DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
LI discloses (page 1 last paragraph) determining the person who is the closest as the main viewer; (page 7 paragraph 4) person with the closest distance may be determined as the main viewer; the display device may use the acquired position information of the viewer to determine the closest viewer among the candidate viewers.
LI also discloses (page 2 paragraph 1) acquiring the inclination of the main viewer; (page 2 paragraphs 3) The displayed screen is rotated; (page 3 paragraphs 3-4) obtain the inclination of the main viewer; the display screen adjustment module, rotate the displayed screen based on the inclination.
LI also discloses (page 10 paragraph 4) the display device can acquire the orientation information of the main viewer in real time.
It is obvious to modify the invention of CLARK according to the invention of LI, to determine the person who is the closest as the main viewer based on the distances/depths of the candidate viewers (no matter how the candidate viewers are obtained), and adjust a setting based on the distance/depth of the main viewer, in order to get better displaying and playing functions for the main viewer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CLARK et al. (US 20210191735 A1) in view of LI et al. (CN115589505A).
Regarding claim 1. CLARK discloses An electronic device ([0007] a computing device 100 for adjusting settings on the computing device 100, based on a current location of the computing device 100) comprising:
a camera assembly configured to capture a first depth image of a first user and a second depth image of the first user ([0028] the computing device 200 to determine a distance of any faces detected from the computing device 200, the distance can be estimated from depth map when there is a 3D imaging sensor), the first depth image of the first user being a first frame of a depth image captured by the camera assembly in which the first user is present after the camera assembly is turned on, the second depth image of the first user and the first depth image of the first user being continuous depth images ([0006] As the location or environment that the computing device is in changes, settings on the computing device may automatically adjust; [0010] image processing is real-time; [0029] the computing device 200 to adjust a setting on the computing device 200, based on the distance of the faces from the computing device 200);
a function assembly ([0007] a computing device 100); and
a controller configured to determine a first spatial position between the first user and the camera assembly according to the first depth image ([0028] the computing device 200 to determine a distance of any faces detected from the computing device 200, the distance can be estimated from depth map when there is a 3D imaging sensor), and control the function assembly to execute a first action according to the first spatial position ([0029] the computing device 200 to adjust a setting on the computing device 200, based on the distance of the faces from the computing device 200), wherein
the controller further configured to determine displacements between the first user and the camera assembly according to the first depth image and the second depth image, and control the function assembly to execute a second action according to the displacements, the second action is an action to adjust a result of the function assembly based on the first action ([0029] the computing device 200 to adjust a setting on the computing device 200, based on the distance of the faces from the computing device 200, the computing device 200 may automatically adjust the volume of the speakers based on the distance of the faces from the computing device 200, the computing device 200 may automatically adjust a brightness of the screen and/or a size of text on the screen, based on the distance of the faces from the computing device 200).
Even though CLARK does not explicitly disclose a relative displacement,
CLARK discloses automatically adjusting a setting on the computing device 200, based on the distance of the faces from the computing device 200 ([0029]). When the distance/depth changes from the first value to the second value, the device automatically adjusts a setting according to the change (a relative displacement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust a setting based on the relative displacement according to the invention of CLARK.
However, CLARK does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the camera assembly is further configured to capture a third depth image of a second user, and the controller is further configured to determine a third spatial position between the second user and the camera assembly according to the third depth image, and control the function assembly to execute a third action according to the third spatial position if a third distance of the third spatial position is less than a first distance of the first spatial position or if the third distance of the third spatial position is less than a second distance of a second spatial position determined from the second depth image.
LI discloses (page 7 paragraph 4) the display device may use the acquired position information of the viewer to determine the closest viewer among the candidate viewers; (page 1 last paragraph, page 7 paragraph 4) determining the person who is the closest as the main viewer; (page 2 paragraph 1) acquiring the inclination of the main viewer; (page 2 paragraph 3) The displayed screen is rotated; (page 3 paragraphs 3-4) obtain the inclination of the main viewer; the display screen adjustment module, rotate the displayed screen based on the inclination. LI also discloses (page 10 paragraph 4) the display device can acquire the orientation information of the main viewer in real time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of CLARK according to the invention of LI, to determine the person who is the closest as the main viewer based on the distances/depths of the candidate viewers, and adjust a setting based on the distance/depth of the main viewer, in order to get better displaying and playing functions for the main viewer.
Regarding claim 2. CLARK discloses The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein:
the function assembly comprises a playing assembly ([0005] Examples of such settings may relate to the audio/video components of the computing device, such as the speakers or display member), the first spatial position comprises a first distance ([0028] the computing device 200 to determine a distance of any faces detected from the computing device 200), and
the controller is further configured to determine a first volume according to the first distance, and control the playing assembly to play sound at the first volume ([0029] the computing device 200 may automatically adjust the volume of the speakers based on the distance of the faces from the computing device 200).
Regarding claim 3. CLARK discloses The electronic device according to claim 2, wherein:
the relative displacement comprises a distance of the relative displacement, and
the controller is further configured to determine a size of change in a volume according to the distance of the relative displacement, and adjust a size of the volume of the sound played by the playing assembly on the first volume according to the size of change in the volume ([0029] the computing device 200 may automatically adjust the volume of the speakers based on the distance of the faces from the computing device 200).
Regarding claim 4. CLARK discloses The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein:
the function assembly comprises a display assembly ([0005] Examples of such settings may relate to the audio/video components of the computing device, such as the speakers or display member), the first spatial position comprises a first distance ([0028] the computing device 200 to determine a distance of any faces detected from the computing device 200), and
the controller is further configured to determine a first brightness according to the first distance, and control the display assembly to display information at a first brightness ([0029] the computing device 200 may automatically adjust a brightness of the screen and/or a size of text on the screen, based on the distance of the faces from the computing device 200).
Regarding claim 5. CLARK discloses The electronic device according to claim 4, wherein:
the relative displacement comprises a distance of the relative displacement, and
the controller is further configured to determine a size of change in a brightness according to the distance of the relative displacement, and adjust a size of the brightness of the information displayed by the display assembly on the first brightness according to the size of change in the brightness ([0029] the computing device 200 may automatically adjust a brightness of the screen and/or a size of text on the screen, based on the distance of the faces from the computing device 200).
Regarding claim 10, the same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the same analysis has been stated in claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, the same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, the same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, the same analysis has been stated in claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, the same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the same analysis has been stated in claims 2-5.
Regarding claim 6. LI discloses
a function assembly (page 1, paragraph 2 of Contents of the invention, a display device) comprises a driving assembly (page 2 paragraph 3, The displayed screen is rotated; page 3 paragraph 4, the display screen adjustment module, rotate the displayed screen based on the inclination), a first spatial position comprises a first relative direction (page 2 paragraph 1, acquiring the orientation information of the main viewer; page 4, next to last paragraph, The display device automatically adjusts the displayed screen according to the orientation information of the viewer; page 10 paragraph 4, if the orientation information of the primary viewer changes during viewing, the display device may adjust the picture displayed on the display device according to the changed orientation information), and
a controller is further configured to determine a first angle according to the first relative direction (page 2 paragraph 1, acquiring the inclination of the main viewer), and control the driving assembly to drive a display assembly and/or a playing assembly to rotate the first angle, causing the display assembly and/or the playing assembly to face a first user (page 2 paragraph 3, The displayed screen is rotated; page 3 paragraph 4, the display screen adjustment module, rotate the displayed screen based on the inclination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of CLARK and LI, to rotate the function assembly to face the user, in order to get better displaying and playing functions.
Regarding claim 7. LI discloses The electronic device according to claim 6, wherein:
a relative displacement comprises a direction of the relative displacement (page 2 paragraph 1, acquiring the orientation information of the main viewer; page 4, next to last paragraph, The display device automatically adjusts the displayed screen according to the orientation information of the viewer; page 10 paragraph 4, if the orientation information of the primary viewer changes during viewing, the display device may adjust the picture displayed on the display device according to the changed orientation information), and
the controller is further configured to determine a size of change in an angle according to the direction of the relative displacement, and control the driving assembly to drive the display assembly and/or the playing assembly to rotate the size of change in the angle on the first angle, causing the display assembly and/or the playing assembly to face the first user (page 2 paragraph 3, The displayed screen is rotated; page 3 paragraph 4, the display screen adjustment module, rotate the displayed screen based on the inclination).
The same motivation has been stated in claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, the same analysis has been stated in claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, the same analysis has been stated in claim 7.
Claims 9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CLARK et al. (US 20210191735 A1) in view of LI et al. (CN115589505A) as applied above in claims 1-7, 10-16, 19-20, and further in view of Huang (US 20250048027 A1).
Regarding claim 9. Huang discloses
a sound reception assembly, wherein the sound reception assembly is configured to receive voice information of a first user, and
a controller is further configured to control a camera assembly to turn on according to the voice information of the first user ([0205] operations performed by the user to turn on the camera, including a voice instruction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inventions of CLARK and LI according to the invention of Huang, to control a camera assembly to turn on according to the voice information.
Regarding claim 18, the same analysis has been stated in claim 9.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOLAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488