DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/543,508 is presented for examination by the examiner. Claims 4, 14, and 19 are canceled. Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-18, and 20 are amended. Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-18, and 20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/543,244 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitation of broader genus claims of ‘508 are contained in the narrower species claims of ‘244, as enunciated in (ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001). “A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Claim Objections
Claim objections have been overcome by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim rejections have been overcome by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant alleges that the prior art does not explicitly teach the updated telemetry definition specifies an adjustment to a frequency of telemetry collection by a hardware subsystem of the IHS. This feature was previously in claims 4, 14, and 19. In rejecting those claims, Examiner pointed to paragraphs 0012 and 0062 to support that limitation. In paragraph 0012, Wu teaches that update telemetry rules can include logging for a longer collection period of time. That change in the period of collection meets the claims’ adjustment to a frequency. In paragraph 0062, Wu teaches further teaches that the rule updates can be update at any time over different lengths of time thus solidifying the fact that rules adjustment can update the time period for collection whenever a rule adjustment needs to take place. Further evidence of updating the time of collection is shown in paragraph 0033 where the start and end time of collection can be specified. Further specific adjustment to the time, to collect and send telemetry can be found in paragraphs 0055 and 0056. In view of the foregoing, respectfully the rejection must be maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USP Application Publication 2016/0204992 to Wu et al., hereinafter Wu hereinafter in view of WO 2018/125903 to Nachenberg et al., hereinafter Nachenberg.
As per claims 1 and 11, Wu teaches a system for collection of telemetry by an Information Handling System (IHS), the system comprising:
a policy decision point of a zero-trust computing environment that controls access to a plurality of protected resources [telemetry service 100; 0011 and 0020], wherein the policy decision point is configured to:
identify a telemetry definition specifying telemetry being collected by the IHS [current rules; 0032];
update the telemetry definition to specify an updated telemetry chain for configuring telemetry collection by the plurality of hardware components of the IHS [0035, 0036, 0052];
transmit the updated telemetry definition to the IHS (0061); and
the IHS comprising a plurality of sensors, one or more processors, and a memory coupled to the processors, the memory storing program instructions that, upon execution by the processors [client device 110], cause the IHS to:
identify the updated telemetry chain in the updated telemetry definition received from the policy decision point (0012 and 0043);
adjust telemetry generation by one or more of the hardware components of the IHS based on their position in the telemetry chain (0012 and 0043), wherein the updated telemetry definition specifies an adjustment to a frequency of telemetry collection by a hardware subsystem of the IHS (0012 and 0062); and
transmit the adjusted telemetry (0012 and 0062).
Wu is silent in explicitly teaching receive an indication of attack related to the IHS. Wu teaches responding to many sorts of errors, including specific hardware (0052) but not specifically adjusting the telemetry in response of attack. On the other hand, Nachenberg teaches adjusting the telemetry in response of receiving an indication of attack (0037 and 0038). Nachenberg adjusts the collection to telemetry data similarly to Wu. The trigger of the updating of the telemetry rules is the main difference. It would be beneficial to adjust telemetry rules in Wu for reasons of cybersecurity as taught by Nachenberg in order to protect the system from those types of risk. The claim is obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art can combine methods known before the effective filing date which produce predictable results.
As per claim 16, it is rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11.
As per claims 2, 12, and 17, Wu teaches the IHS comprises a remote access controller [telemetry component 130; 0028] that adjusts telemetry generation by the one or more of the hardware components of the IHS (0052).
As per claims 3, 13, and 18, Wu teaches the remote access controller comprises one or sideband management pathways used in adjusting telemetry generation by the one or more of the hardware components of the IHS (0028, 0036, and 0029).
As per claims 5, 15, and 20, Wu teaches the telemetry chain comprises an ordered list of hardware component types (0036 and 0038).
As per claim 6, Wu teaches whether to queue the telemetry that is ready for transmission based on a position of the telemetry within the subsystem telemetry chain (0036).
As per claim 7, Wu teaches the telemetry for a subsystem is queued when its position in the telemetry subsystem chain is at a terminal end of the telemetry subsystem chain (queues all telemetry including terminal component; 0036).
As per claim 8, Wu teaches the telemetry for a subsystem is transmitted immediately when its position in the telemetry subsystem chain is at a start of the telemetry subsystem chain [increase logging on storage devices; the storage device can be interpreted as the start or root of the chain; 0037].
As per claim 9, the combination of Wu and Nachenberg teaches the telemetry definition further specifies an adjustment to telemetry collected by hardware subsystem that is associated with the indicator of attack [Nachenberg: 0037 and 0038].
As per claim 10, the combination of Wu and Nachenberg teaches the telemetry definition further specifies an adjustment to subsystem telemetry collection related to a user [Nachenberg: source] that is associated with the indicator of attack [Nachenberg: 0037 and 0038].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL R. VAUGHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7316. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Thursday, 7:30am - 5:00pm, EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lynn Feild can be reached on (571) 272-2092. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MICHAEL R VAUGHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431