DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites “the connector assembly according to claim 16,” and, “the first end…and the second end…” It is unclear whether claim 23 should depend from claim 22 or if “the first end,” and, “the second end,” lack antecedent basis. For examination purposes claim 23 will be interpreted as depending from claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18 and 22- 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sigg (CH307758) and Peltier (US 2017/0194725 A1).
Regarding claim 16: Sigg (Figure 1 and description) teaches a connector assembly, comprising: a fixing bolt (i.e. b) including: a tapered section (i.e. b1, b2) extending along a central axis direction of the fixing bolt, the tapered section establishing an electrical contact with a stranded conductor wire (i.e. a1), a first portion (i.e. b2) of the tapered section is an arched cone frustum that is arched with respect to the central axis direction, a second portion (i.e. b1) of the tapered section is a cone frustum that linearly-tapers with respect to the central axis direction, and a tip portion (i.e. tip of b1) of the tapered section extends directly from the second portion in the central axis direction; and an external threaded section (i.e. as described in paragraph 6); a hollow connector (i.e. a) having an internally threaded bore (i.e. threaded bore of paragraph 6) extending from an outside of the hollow connector through to a wire-receiving inner hollow volume of the hollow connector,
but does not specifically teach a bushing having: an internally threaded bore into which the threaded section of the fixing bolt is screwed; and an external threaded section; and the external threaded section of the bushing is screwed with the internally threaded bore.
however, Peltier (Figure 4) teaches a bushing (i.e. 102b) having: an internally threaded bore (i.e. 108b) into which the threaded section (i.e. 108a) of the fixing bolt (i.e. 102a) is screwed; and an external threaded section (i.e. 109); and the external threaded section of the bushing is screwed with the internally threaded bore (i.e. 155).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly taught by Sigg to have the threaded bushing as taught by Peltier to more-evenly distribute the load to the connector body from the fixing bolt.
Regarding claim 17: Sigg and Peltier teach the connector assembly according to claim 16, Sigg (description) further teaches wherein the fixing bolt is one of a plurality of fixing bolts, and the internally threaded bore is one of a plurality of internally threaded bores of the hollow connector, each of the fixing bolts is screwed in one of the internally threaded bores (i.e. as in page 2 paragraph 2),
but does not specifically teach the bushing is one of a plurality of bushings, and each of the fixing bolts is screwed in one of the internally threaded bores via a respective one of the plurality of bushings.
However, because Sigg teaches duplicating the fixing bolt and bore of the hollow connector to meet the number of fixing bolts required to secure the conductor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate the bushing taught by Peltier for each fixing bolt in the assembly such that Sigg and Peltier teach, the bushing is one of a plurality of bushings, and each of the fixing bolts is screwed in one of the internally threaded bores via a respective one of the plurality of bushings.
Regarding claim 18: Sigg and Peltier teach the connector assembly according to claim 16, Sigg (Figures 1-2) further teaches wherein the hollow connector has a tubular shape.
Regarding claim 22: Sigg and Peltier teach the connector assembly according to claim 16, Peltier (Figure 2) further teaches wherein: the bushing includes a first end (i.e. 111) and a second end (i.e. having 109); in a first position (i.e. figure 2) of the bushing, the first end extends outwardly from an exterior of the hollow connector in a direction away from the inner hollow volume; and the second end is arranged within the internally threaded bore of the hollow connector.
Regarding claim 23 (as understood): Sigg and Peltier teach the connector assembly according to claim 16, Peltier (Figure 4) further teaches wherein wherein in a second position (i.e. figure 4) of the bushing: the first end of the bushing remains outside of the hollow connector; and the second end extends into the first interior volume of the hollow connector.
Claim 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sigg, Peltier, and Peltier (hereinafter “Peltier^2”, US 2017/0117644 A1)
Regarding claim 21: Sigg and Peltier teach the connector assembly according to claim 16, but do not specifically teach further comprising a semi-circular insert arranged within the interior volume of the hollow connector and defining a serrated surface.
However, Peltier^2 (Figure 1) teaches further comprising a semi-circular insert (i.e. 16) arranged within the interior volume of the hollow connector and defining a serrated surface (i.e. top surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly taught by Sigg and Peltier to have the semi-circular insert as taught by Peltier^2 so as to increase the friction between the conductor and hollow connector.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-13, 15, and 25 allowed. Claim 24 objected to for containing the subject matter deemed allowable in the previous action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Koehler can be reached at 571-272-3560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GREGORY L MANGOT/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834