DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an object recognition module, which is configured to detect” and “a computing module, which is configured to calculate” in claims 9-15.
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the modules described in claims 9-15 have sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function because the claims are directed to determining a calibration matrix for a camera to correct perspective distortion.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 12-13, 15, 18-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 12, and 18 recite the limitation “the features extracted.” There is no antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. For the purpose of further examination, the limitation has been interpreted as “features extracted.” Claims 5, 13, and 19 depend from claims 4, 12, and 18, respectively, and therefore inherit this deficiency.
Claims 15 and 21 recite the limitation “the method steps are repeated…” There is no antecedent basis for “the method steps” in the claims. For the purpose of further examination, claim 15 has been interpreted as “the calculation is repeated …” (to correspond to the computing module) and claim 21 has been interpreted as “the operations are repeated …”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-12, 15-18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (“Video Stabilization with Distortion Correction for Wide-angle Lens Dashcam,” 2016 Asia-Pacific Signal and Information Processing Association Annual Summit and Conference (APSIPA), 13-16 December 2016), hereinafter referred to as Huang.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 9, Huang teaches a method, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carryout operations, and device for determining a calibration matrix for a camera (Huang Abstract: “This paper proposes a video stabilization algorithm … to better stabilize consecutive images captured by wide-angle dashcam mounted on a vehicle”; Huang pg. 3 right column: “real driving videos” – the algorithm is run on a vehicle comprising a processor and memory in order to process the real driving videos), comprising the following steps/operations:
detecting at least one object, which moves in a sequence of camera images between image areas having different levels of distortion (Huang Abstract & pg. 3 discussed above; Huang Fig. 1: “Feature extraction”; Huang pg. 2 left column: “Scale Invariant Feature Transform (SIFT) is performed on each image for the subsequence processing”; Huang pg. 2 right column: “For an input video, we detect image pair using standard SIFT”; Huang Fig. 2: the detected objects correspond to a plurality of vehicles in motion);
calculating an expected perspective-related distortion of the at least one object (Huang Fig. 1: “Motion and Distortion Estimation”; Huang pg. 2 right column: “For every real camera, some amount of radial distortion is always present and for eq. (1) to be true, one must first undistort the image points … we use the one-parameter division model for radial distortion modeling”; Huang Fig. 3: “Input video –distortion→ distorted input video” );
determining an observed distortion of the at least one object (Hung Fig. 3: “Distortion Parameter & Camera motion estimation → Undistortion”; Huang pg. 2 right column: “By combining eq. (1) with the same undistortion model, we obtain the following equation relating image correspondences distorted with different amounts of radial distortion”);
calculating a camera-related distortion of the at least one object from the observed distortion and the expected perspective-related distortion (Huang pg. 2 & Fig. 3 discussed above); and
calculating a calibration matrix from the camera-related distortion (Huang Fig. 1: “Motion Compensation”; Huang pg. 3 right column: “the stabilization matrix … each image point, xi,t, which is undistorted by the estimated λt is transformed”).
Regarding claims 2, 16, and 10, Huang teaches the method, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and device as claimed in claims 1, 8, and 9, wherein object recognition and object classification are carried out for the detection of the at least one object (Huang Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 3, 17, and 11, Huang teaches the method, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and device as claimed in claims 1, 8, and 9, wherein distance and position of the at least one object are determined in successive camera images and the expected perspective-related distortion is calculated on the basis of distance and position (Huang pg. 2 right column: “the homogeneous coordinate of the detected and radially distorted image points”; Huang eq. (1)-(4): the equations require the positions of each feature point – Huang uses a polynomial radial distortion model which uses a polynomial distortion function to transform between distorted and undistorted pixels in correspondence to the radii, which is the Euclidean distance from the distortion center to a distorted point).
Regarding claims 4, 18, and 12, Huang teaches the method, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and device as claimed in claims 1, 8, and 9, wherein feature tracking is carried out for the at least one object, and the features extracted during the feature tracking are used for calculating the expected perspective-related distortion and determining the observed distortion (Huang Fig. 1: “Feature Extraction”; Huang Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 7, 21, and 15, Huang teaches the method, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and device as claimed in claims 1, 8, and 9, wherein the calculated calibration matrix is applied to the camera images and the method steps are repeated iteratively until a minimal camera-related distortion is achieved (Huang pg. 2 left column: “applied iteratively to remove outliers”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (2016 APSIPA, 13-16 December 2016), in view of Parchami et al. (US 2023/0145701 A1), hereinafter referred to as Huang and Parchami, respectively.
Regarding claims 5, 19, and 13, Huang teaches the method, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and device as claimed in claims 4, 18, and 12, but does not appear to explicitly teach that vanishing points in the camera images are determined for the calculation of the expected perspective-related distortion
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Parchami teaches that vanishing points in the camera images are determined for the calculation of the expected perspective-related distortion (Parchami ¶¶0023: “instructions to determine the first distance based on a distance, in pixels, from the vanishing point to the center of the bottom face, a distance, in pixels, from the vanishing point to the intersection, and the calibration parameters”; Parchami Fig. 6 & ¶¶0060: “Traffic flow analysis begins by determining a vanishing point xoo in the image 300. Vanishing point xoo can be determined by constructing a series of lines 604, 606, 608, 610 (dotted lines) along features known to be parallel in the real-world, i.e., traffic lanes on the roadway 210. The vanishing point xoo is the point where the lines 604, 606, 608, 610 meet due to perspective distortion in the image 300. Assume the problem is to determine a distance dx1,x2 between points x1 and x2 in image 300 in real-world coordinates. Then the problem can be solved by expressing the distance dx1,x2 as a cross-ratio invariance equation”).
Huang and Parchami are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to image processing and camera calibration. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the video stabilization with distortion correction for wide-angle lens dashcam (as taught by Huang) to determine the vanishing point (as taught by Parchami) because the combination can solve the perspective distortion problem using a cross-ratio invariance (Parchami ¶¶0060).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 14, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 6, 20, and 14, the closest prior art (Huang) teaches the method, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and device as claimed in claims 1, 8, and 9, wherein the scaling of the pixel values increases from a central area of the camera images towards edge areas of the camera images (Huang pg. 2 right column: “A. Radial affine matrix estimation” – as noted above, Huang uses a polynomial radial distortion model which uses a polynomial distortion function to transform between distorted and undistorted pixels in correspondence to the radii, which is the Euclidean distance from the distortion center to a distorted point).
An additional prior art reference (Usamentiaga et al., “Static Calibration for Line-Scan Cameras Based on a Novel Calibration Target,” IEEE Transactions on Instrumentation and Measurement, Vol. 71, 5015812, 2022, hereinafter Usamentiaga) further teaches that the calibration matrix is based on line by line and column by column scaling of the pixel values of the camera images (Usamentiaga Fig. 2: the calibration increases from the center to the edges, center is indicated by red +, the values increase column-by-column and line/row-by-line/row; further see Usamentiaga Fig. 4).
However, the prior art, alone or in combination, does not appear to teach or suggest that the calibration matrix based on line-by-line and column-by-column scaling of the pixel values (the actual pixel values increase outward from the center, shown in Applicant’s Figs. 8-9).
Usamentiaga Fig. 2
Usamentiaga Fig. 4
Application Fig. 8
Application Fig. 9
Conclusion
/Soo Shin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667 571-272-9753
soo.shin@uspto.gov