DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The applicant has filed a revised drawing on 03/20/2026. Hence the objection to the drawing have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection was made in view of Matsuda et al (US 2024/0120990 A1), which do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The current action is Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsuda et al (US 2024/0120990 A1), hereinafter, “Matsuda” .
Regarding claim 1, Matsuda discloses: A relay device situated between a non-terrestrial device having a wireless communication range and a terrestrial device outside the wireless communication range to thereby (Matsuda: fig2, “Satellite 501” is the non-terrestrial device, “Satellite 301, Satellite 302 and Satellite 303” are equivalent to “Relay device” and “Aviation Station 13 is the terrestrial device above the ground station, and Gateway 201 and Gateway 202 are the Terrestrial ground station for the base station Terrestrial Network TN2, para [0053]-[0055], where, the relay station Satellite 30 installed above the earth surface) to provide communication between the non-terrestrial device and the terrestrial device (Matsuda: fig2, para [0055]-[0056], where, the relay device Satellite 30 provide communication between SBP2 Satellite 501 equivalent to non-terrestrial device and Base Station/Terrestrial network TN1 and TN2), the relay device comprising:
a wireless communication apparatus (Matsuda: fig2, User Equipment or Terminal Device 401 and 402 equivalent to “Wireless communication apparatus”) comprising one or more antennas to wirelessly communicate with the non-terrestrial device and the terrestrial device (Matsuda: fig 8, Terminal 40 includes antennas 313, para [0112], where, “Terminal Device 40” includes antenna 313 and UE2 communicate with the Satellite 50 equivalent to “non-terrestrial device” via the relay satellite 30); and
a computing apparatus (Matsuda: fig 2, Base Station 60, para [0052], and terminal 40, fig 8 includes the computing apparatus, para [0052] and para [0112]), comprising one or more processors and configured to: receive and demodulate a first signal on a first carrier frequency (Matsuda: fig 2 and 8, para [0112], where, the processing unit 411 and 412 equivalent to “processor” receives and demodulate first signal, para [0096], fig 6) from the terrestrial device resulting in a data signal (Matsuda: fig 2, 6-8, para [0094]-[0096], where, th e “The reception processing unit 211 demodulates a reception signal using a modulation scheme such as binary phase shift keying (BPSK) or quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) with respect to a modulation symbol of the uplink channel. The modulation scheme used for demodulation may be 16-quadrature amplitude modulation (16QAM), 64QAM, or 256QAM”);
modulate the data signal on a second carrier frequency generating a second signal (Matsuda: fig 10, para [0137], where, “a reception timing T1 of the first signal via the first path L1 is shifted by about 2.5 symbol from a reception timing T2 of the second signal via the second path L2, and an inter-slot interference is generated due to the propagation delay”); and transmit the second signal to the non-terrestrial device (Matsuda: fig 10, para [0193], where, “The second signal waveform transmitter 405 uses DFT-Spread-OFDM for transmission processing”).
Regarding claim 13, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding packet processing method, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 25, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding packet processing system, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Matsuda discloses: wherein receiving and demodulating the first signal on the first carrier frequency from the terrestrial device (Matsuda: fig 2, para [0115], where, “The terminal device 40 may be simultaneously connected to a plurality of base stations or a plurality of cells to perform communication. For example, when one base station supports a communication area via a plurality of cells (e.g., pCell and sCell)”), comprises beam forming a communication beam at the first carrier frequency to the terrestrial device (Matsuda: fig 3 and 6, para [0105], where, The low-earth-orbiting satellite forms a cell (or beam) on the ground).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Matsuda discloses: wherein the first carrier frequency is different than the second carrier frequency (Matsuda: 2, para [0052]-[0053], where, LTE may be first carrier).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Matsuda discloses: wherein the first carrier frequency is the same as the second carrier frequency (Matsuda: 2, para [0052]-[0053], where, LTE may be first carrier and NR may be second carrier).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Matsuda discloses: wherein one or both of the first and second carrier frequencies is one of LTE, 5G, and 6G as defined in 3GPP (Matsuda: fig 6, para [0096], where, “The reception processing unit 211 decodes encoded bits of a demodulated uplink channel. Decoded uplink data and uplink control information are output to the control unit 23”).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Matsuda discloses: wherein the computing apparatus is further configured to, prior to the modulating the data signal: decode the data signal according to a first communication protocol generating a data block (Matsuda: fig 6, para [0096], where, “The reception processing unit 211 decodes encoded bits of a demodulated uplink channel. Decoded uplink data and uplink control information are output to the control unit 23”, where, LTE is regarded as first protocol, para [0107]); and encode the data block according to a second communication protocol resulting in the data signal for modulation (Matsuda: fig 5, para [0080]-[0083], where, “The reception processing unit 211 decodes encoded bits of a demodulated uplink channel. Decoded uplink data and uplink control information are output to the control unit 23”, where, NR is regarded as second protocol, para [0107])).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Matsuda discloses: wherein the first communication protocol is different than the second communication protocol (Matsuda: fig 5, para [0080]-[0083], where, “The reception processing unit 211 decodes encoded bits of a demodulated uplink channel. Decoded uplink data and uplink control information are output to the control unit 23”, where, NR is regarded as second protocol, para [0107]), where, LTE protocol is different than NR protocol).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Matsuda discloses: wherein the first communication protocol is the same as the second communication protocol (Matsuda: fig 5, para [0080]-[0083], where, “The reception processing unit 211 decodes encoded bits of a demodulated uplink channel. Decoded uplink data and uplink control information are output to the control unit 23”, where, NR is regarded as second protocol, para [0107]), where, LTE protocol is different than NR protocol).
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Matsuda discloses: wherein one or both of the first and second communication protocols is one of LTE, 5G, and 6G as defined in 3GPP (Matsuda: fig 3, para [0031]), where, “the “LTE” includes LTE-Advanced (LTE-A), LTE-Advanced Pro (LTE-A Pro), and evolved universal terrestrial radio access (EUTRA). Still more, the NR includes new radio access technology (NRAT) and further EUTRA (FEUTRA). Note that a single base station may manage a plurality of cells. In the following description, a cell corresponding to the LTE is referred to as an LTE cell, and a cell corresponding to the NR is referred to as an NR cell”).
Regarding claims 10 and 22, Matsuda discloses: wherein one or both of the first and second communication protocols utilize a 3GPP-compliant payload fig 3, para [0031]), where, “the “LTE” includes LTE-Advanced (LTE-A), LTE-Advanced Pro (LTE-A Pro), and evolved universal terrestrial radio access (EUTRA). Still more, the NR includes new radio access technology (NRAT) and further EUTRA (FEUTRA). Note that a single base station may manage a plurality of cells. In the following description, a cell corresponding to the LTE is referred to as an LTE cell, and a cell corresponding to the NR is referred to as an NR cell”).
Regarding claims 11 and 23, Matsuda discloses: wherein computing apparatus is configured to: receive and demodulate a third signal on the second carrier frequency from the non-terrestrial device resulting in a second data signal (Matsuda: fig 12, para [0175], where, “the control unit of the reception device decodes the third and fourth symbols #3 and #4 of the first reception signal”); modulate the second data signal on the first carrier frequency generating a fourth signal (Matsuda: para [0096], where, “an uplink reference signal from a signal after the above processing is performed. The reception processing unit 211 demodulates a reception signal using a modulation scheme such as binary phase shift keying (BPSK) or quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) with respect to a modulation symbol of the uplink channel”); and transmit the fourth signal to the terrestrial device (Matsuda: para [0300]-[0302], where, “(Matsuda: fig 12, para [0175], where, “the control unit of the reception device decodes the third and fourth symbols #3 and #4 of the first reception signal”).
Regarding claims 12 and 24, Matsuda discloses: wherein the non-terrestrial device is one of an atmospheric satellite, low-earth orbit satellite, medium-earth orbit satellite, and high-earth orbit satellite (Matsuda: fig 3, para [0061], where, “the satellite station 30.sub.2 and the satellite station 30.sub.3, as the satellite stations configuring the spaceborne platform SBP1”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda et al (US 2024/0120990 A1), hereinafter, “Matsuda” in view of Parker et al (US 2025/0081004 A1), hereinafter, “Parker”.
Regarding claim 26, Matsuda discloses: The relay device of claim 1, wherein the relay device (Matsuda: fig 2-3, LEO (Low Earth Orbiting Satellite), para [0061], where, “the satellite station 30.sub.2 and the satellite station 30.sub.3, as the satellite stations configuring the spaceborne platform SBP1”), Matsuda does not explicitly teach: is configured to operate as an intermediate radio unit (iRU) between a distributed unit (DU) of the non-terrestrial device and a radio unit (RU) associated with the terrestrial device.
Parker teaches: to operate as an intermediate radio unit (iRU) between a distributed unit (DU) of the non-terrestrial device and a radio unit (RU) associated with the terrestrial device (Parker: fig 4 and fig 13B-C, para [0156], where, “the IAB Donor 1320 operates a RU 1341 to provide service to an UE1 1351, and as the IAB Donor 1320 provides over-the-air wireless backhaul to the IAB Node 1330. The IAB Node operates the iRU 1335 (for IAB connectivity) and a RU 1342, and this RU 1342 in turn provides service to a UE2 1352”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “operate as an intermediate radio unit (iRU) between a distributed unit (DU) of the non-terrestrial device and a radio unit (RU) associated with the terrestrial device” as taught by Parker into Matsuda in order to optimize total cost of ownership, reduce application latency, improve service capabilities, and improve compliance with security or data privacy requirements (Parker: para [0185]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIZAM U AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461