DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 5-6, 11, 14-15, 19-20, 25, and 28-30, the applicant argued, “…Murakami’s transmission request 3501 is a request for the terminal to transmit a modulated signal, not a request for the terminal’s demodulation capability information…data 3601 is a binary indicator (supported/not supported) of whether the terminal can handle phase-changed signals—it does not indicate a maximum number of transmission streams that the UE is capable of simultaneously demodulating as recited in the amended independent claims…this [data 3702] is a binary indicator…this disclosure appears in a different embodiment from the request-response mechanism described in paragraphs [1157]-[1188]…reception capability notification symbol 3502…contains data 3601 and 3702—binary indicators…not the maximum number of streams information described in paragraphs [2891] and [2896]…Murakami’s precoder selection, to the extent it exists, is based on whether the terminal supports phase change demodulation—not on a maximum number of streams the UE can simultaneously demodulate…” on pages 10-13.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
In ¶¶1157-1159, 1188, 2891, and 2896; figure 35 Murakami clearly teaches transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a request for a demodulation capability of the UE (¶¶1157-1158 and 1188; figure 35: AP transmits, to UE, request to determine UE’s reception and demodulation capability), wherein the demodulation capability of the UE indicates a first maximum number of transmission streams that the UE is capable of simultaneously demodulating (¶¶1158-1159, 1188, 2891, and 2896: indicates maximum number of streams that can be received and demodulated).
The applicant has erroneously equated Murakami’s transmission request 3501 in ¶1157 as “a request for the terminal to transmit a modulated signal”. ¶1157 describes figure 35 that clearly shows AP sending transmission request 3501 to terminal, terminal, in response, sending reception capability notification symbol 3502 to AP, and AP, in response, sending modulated signal/data symbol 3503. This is clearly described in cited ¶¶1157-1159 and illustrated in figure 35.
Murakami ¶1179 and figure 37 further describe the communication method between AP and terminal of ¶¶1157-1159 and figure 35: reception capability notification symbol 3502 includes support for demodulation of modulated signals with phase changes 3601 and support for reception for a plurality of streams 3702. ¶2891 continues to further describe the communication method by referencing 3702 in the “second method” and is therefore not “a different embodiment”. ¶2896 is part of the “Third Method” described in ¶2892 “the terminal transmits information on whether reception for a plurality of streams is supported or not described in the first method and a symbol for transmitting information on the number of streams that can be received or a symbol for transmitting information on the maximum number of streams that can be received described in second method”. Therefore the “maximum number of streams that can be demodulated” as part of the “Third Method” as described in ¶2896 is describing 3702.
In ¶¶1151, 1159, and 1188; figure 35 Murakami clearly teaches apply a first precoder, selected based on the demodulation capability of the UE, to a first downlink signal for transmission to the UE (¶¶1151, 1159, and 1188; figure 35: perform precoding on a plurality of streams of modulated signals based on schemes and methods determined based on the received UE reception capability notification symbol).
Murakami ¶1151 states that the AP has a “precoder (weighting synthesizer)”. ¶1159 states that precoding for modulated signal 3503 is “based on the determined schemes and methods,” the schemes and methods being determined based on the received “reception capability notification symbol 3502 transmitted by terminal 3402”. The AP performs precoding by selecting a precoder. Therefore, the AP of Murakami, performs precoding for modulated signal 3503 by selecting a precoder based on schemes/methods determined based on received reception capability notification symbol 3502. The examiner’s above arguments clearly show 3502 including 3702, which is further described in ¶2896 as including the maximum number of streams that can be demodulated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 15, 19, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murakami et al. US 2020/0145067 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Murakami”).
As to claim 1, Murakami teaches an apparatus for wireless communication by a network entity (¶¶1147-1148, 1155, and 1157; figures 1 and 35), comprising:
one or more processors individually or collectively configured to execute instructions on one or more memories and to cause the network entity to (¶¶326-327, 1147-1148, 1155, and 1157; figures 1 and 35):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a request for a demodulation capability of the UE (¶¶1157-1158 and 1188; figure 35: AP transmits, to UE, request to determine UE’s reception and demodulation capability), wherein the demodulation capability of the UE indicates a first maximum number of transmission streams that the UE is capable of simultaneously demodulating (¶¶1158-1159, 1188, 2891, and 2896: indicates maximum number of streams that can be received and demodulated);
receive, from the UE after transmitting the request, a first message indicating the demodulation capability of the UE (¶¶1158-1159, 1179, and 1185-1188; figures 35 and 37: AP receives, from UE, reception capability notification symbol indicating UE’s reception and demodulation capability for receiving data stream(s));
apply a first precoder, selected based on the demodulation capability of the UE, to a first downlink signal for transmission to the UE (¶¶1151, 1159, and 1188; figure 35: perform precoding on a plurality of streams of modulated signals based on schemes and methods determined based on the received UE reception capability notification symbol); and
transmit the precoded first downlink signal to the UE on a wireless channel using one or more groups of transmission streams comprising a first number of transmission streams (¶¶1151, 1160, and 1188; figure 35: transmit the precoded plurality of streams of modulated signals).
As to claim 5, Murakami teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first maximum number of transmission streams that the UE is capable of simultaneously demodulating is less than the first number of transmission streams (¶¶3106-3109: UE indicates 1, 2, or 4 and the AP has 8 streams).
As to claim 15, Murakami teaches an apparatus for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (¶¶814, 817, 1155, and 1158; figures 24 and 35), comprising:
one or more processors individually or collectively configured to execute instructions on one or more memories and to cause the network entity to (¶¶326-327, 814, 817, 1155, and 1158; figures 24 and 35):
receive, from a network entity, a request for a demodulation capability of the UE (¶¶1157-1158 and 1188; figure 35: AP transmits, and UE receives, request to determine UE’s reception and demodulation capability), wherein the demodulation capability of the UE indicates a first maximum number of transmission streams that the UE is capable of simultaneously demodulating (¶¶1158-1159, 1188, 2891, and 2896: indicates maximum number of streams that can be received and demodulated);
transmit, to the network entity after receiving the request, a first message indicating the demodulation capability of the UE (¶¶1158-1159, 1179, and 1185-1188; figures 35 and 37: AP receives, and UE transmits, reception capability notification symbol indicating UE’s reception and demodulation capability for receiving data stream(s));
receive, from the network entity, a first downlink signal transmitted on a wireless channel using one or more groups of transmission streams comprising a number of transmission streams (¶¶1151, 1160, and 1188; figure 35: receive, from the AP, the precoded plurality of streams of modulated signals), wherein:
the first downlink signal is precoded based on a first precoder; and
the first precoder is based on the demodulation capability of the UE (¶¶1151, 1159, and 1188; figure 35: perform precoding on a plurality of streams of modulated signals based on schemes and methods determined based on the received UE reception capability notification symbol); and
demodulate the first downlink signal using a first demodulator corresponding to the first precoder (¶¶1158-1161, 1187-1188, and 1243; figures 24, 35, and 41: UE demodulates downlink signal according to the precoder according to the indicated UE capability).
As to claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same way as claim 5.
As to claim 29, claim 29 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As to claim 30, claim 30 is rejected the same way as claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami in view of Xue et al. US 2021/0211169 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Xue”).
As to claim 6, Murakami teaches the apparatus of claim 5.
Although Murakami teaches “The apparatus of claim 5,” Murakami does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first…sub-channels”.
However, Xue teaches wherein the first precoder comprises a precoder that, when applied to the first downlink signal and the first downlink signal is transmitted on the wireless channel, is configured to block-diagonalize the wireless channel into a plurality of separate sub-channels (¶85: apply block-diagonalized precoding on downlink signaling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Murakami by including “wherein the first…sub-channels” as taught by Xue because it provides Murakami’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of suppressing interference (Xue, ¶85).
As to claim 20, claim 20 is rejected the same way as claim 6.
Claim(s) 11 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami in view of Zhang US 2018/0310287 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Zhang”).
As to claim 11, Murakami teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the first maximum number of transmission streams that the UE is capable of simultaneously demodulating is greater than or equal to the first number of transmission streams (¶¶3071, 3080, 3106-3109, 3184, 3187, 3200, and 3202: UE supports the 8 data streams).
Although Murakami teaches “The apparatus…transmission streams,” Murakami does not explicitly disclose “the first precoder comprises a singular value decomposition (SVD) precoder”.
However, Zhang teaches the first precoder comprises a singular value decomposition (SVD) precoder (¶154: SVD precoder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Murakami by including “the first precoder comprises a singular value decomposition (SVD) precoder” as taught by Zhang because it provides Murakami’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of avoiding interference (Zhang, ¶¶154-155).
As to claim 25, claim 25 is rejected the same way as claim 11.
Claim(s) 14 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami in view of Qiao et al. US 2025/0168688 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Qiao”).
As to claim 14, Murakami teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Although Murakami teaches “The apparatus of claim 1,” Murakami does not explicitly disclose “wherein at least…a MAC-CE”.
However, Qiao teaches wherein at least one of:
the one or more processors are configured to cause the network entity to transmit the request to the UE in a media access control-control element (MAC-CE); or
the one or more processors are configured to cause the network entity to receive the first message from the UE in a MAC-CE (¶137; figure 3E: base station requests UE capability and UE transmits UE capability via MAC CE signaling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Murakami by including “wherein at least…a MAC-CE” as taught by Qiao because it provides Murakami’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of acquiring real-time UE capabilities/requirements (Qiao, ¶137).
As to claim 28, claim 28 is rejected the same way as claim 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7-10, 12-13, 16-17, 21-24, and 26-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN T VAN ROIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469