DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 04/01/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Further recognition:
The objections to the drawings are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-7, 9-10, 12-13 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 6-7, the claim recites “… an air-conditioner unit.” Due to dependency on claim 3 which introduces an air-conditioner unit.
The claim should be amended to recite - - the air-conditioner unit - - for clarity.
Claims 9-10, 12-13 and 15 are objected to because of dependency from an objected to claim.
Appropriate correction is required
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Regarding claim 2, the recitation of claim limitation “Power control unit" in at least claim 2.
Corresponds to “The PCU 12 is a device that regulates power to be supplied to the vehicle driving motor, and may include a boost converter and an inverter. The PCU 12 also includes an inner channel (not shown) through which the refrigerant flows through to cool the PCU 12” in paragraph 0048 of the specification.
Regarding claims 3-17, the recitation of claim limitation “air-conditioner unit " in at least claim 3.
Corresponds to “a heater circuit 60 and the heat pump circuit 70. The heater circuit 60 heats a heating medium with a warming heater 51 to heat a vehicle cabin 201 (see FIG. 2). The heat pump circuit 70 compresses the heating medium with a compressor 57 to cool or heat the vehicle cabin 201. To cool the vehicle cabin 201 with the heat pump circuit 70, the heater circuit 60 operates to externally discharge heat of high-temperature refrigerant gas flowing through the heat pump circuit 70” in paragraph 0054 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 1, applicant has added the limitation “a refrigerant pump” in line 9 of the claim. In the originally filed specification in paragraph 0047 the “water pump 16.”
A “refrigerant pump” is understood to be under its broadest meaning a “component that circulates liquid refrigerant.” There is nothing in the originally filed claims, specification or drawings to support this newly added limitation. Thus, the newly added limitation is deemed to be NEW MATTER.
Further, in paragraph 0047 the subject matter is not properly described in the application as filed, because, “refrigerant pump” is not described as such in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claim(s) 1 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated
By Okamura (US20210316597A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Okamura teaches a vehicle cooler [1] configured to cool a drive unit [81] that drives a vehicle [0098 “electric vehicle”] and a battery [80] that supplies electric power to the drive unit [0098],
the vehicle cooler [1] comprising:
a heat exchanger [141];
a cooling channel [40] connecting the drive unit [81], the battery [80], and the heat exchanger [141] in series [fig. 14 showing (81, 80 and 141) in series] to allow a refrigerant [0109 “As the heat medium, ethylene glycol, dimethylpolysiloxane, a solution containing nanofluid, antifreeze, or the like may be used”] to flow through the drive unit [fig. 14; 81], the battery [80], and the heat exchanger [fig. 14; 121], the battery [80] connected to the cooling channel [40] between the drive unit [81] and the heat exchanger [fig. 14]; and
a refrigerant pump [42] in communication with the cooling channel [0438-0439; fig. 14] and configured to flow the refrigerant within the cooling channel [40] from the drive unit to the battery, and from the battery to the heat exchanger [fig. 14; 0438-0439].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Yano et al. (US20200324611A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 1 and Okamura teaches wherein the drive unit [81] comprises a motor [0322 “an electric motor”] for vehicle driving [0322 “outputs traveling driving force”].
Okamura does not explicitly teach a power control unit configured to regulate electric power to be supplied to the motor.
However, Yano teaches a power control unit [37] configured to regulate electric power to be supplied to the motor [0062 “controlling the battery and MG” corresponding to 81 of Okamura].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Okamura to have a power control unit configured to regulate electric power to be supplied to the motor in view of the teachings of Yano where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a vehicle cooler with a power control unit configured to regulate electric power to be supplied to the motor which controls the battery and motor-generator (MG) [Yano; 0062].
Regarding Claim 16, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 2 and Okamura teaches wherein the cooling channel [401 ] comprises a drive unit return channel [fig. 14; 402] that allows the refrigerant to return to the drive unit [Fig. 14] and a battery return channel [404] that allows the refrigerant to return to the battery [fig. 14], the vehicle cooler [1] further comprises:
a third switching valve [44] configured to switch a connection mode [0520 “an open state”] regarding connection of the drive unit return channel [402] and the battery return channel [0370-0373], between a serial connection mode [fig. 14] in which the drive unit [81] and the battery [80] are connected in series [fig. 14 where clearly the drive unit and battery are connected in series],
with the battery [81] being downstream of the drive unit [fig. 14], to allow the refrigerant to flow through the drive unit and the battery [fig. 14], and a channel separation mode [fig. 14] in which the battery return channel [404] and the drive unit return channel [402] are separated [0042];
an air-conditioner unit [30] configured to air-condition a vehicle cabin [0407 “the vehicle compartment”];
the heat exchanger [141] that performs heat exchange with the air-conditioner unit [30] to heat the refrigerant that flows through the cooling channel [0145 “The chiller 141 is a heat exchanger that exchanges heat between the low-pressure refrigerant flowing through the refrigerant passage 141a and the first heat medium flowing through the heat medium passage 141b”]; and
a controller [70] configured to adjust operation of the air-conditioner unit [0419-0421 “an operation mode”] and the drive unit [0333-0335 “in any of the operation modes”], and
in response to a remaining capacity of the battery being equal to or lower than a predetermined capacity [Yano; 003 “SOC of the battery is low”] during traveling of the vehicle [Yano; 0100 “being driven by the MG”], the controller [Yano; 6] is configured to switch the third switching valve [34 corresponding to 44 of Okamura] to the serial connection mode [Yano; fig. 8], drive the air-conditioner unit [Yano; Fig. 8 showing (circuits 4 & 2) flowing] and heat the refrigerant by the air-conditioner unit [(4 & 2)], the heat exchanger [Yano; 27], and the drive unit [Yano; 36], and raise the temperature of the battery [ Yano; 35] with the refrigerant that is heated [Yano; 0103-0106 “temperature of the coolant rises” see also 0071].
Regarding Claim 18, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 2 and Okamura teaches wherein the cooling channel [401 ] comprises a drive unit return channel [fig. 14; 402] that allows the refrigerant to return to the drive unit [Fig. 14] and a battery return channel [404] that allows the refrigerant to return to the battery [fig. 14], the vehicle cooler [1] further comprises:
a third switching valve [44] configured to switch a connection mode [0520 “an open state”] regarding connection of the drive unit return channel [402] and the battery return channel [0370-0373], between a serial connection mode [fig. 14] in which the drive unit [81] and the battery [80] are connected in series [fig. 14 where clearly the drive unit and battery are connected in series],
with the battery [81] being downstream of the drive unit [fig. 14], to allow the refrigerant to flow through the drive unit and the battery [fig. 14], and a channel separation mode [fig. 14] in which the battery return channel [404] and the drive unit return channel [402] are separated [0042]; and
a controller [70] configured to adjust operation of the third switching valve [0520 “an open state”], and the controller [70] is configured to switch the third switching valve [44] to the serial connection mode [fig. 14] to constitute the cooling channel [401] that connects the drive unit [80] and the battery in series [fig. 14 where clearly 44 is switched to a serial connection mode].
Claim(s) 5, 11 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura and Yano et al. as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Hu et al. (US2023/0398835A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 2 and Okamura teaches comprising:
a second bypass channel [0343-0344 “battery bypass passage 401”] connected between the drive unit [81] and the battery [80] to allow the refrigerant to flow while bypassing the battery [fig. 14; 0343-0344];
a second switching valve [45a-d] configured to switchably allow the refrigerant to flow through the battery [0346-0350] or through the second bypass channel [fig. 14; see also 0175 where someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize fig. 14 would operate the same way];
an air-conditioner unit [30, 50 and 10 hereinafter 30] configured to air-condition a vehicle cabin [0209 “vehicle interior temperature”]; and
a controller [70] configured adjust operation of the second switching valve [0196 “control device 70 opens the first battery side open-close valve 45a”], the air-conditioner unit [0408 “controlled according to a control signal output from the control device 70”], and the drive unit [0333-0335 “in any of the operation modes”],
wherein in response to a temperature [Yano; 0131 “tw”] of the drive unit [Yano; 18] being lower than a second predetermined temperature [Yano; 0131 “twup”] while the vehicle is stopped [Yano; 0100 “the internal combustion engine is stopped” further, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that the vehicle would be in a stopped state over the course of being driven],
the controller [Yano; 200 corresponding to 70 of Okamura] is configured to switch the second switching valve [Yano; 13 corresponding to 45a-d of Okamura] to allow the refrigerant to flow through the second bypass channel [Yano; fig. 8; 3d corresponding to 401 of Okamura], and drive the air-conditioner unit [Yano; 100 corresponding to 30 of Okamura] to heat the refrigerant by the air-conditioner unit [Yano; 0077 “heats the air around” see also 0084] and the heat exchanger [Yano; 9] to raise the temperature of the drive unit with the refrigerant that is heated [0085 “realize the heating of the motor assembly”].
Modified Okamura does not explicitly teach the heat exchanger configured to perform heat exchange with the air-conditioner unit to heat the refrigerant flowing through the cooling channel.
However, Hu teaches the heat exchanger [9 corresponding to 141 of Okamura] configured to perform heat exchange with the air-conditioner unit [100 corresponding to 30 of Okamura] to heat the refrigerant flowing through the cooling channel [0038 “realize the heat exchange between the refrigerant and the coolant”; the cooling channel with (91) in line with it corresponding to 401 of Okamura].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Okamura teaching with Hu by combining the heat exchanger configured to perform heat exchange with the air-conditioner unit to heat the refrigerant flowing through the cooling channel where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a vehicle cooler with heat exchanger configured to perform heat exchange with the air-conditioner unit to heat the refrigerant flowing through the cooling channel which is beneficial for energy saving [Hu; 0073].
Regarding Claim 11, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 5 and Hu teaches wherein in response to the temperature [Yano; TW] of the drive unit [18] being equal to or higher than the second predetermined temperature [0133-0135 “higher than the upper limit temperature Twup”], the controller [200] is configured to switch the second switching valve [13] to allow the refrigerant to flow through the battery [Yano; see at least figs. 7 and 11], and
drive the air-conditioner unit [100] and the drive unit [18] to heat the refrigerant by the air-conditioner unit [100], the heat exchanger [9], and the drive unit [18], to raise the temperature of the battery with the refrigerant that is heated [0103-106 “heating of the battery is realized” “motor assembly needs to dissipate heat” see also 0071 ].
Regarding Claim 19, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 5 and Okamura teaches wherein the cooling channel [401 ] comprises a drive unit return channel [fig. 14; 402] that allows the refrigerant to return to the drive unit [Fig. 14] and a battery return channel [404] that allows the refrigerant to return to the battery [fig. 14], the vehicle cooler [1] further comprises:
a third switching valve [44] configured to switch a connection mode [0520 “an open state”] regarding connection of the drive unit return channel [402] and the battery return channel [0370-0373], between a serial connection mode [fig. 14] in which the drive unit [81] and the battery [80] are connected in series [fig. 14 where clearly the drive unit and battery are connected in series],
with the battery [81] being downstream of the drive unit [fig. 14], to allow the refrigerant to flow through the drive unit and the battery [fig. 14], and a channel separation mode [fig. 14] in which the battery return channel [404] and the drive unit return channel [402] are separated [0042];
the controller [70] configured to adjust operation of the third switching valve [0520 “an open state”], and the controller [70] is configured to switch the third switching valve [44] to the serial connection mode [fig. 14] to form the cooling channel [401] in which the drive unit [80] and the battery are connected in series [fig. 14 where clearly 44 is switched to a serial connection mode].
Regarding Claim 20, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 11 Okamura teaches wherein the cooling channel [401 ] comprises a drive unit return channel [fig. 14; 402] that allows the refrigerant to return to the drive unit [Fig. 14] and a battery return channel [404] that allows the refrigerant to return to the battery [fig. 14], the vehicle cooler [1] further comprises:
a third switching valve [44] configured to switch a connection mode [0520 “an open state”] regarding connection of the drive unit return channel [402] and the battery return channel [0370-0373], between a serial connection mode [fig. 14] in which the drive unit [81] and the battery [80] are connected in series [fig. 14 where clearly the drive unit and battery are connected in series],
with the battery [81] being downstream of the drive unit [fig. 14], to allow the refrigerant to flow through the drive unit and the battery [fig. 14], and a channel separation mode [fig. 14] in which the battery return channel [404] and the drive unit return channel [402] are separated [0042];
the controller [70] configured to adjust operation of the third switching valve [0520 “an open state”], and the controller [70] is configured to switch the third switching valve [44] to the serial connection mode [fig. 14] to form the cooling channel [401] that connects the drive unit [80] and the battery in series [fig. 14 where clearly 44 is switched to a serial connection mode].
Claim(s) 3-4, 6-7, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura, Yano et al. as applied to claim 2 and in view of Ishizeki et al. (US2022/0258570A1) and in further view of Hu et al. (US2023/0398835A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 2 and Okamura teaches comprising:
a valve [44]
an air-conditioner unit [30] configured to air-condition a vehicle cabin [0209 “vehicle interior temperature”]; and
a controller [70] configured to adjust operation of the valve [44], the air-conditioner unit [0408 “controlled according to a control signal output from the control device 70”], and the drive unit [0333-0335 “in any of the operation modes”].
Modified Okamura does not explicitly teach a first bypass channel connected to the cooling channel to allow the refrigerant to flow through the battery while bypassing the drive unit; a first switching valve configured to switchably allow the refrigerant to pass through the first bypass channel or through the drive unit; and wherein in response to a temperature of the drive unit being lower than a first predetermined temperature, the controller is configured to switch the first switching valve to allow the refrigerant to flow through the first bypass channel, and drive the air-conditioner unit [100] to heat the refrigerant by the air-conditioner unit and the heat exchanger to raise a temperature of the battery with the refrigerant that is heated or the heat exchanger configured to perform heat exchange with the air-conditioner unit to heat the refrigerant flowing through the cooling channel.
However, Ishizeki teaches a first bypass channel [68k] connected to the cooling channel [60 corresponding to 401 of Okamura] to allow the refrigerant to flow through the battery while bypassing the drive unit [at least fig. 3];
a first switching valve [81 corresponding to 44 of Okamura] configured to switchably allow the refrigerant to pass through the first bypass channel [fig. 3 clearly showing refrigerant passing thought the first bypass channel] or through the drive unit [0066 “circulation is performed in which as indicated by sold line arrows in FIG. 1”]; and
wherein in response to a temperature [Tm] of the drive unit [65 corresponding to 81 of Okamura] being lower than a first predetermined [T2] temperature [0129 “lower than the predetermined value”], the controller [32 corresponding to 70 of Okamura] is configured to switch the first switching valve [81] to allow the refrigerant to flow through the first bypass channel [0131 “second circulation mode (FIG. 3)”], and drive the air-conditioner unit [10 corresponding to 30 of Okamura] to heat the refrigerant by the air-conditioner unit [0131 “heating assistance”] and the heat exchanger [64 corresponding to 141 of Okamura] to raise a temperature of the battery with the refrigerant that is heated [0133 “battery 55 is heated”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Okamura teaching with Ishizeki by combining a first bypass channel connected to the cooling channel to allow the refrigerant to flow through the battery while bypassing the drive unit; a first switching valve configured to switchably allow the refrigerant to pass through the first bypass channel or through the drive unit; and wherein in response to a temperature of the drive unit being lower than a first predetermined temperature, the controller is configured to switch the first switching valve to allow the refrigerant to flow through the first bypass channel, and drive the air-conditioner unit to heat the refrigerant by the air-conditioner unit and the heat exchanger to raise a temperature of the battery with the refrigerant that is heated where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a vehicle cooler that has a drive unit bypass with a switchable valve to control the temperature of the drive unit and raises the temperature of the batter which effectively adjust the temperatures of the battery and the motor for running [Ishizeki ; para. 0141].
Furthermore, Hu teaches the heat exchanger [9 corresponding to 141 of Okamura] configured to perform heat exchange with the air-conditioner unit [100 corresponding to 30 of Okamura] to heat the refrigerant flowing through the cooling channel [0038 “realize the heat exchange between the refrigerant and the coolant”; the cooling channel with (91) in line with it corresponding to 401 of Okamura].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Okamura teaching with Hu by combining the heat exchanger configured to perform heat exchange with the air-conditioner unit to heat the refrigerant flowing through the cooling channel where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a vehicle cooler with heat exchanger configured to perform heat exchange with the air-conditioner unit to heat the refrigerant flowing through the cooling channel which is beneficial for energy saving [Hu; 0073].
Regarding Claim 4, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 3 and Ishizeki teaches wherein in response to the temperature of the drive unit being equal to or higher than the first predetermined temperature [0125], the controller is configured to switch the first switching valve [81] to allow the refrigerant to flow through the drive unit [fig.1 where clearly the first switching valve allows refrigerant to flow through the drive unit], and drive the air-conditioner unit [100] and the drive unit [18] to heat the refrigerant by the air-conditioner unit [0086 “refrigerant flowing through the second heat exchanger [9] and the third heat exchanger can be adjusted”], the heat exchanger [9], and the drive unit [18] to raise the temperature of the battery with the refrigerant that is heated [0085 “heating of the battery assembly”].
Regarding Claim 6, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 3 and Hu teaches comprising:
a second bypass channel [0047 “first bypass branch is connected in parallel with the battery heat exchange device”] connected between the drive unit [18] and the battery [11], the second bypass channel [0047] configured to allow the refrigerant to flow while bypassing the battery [see at least fig. 8];
a second switching valve [13] configured to switchably allow the refrigerant to flow through the battery [see fig. 7] or through the second bypass channel [see fig. 8];
an air-conditioner unit [100] configured to air-condition a vehicle cabin [0034 “passenger compartment”];
a heat exchanger [9] configured to perform heat exchange with the air-conditioner unit [100] to heat the refrigerant flowing through the cooling channel [0038 “realize the heat exchange between the refrigerant and the coolant”]; and
a controller [200] configured adjust operation of the second switching valve [0121 “plurality of flow direction switching devices”], the air-conditioner unit [0124 “air-conditioning operation mode”], and the drive unit [0121 “motors”],
wherein in response to the temperature [Yano; 0131 “tw”] of the drive unit [18] being lower than a second predetermined temperature [Yano; 0131 “twup”] while the vehicle is stopped [Yano; 0100 “the internal combustion engine is stopped” further, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that the vehicle would be in a stopped state over the course of being driven], the controller [200] is configured to switch the second switching valve [13] to allow the refrigerant to flow through the second bypass channel [fig. 8], and drive the air-conditioner unit [100] to heat the refrigerant by the air-conditioner unit [0077 “heats the air around” see also 0084] and the heat exchanger [9] to raise the temperature of the drive unit with the refrigerant that is heated [0085 “realize the heating of the motor assembly”].
Regarding Claim 7, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 4 and Hu teaches Hu teaches comprising:
a second bypass channel [0047 “first bypass branch is connected in parallel with the battery heat exchange device”] connected between the drive unit [18] and the battery [11], the second bypass channel [0047] configured to allow the refrigerant to flow while bypassing the battery [see at least fig. 8];
a second switching valve [13] configured to switchably allow the refrigerant to flow through the battery [see fig. 7] or through the second bypass channel [see fig. 8];
an air-conditioner unit [100] configured to air-condition a vehicle cabin [0034 “passenger compartment”];
a heat exchanger [9] configured to perform heat exchange with the air-conditioner unit [100] to heat the refrigerant flowing through the cooling channel [0038 “realize the heat exchange between the refrigerant and the coolant”]; and
a controller [200] configured adjust operation of the second switching valve [0121 “plurality of flow direction switching devices”], the air-conditioner unit [0124 “air-conditioning operation mode”], and the drive unit [0121 “motors”],
wherein in response to the temperature [Yano; 0131 “tw”] of the drive unit [18] being lower than a second predetermined temperature [Yano; 0131 “twup”] while the vehicle is stopped [Yano; 0100 “the internal combustion engine is stopped” further, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that the vehicle would be in a stopped state over the course of being driven], the controller [200] is configured to switch the second switching valve [13] to allow the refrigerant to flow through the second bypass channel [fig. 8], and drive the air-conditioner unit [100] to heat the refrigerant by the air-conditioner unit [0077 “heats the air around” see also 0084] and the heat exchanger [9] to raise the temperature of the drive unit with the refrigerant that is heated [0085 “realize the heating of the motor assembly”].
Regarding Claim 12, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 6 and Hu teaches wherein in response to the temperature [Yano; TW] of the drive unit [18] being equal to or higher than the second predetermined temperature [0133-0135 “higher than the upper limit temperature Twup”], the controller [200] is configured to switch the second switching valve [13] to allow the refrigerant to flow through the battery [Yano; see at least figs. 7 and 11], the controller [200] is configured to switch the second switching valve [13] to allow the refrigerant to flow through the battery [11], and drive the air-conditioner unit [100] and the drive unit [18] to heat the refrigerant by the air-conditioner unit [100], the heat exchanger [9], and the drive unit [18], to raise the temperature of the battery with the refrigerant that is heated [0103-106 “heating of the battery is realized” “motor assembly needs to dissipate heat” see also 0071 ].
Regarding Claim 13, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 7 and Hu teaches wherein in response to the temperature [Yano; TW] of the drive unit [18] being equal to or higher than the second predetermined temperature [0133-0135 “higher than the upper limit temperature Twup”], the controller [200] is configured to switch the second switching valve [13] to allow the refrigerant to flow through the battery [Yano; see at least figs. 7 and 11], the controller [200] is configured to switch the second switching valve [13] to allow the refrigerant to flow through the battery [11], and drive the air-conditioner unit [100] and the drive unit [18] to heat the refrigerant by the air-conditioner unit [100], the heat exchanger [9], and the drive unit [18], to raise the temperature of the battery with the refrigerant that is heated [0103-106 “heating of the battery is realized” “motor assembly needs to dissipate heat” see also 0071 ].
Claim(s) 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura, Hu et al and Yano et al. as applied to claim 5 above and in view of Uto et al. (US2020/0003320A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 5 and Hu teaches wherein the drive unit [18], the air-conditioner unit [100], and the heat exchanger [9] are housed within a front compartment of the vehicle [Yano; Fig. 3 where the vehicle has a front compartment and the components would be within the front compartment], the vehicle cooler [fig. 1] comprises a grille [0053 “grille”].
Modified Okamura does not explicitly teach a grille shutter configured to open or close an opening of the front compartment, and in response to the temperature of the drive unit being lower than the second predetermined temperature while the vehicle is stopped, the controller is configured to close the grille shutter.
However, Uto teaches a grille shutter [62a/b] configured to open or close an opening of the front compartment [0046 “open,” “closed” and “front grill” see at least fig. 1], and in response to the temperature of the drive unit [2 corresponding to 18 of Hu] being lower than the second predetermined temperature while the vehicle is stopped, the controller is configured to close the grille shutter [0071-0072 “Tth1+a1” where the grille shutters of Uto would be closed while stopped when the predetermined closing temperatures are detected].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Okamura teaching with Uto by combining a grille shutter configured to open or close an opening of the front compartment, and in response to the temperature of the drive unit being lower than the second predetermined temperature while the vehicle is stopped, the controller is configured to close the grille shutter
where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures vehicle cooler with a grille shutter that opens or closes the front compartment in response to a drive unit temperature while the vehicle is stopped which makes improves the efficiency of the thermal management system [Uto; para. 0024].
Regarding Claim 14, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 8 and Hu teaches wherein in response to the temperature [Yano; TW] of the drive unit [18] being equal to or higher than the second predetermined temperature [0133-0135 “higher than the upper limit temperature Twup”], the controller [200] is configured to switch the second switching valve [13] to allow the refrigerant to flow through the battery [Yano; see at least figs. 7 and 11], the controller [200] is configured to switch the second switching valve [13] to allow the refrigerant to flow through the battery [11], and drive the air-conditioner unit [100] and the drive unit [18] to heat the refrigerant by the air-conditioner unit [100], the heat exchanger [9], and the drive unit [18], to raise the temperature of the battery with the refrigerant that is heated [0103-106 “heating of the battery is realized” “motor assembly needs to dissipate heat” see also 0071 ].
Claim(s) 9-10, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura, Hu et al., Yano et al. and Ishizeki et al. in view of claims 6 & 7 above and in view of Uto et al. (US2020/0003320A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 6 and Hu teaches wherein the drive unit [18], the air-conditioner unit [100], and the heat exchanger [9] are housed within a front compartment of the vehicle [Yano; Fig. 3 where the vehicle has a front compartment and the components would be within the front compartment], the vehicle cooler [fig. 1] comprises a grille [0053 “grille”].
Modified Okamura does not explicitly teach a grille shutter configured to open or close an opening of the front compartment, and in response to the temperature of the drive unit being lower than the second predetermined temperature while the vehicle is stopped, the controller is configured to close the grille shutter.
However, Uto teaches a grille shutter [62a/b] configured to open or close an opening of the front compartment [0046 “open,” “closed” and “front grill” see at least fig. 1], and in response to the temperature of the drive unit [2 corresponding to 18 of Hu] being lower than the second predetermined temperature while the vehicle is stopped, the controller is configured to close the grille shutter [0071-0072 “Tth1+a1” where the grille shutters of Uto would be closed while stopped when the predetermined closing temperatures are detected].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Okamura teaching with Uto by combining a grille shutter configured to open or close an opening of the front compartment, and in response to the temperature of the drive unit being lower than the second predetermined temperature while the vehicle is stopped, the controller is configured to close the grille shutter
where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures vehicle cooler with a grille shutter that opens or closes the front compartment in response to a drive unit temperature while the vehicle is stopped which makes improves the efficiency of the thermal management system [Uto; para. 0024].
Regarding Claim 10, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 7 and Hu teaches wherein the drive unit [18], the air-conditioner unit [100], and the heat exchanger [9] are housed within a front compartment of the vehicle [Yano; Fig. 3 where the vehicle has a front compartment and the components would be within the front compartment], the vehicle cooler [fig. 1] comprises a grille [0053 “grille”].
Modified Okamura does not explicitly teach a grille shutter configured to open or close an opening of the front compartment, and in response to the temperature of the drive unit being lower than the second predetermined temperature while the vehicle is stopped, the controller is configured to close the grille shutter.
However, Uto teaches a grille shutter [62a/b] configured to open or close an opening of the front compartment [0046 “open,” “closed” and “front grill” see at least fig. 1], and in response to the temperature of the drive unit [2 corresponding to 18 of Hu] being lower than the second predetermined temperature while the vehicle is stopped, the controller is configured to close the grille shutter [0071-0072 “Tth1+a1” where the grille shutters of Uto would be closed while stopped when the predetermined closing temperatures are detected].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Okamura teaching with Uto by combining a grille shutter configured to open or close an opening of the front compartment, and in response to the temperature of the drive unit being lower than the second predetermined temperature while the vehicle is stopped, the controller is configured to close the grille shutter
where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures vehicle cooler with a grille shutter that opens or closes the front compartment in response to a drive unit temperature while the vehicle is stopped which makes improves the efficiency of the thermal management system [Uto; para. 0024].
Regarding Claim 15, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 9 and Hu teaches wherein in response to the temperature [Yano; TW] of the drive unit [18] being equal to or higher than the second predetermined temperature [0133-0135 “higher than the upper limit temperature Twup”], the controller [200] is configured to switch the second switching valve [13] to allow the refrigerant to flow through the battery [Yano; see at least figs. 7 and 11], the controller [200] is configured to switch the second switching valve [13] to allow the refrigerant to flow through the battery [11], and drive the air-conditioner unit [100] and the drive unit [18] to heat the refrigerant by the air-conditioner unit [100], the heat exchanger [9], and the drive unit [18], to raise the temperature of the battery with the refrigerant that is heated [0103-106 “heating of the battery is realized” “motor assembly needs to dissipate heat” see also 0071 ].
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura and Yano et al. as applied to claim 16 above and further in view of Uto et al. (US2020/0003320A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Modified Okamura teaches the vehicle cooler as defined in claim 16 and Okamura teaches wherein the drive unit [81], the air-conditioner unit [30], and the heat exchanger [141] are housed within a front compartment of the vehicle [Yano; Fig. 3 where the vehicle has a front compartment and the components would be within the front compartment], the vehicle cooler [Yano; at least fig. 1] comprises a grille [Yano; 0084 “grille”].
Modified Okamura does not explicitly teach a grille shutter configured to open or close an opening of the front compartment, and the controller is configured to calculate a temperature difference between the temperature of the drive unit and a cooling start temperature at which cooling of the drive unit is necessary, and close the grille shutter in response to the temperature difference being equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold value.
However, Uto teaches a grille shutter [62a/b] configured to open or close an opening of the front compartment [0046 “open,” “closed” and “front grill” see at least fig. 1 corresponding to fig. 3 of Yano], and the controller [electric control unit corresponding to 70 of Okamura] is configured to calculate a temperature difference [0069 “calculates”] between the temperature of the drive unit and a cooling start temperature at which cooling of the drive unit is necessary [0071-0072 “greater than the temperature threshold”], and close the grille shutter [0084 “grille shutter is closed”] in response to the temperature difference being equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold value [0084-0085 “exceeded ”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Okamura teaching with Uto by combining a grille shutter configured to open or close an opening of the front compartment, and the controller is configured to calculate a temperature difference between the temperature of the drive unit and a cooling start temperature at which cooling of the drive unit is necessary, and close the grille shutter in response to the temperature difference being equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold value where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures vehicle cooler with a grille shutter that opens or closes the front compartment in response to a drive unit temperature and is able to close the shutter when equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold value which makes improves the efficiency of the thermal management system [Uto; para. 0024].
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see pgs. 12-13, filed 04/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Okamura (US20210316597A1) and in view of Yano et al. (US20200324611A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM DORREL MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763