth stage, and a seventh stage in order to enhance cooling of processor, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a known device involves only routine skill in the art Duplication of parts: MPEP 2144.04 VI-B.
Claim 6: Olivadese as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein the second stage (paragraph [41]: stages 102, 104, …106) is associated with an operating temperature, except for in a range of about 40 kelvin to about 60 kelvin.
20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Olivadese to include in a range of about 40 kelvin to about 60 kelvin in order to enhance cooling of processor, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A.
Claim 7: Olivadese as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein the third stage is associated with an operating temperature (paragraph [41]: stages 102, 104, …106), except for in a range of 10 kelvin to about 20 kelvin.
20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Olivadese to include in a range of 10 kelvin to about 20 kelvin in order to enhance cooling of processor, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A.
Claim 8: Olivadese as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein the fourth stage is associated with an operating temperature (paragraph [41]: stages 102, 104, …106), except for in a range of about 2.5 kelvin to about 4.2 kelvin.
20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Olivadese to include in a range of about 2.5 kelvin to about 4.2 kelvin in order to enhance cooling of processor, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A.
Claim 9: Olivadese as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein the fifth stage is associated with an operating temperature (paragraph [41]: stages 102, 104, …106), except for in a range of about 600 millikelvin to about 800 millikelvin.
20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Olivadese to include in a range of about 600 millikelvin to about 800 millikelvin in order to enhance cooling of processor, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A.
Claim 10: Olivadese as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein the sixth stage is associated with an operating temperature (Duplication of parts: MPEP 2144.04 VI-B as Olivadese was modified in claim 5), except for in a range of about 100 millikelvin to about 300 millikelvin.
20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Olivadese to include in a range of about 100 millikelvin to about 300 millikelvin in order to enhance cooling of processor, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A.
Claim 11: Olivadese as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein the seventh stage is associated with an operating temperature (Duplication of parts: MPEP 2144.04 VI-B as Olivadese was modified in claim 5), except for of about 10 millikelvin to about 100 millikelvin.
would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Olivadese to include of about 10 millikelvin to about 100 millikelvin in order to enhance cooling of processor, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A.
Claim 12: Olivadese discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of stages (paragraph [41]: stages 102, 104, …106) comprises a wiring port configured to couple a signal line with a corresponding stage (paragraph [15]: transmission lines carry signals providing connection points for line ports of lines between two consecutive stages), except for of a second cryogenic system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Olivadese to include a second cryogenic system in order to enhance cooling of processor, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a known device involves only routine skill in the art Duplication of parts: MPEP 2144.04 VI-B.
Claim 17: Olivadese discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 16, wherein the one or more cryogenic cooling systems comprise a first cryogenic cooling system (paragraph [13]: cryogenic apparatus cooling operation), except for a second cryogenic cooling system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Olivadese to include a second cryogenic cooling system in order to enhance cooling of processor, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a known device involves only routine skill in the art Duplication of parts: MPEP 2144.04 VI-B.
Claim 18: Olivadese as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 17, wherein the first cryogenic cooling system (paragraph [13]: cryogenic apparatus cooling operation) and the second cryogenic cooling system (Duplication of parts: MPEP 2144.04 VI-B as Olivadese was modified in claim 17) comprises consistent cooling stages (paragraph [14]: cooling operation consists of multiple thermally-isolated cooling stages of the dilution fridge).
Claim 19: Olivadese as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 17, wherein one or more stages (paragraph [14]: cooling operation consists of multiple thermally-isolated cooling stages of the dilution fridge) of the first cryogenic cooling system (paragraph [13]: cryogenic apparatus cooling operation) comprise a wiring port (paragraph [15]: transmission lines carry signals providing connection points for line ports of lines between two consecutive stages) configured to couple a signal line to a wiring port (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Olivadese to include a wiring port for the second cryogenic cooling system in order to enhance cooling of processor, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a known device involves only routine skill in the art Duplication of parts: MPEP 2144.04 VI-B) of a corresponding stage of the second cryogenic cooling system (Duplication of parts: MPEP 2144.04 VI-B as Olivadese was modified in claim 17).
Claim 20: Olivadese as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 17, wherein the first cooling stage and the second cooling stage (paragraph [41]: stages 102, 104, …106) are associated with different manufacturers (intended use associated with different manufacturers; for example, manufactures based on laws of quantum mechanics and physics and computer processors, any manufacturers that uses these sciences).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure which is relevant to thermal management for superconducting connectors:
Tuckerman (US 2018/0294401 A1).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached on (571) 272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/PAUL ALVARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763