Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species B, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 08/28/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
The phrase of “for cyclically operating a non-cyclic heat exchager” is understood as being directed to and further reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention which does not result in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art do not limit the claim and do not distinguish over the prior art apparatus (or process). See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the claimed invention, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and cases cited therein, as it has been held that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2111.02 and § 2112 - § 2112.02.
The term “non-cyclic heat exchanger” is interpreted under its broadest reasonable meaning in the light of the Specification as a “heater” configured to heat the recited gas stream. The phrase “for cyclically operating” identifies the intended operating context and does not, by itself, impose a distinct structural limitation on the heater. In addition, the claim does not positively provide a step of ‘providing a non-cyclic heat exchanger’. Therefore, the term does not require a particular non-cyclic operating sequence or impose a separate limitation beyond the recited steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Othmer (US 4405343) [or Dunn (US 20240058740)] in view of Venkatesan et al (US 20230182065; hereinafter Venkatesan).
As regarding claim 1, Othmer (or Dunn) discloses the claimed invention for a method for cyclically operating a non-cyclic heat exchanger, the method comprising: i) operating the non-cyclic heat exchanger in a heating mode comprising flowing a gas stream heated by the non-cyclic heat exchanger through a dehydrator bed to heat the dehydrator bed to a target regeneration temperature at which the dehydrator bed regenerates (dehydrating by adsorption on solid particulate desiccant, the inert regeneration gas 250 bypass an adsorber B in adsorption mode after having heated adsorber B by passing through heat exchangers 255/260 and cooled adsorber B by bypassing heat exchangers 255/260 in preceding regeneration stages while a parallel adsorber A was in adsorption mode); ii) after the dehydrator bed reaches the target regeneration temperature, operating the non-cyclic heat exchanger in a cooling mode comprising diverting a first portion of the gas stream away from entering the first side of the non-cyclic heat exchanger and flowing the first portion of the gas stream through the dehydrator bed to cool the dehydrator bed to a target dehydrator temperature that is less than the target regeneration temperature (around adsorber B has been regenerated and cooled and through adsorber A being heated for regeneration) (or Dunn – around TSA2 has been regenerated and cooled and through TSA1 being heated for regeneration, to bypass the dehydrator bed); iii) after the dehydrator bed reaches the target dehydration temperature, operating the non-cyclic heat exchanger in a standby mode comprising flowing the gas stream from the non-cyclic heat exchanger around the dehydrator bed to bypass the dehydrator bed (processing stage when adsorber B is adsorbing water from a hot gas stream, while the other adsorbent A is off-line being heated with inert regeneration gas passing through heat exchangers 255/260; adsorber B) (or Dunn – when TSA2 is adsorbing water, while the other adsorbent vessel TSA1 is off-line being heated with dry N2 gas passing through N2 heater 134); and iv) repeating steps i), ii), and iii) sequentially to cyclically operate the non-cyclic heat exchanger (col 8 ln 66 – col 10 ln 8 and fig. 2) (or Dunn – [0027] and [0030]-[0031]).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide step (iii) in order to enhance system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Venkatesan ([0105], [0107], and [0111] – ‘stand-by’ / ‘bypass’ mode).
As regarding claim 2, Othmer (or Dunn) as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Othmer (or Dunn) as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the heating mode is a first heating mode, and the method further comprises operating the non-cyclic heat exchanger in a second heating mode, wherein operating the non-cyclic heat exchanger in the second heating mode comprises, after heating the gas stream, flowing at least a portion of the gas stream from the first side of the non-cyclic heat exchanger through a second dehydrator bed until the second dehydrator bed reaches a second target regeneration temperature and the second dehydrator bed has been regenerated. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the heating mode is a first heating mode, and the method further comprises operating the non-cyclic heat exchanger in a second heating mode, wherein operating the non-cyclic heat exchanger in the second heating mode comprises, after heating the gas stream, flowing at least a portion of the gas stream from the first side of the non-cyclic heat exchanger through a second dehydrator bed until the second dehydrator bed reaches a second target regeneration temperature and the second dehydrator bed has been regenerated in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance, unless a new and unexpected result is produced, since it involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Claim(s) 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Othmer (US 4405343) [or Dunn (US 20240058740)] in view of Venkatesan et al (US 20230182065; hereinafter Venkatesan), as applied supra, and further in view of Fisel et al (US 20190217244; hereinafter Fisel).
As regarding claim 3, Othmer (or Dunn) as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Othmer (or Dunn) as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the cooling mode is a first cooling mode, and the method further comprises, after the second dehydrator bed reaches the second target regeneration temperature, operating the non-cyclic heat exchanger in a second cooling mode, wherein operating the non-cyclic heat exchanger in the second cooling mode comprises diverting a third portion of the gas stream away from entering the first side of the non-cyclic heat exchanger and flowing the third portion of the gas stream through the second dehydrator bed to cool the second dehydrator bed to a second target dehydration temperature. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the cooling mode is a first cooling mode, and the method further comprises, after the second dehydrator bed reaches the second target regeneration temperature, operating the non-cyclic heat exchanger in a second cooling mode, wherein operating the non-cyclic heat exchanger in the second cooling mode comprises diverting a third portion of the gas stream away from entering the first side of the non-cyclic heat exchanger and flowing the third portion of the gas stream through the second dehydrator bed to cool the second dehydrator bed to a second target dehydration temperature in order to allow the second adsorber to be cooled to its operating temperature before being returned to adsorption service, since it was known cooling sequence to a known cyclic adsorption system in the art as shown in Fisel ([0100], [0105] and figs. 1-3).
As regarding claim 8, Othmer (or Dunn) as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Othmer (or Dunn) as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the non-cyclic heat exchanger is operated in the standby mode after the dehydrator bed reaches the target dehydration temperature and after the second dehydrator bed reaches the second target dehydration temperature. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the non-cyclic heat exchanger is operated in the standby mode after the dehydrator bed reaches the target dehydration temperature and after the second dehydrator bed reaches the second target dehydration temperature in order to avoid switching operating modes before the beds are ready, since it was known cooling sequence to a known cyclic adsorption system in the art as shown in Fisel ([0100], [0105] and figs. 1-3).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Othmer (US 4405343) [or Dunn (US 20240058740)] in view of Venkatesan et al (US 20230182065; hereinafter Venkatesan) and Fisel et al (US 20190217244; hereinafter Fisel), as applied supra, and further in view of Acharya et al (US 5672196; hereinafter Acharya).
As regarding claim 4, Othmer (or Dunn) as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Othmer (or Dunn) as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the non-cyclic heat exchanger is operated in the first heating mode and the second heating mode simultaneously. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the non-cyclic heat exchanger is operated in the first heating mode and the second heating mode simultaneously in order to coordinating regeneration of multiple adsorbent beds and reducing the time required to complete regeneration operations, since it was known in the art as shown in Acharya (abstract, claims 17-20, and figs. 1-4).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Othmer (US 4405343) [or Dunn (US 20240058740)] in view of Venkatesan et al (US 20230182065; hereinafter Venkatesan) and Fisel et al (US 20190217244; hereinafter Fisel), as applied supra, and further in view of McMinn et al (US 3527024; hereinafter McMinn).
As regarding claim 5, Othmer (or Dunn) as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Othmer (or Dunn) as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the non-cyclic heat exchanger is operated in the first cooling mode and the second cooling mode simultaneously. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the non-cyclic heat exchanger is operated in the first cooling mode and the second cooling mode simultaneously in order to improve utilization of the gas stream and coordinate the regeneration cycles of multiple beds, since it was known cooling sequence to a known in the art as shown in McMinn (abstract and figs. 1-4).
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Othmer (US 4405343) [or Dunn (US 20240058740)] in view of Venkatesan et al (US 20230182065; hereinafter Venkatesan) and Fisel et al (US 20190217244; hereinafter Fisel), as applied supra, and further in view of Cartwright et al (US 20080141714; hereinafter Cartwright).
As regarding claim 6, Othmer (or Dunn) as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Othmer (or Dunn) as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the non-cyclic heat exchanger is operated in the first heating mode and the second cooling mode simultaneously. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the non-cyclic heat exchanger is operated in the first heating mode and the second cooling mode simultaneously in order to overlap the regeneration and cooling stages to coordinate the beds’ operating cycles and reduce idle time, since it was known cooling sequence to a known in the art as shown in Cartwright (abstract, [0019]-[0020], [0023] and figs. 1-2).
As regarding claim 7, Othmer (or Dunn) as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Othmer (or Dunn) as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the non-cyclic heat exchanger is operated in the second heating mode and the first cooling mode simultaneously. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the non-cyclic heat exchanger is operated in the second heating mode and the first cooling mode simultaneously in order to overlap the regeneration and cooling stages to coordinate the beds’ operating cycles and reduce the time a bed remains unavailable for adsorption, since it was known cooling sequence to a known in the art as shown in Cartwright (abstract, [0019]-[0020], [0023] and figs. 1-2).
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773