COPPER FOIL HAVING IMPROVED FLEXIBILITY, ELECTRODE COMPRISING THE SAME, SECONDARY BATTERY COMPRISING THE SAME, AND METHOD FOR MANUFACTURING THE SAME
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/15/2024 and 9/30/2024 are is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 discloses room temperature “MIT 1 and 2” and high temperature “MIT 1 and 2” which refers to an “MIT” number. While the “MIT” number is defined, there is no explanation of “MIT” in the specification. It appears to be an acronym but it is not defined.
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chae et al. (KR 2019-0043275 A).
Regarding claim 1, Chae et al. teach a copper foil (Fig. 1, element 100) comprising a copper film including 99.9 wt% or more of copper (Fig. 1, element 110 discloses a copper layer made only of copper and so it is at 100%.). Further, comprising a protective layer formed on the copper film (Fig. 1, element 211 discloses an anticorrosive film on the copper layer, element 110.) which includes at least one of a chromium compound, a silane compound, and a nitrogen compound (Paragraph 0020). However, Chae et al. do not teach wherein the copper foil has a room temperature MIT 1 of 280 or more, a high-temperature MIT 1 of 130 or more, a room temperature MIT 2 of 14 or more, and a high-temperature MIT 2 of 25 or more, wherein the room temperature MIT 1 refers to an MIT number when a bending radius (R) is 0.38 mm at room temperature, the high-temperature MIT 1 refers to an MIT number when a bending radius (R) is 0.38 mm after heat treatment at 190 °C for one hour, the room temperature MIT 2 refers to an MIT number when a bending radius (R) is 0.1 mm at room temperature, and the high-temperature MIT 2 refers to an MIT number when a bending radius (R) is 0.1 mm after heat treatment at 190 °C for one hour.
MPEP 2112.01 Composition, Product, and Apparatus Claims
I. PRODUCT AND APPARATUS CLAIMS — WHEN THE STRUCTURE RECITED IN THE REFERENCE IS SUBSTANTIALLY IDENTICAL TO THAT OF THE CLAIMS, CLAIMED PROPERTIES OR FUNCTIONS ARE PRESUMED TO BE INHERENT
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
II. COMPOSITION CLAIMS — IF THE COMPOSITION IS PHYSICALLY THE SAME, IT MUST HAVE THE SAME PROPERTIES
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Regarding claim 2, Chae et al. teach the copper foil of claim 1, wherein the copper foil has a room temperature tensile strength of 50 kgf/mm2 or more (Paragraph 0065 discloses the copper foil has a room temperature tensile strength of 40-65 kgf/mm2.).
Regarding claim 3, Chae et al. teach the copper foil of claim 1, wherein the copper foil has a high temperature tensile strength of 40 kgf/mm2 or more (Paragraph 0066 discloses the copper foil has a high temperature tensile strength of 36-58 kgf/mm2.).
Regarding claim 4, Chae et al. teach the copper foil of claim 1, wherein the copper foil has a high-temperature grain size in a range of 1.4 µm to 3.1 µm (Paragraph 0074 discloses 0.8-1.7 µm after heat treatment at 190°C for 1 hour.).
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 June 12th, 2026