DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 1/8/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that "the search and examination for both groups would not be overly burdensome". This is not found persuasive because applicant’s argument is merely speculative and not supported by probative evidence. There is no certainty that uncovering limitations in the composition would necessarily lead to methods of making and/or using the composition as claimed, and the inventions require a different field of search, e.g. searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 8 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/8/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dueva-Koganov et al. (US 2008/0247976 A1), published 10/9/2008.
Regarding claim 1, Dueva-Koganov teaches a sunscreen composition comprising 1.5% of bemotrizinol and 7.5% of octinoxate by weight of the total composition [example 14]. These amounts fall within the ranges recited in the instant specification as amounts effective to improve photostability of octinoxate. (See instant specification paragraph [0066] which recites the range of, for example, about 0.1% to about 10% of bemotrizinol by weight of the total composition.)
Regarding claim 2, Dueva-Koganov teaches a sunscreen composition comprising bemotrizinol and octinoxate, and further comprising 2.0% of octisalate, 3.0% of avobenzone, and 3.0% (as is) or 1.50% (active level) of methylene bis-benzotriazolyl tetramethylbutylphenol (Tinosorb M) [example 14]. The additional sunscreen agents in the composition taught by Dueva-Koganov are present in the total amount of 8.0% (or 6.5% if measuring only the active level of Tinosorb M). This reads on the instant limitation wherein the composition comprises 10% or less by weight of the total composition of additional UV filters.
Regarding claim 3, the additional sunscreen actives taught in example 14 of the prior art (discussed above) are organic UV filters. See paragraphs [0091] and [0092] of the instant specification, which recites examples of organic UV filters. Thus, the prior art anticipates the instant limitation wherein the composition comprises 10% or less by weight of the total composition of additional organic UV filters.
Regarding claim 5, Dueva-Koganov teaches a sunscreen composition in the form of an emulsion [paragraph 0186]. Example 14 of the prior art (discussed earlier) contains an emulsifier and an emulsion stabilizer, indicating the composition is an emulsion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pereira et al. (US 2023/0240950 A1), published 8/3/2023.
Regarding claim 1, Pereira et al. teaches an anhydrous composition comprising a UV filter system [0001] of at least one organic UV filter [0069]. Pereira discloses ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate (octinoxate) [0073] and bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine (bemotrizinol) [0075] as suitable organic UV filters. Pereira further teaches that the UV filter system may be present in the composition in the amount of .01% to 40% by weight of the total composition [claim 4].
Regarding claim 4, Pereira et al. teaches an anhydrous cosmetic composition comprising a UV filter system [0001].
Regarding claim 6, Pereira et al. teaches an anhydrous cosmetic composition comprising a UV filter system in a stick format [0001].
Regarding claim 7, Pereira et al. teaches an anhydrous cosmetic composition comprising yellow 6 lake pigment [0096]. The instant specification at [0128] recites pigments as colorants, thus the prior art reads on coloring agent.
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dueva-Koganov et al. (US 2008/0247976 A1), published 10/9/2008.
Regarding claim 1, Dueva-Koganov teaches a sunscreen composition comprising 1.5% of bemotrizinol and 7.5% of octinoxate by weight of the total composition [example 14]. These amounts fall within the ranges recited in the instant specification as amounts effective to improve photostability of octinoxate. (See instant specification paragraph [0066] which recites the range of, for example, about 0.1% to about 10% of bemotrizinol by weight of the total composition.)
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Dueva-Koganov teaches a sunscreen composition comprising bemotrizinol and octinoxate, and further comprising 2.0% of octisalate, 3.0% of avobenzone, and 3.0% (as is) or 1.50% (active level) of methylene bis-benzotriazolyl tetramethylbutylphenol (Tinosorb M) [example 14]. The additional sunscreen agents in the composition taught by Dueva-Koganov are present in the total amount of 8.0% (or 6.5% if measuring only the active level of Tinosorb M). Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, the additional sunscreen actives taught in example 14 of the prior art (discussed above) are organic UV filters. See paragraphs [0091] and [0092] of the instant specification, which recite examples of organic UV filters. Thus, the prior art makes obvious the instant limitations wherein the composition comprises 10% or less by weight of the total composition of additional organic UV filters.
Regarding claim 4, Dueva-Koganov teaches that the composition may be anhydrous [0192], as such it would have been obvious to formulate any of the compositions to be anhydrous.
Regarding claim 5, Dueva-Koganov teaches a sunscreen composition in the form of an emulsion [paragraph 0186].
Regarding claim 6. Dueva-Koganov teaches a sunscreen composition in the form of a stick [0187].
Regarding claim 7, Dueva-Koganov teaches that the composition may comprise a colorant [0182].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/543756 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim a composition comprising bemotrizinol and octinoxate.
Regarding claim 1, the reference application claims a composition comprising bemotrizinol, avobenzone, and octinoxate, wherein the bemotrizinol is present in an amount effective to improve photostability of the octinoxate [ref. claims 1-2].
Regarding claim 2, the reference application claims a composition wherein composition comprises 10% or less by weight relative to the total weight of additional UV filters [ref. claim 3].
Regarding claim 3, the reference application claims a composition wherein composition comprises 10% or less by weight relative to the total weight of additional organic UV filters [ref. claim 4].
Regarding claim 5, the reference application claims a composition wherein the composition is in the form of an emulsion [ref. claim 5].
Regarding claim 6, the reference application claims a composition wherein the composition is in the form of a stick [ref. claim 6].
Regarding claim 7, the reference application claims a composition further comprising at least one coloring agent [ref. claim 7].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18/843756 in view of Pereira et al. (US 2023/0240950 A1).
Regarding claim 4, reference application ‘756 does not explicitly teach an anhydrous composition. Pereira teaches anhydrous sunscreen composition in stick form [001]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition to be anhydrous in order to formulate the composition in a format that is known in the art [004]. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to pursue the known options in the art and formulate a sunscreen free or substantially free of water [0004].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
/AMANDA LYNN CHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613