DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The paragraphs of the specification, other than in the claims or abstract, should be individually and consecutively numbered using Arabic numerals, so as to unambiguously identify each paragraph. The number should consist of at least four numerals enclosed in square brackets, including leading zeros (e.g., [0001]). The numbers and enclosing brackets should appear to the right of the left margin as the first item in each paragraph, before the first word of the paragraph, and should be highlighted in bold. A gap, equivalent to approximately four spaces, should follow the number. Nontext elements (e.g., tables, mathematical or chemical formulae, chemical structures, and sequence data) are considered part of the numbered paragraph around or above the elements, and should not be independently numbered. If a nontext element extends to the left margin, it should not be numbered as a separate and independent paragraph. A list is also treated as part of the paragraph around or above the list, and should not be independently numbered. Paragraph or section headers (titles), whether abutting the left margin or centered on the page, are not considered paragraphs and should not be numbered.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 6: “provides a videoconference call between the first user communication device and a second user communication device” should read “provides a videoconference call between the first communication device and the second communication device”;
Claims 1 and 6: “stores the video call summary message” should read “stores the videoconference call summary message”;
Claim 19: “transmitted the third communication device” should read “transmitted to the third communication device.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 11-14, and 16-18 (Claims 13-14 and 17 are rejected by way of inheritance) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 11-12, 16, and 18 recite the limitation "the first electronic forum session." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of compact prosecution, examiner is interpreting this limitation as the videoconference call provided in or during the first electronic forum.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-20 are directed to a machine. As such, each claim is directed to a statutory category of invention.
Step 2A Prong 1
The examiner has identified independent Claim 1 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to independent Claim 6.
Independent Claim 1 recites the following abstract ideas: “provides or transmits a first forum to an agent of a principal, and a counterparty in a negotiation matter regarding or involving the principal and the counterparty, and further provide a private communication session in a second forum and separate and apart from, or off-line from, the first forum, the principal, wherein the second forum allows the principal to provide an instruction, a directive, or information, to the agent, and further wherein the second forum allows the agent to communicate information, a suggestion, or an offer, to the principal, and further wherein the first forum provides access to a record of a previous discussion, communication, correspondence, or negotiation, and further wherein the first forum is configured to allow the principal to monitor activity in the first forum and to terminate the agent, to disavow an action of the agent, to agree to an action of the agent, to supersede an action of the agent, or to accept or to reject an offer or an agreement, or to terminate or table a discussion; and provides a call between the first user and a second user in or during the first forum, provides, in and during, and via, the first forum, a record of, or information regarding, a previous discussion or previous discussions, a previous conversation or conversations, or a previous correspondence or correspondences, which occurred, or which was or which were exchanged, between or involving the agent and the counterparty, and further provides, during and via the first forum, a recording of at least one previous conversation, at least one previous recording or at least one previous recording of at least one previous call or conference call, or a copy of a previous written correspondence, and further records the call , and further translates an audio conversation between the agent of the principal and the counterparty during the call into a written transcript, and further stores the recording and the written transcript, generates a report containing information regarding an activity or activities of the agent of the principal and the counterparty in or during the first forum, and further wherein the report, or information regarding the report, is stored generates a call summary message, wherein the call summary message includes information regarding a date and time of the call, information regarding the call, information regarding, the recording, and information regarding, the written transcript, and further stores the call summary message in a matter file associated with the negotiation matter, and further stores the call summary message
The limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, relates to managing relationships or interactions between people including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions (i.e., providing a forum to users in a negotiation matter, providing a private communication session to users, allowing a user to monitor activity in the forum, providing a record of or information regarding previous discussions, conversations, or correspondences, providing recordings of previous conversations, recording and transcribing a conversation, storing the recording and transcript, generating a report containing information regarding activities of users in the forum, storing the report, generating and storing a summary message) of the abstract idea of providing, recording, and storing communications between users in a negotiation. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, relates to managing relationships or interactions between people including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application include: (1) Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)), (2) Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)), (3) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)). In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of an apparatus comprising a central processing computer, communication devices, electronic forums, a distributed ledger and blockchain technology system, a videoconference, a telephone, an audio / videoconference / digital recording, and a link or a hyperlink. The computer hardware is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., generic computers and interfaces facilitating communications between users, and generic blockchain storing data) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, since they do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), they do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), they do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and they do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking its use to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application.
Step 2B
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. The additional elements of using computer hardware (an apparatus comprising a central processing computer, a distributed ledger and blockchain technology system, communication devices, electronic forums, a videoconference, a telephone, an audio / videoconference / digital recording, and a link or a hyperlink) amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea in a conventional manner. Further, the additional elements of using computer hardware, per MPEP 2106.05(d)(ii), are elements that describe well-understood, routine, conventional activities, for example, receiving or transmitting data over a network, and storing and retrieving information in memory. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on or with the use of generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the claim is not patent-eligible.
Dependent claims 2-5 and 7-20 do not include any additional elements beyond those identified above. They further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims and hence are abstract for at least the reasons presented above. As such, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor are they sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Thus, the aforementioned claims are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joao (US-20170069047) in view of Greven et al. (US-20210105148).
Claim 1 (and Similarly Claim 6)
Joao teaches the following limitations:
An apparatus, comprising: a central processing computer, wherein the central processing computer provides or transmits a first electronic forum to a first communication device and to a second communication device, wherein the first communication device is associated with an agent of a principal, and further wherein the second communication device is associated with a counterparty in a negotiation matter regarding or involving the principal and the counterparty ([0030] The present invention can also be utilized to provide an electronic, virtual, on-line, or web-based, forum, or a chat room, or other forum, in which or via which an agent of a principal, the principal himself, herself, or itself, and the third party, can engage in discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities), and further wherein the central processing computer is specially programmed to provide a private communication session in a second electronic forum only to the first communication device and to a third communication device and separate and apart from, or off-line from, the first electronic forum, wherein the third communication device is associated with the principal, wherein the second electronic forum allows the principal to provide an instruction, a directive, or information, to the agent, and further wherein the second electronic forum allows the agent to communicate information, a suggestion, or an offer, to the principal ([0051] The present invention can also be utilized to provide a forum or venue in which, or a communication forum or private forum, in which a principal can communicate instructions, directives, or other information, to an agent as well as to allow an agent to communicate information or suggestions, or an offer, to a principal), and further wherein the first electronic forum provides access to a record of a previous discussion, communication, correspondence, or negotiation ([0032] The respective electronic, virtual, on-line, or web-based, forum, or a chat room, or other forum, can include, record, and store, any and all text or written correspondence or communications, recordings of any and all off-line telephone conversations or conference calls, or recordings of any video conference calls, between the parties, any and all draft agreements exchanges between the parties, and any other information communicated or exchanged between the parties so as to provide a complete and comprehensive record of all discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities. Audio recordings, video recordings, pictures, photographs, and any other audio or video information evidencing all discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities can also be recorded and stored), and further wherein the first electronic forum is configured to allow the principal to monitor activity in the first electronic forum and to terminate the agent, to disavow an action of the agent, to agree to an action of the agent, to supersede an action of the agent, or to accept or to reject an offer or an agreement, or to terminate or table a discussion ([0013] The present invention can also provide an on-line electronic forum in which an agent can correspond with a third party while allowing the principal to monitor, and/or participate in, such correspondence, as well as allowing the principal to terminate such discussions between the agent and third party at any time; [0039] The principal can, at any time, access the present invention, and can terminate discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities, between the parties, can terminate an agent, can disavow an agent's actions, can agree to an agent's actions, can supersede an agent's actions, or can accept or reject an offer or an agreement); and
wherein the central processing computer provides a videoconference call between the first user communication device and a second user communication device in or during the first electronic forum ([0034] The parties, including the agent, the principal, and the third party, can be provided with information for accessing a secure electronic forum, virtual meeting room, or chat room, or other virtual or other forum. The parties, including the agent, the principal, and the third party, can be provided with information for accessing a secure and recorded conference call forum or a recorded video conference call forum), wherein the central processing computer provides, in and during, and via, the first electronic forum, a record of, or information regarding, a previous discussion or previous discussions, a previous conversation or conversations, or a previous correspondence or correspondences, which occurred, or which was or which were exchanged, between or involving the agent and the counterparty, and further wherein the central processing computer provides, during and via the first electronic forum, a recording of at least one previous telephone conversation, at least one previous audio recording or at least one previous videoconference recording of at least one previous call or conference call, or a copy of a previous written correspondence ([0013] All correspondences can be recorded, stored, and archived, for later use to protect the rights of the principal, the agent, and/or the third party; [0032] The respective electronic, virtual, on-line, or web-based, forum, or a chat room, or other forum, can include, record, and store, any and all text or written correspondence or communications, recordings of any and all off-line telephone conversations or conference calls, or recordings of any video conference calls, between the parties, any and all draft agreements exchanges between the parties, and any other information communicated or exchanged between the parties so as to provide a complete and comprehensive record of all discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities. Audio recordings, video recordings, pictures, photographs, and any other audio or video information evidencing all discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities can also be recorded and stored), and further wherein the central processing computer records the videoconference call as a digital recording, and further wherein the apparatus translates an audio conversation between the agent of the principal and the counterparty during the videoconference call into a written transcript, and further wherein the central processing computer stores the digital recording and the written transcript ([0034] The parties, including the agent, the principal, and the third party, can be provided with information for accessing a secure electronic forum, virtual meeting room, or chat room, or other virtual or other forum. The parties, including the agent, the principal, and the third party, can be provided with information for accessing a secure and recorded conference call forum or a recorded video conference call forum; [0037] Once the electronic forum meeting has commenced, any and all discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities can occur in the electronic forum until the parties or participants decide to end a session or to end the discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities. The present invention can record and store any and all discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities, any exchanged documents, and any recorded telephone calls or video conference calls; [0048] The present invention can transcribe any audio from any of the herein-described telephone calls or video conference calls into text information which can be stored in connection with any of the herein-described electronic forum discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities. The apparatus of the present invention, or any components of same, can be equipped or provided with audio to text transcription software and/or hardware),
wherein the central processing computer generates a report containing information regarding an activity or activities of the agent of the principal and the counterparty in or during the first electronic forum, and further wherein the report, or information regarding the report, is stored ([0013] The present invention can also provide an on-line electronic forum in which an agent can correspond with a third party… All correspondences can be recorded, stored, and archived, for later use; [0032] The respective electronic, virtual, on-line, or web-based, forum, or a chat room, or other forum, can include, record, and store, any and all text or written correspondence or communications, recordings of any and all off-line telephone conversations or conference calls, or recordings of any video conference calls, between the parties, any and all draft agreements exchanges between the parties, and any other information communicated or exchanged between the parties so as to provide a complete and comprehensive record of all discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities. Audio recordings, video recordings, pictures, photographs, and any other audio or video information evidencing all discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities can also be recorded and stored)
wherein the central processing computer generates a videoconference call summary message, wherein the video conference call summary message includes information regarding a date and time of the videoconference call, information regarding the videoconference call, information regarding, or a link or a hyperlink to, the digital recording, and information regarding, or a link or a hyperlink to the written transcript, and further wherein the apparatus stores the video call summary message in a matter file associated with the negotiation matter, and further wherein the apparatus stores the video call summary message in the central processing computer ([0041] The present invention can also generate an e-mail message, an SMS message, or a text message, or any other message, containing the date, time, and content of any one or more of any communications between the third party or the agent or vice versa, and can thereafter transmit same to the communication device of, or to an e-mail server of, for, or associated with, the principal, so as to provide the principal with a notification of, and the sum and substance of any communication(s) between the third party and the principal's agent; [0043] The present invention can also allow the principal of the agent may access and/or monitor the discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities, any exchanged documents, and any recorded telephone calls or video conference calls, in the electronic forum at any time. The present invention can also allow any other agent, attorney, or representative, of the principal may access and/or monitor the discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities, any exchanged documents, and any recorded telephone calls or video conference calls, in the electronic forum at any time; [0048] The present invention can transcribe any audio from any of the herein-described telephone calls or video conference calls into text information which can be stored in connection with any of the herein-described electronic forum discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities; [0052] Any and/or all of the herein-described messages can be recorded, stored, and/or archived in the central processing computer and any of the herein-described messages can be maintained as “Confidential”. Any and/or all of the herein-described messages can also be stored in the official records computer)
However, Joao does not explicitly teach the following limitations:
the report, or information regarding the report, is stored in a distributed ledger and blockchain technology system,
the apparatus stores the video call summary message… in the distributed ledger and blockchain technology system.
Greven, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations:
the report, or information regarding the report, is stored in a distributed ledger and blockchain technology system ([0004] A hub computing system is provided that is accessible to multiple client systems. The hub computing system can be used to create instances of collaboration entities, which can be of various defined types. Object instances can be created and included in, or referenced by, the collaboration entity instances. Clients may take various actions with respect to a collaboration entity instance using one or more hub services. At least a portion of the actions taken with respect to a collaboration entity instance can be recorded in a blockchain; [0010] A communication session, such as a chat session, is hosted between the first client system and at least a second client system regarding the collaboration entity instance. It is requested that a third record be recorded in the blockchain reflecting the hosting of the communication session),
the apparatus stores the video call summary message… in the distributed ledger and blockchain technology system ([0057] The hub services 144 can include a chat service 182. The chat service 182 can allow users of client systems 108 to exchange messages regarding a particular topic or subject, which can be organized in various manners, such as with reference to a particular collaboration entity instance 148 or object instance 156. When a chat occurs, the chat service 182 can cause an entry to be written to the blockchain 132. The entry in the blockchain 132 for a chat can include information such as an identifier of the relevant collaboration entity instance 148, an identifier of the chat, authentication information from the chat, a link to a record of the chat, a date/time the chat occurred (including, optionally information useable to determine a stop time and a stop time for the chat), a chat type (e.g., whether it was a text, audio, or video chat, and whether any media or object instances 156 were shared or displayed). Chat content can be stored, such as in the data store 140. When a link to chat content is provided, the link can direct to the chat content as stored in the data store 140).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the negotiation communications system of Joao with the limitations taught by Greven. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of verifying object integrity and validity and providing an auditable, verifiable record of activities (Greven – [0019], [0040]).
Claim 2 (and Similarly Claims 7 and 8)
Joao further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the apparatus provides the first electronic forum to the third communication device ([0013] The present invention can also provide an on-line electronic forum in which an agent can correspond with a third party while allowing the principal to monitor, and/or participate in, such correspondence), and further wherein the apparatus provides the private communication session in the second electronic forum to the first communication device and to the third communication device ([0051] The present invention can also be utilized to provide a forum or venue in which, or a communication forum or private forum, in which a principal can communicate instructions, directives, or other information, to an agent as well as to allow an agent to communicate information or suggestions, or an offer, to a principal).
Claim 3 (and Similarly Claim 9)
Joao further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the apparatus generates a notification message containing information regarding the agent acting on behalf of the principal, and further wherein the apparatus transmits the notification message to the third communication device or to a fourth communication device, wherein the fourth communication device is associated with the principal ([0010] The present invention can be utilized to provide notifications to a principal regarding actions or activities involving his, her, or its, agent; [0012] The present invention can also be utilized in order to provide a notification message or an alert message to a principal when an agent of the principal begins acting on behalf of the principal or when a person, individual, or entity holds himself, herself, or itself, out as an agent for the principal).
Claim 4 (and Similarly Claim 10)
Joao further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the apparatus generates a notification message containing information regarding a second agent acting on behalf of the principal, and further wherein the apparatus transmits the notification message to the third communication device or toa fourth communication device, wherein the fourth communication device is associated with the principal ([0010] The present invention can be utilized to provide notifications to a principal regarding actions or activities involving his, her, or its, agent; [0012] The present invention can also be utilized in order to provide a notification message or an alert message to a principal when an agent of the principal begins acting on behalf of the principal or when a person, individual, or entity holds himself, herself, or itself, out as an agent for the principal).
Claim 5 (and Similarly Claim 11)
Joao further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the apparatus generates an electronic forum meeting message regarding the first electronic forum session, and further wherein the apparatus transmits the electronic meeting message to the third communication device or to a fourth communication device, wherein the fourth communication device is associated with the principal ([0036] The present invention can also generate and transmit to any one or more of the agent, the third party, the principal of the agent, or the principal of the third party, an electronic meeting notification message which can be transmitted to respective user communication device of the respective agent, the third party, the principal of the agent, or the principal of the third party).
Claim 12
Joao further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the apparatus transcribes the audio recording or the videoconference recording of the first electronic forum session into transcribed text information, and further wherein the apparatus stores the transcribed text information in the computer ([0048] The present invention can transcribe any audio from any of the herein-described telephone calls or video conference calls into text information which can be stored in connection with any of the herein-described electronic forum discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities)
Greven further teaches the following limitations:
the apparatus stores… text information… in the distributed ledger and blockchain technology system ([0021] The present disclosure provides a centralized hub that allows peers to collaborate with respect to instances of collaboration entities, where a collaboration entity can be of a type defined for a particular type of collaboration and can include, or be associated with, various documents, files, or other objects, or with respect to one or more processes (including subprocesses of other processes). The hub can provide various services. Users can share collaboration entity instances, including components thereof, and modify collaboration entity instances, including sharing and modifying the collaboration entity instances on the hub. Users can chat or have other communications regarding particular collaboration entity instances, or elements thereof (e.g., particular documents or objects); [0057] The hub services 144 can include a chat service 182. The chat service 182 can allow users of client systems 108 to exchange messages regarding a particular topic or subject, which can be organized in various manners, such as with reference to a particular collaboration entity instance 148 or object instance 156. When a chat occurs, the chat service 182 can cause an entry to be written to the blockchain 132. The entry in the blockchain 132 for a chat can include information such as an identifier of the relevant collaboration entity instance 148, an identifier of the chat, authentication information from the chat, a link to a record of the chat, a date/time the chat occurred (including, optionally information useable to determine a stop time and a stop time for the chat), a chat type (e.g., whether it was a text, audio, or video chat, and whether any media or object instances 156 were shared or displayed)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the negotiation communications system of Joao with the limitations taught by Greven. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of verifying object integrity and validity and providing an auditable, verifiable record of activities (Greven – [0019], [0040]).
Claim 13
Joao further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the transcribed text information is provided in the first electronic forum ([0048] The present invention can transcribe any audio from any of the herein-described telephone calls or video conference calls into text information which can be stored in connection with any of the herein-described electronic forum discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities).
Claim 14
Joao further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the apparatus translates the transcribed text information from a first language into a second language ([0048] The present invention can transcribe any audio from any of the herein-described telephone calls or video conference calls into text information which can be stored in connection with any of the herein-described electronic forum discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities; [0049] The present invention can also translate any text information from one language into another language and can store any such translations).
Claim 15
Joao further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the first electronic forum provides information regarding a term or a condition regarding the negotiation matter ([0031] A respective principal, agent, and third party, can agree to conducting their discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities, via the electronic, virtual, on-line, or web-based, forum, or a chat room, or other forum, and can agree to any terms and conditions either dictated by same or otherwise agreed to by the parties; [0035] The secure electronic forum, virtual meeting room, or chat room, or other virtual or other forum (hereinafter “the electronic forum”) can also display prominently any messages, terms, or conditions, of any and all discussions, communications, correspondences, negotiations, and/or any other activities, such as, but not limited to, “Theses discussions are not binding on the Principal without the Principal's express written consent”, “The agent is not authorized to bind the Principal”, “The Agent is authorized to bind the Principal”, “The Third Party is not authorized to bind their Principal.”, “The Third Party is authorized to bind their Principal”, “All discussions are Confidential or subject to F.R.E. 408 or more stringent confidentiality.”).
Claim 16
Greven further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the computer records and stores a screenshot picture or a screenshot photograph of the first electronic forum session ([0085] The method 232 can include a parameter, such as a string, providing a description of the chat (e.g., the subject matter), and can include a value for a time at which the chat occurred. In at least some cases, chat contents (e.g., video, audio, text, screenshares) can be captured and made available for retrieval).
This known technique is applicable to the system of Joao as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to virtual collaborative sessions. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized that applying the known technique of Greven would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Greven to the teachings of Joao would have yielded predictable results because the level of one of ordinary skill in the art would have known to incorporate such features (i.e., capturing a screenshot of a video such as a videoconference session) into similar systems.
Claim 17
Greven further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the computer stores the screenshot picture or the screenshot photograph of the first electronic forum session in the distributed ledger and blockchain technology system ([0064] The class specification 204 lists methods 208 that can be performed by the CollaborationEntity class. At least a portion of the methods 208 can result in an entry being written to a blockchain; [0084] Method 232 represents an example method for recording a chat event. The method 232 includes a parameter for indicating objects discussed in the chat, such as in the form of a vector with the object identifiers for objects discussed in the chat; [0085] The method 232 includes a parameter indicating parties participating in the chat, such as in the form of a vector that includes identifiers of the participating parties. The method 232 can include a parameter, such as a string, providing a description of the chat (e.g., the subject matter), and can include a value for a time at which the chat occurred. In at least some cases, chat contents (e.g., video, audio, text, screenshares) can be captured and made available for retrieval; [0094] The methods 208 can result in entries in a blockchain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the negotiation communications system of Joao with the limitations taught by Greven. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of verifying object integrity and validity and providing an auditable, verifiable record of activities (Greven – [0019], [0040]).
Claim 18
Greven further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the computer processes information for assigning a serial number or an authentication number to the first electronic forum session ([0010] A communication session, such as a chat session, is hosted between the first client system and at least a second client system regarding the collaboration entity instance. It is requested that a third record be recorded in the blockchain reflecting the hosting of the communication session; [0023] The hub can provide security or authentication services... Collaboration entity instances, or their elements, associated with hub activity can be given a fingerprint, including a fingerprint based on their content. Similarly, activities on the hub can be associated with fingerprints, including based on their content; [0057] The hub services 144 can include a chat service 182. The chat service 182 can allow users of client systems 108 to exchange messages regarding a particular topic or subject, which can be organized in various manners, such as with reference to a particular collaboration entity instance 148 or object instance 156. When a chat occurs, the chat service 182 can cause an entry to be written to the blockchain 132. The entry in the blockchain 132 for a chat can include information such as an identifier of the relevant collaboration entity instance 148, an identifier of the chat, authentication information from the chat; [0058] Authentication information for chat content can be generated in a similar manner as described for collaboration entity instances 148. That is, for example, authentication information can be generated from chat content, including from a representation, such as a binary representation, of the chat content. In a specific example, a hash value is generated from chat content, or a representation of the chat content).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the negotiation communications system of Joao with the limitations taught by Greven. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of tracking, verifying, and authenticating activities (Greven – [0023]).
Claim 20
Greven further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the distributed ledger and blockchain technology system is or includes a permissioned blockchain ([0056] Additional activities that can be tracked by the versioning service 180 can include tracking changes to access privileges for a collaboration entity instance 148, where any changes can also be recorded in an entry in the blockchain 132. In addition to an identifier for the collaboration entity instance 148 and its authentication information, the entry can include information identifying a party being granted access privileges or whose access privileges are being revoked or modified; [0057] When a chat occurs, the chat service 182 can cause an entry to be written to the blockchain 132… When a link to chat content is provided, the link can direct to the chat content as stored in the data store 140. However, in order to access the chat content in the data store 140, a user may need to have access to the hub system 112 and have suitable permissions or credentials to access the chat content; [0059] A fingerprint service 184 can be included as a hub service 144. The fingerprint service 184 can be used to generate and manage credentials associated with client systems 108, or to generate and manage identifiers associated with collaboration entity instances 148 (or components thereof) or events associated with the hub system 112, such as events related to collaboration entity instances. For example, when a new user of a client system 108, or a new client system, is to be provided access to the hub system 112, the user or client system 108 can be assigned credentials, such as a private key. The user or client system 108 can be provided with information needed to access hub services 144 and optionally particular data stored on or managed by the hub system 112, which as in the data store 140. Information provided to a client system 108 or user can include information necessary to set up a blockchain node 128 on the client system or to access a blockchain node stored elsewhere in the architecture 100, such as the blockchain node 146 stored on the hub system 112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the negotiation communications system of Joao with the limitations taught by Greven. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maintaining security and privacy while allowing collaboration between different entities (Greven – [0038]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joao (US-20170069047) in view of Greven et al. (US-20210105148), and further in view of Chung et al. (US-20220052864).
Claim 19
Joao, in combination with Greven, does not explicitly teach the following limitations:
wherein the first electronic forum and the second electronic forum are provided or transmitted the third communication device simultaneously.
Chung, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations:
wherein the first electronic forum and the second electronic forum are provided or transmitted the third communication device simultaneously ([0029] the convenience of a chat service user can be maximized by allowing the user to easily move amongst a plurality of chat rooms without moving chat windows. In addition, the host can provide various services to visitors by using chart rooms. In addition, if the location information is location information about a store, the host can chat with guests in multiple chat rooms in a single chat window).
This known technique is applicable to the system of Joao, in combination with Greven, as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to real-time virtual communication between multiple users. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized that applying the known technique of Chung would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Chung to the teachings of Joao, in combination with Greven, would have yielded predictable results because the level of one of ordinary skill in the art would have known to incorporate such features (i.e., simultaneously providing multiple communication interfaces corresponding to communications with multiple separate entities) into similar systems.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure or directed to the state of art, is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
/KARMA A EL-CHANTI/Examiner, Art Unit 3629 /SARAH M MONFELDT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3629