DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
1. Receipt of Applicants’ amendments/remarks filed 6/15/2026 are acknowledged.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. No new Information Disclosure Statement has been submitted for review.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
3. Rejections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johncock et al. (US 20220071872).
Johncock et al. (US 20220071872) (hereinafter Johncock et al.) disclose compositions comprising bemotrizinol and ecofriendly carrier (capric caprylate Triglycerides at 31 % ). The composition has a critical wavelength of 379 and a SPF of 50+ (see Example 5). The composition does not have UV mineral filters or microplastics, is free of oxybenzone and/or octinoxate and is anhydrous (Example 5). The composition further comprises at least one active agent (e.g., homosalate). With regards to “the composition either has a UVAPF/SPF ratio of at least 2/5 or UVAPF/SPF ratio of at least 1/3 and SPF of at least 50”, the MPEP states that "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. (Applicant argued that the claimed composition was a pressure sensitive adhesive containing a tacky polymer while the product of the reference was hard and abrasion resistant. "The Board correctly found that the virtual identity of monomers and procedures sufficed to support a prima facie case of unpatentability of Spada’s polymer latexes for lack of novelty.").
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johncock et al. (US 20220071872) in view of Russell et al. (US 2024/0207152).
Johncock et al. (US 20220071872) (hereinafter Johncock et al.) disclose compositions comprising bemotrizinol and ecofriendly carrier (capric caprylate Triglycerides at 31 % ). The composition has a critical wavelength of 379 and a SPF of 50+ (see Example 5). The composition does not have UV mineral filters or microplastics, is free of oxybenzone and/or octinoxate and is anhydrous (Example 5). The composition further comprises at least one active agent (e.g., homosalate).
Johncock et al. has been discussed supra and teach inclusion of pigments (colorants) (para 0021) and critical wavelength of at least 370 nm but does not explicitly teach UVAPF/SPF ratio of at least 1/3. It is believed that Johncock et al. teach the same composition and thus the properties would follow.
However, for the sake of completeness of prosecution, purely arguendo, if this is not true, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have UVAPF/SPF ratio as disclosed by Russell et al.
Russell et al. (US 2024/0207152) (hereinafter Russell et al.) disclose a sunscreen composition includes a sunscreen active capable of substantially absorbing, scattering and/or deflecting UV radiation on a keratinous substrate. Preferably the UVAPF is at least 1/3 the SPF (para 0017). At least means at minimum and thus encompasses higher values. These actives include bemotirizinol. The critical wavelength method and the UVAPF-to SPF ratio are a couple of different ways of measuring broad spectrum SPF and to be broad spectrum the UVA protection must be at least 1/3 of the labeled SPF value. This means that when this ratio is used, a higher SPF label will give you better UVA protection.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the ratio of the UVAPF to SPF be 1/3 the SPF value. One would have been motivated to do so because inclusion of the active such as bemotiizinol where the composition has UVAPF of at least 1/3 the SPF yields broad spectrum UVA protection.
6. Claims 1, 9, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johncock et al. (US 20220071872) in view of Russell et al. (US 2024/0207152) as applied to claims 1-8, 10-14, and 16-18 and further in view of Torardi (US 20060263291).
Johncock et al. has been discussed supra but does not disclose passivated mineral UV filter.
Torardi (US 20060263291) (Torardi) discloses that if deagglomerated titanium dioxide is photo passivated, it can be especially useful for UV light degradation resistance in sunscreens and other protective coatings (para 0070). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include passivated mineral UV filters in the composition of Johncock et al. One would have been motivated to do so for UV light degradation resistance as disclosed by Torardi.
DOUBLE PATENTING
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18543756. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘756 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. “Effect of an Emollient Emulsion containing at 15 wt % of Cparylic/Capric Triglyceride on the Urocanic Acid of the Stratum Corneum” (hereinafter Neto et al.) disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18543597. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘597 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18543287. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘287 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 and 6-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18543141. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘141 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18543702. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘702 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18543657. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘657 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products (see last paragraph or introduction).
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18543343. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘343 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products (see last paragraph or introduction).
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18543489. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘489 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18543157. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘157 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18543309. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘309 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18543921. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘921 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18543721. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘721 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18543443. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘443 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18543375. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘375 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18543482. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘482 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. “disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18543130. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘130 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides.
Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-4 and 6-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18985642. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘642 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
Claims 1-4 and 6-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 18985628. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘628 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides.
Neto et al. disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products
Claims 1-4 and 6-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18985622. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to sunscreen compositions containing bemotrizinol the differences being that the ‘622 application does not teach the carrier of caprlyc/capric triglycerides. Johncock et al. discloses particularly preferred components of type (i) in the oil phase are as follows: isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl stearate, isopropyl oleate, n-butyl stearate, n-hexyl laurate, n-decyl oleate, isooctyl stearate, isononyl stearate, isononyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl palmitate, 2-ethylhexyl laurate, 2-hexyldecyl stearate, 2-octyldodecyl palmitate, oleyl oleate, oleyl erucate, erucyl oleate, erucyl erucate, 2-ethylhexyl isostearate, isotridecyl isononanoate, 2-ethylhexyl cocoate, caprylic/capric triglycerides. Neto et al. “disclose caprylic/capric triglyceride as an emollient (last paragraph of introduction). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the oil phase contain the caprilyc/capric triglyceride. One would have been motivated to do so because this is a suitable emollient for use in cosmetic products.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
8. Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered and are not persuasive for the reasons below.
Applicants argue that claim 13 is free of the rejections however, claim 13 recites additional active ingredient The previous office action state the composition further comprise at least one active agent (e.g., homosalate).
Applicants argue that Johncock does not teach the composition containing the claimed ingredients/properties. In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that the same composition structure was taught by Johncock et al. and products of identical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Applicants argue that Russell does not disclose UVAPF/SPF ratio of at least 1/3 or SPF value of at least 50. In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that Johncock et al. disclosed SPF values of at least 50+ and Russell discloses UVAPF is at least 1/3 the SPF (para 0017). These actives include bemotirizinol. The critical wavelength method and the UVAPF-to SPF ratio are a couple of different ways of measuring broad spectrum SPF and to be broad spectrum the UVA protection must be at least 1/3 of the labeled SPF value. This means that when this ratio is used, a higher SPF label will give you better UVA protection. Therefore, Russel recognizes a relationship between the ratio and SPF values.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the ratio of the UVAPF to SPF be 1/3 the SPF value. One would have been motivated to do so because inclusion of the active such as bemotiizinol where the composition has UVAPF of at least 1/3 the SPF yields broad spectrum UVA protection.
Applicants argue that in view of the amendments and arguments, none of the claims require the unique combination of elements and properties and requests withdrawal of all the double patenting rejections.
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that since no terminal disclaimers have been filed, the double patenting rejections have been maintained.
CONCLUSION
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CORRESPONDENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615