DETAILED ACTION
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. Information Disclosure Statements filed 5/21/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites preferably all three of the properties and the term preferably renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the terms following it are part of the claim or not.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johncock et al. (US 20220071872).
Johncock et al. (US 20220071872) (hereinafter Johncock et al.) disclose compositions comprising bemotrizinol and ecofriendly carrier (capric caprylate Triglycerides at 31 % ). The composition has a critical wavelength of 379 and a SPF of 50+ (see Example 5). The composition does not have UV mineral filters or microplastics, is free of oxybenzone and/or octinoxate and is anhydrous (Example 5). The composition further comprise at least one active agent (e.g., homosalate).
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johncock et al. (US 20220071872) in view of Russell et al. (US 2024/0207152).
Johncock et al. has been discussed supra and teach inclusion of pigments (colorants) (para 0021) and critical wavelength of at least 370 nm but does not teach UVAPF/SPF ratio of at least 1/3.
Russell et al. (US 2024/0207152) (hereinafter Russell et al.) disclose a sunscreen composition includes a sunscreen active capable of substantially absorbing, scattering and/or deflecting UV radiation on a keratinous substrate. Preferably the UVAPF is at least 1/3 the SPF (para 0017). These actives include bemotirizinol. The critical wavelength method and the UVAPF-to SPF ratio are a couple of different ways of measuring broad spectrum SPF and to be broad spectrum the UVA protection must be at least 1/3 of the labeled SPF value. This means that when this ratio is used, a higher SPF label will give you better UVA protection.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the ratio of the UVAPF to SPF be 1/3 the SPF value. One would have been motivated to do so because inclusion of the active such as bemotiizinol where the composition has UVAPF of at least 1/3 the SPF yields broad spectrum UVA protection.
6. Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johncock et al. (US 20220071872) in view of Torardi (US 20060263291).
Johncock et al. has been discussed supra but does not disclose passivated mineral UV filter.
Torardi (US 20060263291) (Torardi) discloses that if deagglomerated titanium dioxide is photo passivated, it can be especially useful for UV light degradation resistance in sunscreens and other protective coatings (para 0070). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include passivated mineral UV filters in the composition of Johncock et al. One would have been motivated to do so for UV light degradation resistance as disclosed by Torardi.
DOUBLE PATENTING
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18543756. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘756 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. “Effect of an Emollient Emulsion containing at 15 wt % of Cparylic/Capric Triglyceride on the Urocanic Acid of the Stratum Corneum” (hereinafter Neto et al.) disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18543597. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘597 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18543287. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘287 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18543141. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘141 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18543702. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘702 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18543657. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘657 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products (see last paragraph or introduction).
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18543343. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘343 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products (see last paragraph or introduction).
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18543489. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘489 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18543157. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘157 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18543309. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘309 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18543921. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘921 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18543721. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘721 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18543443. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘443 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18543375. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘375 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18543482. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘482 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. “disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18543130. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘130 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides.
Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18985642. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘642 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 18985628. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘628 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides.
Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18985622. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘622 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. “disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
CORRESPONDENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615