DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 08 September 2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The new limitations are disclosed by at least Yokoyama as explained below.
2. Applicant argues that Yokoyama fails to disclose a “base station” because “one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention would have understood that a "base station" is a term of art delineating a specific kind of radio receiver and transmitter which performs specific standardized functions. Specifically, according to the International Telecommunication Union's (ITU) Radio Regulations
(RR), a "base station" corresponds to a "land station in the land mobile service." Examples of base stations include node B in 3G, eNB in LTE (4G), and gNB in 5G.”
This argument is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., unspecified narrow definition for “base station”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The Applicant does not define “base station” in his specification or claims, and does not make any reference in his specification or claims to the International Telecommunication Union's Radio Regulations (ITU) that he introduces in his argument. The Applicant even argues for a much narrower and unspecified definition for “base station” than the definition provided by the ITU that he cites of “A land station in the land mobile service” (https://life.itu.int/radioclub/rr/art1.pdf).
According to Merriam-Webster’s dictionary, a “base station” is defined as “a transmitter that relays a wireless signal to a smaller handheld device usually using radio frequencies”.
According to the International Telecommunication Union (https://life.itu.int/radioclub/rr/art1.pdf), a “base station” is defined as “A land station in the land mobile service”.
Yokoyama’s stations qualify as “base stations” according to either of the definitions copied above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (European Patent Application Publication # EP 3 219 184; or corresponding U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2017/0322550) in view of Nakao et al. (Japanese Patent Application Publication # JP 2021-032573)
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Yokoyama discloses an agricultural machine (1) to perform an agricultural work in a field, the agricultural machine comprising:
a mobile terminal (112); and
an agricultural base station (110); wherein
the mobile terminal is configured or programmed to transmit data relating to the agricultural work or the agricultural machine from the mobile terminal to a stationary base station (400) included in an external network (figs 1-2, 6, P58/US69, etc); and
the agricultural base station is configured or programmed to communicate with the stationary base station by selectively performing (figs 1-2, 6, P52/US63, P58/US69, etc):
(i) direct communication with the stationary base station (figs 6, 8-9, US2, 8, 14, 73, 75-77, 80, 97, claim 1, etc), and
(ii) direct communication with the mobile terminal, the mobile terminal then providing data from the agricultural base station to the stationary base station (figs 1-2, 6, P52/US63, P58/US69, etc).
Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose that his stations are base stations.
In the same field of endeavor, Nakao discloses that the stations are base stations (figs and descriptions of Base base stations 3 and communication base stations 4 throughout text).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Yokoyama to use base stations for his stations, as suggested by Yokoyama and/or taught by Nakao, in order to make use of pre-existing equipment and standards, with predictable results.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Yokoyama further discloses a traveling vehicle body that includes a connector to which a working device is connectable; wherein the agricultural base station is provided on the traveling vehicle body (figs 1-2, etc).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Yokoyama further discloses that the agricultural base station is configured or programmed to operate when a position of the agricultural machine is in the field (P39/US50, etc).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Yokoyama further discloses that the agricultural base station is connectable to the mobile terminal or to the stationary base station via a radio wave (P US63,66).
Yokoyama fails to disclose changing an intensity of the radio wave in accordance with the position of the agricultural machine.
However, it was well known in the art at the time of the applicant’s invention to change an intensity of a radio wave in accordance with the position of the transmitter or receiver. The examiner hereby takes Official Notice of this fact.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yokoyama to change an intensity of a radio wave in accordance with the position of the agricultural machine, as well known in the art, in order to ensure that the signal is strong enough to be received while not so strong that significant energy is wasted, with predictable results.
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Yokoyama further discloses that the agricultural base station is connectable to a plurality of the mobile terminals (fig 6, etc).
Yokoyama fails to disclose changing at least a number of connections to the mobile terminals in accordance with the position of the agricultural machine.
However, it was well known in the art at the time of the applicant’s invention to change a number of connections to mobile terminals in accordance with the position of a device. The examiner hereby takes Official Notice of this fact.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yokoyama to change a number of connections to mobile terminals in accordance with the position of the agricultural machine, as well known in the art, in order to connect with each mobile terminal within communication range of the vehicle for redundancy and/or the provision of additional information, with predictable results.
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Yokoyama further discloses that the agricultural base station is configured or programmed to operate when a radio wave intensity of the stationary base station at a position of the agricultural machine is less than or equal to a threshold value (implicit from figs, P US63,66, etc: note that claim language does not require only when).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shelley Chen/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3665
October 4, 2025