Claim Status
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claims 1-11 have been examined.
Claims 1-11 are rejected.
Drawings
The present application contains no drawings.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/19/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Specification Objections
[1] The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paras. [0030] and [0043], Labsphere is a registered trademark; the mark should appear as Labsphere®, consistent with the listing in para. [0033].
In para. [0041], the phrase “using vitro methods” should be amended to read “using in vitro methods.”
In para. [0041], the phrase “or vitro SPF” should be amended to read “or in vitro SPF.”
[2] The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code (paras. [0031] and [0034]. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
[3] Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakatani and Takazawa, (patent US20230118811A1, published 04-20-2023).
With regard to claims 1-3 and 6, the reference teaches a similar composition comprising bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine; see instant application para. [0009]), dextrin palmitate (a gelling agent; see instant application claim 2), C12-15 alkyl benzoate (a solvent; see instant application claim 6), and acrylate (a thickening agent; see claim 3), (reference Tables 1-3, para. [0075], inter alia). Thus, the reference anticipates all limitations of claims 1-3 and 6.
With regard to claims 5 and 11, the reference teaches composition is transparent, and comprising at least one coloring agent (i.e., colorant), (reference paras. [0124] and [0154], inter alia), corresponding to instant application claims 5 and 11. Thus, the reference anticipates all limitations of claims 5 and 11.
With regard to claim 7, the reference teaches that the solvent is present in the composition at 49.8% (reference Table 3, row D, example 4), which falls within ±10% of 50% (i.e., 45% to 55%). This is consistent with the disclosure of para. [0014] of the instant application, which defines the term ‘about’ as within 10% of the indicated value. Accordingly, the reference anticipates all limitations of claim 7.
With regard to claims 8 and 9, the instant application discloses that the additional UV filter includes organic UV filters (see instant application para. [0077]). Accordingly, claims 8 and 9 are coextensive, and addressing claim 8 essentially addresses claim 9. The reference teaches multiple comparative compositional examples comprising bemotrizinol, dextrin palmitate as a gelling agent, and C12-15 alkyl benzoate as a solvent, wherein the combined mass percentage of these components is less than 10%. Specifically, Table 1, Example 5 discloses 1.0%; Table 2, Examples 8 and 9 disclose 0.5%; and Table 3, Examples 1 and 2 disclose 0.5% and 0.6%, respectively. The instant application further identifies octocrylene as an example of an organic UV filter (see instant application para. [0024]). The reference likewise teaches octocrylene as an oil-soluble ultraviolet absorbers (reference para. [0014] and [0025]) and expressly discloses that such absorbers may be present in amounts up to 30% by mass (reference para. [0029]). Accordingly, the reference anticipates all limitations of claims 8 and 9.
[4] Claims 1-4, 6, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masanelli et al. (Patent US20220079847A1, published 03-17-2022).
With regard to claims 1-3, and 6, the reference teaches a similar composition comprising bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine; instant application para. 0009), dextrin palmitate (a gelling agent; see instant application claim 2), caprylic/capric triglyceride and/or C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (a solvent; see instant application claim 6), and acrylate (a thickening agent; see instant application claim 3) (reference claims 11-12, 16; paras. 0062, 0066; Table 7). Thus, the reference anticipates all limitations of claims 1-3, and 6.
With regard to claims 4 and 11 the reference teaches composition in the form of a stick, and comprising at least one coloring agent (i.e., pigment; see instant application, para. 0144) (reference claims 14, 16, 21, inter alia). Thus, the reference anticipates all limitations of claims 4 and 11.
With regard to claim 10, the reference teaches a composition comprising a variety of active agents (reference Table 7, inter alia). The specification of the instant application as filed teaches that the term “UV filters” refers to sunscreen active agents approved by a governmental regulatory agency, such as the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) or the EU Commission, and expressly includes organic UV filters such as octocrylene (para. [0024]). The instant application further introduces UV filters into the composition through the limitations of claim 8 (UV filter) and claim 9 (organic UV filter). Accordingly, a UV filter such as octocrylene would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art to constitute an active agent, as taught by Masanelli et al. Therefore, the reference anticipates all limitations of claim 10.
[5] Claims 1-4, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masanelli et al. (Patent US20220096335A1, published 03-31-2022).
With regard to claims 1-3, and 6, the reference teaches a similar composition comprising bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine; instant application para. 0009), dextrin palmitate (a gelling agent; see instant application claim 2), caprylic/capric triglyceride (a solvent; see instant application claim 6), and acrylate (a thickening agent; see instant application claim 3) (reference claims 12, 14, and 19, inter alia). Thus, the reference anticipates all limitations of claims 1-3, and 6.
With regard to claims 4 and 11 the reference teaches composition in the form of a stick, and comprising at least one coloring agent (i.e., pigment; see instant application, para. 0144) (reference claims 17 and 24, inter alia). Thus, the reference anticipates all limitations of claims 4 and 11.
[6] Claims 1-4, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masanelli et al. (Patent FR3091165A1, published 07-03-2020).
With regard to claims 1-3, and 6, the reference teaches a similar composition comprising bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine; see instant application para. [0009]), dextrin palmitate (a gelling agent; see instant application claim 2), caprylic/capric triglyceride (a solvent; see instant application, claim 6), and acrylate (a thickening agent; see claim 3) (reference claims 11, 12, and 16, inter alia). Thus, the reference anticipates all limitations of claims 1-3, and 6.
With regard to claims 4 and 11 the reference teaches composition in the form of a stick, and comprising at least one coloring agent (i.e., pigment; see instant application, para. 0144) (reference classifications, claims 14 and 21, inter alia). Thus, the reference anticipates all limitations of claims 4 and 11.
[7] Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pilz et al. (Patent US20140308224A1, published 10-16-2014).
With regard to claims 1-3, and 6, the reference teaches a similar composition comprising bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine; see instant application para. [0009]), dextrin derivatives, in particular dextrin esters (a gelling agent; see instant application claim 2), caprylic/capric triglyceride and/or alkyl benzoate (a solvent; see instant application, claim 6), and acrylate (a thickening agent; see claim 3) (reference claim 5; Examples 2-7; paras. [0082] [0083] [0087] [0113], inter alia). Thus, the reference anticipates all limitations of claims 1-3, and 6.
With regard to claims 5 and 11 the reference teaches composition is transparent (i.e., clear), comprising at least one coloring agent (i.e., dyes and pigments; see instant application, para. 0144), (reference classifications, paras. [0059], [0102], [0125]; inter alia). Thus, the reference anticipates all limitations of claims 5 and 11.
With regard to claim 10, the reference teaches a composition comprising a variety of active agents (reference Formulation Examples 2-7, inter alia). The specification of the instant application as filed teaches that the term “UV filters” refers to sunscreen active agents approved by a governmental regulatory agency, such as the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) or the EU Commission, and expressly includes organic UV filters such as octocrylene (para. [0024]). The instant application further introduces UV filters into the composition through the limitations of claim 8 (UV filter) and claim 9 (organic UV filter). Accordingly, a UV filter such as octocrylene would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art to constitute an active agent, as taught by Pilz et al. Therefore, the reference anticipates all limitations of claim 10.
[8] Claims 1-3, 6, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mintel (IDS – NPL – Reference No 1 - "Multi-Vitamin Watery Gel SPF 50+ PA++++," Record ID: 10959200, XP093266166, 4 pp, published 07-2023, “07-31-2023”).
For purpose of this paragraph, the publication date is conservatively assumed to be 07-31-2023, in order to afford Applicant, the benefit of the latest possible publication date prior to the effective filing date.
With regard to claims 1-3, 6, and 11, the reference teaches a sunscreen composition comprising bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine; see instant application para. [0009]), dextrin palmitate (a gelling agent; see instant application claim 2), alkyl benzoate (a solvent; see instant application, claim 6), acrylate (a thickening agent; see claim 3), and titanium dioxide (coloring agent; see instant application paras. [0144] and [0149]) (reference pgs. 1-2). Thus, the reference anticipates all limitations of claims 1-3, 6, and 11.
With regard to claim 10, the reference teaches a composition comprising a variety of active agents (reference page 2). The specification of the instant application as filed teaches that the term “UV filters” refers to sunscreen active agents approved by a governmental regulatory agency, such as the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) or the EU Commission, and expressly includes mineral UV filters such as titanium dioxide (para. [0024]). The instant application further introduces “additional UV filters” into the composition through the limitations of claim 8, which can include mineral UV filters (see instant application para. [0077]). Accordingly, a UV filter such as titanium dioxide would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art to constitute an active agent, as taught by Mintel. Therefore, the reference anticipates all limitations of claim 10.
Double Patenting
[9] Claims 1-2 and 4-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-11 of co-pending Application No. 18/543489. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because co-pending application 18/543489 teaches a composition comprising bemotrizinol, dextrin palmitate (a gelling agent; see instant application claim 2), caprylic/capric triglyceride and C12-15 alkyl benzoate (solvents; see instant application, claim 6) (see co-pending application claims 1, 5, and 7), corresponding to instant application claims 1-2 and 6 .
The co-pending application further teaches that the at least one solvent is present in the composition in an amount ranging from about 50% to about 75% by weight with respect to the total weight of the composition, and that the composition comprises 10% or less by weight relative to the total weight of composition of additional UV filters (instant application paragraph [0077] discloses that the additional UV filter may include organic UV filters; accordingly, claims 8 and 9 are coextensive) (see co-pending application claims 8 and 9), corresponding to instant application claims 7-9.
The co-pending application further teaches that the composition is a stick, transparent, comprising at least one active agent, and comprising at least one coloring agent (see co-pending application claims 6 and 10-11), corresponding to claims 4-5 and 10-11.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ALI M. ALAOUIE/Examiner, Art Unit 1614 /ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614