DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN202915556 (CN ‘556). CN ‘556 discloses structure capable of carrying out the claimed method including initiating operation of a heat source (CC1) within a process heater for providing a heat load and generating heated flue gas, generating steam within a heat exchanger (4) via the heated flue gases and cooling the heated flue gases into cooled flue gases and inducing a draft within the process heater by injecting the steam through an ejector (7) fluidly coupled to the process heater after the heat exchanger (Figure 1) (SEE [0037]-[0046]).
Claim(s) 9, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garris, Jr. (5,647,221). Garris, Jr. discloses structure capable of carrying out the claimed method including initiating operation of a heat source within a process heater for providing a heat load and generating heated flue gas (SEE claim 15) generating steam within a heat exchanger (32) via the heated flue gases, thus cooling the heated flue gases into cooled flue gases and inducing a draft within the process heater by injecting the steam through an ejector (1) fluidly coupled to the process heater after the heat exchanger (32). In re claim 12, Garris, Jr. further discloses transporting a mixture of the steam and the cooled flue gases to an external location via a transport line (12). In re claim 13, Garris, Jr. further discloses cooling the mixture via a cooler (33) on the transport line for condensing the mixture into liquid form.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Whitnah (4,301,662). Whitnah discloses structure capable of carrying out the claimed method including initiating operation of a heat source (30) within a process heater for providing a heat load and generating heated flue gas, generating steam (gaseous refrigerant) within a heat exchanger (50) via the heated flue gases (SEE column 2, line 55 – column 3, line 2) and cooling the heated flue gases into cooled flue gases and inducing a draft within the process heater by injecting the steam (gaseous refrigerant) through an ejector (12) fluidly coupled to the process heater after the heat exchanger (50).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 are allowed.
Claims 10, 11, 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/GREGORY A WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 March 5, 2026