DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on December 23, 2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant has withdrawn claims 13 – 17, as being to a non-elected Species. Claims 10 – 12 are also withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on December 23, 2025.
Claims 1 – 20 pending.
Claims 10 – 17 withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 6, 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo (US 2022/0172375).
Regarding claim 1, Seo discloses a dynamic vision sensor (¶28) comprising: a pixel array (110) comprising a plurality of pixels (PX) arranged in a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns (fig. 2), wherein each of the plurality of pixels is configured to detect a change in intensity of incident light (¶29, 35); and a readout circuit configured to simultaneously select first pixels of first target columns among the plurality of columns in a first section of a binning operation, and generate and output first binning event signals of first binning pixel groups based on first event signals simultaneously output from the first pixels (figs. 8; ¶83-85: binning event signals of 4x4 pixel groups).
Regarding claim 2, Seo disclose the limitations of claim 1. Seo also teaches wherein the readout circuit is further configured to simultaneously select second pixels of second target columns among the plurality of columns in a second section of the binning operation following the first section, and to generate and output second binning event signals of second binning pixel groups based on second event signals simultaneously output from the second pixels (figs. 8; ¶83-85: binning event signals of 4x4 pixel groups).
Regarding claim 3, Seo disclose the limitations of claim 2. Seo also teaches wherein the second target columns are adjacent to the first target columns (figs. 8; ¶83-85: binning event signals of 4x4 pixel groups).
Regarding claim 4, Seo disclose the limitations of claim 1. Seo also teaches wherein each of the first binning pixel groups comprises pixels arranged in an M×N array (where each of M and N is an integer equal to or greater than 2). (figs. 8; ¶83-85: binning event signals of 4x4 pixel groups).
Regarding claim 6, Seo disclose the limitations of claim 1. Seo also teaches wherein the readout circuit is further configured to, in a normal mode, sequentially select the plurality of columns and output event signals corresponding to the plurality of pixels output from the pixel array in units of row (figs. 8; ¶83-85: binning event signals of 4x4 pixel groups).
Regarding claim 18, Seo discloses a dynamic vision sensor (¶28) comprising: a pixel array (110) comprising a plurality of pixels (PX) arranged in a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns (fig. 2), wherein each of the plurality of pixels is configured to detect a change in intensity of incident light (¶29, 35); and a readout circuit configured to sequentially select binning pixel groups of the plurality of pixels in units of columns in a binning operation and generate and output binning event signals of the binning pixel groups based on a plurality of event signals output from the binning pixel groups (figs. 8; ¶83-85: binning event signals of 4x4 pixel groups).
Regarding claim 19, Seo disclose the limitations of claim 18. Seo also teaches wherein the readout circuit is further configured to sequentially select the plurality of pixels in units of columns in a normal mode and to output event signals output from selected pixels in units of rows (figs. 8; ¶83-85: binning event signals of 4x4 pixel groups).
Regarding claim 20, Seo disclose the limitations of claim 18. Seo also teaches further comprising a column selection circuit (122) configured to generate column addresses corresponding to the binning event signals (¶42, 44, 45); a row address generation circuit (122) configured to generate row addresses corresponding to the binning event signals (¶42, 44, 46); and an output buffer (123) configured to generate event data based on the binning event signals, the column addresses, and the row addresses (¶49).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo in view of Kindt (US 2006/0077629).
Regarding claim 5, Seo disclose the limitations of claim 4. Seo fails to explicitly disclose wherein the readout circuit is further configured to adjust at least one of M and N according to a type of the binning operation.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kindt teaches a pixel binning image sensor that modifies the selected region based on the type of binning mode, if any (¶20-21). In light of the teaching of Kindt, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Kindt’s teaching in Seo’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in an enhancing low-light sensitivity of the image sensor.
Claim(s) 7 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo in view of Samsung (US 2022/0094865).
Regarding claim 7, Seo disclose the limitations of claim 1. Seo fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises: a photoelectric transformation element configured to accumulate charges corresponding to the incident light; a light reception circuit configured to output a logarithmic voltage based on a photoelectric current corresponding to the accumulated charges; and an event detection circuit configured to amplify the logarithmic voltage, compare the amplified logarithmic voltage with a reference voltage, identify the change in the intensity of the incident light, and output an event signal corresponding to the change.
In a similar field of endeavor, Samsung teaches a vision sensor wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises: a photoelectric transformation element (PSD) configured to accumulate charges corresponding to the incident light (¶59); a light reception circuit (310) configured to output a logarithmic voltage based on a photoelectric current corresponding to the accumulated charges (¶59); and an event detection circuit (320) configured to amplify the logarithmic voltage, compare the amplified logarithmic voltage with a reference voltage, identify the change in the intensity of the incident light, and output an event signal corresponding to the change (fig. 6; ¶62-64). In light of the teaching of Samsung, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Samsung’s teaching in Seo’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in an enhancing low-light performance of the image sensor.
Regarding claim 8, Seo disclose the limitations of claim 1. Seo fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises: a photoelectric transformation element configured to accumulate charges corresponding to the incident light; a light reception circuit configured to output a logarithmic voltage based on a photoelectric current corresponding to the accumulated charges; and wherein the pixel array further comprises a plurality of event detection circuits configured to compare the logarithmic voltage from the plurality of pixels with a reference voltage to identify the change in the intensity of the incident light, and to output an event signal corresponding to the change.
In a similar field of endeavor, Samsung teaches a vision sensor wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises: a photoelectric transformation element (PSD) configured to accumulate charges corresponding to the incident light (¶59); a light reception circuit (310) configured to output a logarithmic voltage based on a photoelectric current corresponding to the accumulated charges (¶59); and wherein the pixel array further comprises a plurality of event detection circuits (320) configured to compare the logarithmic voltage from the plurality of pixels with a reference voltage to identify the change in the intensity of the incident light, and to output an event signal corresponding to the change (fig. 6; ¶62-64). In light of the teaching of Samsung, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Samsung’s teaching in Seo’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in an enhancing low-light performance of the image sensor.
Regarding claim 9, Seo in view of Samsung disclose the limitations of claim 8. Samsung also teaches wherein the plurality of event detection circuits respectively correspond to the plurality of rows on a one-to-one basis (¶49).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639