DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code in paragraphs 36 and 39. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dueva-Koganov et al. (US PGPub No. 2008/0247976).
Dueva-Koganov et al. disclose a cosmetic emulsion composition that includes octinoxate at 7.5 wt%, avobenzone at 3 wt%, and bemotrizinol at 1.5 wt% (see example 14; instant claim 5). These amounts and ratios fall within the ranges recited in the instant specification as “effective” for stabilization (see paragraphs 70-75; instant claims 1-2 and 9-10). Additional sunscreen actives (active agent) are present at 3.5 wt% (see instant claims 3-4 and 8). Therefore claims 1-5 and 8-10 are anticipated by Dueva-Koganov et al.
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berg-Shultz et al. (US PGPub No. 2006/0073106).
Berg-Shultz et al. disclose a cosmetic emulsion composition that includes active agent (tocopherol acetate), pigments/mineral sunscreens (colorant), avobenzone (Parsol® 1789) at 3 wt% and bemotrizinol (Tinosorb® S) at 5 wt% (see example 9 and paragraphs 30, 32, and 42; instant claims 1, 5, 7, and 9). These amounts and ratios fall within the ranges recited in the instant specification as “effective” for stabilization (see paragraphs 70-75; instant claims 1-2 and 9-10). An encapsulated cinnamate is also present. Encapsulated ethylhexyl cinnamate (octinoxate) is the only particular cinnamate employed in the examples characterizing the stabilizing effect of encapsulating cinnamate compounds which is the focus of Berg-Shultz et al. (see abstract). Additional sunscreen actives (active agent) are present at less than 10 wt% (see instant claims 3-4 and 8). Therefore its inclusion as the encapsulated cinnamate of the subsequent is implicit from this discussion as well as its recitation in the claims (see example 1 and claims 1-8). Therefore claims 1-5 and 7-10 are anticipated by Berg-Shultz et al.
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Birrenbach (US Patent No. 6,803,063).
Birrenbach discloses the photostabilization of dibenzoylmethane derivatives via the inclusion of bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) (see abstract, column 2 lines 5-15, 47-58, 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6). They detail and exemplify avobenzone as a dibenzoylmethane derivative stabilized by the presence of bemotrizinol in sunscreen compositions (see column 2 line 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Examples 1A-1C are emulsions devoid of other UV filters (see instant claims 3-4). The bemotrizinol is provided at 0.5 to 10 wt% while the dibenzoylmethane derivative is provided at 0.1 to 10 wt%, where examples have the bemotrizinol and avobenzone at a ratio of 2:1 and 1:1, respectively (see column 2 lines 47-58 and column 3 line 11-15 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C; instant claims 1 and 5). Birrenbach exemplify emulsions and detail other contemplated forms that include sticks (see column 3 lines 66-column 4 line 15; instant claims 5-6). In addition to stabilizing dibenzoylmethane derivatives, the bemotrizinol also stabilizes cinnamic acid esters (see column 2 lines 34-46). Examples provide the trio of octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) as the cinnamic acid ester along with bemotrizinol and avobenzone at 2:2:1 and 1:2:1 (see column 7 lines 7-10, tables 1-2, and formulation examples 1g-1I; instant claims 1-2 and 9-10). Octinoxate can fulfill the role of the instant at least one active agent or the instant optional octinoxate (see instant claim 8). Therefore claims 1-6 and 8-10 are anticipated by Birrenbach.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dueva-Koganov et al.
Dueva-Koganov et al. teach a sunscreen composition that includes at least one sunscreening agent (see abstract). They disclose a cosmetic emulsion form that includes octinoxate at 7.5 wt%, avobenzone at 3 wt%, and bemotrizinol at 1.5 wt% (see example 14; instant claim 5). These amounts and ratios fall within the ranges recited in the instant specification as “effective” for stabilization (see paragraphs 70-75; instant claims 1-2 and 9-10). Additional sunscreen actives (active agent) are present at 3.5 wt% (see instant claims 3-4 and 8). In addition to emulsion forms, Dueva-Koganov et al. also teach stick forms (see paragraph 187). They further detail the inclusion of cosmetically acceptable ingredients such as colorants (see paragraph 182). While a full example of each embodiment that follows from the teachings of Dueva-Koganov et al. is not detailed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formulate the active components of example 14 as a stick because Dueva-Koganov et al. teach emulsions and sticks as alternative forms of their composition. It also would have been obvious to include a colorant in the sunscreen embodiments because Dueva-Koganov et al. suggest to do so. Therefore claims 1-10 are obvious over Dueva-Koganov et al.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. (US Patent No. 4,695,452).
Birrenbach discloses the photostabilization of dibenzoylmethane derivatives via the inclusion of bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) (see abstract, column 2 lines 5-15, 47-58, 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6). They detail and exemplify avobenzone as a dibenzoylmethane derivative stabilized by the presence of bemotrizinol in sunscreen compositions (see column 2 line 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Examples 1A-1C are emulsions devoid of other UV filters (see instant claims 3-4). The bemotrizinol is provided at 0.5 to 10 wt%, while the dibenzoylmethane derivative is provided at 0.1 to 10 wt% where examples have the bemotrizinol and avobenzone at a ratio of 2:1 and 1:1, respectively (see column 2 lines 47-58 and column 3 line 11-15 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C; instant claims 1 and 5). Birrenbach exemplify emulsions and detail other contemplated forms that include sticks (see column 3 lines 66-column 4 line 15; instant claims 5-6). In addition to stabilizing dibenzoylmethane derivatives, the bemotrizinol also stabilizes cinnamic acid esters (see column 2 lines 34-46). Examples provide the trio of octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) as the cinnamic acid ester along with bemotrizinol and avobenzone at 2:2:1 and 1:2:1 (see column 7 lines 7-10, tables 1-2, and formulation examples 1g-1I; instant claims 1-2 and 9-10). Octinoxate can fulfill the role of the instant at least one active agent or the instant optional octinoxate (see instant claim 8). Birrenbach additionally teach the inclusion of anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, all of which can be deemed active agents. They also teach the inclusion of titanium dioxide, a coloring agent and UV filter (see column 5 lines 54-65; Gannis et al. column claim 7). While a full example of each embodiment that follows from the teachings of Birrenbach is not detailed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add anti-oxidants, vitamins, or skin care agents to the exemplified compositions of Birrenbach because they teach to do so. It also would have been obvious to include titanium dioxide because Birrenbach teach to do so. Therefore claims 1-10 are obvious over Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view of Dueva-Koganov et al.
Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. teaches the limitations of instant claims 1-10, where bemotrizinol and avobenzone, optionally in combination with octinoxate, are present in a sunscreen composition. The presence of a colorant is not exemplified in a composition.
Dueva-Koganov et al. teach a sunscreen composition that includes at least one sunscreening agent (see abstract). They disclose a cosmetic emulsion form that includes octinoxate at 7.5 wt%, avobenzone at 3 wt%, and bemotrizinol at 1.5 wt% (see example 14; instant claim 5). In addition to emulsion forms, Dueva-Koganov et al. also teach stick forms (see paragraph 187). They further detail the inclusion of cosmetically acceptable ingredients such as colorants (see paragraph 182).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a colorant to the composition of Birrenbach in light of the teachings of Dueva-Koganov et al. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are obvious over Birrenbach in view of Dueva-Koganov et al. as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 11,931,439 in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Robinson (US Patent No. 5,968,485).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims a topical composition that can be an emulsion (cream) and comprises UV screening actives. At least one UV screening active is selected from a grouping that includes bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) and avobenzone (butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane), and octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) (see Robinson column 4 lines 49-53). Both a colorant and active agents are also recited components. A particular combination of instantly claimed UV filters is not recited.
Birrenbach teach of the photostabilization of dibenzoylmethane derivatives via the inclusion of bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) (see abstract, column 2 lines 5-15, 47-58, 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6). They detail and exemplify 4-tert-butyl-4’-methoxydibenzoylmethane, also known as avobenzone, as a dibenzoylmethane derivative stabilized by the presence of bemotrizinol in sunscreen compositions (see column 2 line 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Examples 1A-1C are emulsions devoid of other UV filters (see instant claims 3-4). The bemotrizinol is provided at 0.5 to 10 wt% while the dibenzoylmethane derivative is provided at 0.1 to 10 wt% where examples have the bemotrizinol and avobenzone at a ratio of 2:1 and 1:1, respectively (see column 2 lines 47-58 and column 3 line 11-15 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Birrenbach exemplify emulsions and detail other contemplated forms that include sticks (see column 3 lines 66-column 4 line 15). In addition to stabilizing dibenzoylmethane derivatives, the bemotrizinol also stabilizes cinnamic acid esters (see column 2 lines 34-46). Examples provide the trio of octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) as the cinnamic acid ester along with bemotrizinol and avobenzone at 2:2:1 and 1:2:1 (see column 7 lines 7-10, tables 1-2, and formulation examples 1g-1I). This grouping of bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate provides long lasting, high sun protection factors (see column 3 lines 16-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate as the UV filters of the patented claims in light of Birrenbach who teach their combination as particularly useful in attaining a high performing and stable UV protective composition. This modification is obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Their inclusion at ratios that stabilize the avobenzone and octinoxate would follow as would formation into a stick or emulsion as contemplated forms for such compositions. Additional UV filters are not required. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 11,931,439 in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Robinson.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 8,778,313 in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. and Robinson.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims a topical composition that can be an emulsion and comprises UV screening actives. At least one UV screening active selected from a grouping that includes triazines, cinnamates, and dibenzoylmethanes is recited. A narrower listing recites bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine), avobenzone (butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane), and octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) (see Robinson column 4 lines 49-53). Titanium dioxide is also an envisioned UV filter which also can fulfill the role of a colorant. A particular combination of instantly claimed UV filters is not recited.
Birrenbach teach of the photostabilization of dibenzoylmethane derivatives via the inclusion of bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) (see abstract, column 2 lines 5-15, 47-58, 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6). They detail and exemplify 4-tert-butyl-4’-methoxydibenzoylmethane, also known as avobenzone, as a dibenzoylmethane derivative stabilized by the presence of bemotrizinol in sunscreen compositions (see column 2 line 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Examples 1A-1C are emulsions devoid of other UV filters (see instant claims 3-4). The bemotrizinol is provided at 0.5 to 10 wt% while the dibenzoylmethane derivative is provided at 0.1 to 10 wt% where examples have the bemotrizinol and avobenzone at a ratio of 2:1 and 1:1, respectively (see column 2 lines 47-58 and column 3 line 11-15 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Birrenbach exemplify emulsions and detail other contemplated forms that include sticks (see column 3 lines 66-column 4 line 15). In addition to stabilizing dibenzoylmethane derivatives, the bemotrizinol also stabilizes cinnamic acid esters (see column 2 lines 34-46). Examples provide the trio of octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) as the cinnamic acid ester along with bemotrizinol and avobenzone at 2:2:1 and 1:2:1 (see column 7 lines 7-10, tables 1-2, and formulation examples 1g-1I). This grouping of bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate provides long lasting, high sun protection factors (see column 3 lines 16-42). Octinoxate can fulfill the role of the instant at least one active agent or the instant optional octinoxate (see instant claim 8). Birrenbach additionally teach the inclusion of anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, all of which can be deemed active agents. They also teach the inclusion of titanium dioxide, a coloring agent and UV filter (see column 5 lines 54-65; Gannis et al. column claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate as the UV filters of the patented claims in light of Birrenbach who teach their combination as particularly useful in attaining a high performing and stable UV protective composition. This modification is obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Their inclusion at ratios that stabilize the avobenzone and octinoxate would follow as would formation into a stick or emulsion as contemplated forms for such compositions. Additional UV filters are not required. Alternatively, titanium dioxide could be included as recited by the patented claims and by Birrenbach as a contemplated further addition. Similarly it would have been obvious to add anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, in light of Birrenbach to confer their desired properties as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 8,778,313 in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. and Robinson.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 8,778,313 in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. and Robinson as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view of Dueva-Koganov et al.
Claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 8,778,313 in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. and Robinson render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-10 where bemotrizinol and avobenzone, optionally in combination with octinoxate, are present in a sunscreen composition. The presence of a colorant is not exemplified in a composition.
Dueva-Koganov et al. teach a sunscreen composition that includes at least one sunscreening agent (see abstract). They disclose a cosmetic emulsion form that includes octinoxate at 7.5 wt%, avobenzone at 3 wt%, and bemotrizinol at 1.5 wt% (see example 14; instant claim 5). In addition to emulsion forms, Dueva-Koganov et al. also teach stick forms (see paragraph 187). They further detail the inclusion of cosmetically acceptable ingredients such as colorants (see paragraph 182).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a colorant to the composition of the modified patented claims in light of the teachings of Dueva-Koganov et al. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 8,778,313 in view of Birrenbach and Dueva-Koganov et al.as evidenced by Gannis et al. and Robinson.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 8,765,101 or claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 9,358,192, each separately in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. and Robinson.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims a topical composition that comprises UV screening actives. At least one UV screening active selected from a grouping that includes triazines, cinnamates, and dibenzoylmethanes is recited. A narrower listing recites bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine), avobenzone (butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane), and octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) (see Robinson column 4 lines 49-53). Titanium dioxide is also an envisioned UV filter which also can fulfill the role of a colorant. A particular combination of instantly claimed UV filters is not recited.
Birrenbach teach of the photostabilization of dibenzoylmethane derivatives via the inclusion of bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) (see abstract, column 2 lines 5-15, 47-58, 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6). They detail and exemplify 4-tert-butyl-4’-methoxydibenzoylmethane, also known as avobenzone, as a dibenzoylmethane derivative stabilized by the presence of bemotrizinol in sunscreen compositions (see column 2 line 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Examples 1A-1C are emulsions devoid of other UV filters (see instant claims 3-4). The bemotrizinol is provided at 0.5 to 10 wt% while the dibenzoylmethane derivative is provided at 0.1 to 10 wt% where examples have the bemotrizinol and avobenzone at a ratio of 2:1 and 1:1, respectively (see column 2 lines 47-58 and column 3 line 11-15 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Birrenbach exemplify emulsions and detail other contemplated forms that include sticks (see column 3 lines 66-column 4 line 15). In addition to stabilizing dibenzoylmethane derivatives, the bemotrizinol also stabilizes cinnamic acid esters (see column 2 lines 34-46). Examples provide the trio of octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) as the cinnamic acid ester along with bemotrizinol and avobenzone at 2:2:1 and 1:2:1 (see column 7 lines 7-10, tables 1-2, and formulation examples 1g-1I). This grouping of bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate provides long lasting, high sun protection factors (see column 3 lines 16-42). Octinoxate can fulfill the role of the instant at least one active agent or the instant optional octinoxate (see instant claim 8). Birrenbach additionally teach the inclusion of anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, all of which can be deemed active agents. They also teach the inclusion of titanium dioxide, a coloring agent and UV filter (see column 5 lines 54-65; Gannis et al. column claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate as the UV filters of the patented claims in light of Birrenbach who teach their combination as particularly useful in attaining a high performing and stable UV protective composition. This modification is obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Their inclusion at ratios that stabilize the avobenzone and octinoxate would follow as would formation into a stick or emulsion as contemplated forms for such compositions. Additional UV filters are not required. Alternatively, titanium dioxide could be included as recited by the patented claims and by Birrenbach as a contemplated further addition. Similarly it would have been obvious to add anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, in light of Birrenbach to confer their desired properties as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 8,765,101 or claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 9,358,192, each separately in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. and Robinson.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 8,765,101 or claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 9,358,192, each separately in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. and Robinson as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view of Dueva-Koganov et al.
Claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 8,765,101 or claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 9,358,192, each separately in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. and Robinson render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-10 where bemotrizinol and avobenzone, optionally in combination with octinoxate, are present in a sunscreen composition. The presence of a colorant is not exemplified in a composition.
Dueva-Koganov et al. teach a sunscreen composition that includes at least one sunscreening agent (see abstract). They disclose a cosmetic emulsion form that includes octinoxate at 7.5 wt%, avobenzone at 3 wt%, and bemotrizinol at 1.5 wt% (see example 14; instant claim 5). In addition to emulsion forms, Dueva-Koganov et al. also teach stick forms (see paragraph 187). They further detail the inclusion of cosmetically acceptable ingredients such as colorants (see paragraph 182).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a colorant to the composition of the modified patented claims in light of the teachings of Dueva-Koganov et al. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 8,765,101 or claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 9,358,192, each separately in view of Birrenbach and Dueva-Koganov et al.as evidenced by Gannis et al. and Robinson.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 7,402,300, or claims 1-16 U.S. Patent No. 12,102,700, or claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,472,192, each separately in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. and Robinson.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims a topical composition that comprises UV screening actives. At least one UV screening active selected from a grouping that includes triazines, cinnamates, and dibenzoylmethanes is recited. A narrower listing recites bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine), avobenzone (butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane), and octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) (see Robinson column 4 lines 49-53). A particular combination of instantly claimed UV filters is not recited.
Birrenbach teach of the photostabilization of dibenzoylmethane derivatives via the inclusion of bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) (see abstract, column 2 lines 5-15, 47-58, 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6). They detail and exemplify 4-tert-butyl-4’-methoxydibenzoylmethane, also known as avobenzone, as a dibenzoylmethane derivative stabilized by the presence of bemotrizinol in sunscreen compositions (see column 2 line 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Examples 1A-1C are emulsions devoid of other UV filters (see instant claims 3-4). The bemotrizinol is provided at 0.5 to 10 wt% while the dibenzoylmethane derivative is provided at 0.1 to 10 wt% where examples have the bemotrizinol and avobenzone at a ratio of 2:1 and 1:1, respectively (see column 2 lines 47-58 and column 3 line 11-15 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Birrenbach exemplify emulsions and detail other contemplated forms that include sticks (see column 3 lines 66-column 4 line 15). In addition to stabilizing dibenzoylmethane derivatives, the bemotrizinol also stabilizes cinnamic acid esters (see column 2 lines 34-46). Examples provide the trio of octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) as the cinnamic acid ester along with bemotrizinol and avobenzone at 2:2:1 and 1:2:1 (see column 7 lines 7-10, tables 1-2, and formulation examples 1g-1I). This grouping of bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate provides long lasting, high sun protection factors (see column 3 lines 16-42). Octinoxate can fulfill the role of the instant at least one active agent or the instant optional octinoxate (see instant claim 8). Birrenbach additionally teach the inclusion of anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, all of which can be deemed active agents. They also teach the inclusion of titanium dioxide, a coloring agent and UV filter (see column 5 lines 54-65; Gannis et al. column claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate as the UV filters of the patented claims in light of Birrenbach who teach their combination as particularly useful in attaining a high performing and stable UV protective composition. This modification is obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Their inclusion at ratios that stabilize the avobenzone and octinoxate would follow as would formation into a stick or emulsion as contemplated forms for such compositions. Additional UV filters are not required. Alternatively, titanium dioxide could be included as recited by Birrenbach as a contemplated further addition. Similarly it would have been obvious to add anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, in light of Birrenbach to confer their desired properties as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 7,402,300, or claims 1-16 U.S. Patent No. 12,102,700, or claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,472,192, each separately in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. and Robinson.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 7,402,300, or claims 1-16 U.S. Patent No. 12,102,700, or claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,472,192, each separately in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. and Robinson as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view of Dueva-Koganov et al.
Claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 7,402,300, or claims 1-16 U.S. Patent No. 12,102,700, or claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,472,192, each separately in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. and Robinson render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-10 where bemotrizinol and avobenzone, optionally in combination with octinoxate, are present in a sunscreen composition. The presence of a colorant is not exemplified in a composition.
Dueva-Koganov et al. teach a sunscreen composition that includes at least one sunscreening agent (see abstract). They disclose a cosmetic emulsion form that includes octinoxate at 7.5 wt%, avobenzone at 3 wt%, and bemotrizinol at 1.5 wt% (see example 14; instant claim 5). In addition to emulsion forms, Dueva-Koganov et al. also teach stick forms (see paragraph 187). They further detail the inclusion of cosmetically acceptable ingredients such as colorants (see paragraph 182).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a colorant to the composition of the modified patented claims in light of the teachings of Dueva-Koganov et al. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 7,402,300, or claims 1-16 U.S. Patent No. 12,102,700, or claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,472,192, each separately in view of Birrenbach and Dueva-Koganov et al.as evidenced by Gannis et al. and Robinson.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 8,747,816 or claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 8,961,941, or claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 8,025867, each separately in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims a stabilized topical composition comprising a dibenzoylmethane that can be an emulsion and comprises one or more other UV screening actives. Avobenzone (4-tert-butyl-4’-methoxydibenzoylmethane) is a recited dibenzoylmethane. At least one UV screening active selected from a grouping that includes bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) and octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) is also recited. Titanium dioxide is an envisioned UV filter which also can fulfill the role of a colorant. A particular combination of instantly claimed UV filters is not recited.
Birrenbach teach of the photostabilization of dibenzoylmethane derivatives via the inclusion of bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) (see abstract, column 2 lines 5-15, 47-58, 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6). They detail and exemplify 4-tert-butyl-4’-methoxydibenzoylmethane, also known as avobenzone, as a dibenzoylmethane derivative stabilized by the presence of bemotrizinol in sunscreen compositions (see column 2 line 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Examples 1A-1C are emulsions devoid of other UV filters (see instant claims 3-4). The bemotrizinol is provided at 0.5 to 10 wt% while the dibenzoylmethane derivative is provided at 0.1 to 10 wt% where examples have the bemotrizinol and avobenzone at a ratio of 2:1 and 1:1, respectively (see column 2 lines 47-58 and column 3 line 11-15 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Birrenbach exemplify emulsions and detail other contemplated forms that include sticks (see column 3 lines 66-column 4 line 15). In addition to stabilizing dibenzoylmethane derivatives, the bemotrizinol also stabilizes cinnamic acid esters (see column 2 lines 34-46). Examples provide the trio of octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) as the cinnamic acid ester along with bemotrizinol and avobenzone at 2:2:1 and 1:2:1 (see column 7 lines 7-10, tables 1-2, and formulation examples 1g-1I). This grouping of bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate provides long lasting, high sun protection factors (see column 3 lines 16-42). Octinoxate can fulfill the role of the instant at least one active agent or the instant optional octinoxate (see instant claim 8). Birrenbach additionally teach the inclusion of anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, all of which can be deemed active agents. They also teach the inclusion of titanium dioxide, a coloring agent and UV filter (see column 5 lines 54-65; Gannis et al. column claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate as the UV filters of the patented claims in light of Birrenbach who teach their combination as particularly useful in attaining a high performing and stable UV protective composition. This modification is obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Their inclusion at ratios that stabilize the avobenzone and octinoxate would follow as would formation into a stick or emulsion as contemplated forms for such compositions. Additional UV filters are not required. Alternatively, titanium dioxide could be included as recited by the patented claims and by Birrenbach as a contemplated further addition. Similarly it would have been obvious to add anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, in light of Birrenbach to confer their desired properties as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 11-13 of U.S. Patent No. 8,747,816 or claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 8,961,941, or claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 8,025867, each separately in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 8,747,816 or claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 8,961,941, or claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 8,025867, each separately in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view of Dueva-Koganov et al.
Claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 8,747,816 or claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 8,961,941, or claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 8,025867, each separately in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-10 where bemotrizinol and avobenzone, optionally in combination with octinoxate, are present in a sunscreen composition. The presence of a colorant is not exemplified in a composition.
Dueva-Koganov et al. teach a sunscreen composition that includes at least one sunscreening agent (see abstract). They disclose a cosmetic emulsion form that includes octinoxate at 7.5 wt%, avobenzone at 3 wt%, and bemotrizinol at 1.5 wt% (see example 14; instant claim 5). In addition to emulsion forms, Dueva-Koganov et al. also teach stick forms (see paragraph 187). They further detail the inclusion of cosmetically acceptable ingredients such as colorants (see paragraph 182).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a colorant to the composition of the modified patented claims in light of the teachings of Dueva-Koganov et al. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 8,747,816 or claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 8,961,941, or claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 8,025867, each separately in view of Birrenbach and Dueva-Koganov et al.as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 7,364,720 in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims a stabilized topical composition comprising a dibenzoylmethane that can be an emulsion or stick and comprises one or more other UV screening actives. Avobenzone (4-tert-butyl-4’-methoxydibenzoylmethane) is a recited dibenzoylmethane. At least one UV screening active selected from a grouping that includes bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) and octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) is also recited. Titanium dioxide is an envisioned UV filter which also can fulfill the role of a colorant. A particular combination of instantly claimed UV filters is not recited.
Birrenbach teach of the photostabilization of dibenzoylmethane derivatives via the inclusion of bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) (see abstract, column 2 lines 5-15, 47-58, 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6). They detail and exemplify 4-tert-butyl-4’-methoxydibenzoylmethane, also known as avobenzone, as a dibenzoylmethane derivative stabilized by the presence of bemotrizinol in sunscreen compositions (see column 2 line 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Examples 1A-1C are emulsions devoid of other UV filters (see instant claims 3-4). The bemotrizinol is provided at 0.5 to 10 wt% while the dibenzoylmethane derivative is provided at 0.1 to 10 wt% where examples have the bemotrizinol and avobenzone at a ratio of 2:1 and 1:1, respectively (see column 2 lines 47-58 and column 3 line 11-15 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Birrenbach exemplify emulsions and detail other contemplated forms that include sticks (see column 3 lines 66-column 4 line 15). In addition to stabilizing dibenzoylmethane derivatives, the bemotrizinol also stabilizes cinnamic acid esters (see column 2 lines 34-46). Examples provide the trio of octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) as the cinnamic acid ester along with bemotrizinol and avobenzone at 2:2:1 and 1:2:1 (see column 7 lines 7-10, tables 1-2, and formulation examples 1g-1I). This grouping of bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate provides long lasting, high sun protection factors (see column 3 lines 16-42). Octinoxate can fulfill the role of the instant at least one active agent or the instant optional octinoxate (see instant claim 8). Birrenbach additionally teach the inclusion of anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, all of which can be deemed active agents. They also teach the inclusion of titanium dioxide, a coloring agent and UV filter (see column 5 lines 54-65; Gannis et al. column claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate as the UV filters of the patented claims in light of Birrenbach who teach their combination as particularly useful in attaining a high performing and stable UV protective composition. This modification is obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Their inclusion at ratios that stabilize the avobenzone and octinoxate would follow. Additional UV filters are not required. Alternatively, titanium dioxide could be included as recited by the patented claims and by Birrenbach as a contemplated further addition. Similarly it would have been obvious to add anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, in light of Birrenbach to confer their desired properties as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 7,364,720 in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 7,364,720 in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view of Dueva-Koganov et al.
Claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 7,364,720 in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-10 where bemotrizinol and avobenzone, optionally in combination with octinoxate, are present in a sunscreen composition. The presence of a colorant is not exemplified in a composition.
Dueva-Koganov et al. teach a sunscreen composition that includes at least one sunscreening agent (see abstract). They disclose a cosmetic emulsion form that includes octinoxate at 7.5 wt%, avobenzone at 3 wt%, and bemotrizinol at 1.5 wt% (see example 14; instant claim 5). In addition to emulsion forms, Dueva-Koganov et al. also teach stick forms (see paragraph 187). They further detail the inclusion of cosmetically acceptable ingredients such as colorants (see paragraph 182).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a colorant to the composition of the modified patented claims in light of the teachings of Dueva-Koganov et al. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 7,364,720 in view of Birrenbach and Dueva-Koganov et al.as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,583,075, or claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 9,526,924, or claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 8,999,299, or claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 7,510,703, each separately in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims a topical composition comprising UV screening actives selected from a listing that includes bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) and octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate). The composition may be in the form of an emulsion. A particular combination of instantly claimed UV filters is not recited.
Birrenbach teach of the photostabilization of dibenzoylmethane derivatives via the inclusion of bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) (see abstract, column 2 lines 5-15, 47-58, 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6). They detail and exemplify 4-tert-butyl-4’-methoxydibenzoylmethane, also known as avobenzone, as a dibenzoylmethane derivative stabilized by the presence of bemotrizinol in sunscreen compositions (see column 2 line 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Examples 1A-1C are emulsions devoid of other UV filters (see instant claims 3-4). The bemotrizinol is provided at 0.5 to 10 wt% while the dibenzoylmethane derivative is provided at 0.1 to 10 wt% where examples have the bemotrizinol and avobenzone at a ratio of 2:1 and 1:1, respectively (see column 2 lines 47-58 and column 3 line 11-15 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Birrenbach exemplify emulsions and detail other contemplated forms that include sticks (see column 3 lines 66-column 4 line 15). In addition to stabilizing dibenzoylmethane derivatives, the bemotrizinol also stabilizes cinnamic acid esters (see column 2 lines 34-46). Examples provide the trio of octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) as the cinnamic acid ester along with bemotrizinol and avobenzone at 2:2:1 and 1:2:1 (see column 7 lines 7-10, tables 1-2, and formulation examples 1g-1I). This grouping of bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate provides long lasting, high sun protection factors (see column 3 lines 16-42). Octinoxate can fulfill the role of the instant at least one active agent or the instant optional octinoxate (see instant claim 8). Birrenbach additionally teach the inclusion of anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, all of which can be deemed active agents. They also teach the inclusion of titanium dioxide, a coloring agent and UV filter (see column 5 lines 54-65; Gannis et al. column claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select bemotrizinol and octinoxate in combination with avobenzone as the UV filters of the patented claims in light of Birrenbach who teach their combination as particularly useful in attaining a high performing and stable UV protective composition. This modification is obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Their inclusion at ratios that stabilize the avobenzone and octinoxate would follow as would formation into a stick or emulsion as contemplated forms for such compositions. Additional UV filters are not required. Alternatively, titanium dioxide could be included as recited by Birrenbach as a contemplated further addition. Similarly it would have been obvious to add anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, in light of Birrenbach to confer their desired properties as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,583,075, or claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 9,526,924, or claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 8,999,299, or claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 7,510,703, each separately in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,583,075, or claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 9,526,924, or claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 8,999,299, or claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 7,510,703, each separately in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view of Dueva-Koganov et al.
Claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,583,075, or claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 9,526,924, or claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 8,999,299, or claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 7,510,703, each separately in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-10 where bemotrizinol and avobenzone, optionally in combination with octinoxate, are present in a sunscreen composition. The presence of a colorant is not exemplified in a composition.
Dueva-Koganov et al. teach a sunscreen composition that includes at least one sunscreening agent (see abstract). They disclose a cosmetic emulsion form that includes octinoxate at 7.5 wt%, avobenzone at 3 wt%, and bemotrizinol at 1.5 wt% (see example 14; instant claim 5). In addition to emulsion forms, Dueva-Koganov et al. also teach stick forms (see paragraph 187). They further detail the inclusion of cosmetically acceptable ingredients such as colorants (see paragraph 182).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a colorant to the composition of the modified patented claims in light of the teachings of Dueva-Koganov et al. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,583,075, or claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 9,526,924, or claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 8,999,299, or claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 7,510,703, each separately in view of Birrenbach and Dueva-Koganov et al.as evidenced by Gannis et al.
The following are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-13 of copending Application No. 18/543343 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a compositions comprising bemotrizinol and avobenzone where one or more other UV screening actives is also present. The recited ratios fall within the ranges recited in the instant specification as “effective” for stabilization (see paragraphs 70-75). A colorant and active agent are also recited ingredients. The composition is recited in emulsion form. Additional UV filters are not required. Therefore claims 1, 3-5, and 7-9 are un patentable over claims 1-8 and 10-13 of copending Application No. 18/543343 (reference application).
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-13 of copending Application No. 18/543343 (reference application) as applied to claims 1, 3-5, and 7-9 above, and further in view of Birrenbach
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 of copending Application No. 18/543343 (reference application) teach the limitations of instant claims 1, 3-5, and 7-9. The presence of octinoxate is not detailed.
Birrenbach teach of the photostabilization of dibenzoylmethane derivatives via the inclusion of bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) (see abstract, column 2 lines 5-15, 47-58, 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6). They detail and exemplify 4-tert-butyl-4’-methoxydibenzoylmethane, also known as avobenzone, as a dibenzoylmethane derivative stabilized by the presence of bemotrizinol in sunscreen compositions (see column 2 line 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Examples 1A-1C are emulsions devoid of other UV filters (see instant claims 3-4). The bemotrizinol is provided at 0.5 to 10 wt% while the dibenzoylmethane derivative is provided at 0.1 to 10 wt% where examples have the bemotrizinol and avobenzone at a ratio of 2:1 and 1:1, respectively (see column 2 lines 47-58 and column 3 line 11-15 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Birrenbach exemplify emulsions and detail other contemplated forms that include sticks (see column 3 lines 66-column 4 line 15). In addition to stabilizing dibenzoylmethane derivatives, the bemotrizinol also stabilizes cinnamic acid esters (see column 2 lines 34-46). Examples provide the trio of octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) as the cinnamic acid ester along with bemotrizinol and avobenzone at 2:2:1 and 1:2:1 (see column 7 lines 7-10, tables 1-2, and formulation examples 1g-1I). This grouping of bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate provides long lasting, high sun protection factors that has a broader spectrum of coverage than any single active in the grouping (see column 3 lines 16-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select include octinoxate as an added UV filter in the composition of the copending claims in light of Birrenbach who teach its combination with avobenzone and bemotrizinol as particularly useful in attaining a broad spectrum, high performing, and stable UV protective composition. This modification is obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Their inclusion at ratios that stabilize the avobenzone and octinoxate would follow as would formation into a stick or emulsion as contemplated forms for such compositions. Additional UV filters are not required. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-13 of copending Application No. 18/543343 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 9-13 of copending Application No. 18/543157 (reference application), claims 1-8 and 10-13 of copending Application No. 18/543309 (reference application), claims 1-9 and 11-15 of copending Application No. 18543287 (reference application), each separately in view of Birrenbach.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a compositions comprising bemotrizinol where one or more other UV screening actives selected from a short listing that includes avobenzone is also present. A colorant and active agent are also recited ingredients. The composition is recited in emulsion form. A particular combination of instantly claimed UV filters is not recited.
Birrenbach teach of the photostabilization of dibenzoylmethane derivatives via the inclusion of bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) (see abstract, column 2 lines 5-15, 47-58, 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6). They detail and exemplify 4-tert-butyl-4’-methoxydibenzoylmethane, also known as avobenzone, as a dibenzoylmethane derivative stabilized by the presence of bemotrizinol in sunscreen compositions (see column 2 line 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Examples 1A-1C are emulsions devoid of other UV filters (see instant claims 3-4). The bemotrizinol is provided at 0.5 to 10 wt% while the dibenzoylmethane derivative is provided at 0.1 to 10 wt% where examples have the bemotrizinol and avobenzone at a ratio of 2:1 and 1:1, respectively (see column 2 lines 47-58 and column 3 line 11-15 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Birrenbach exemplify emulsions and detail other contemplated forms that include sticks (see column 3 lines 66-column 4 line 15). In addition to stabilizing dibenzoylmethane derivatives, the bemotrizinol also stabilizes cinnamic acid esters (see column 2 lines 34-46). Examples provide the trio of octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) as the cinnamic acid ester along with bemotrizinol and avobenzone at 2:2:1 and 1:2:1 (see column 7 lines 7-10, tables 1-2, and formulation examples 1g-1I). This grouping of bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate provides long lasting, high sun protection factors that has a broader spectrum of coverage than any single active in the grouping (see column 3 lines 16-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate as added UV filters to include in the composition of the copending claims in light of Birrenbach who teach their combination as particularly useful in attaining a broad spectrum, high performing, and stable UV protective composition. This modification is obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Their inclusion at ratios that stabilize the avobenzone and octinoxate would follow as would formation into a stick or emulsion as contemplated forms for such compositions. Additional UV filters are not required. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 9-13 of copending Application No. 18/543157 (reference application), claims 1-8 and 10-13 of copending Application No. 18/543309 (reference application), claims 1-9 and 11-15 of copending Application No. 18543287 (reference application), each separately in view of Birrenbach
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/543375 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a compositions comprising bemotrizinol where one or more other UV screening actives selected from a short listing that includes avobenzone is also present. An active agent and mineral filter are also recited ingredients. The composition is recited in emulsion or stick form. A particular combination of instantly claimed UV filters is not recited.
Birrenbach teach of the photostabilization of dibenzoylmethane derivatives via the inclusion of bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) (see abstract, column 2 lines 5-15, 47-58, 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6). They detail and exemplify 4-tert-butyl-4’-methoxydibenzoylmethane, also known as avobenzone, as a dibenzoylmethane derivative stabilized by the presence of bemotrizinol in sunscreen compositions (see column 2 line 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Examples 1A-1C are emulsions devoid of other UV filters (see instant claims 3-4). The bemotrizinol is provided at 0.5 to 10 wt% while the dibenzoylmethane derivative is provided at 0.1 to 10 wt% where examples have the bemotrizinol and avobenzone at a ratio of 2:1 and 1:1, respectively (see column 2 lines 47-58 and column 3 line 11-15 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Birrenbach exemplify emulsions and detail other contemplated forms that include sticks (see column 3 lines 66-column 4 line 15). In addition to stabilizing dibenzoylmethane derivatives, the bemotrizinol also stabilizes cinnamic acid esters (see column 2 lines 34-46). Examples provide the trio of octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) as the cinnamic acid ester along with bemotrizinol and avobenzone at 2:2:1 and 1:2:1 (see column 7 lines 7-10, tables 1-2, and formulation examples 1g-1I). This grouping of bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate provides long lasting, high sun protection factors that has a broader spectrum of coverage than any single active in the grouping (see column 3 lines 16-42). They also teach the inclusion of titanium dioxide, a coloring agent and UV filter (see column 5 lines 54-65; Gannis et al. column claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate as added UV filters to include in the composition of the copending claims in light of Birrenbach who teach their combination as particularly useful in attaining a broad spectrum, high performing, and stable UV protective composition. This modification is obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Their inclusion at ratios that stabilize the avobenzone and octinoxate would follow as would formation into a stick or emulsion as contemplated forms for such compositions. Additional UV filters are not required. Alternatively, titanium dioxide could be included as recited by the copending claims and by Birrenbach as a contemplated further addition. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/543375 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/543375 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view of Dueva-Koganov et al.
Claims 1-9 and 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/543375 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-10 where bemotrizinol and avobenzone, optionally in combination with octinoxate, are present in a sunscreen composition. The presence of a colorant is not exemplified in a composition.
Dueva-Koganov et al. teach a sunscreen composition that includes at least one sunscreening agent (see abstract). They disclose a cosmetic emulsion form that includes octinoxate at 7.5 wt%, avobenzone at 3 wt%, and bemotrizinol at 1.5 wt% (see example 14; instant claim 5). In addition to emulsion forms, Dueva-Koganov et al. also teach stick forms (see paragraph 187). They further detail the inclusion of cosmetically acceptable ingredients such as colorants (see paragraph 182).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a colorant to the composition of the modified copending claims in light of the teachings of Dueva-Koganov et al. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/543375 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach and Dueva-Koganov et al.as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-13 of copending Application No. 18/985642 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a compositions comprising bemotrizinol where one or more other UV screening actives selected from a short listing that includes avobenzone is also present. Titanium dioxide is an envisioned UV filter which also can fulfill the role of a colorant. A particular combination of instantly claimed UV filters is not recited.
Birrenbach teach of the photostabilization of dibenzoylmethane derivatives via the inclusion of bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) (see abstract, column 2 lines 5-15, 47-58, 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6). They detail and exemplify 4-tert-butyl-4’-methoxydibenzoylmethane, also known as avobenzone, as a dibenzoylmethane derivative stabilized by the presence of bemotrizinol in sunscreen compositions (see column 2 line 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Examples 1A-1C are emulsions devoid of other UV filters (see instant claims 3-4). The bemotrizinol is provided at 0.5 to 10 wt% while the dibenzoylmethane derivative is provided at 0.1 to 10 wt% where examples have the bemotrizinol and avobenzone at a ratio of 2:1 and 1:1, respectively (see column 2 lines 47-58 and column 3 line 11-15 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Birrenbach exemplify emulsions and detail other contemplated forms that include sticks (see column 3 lines 66-column 4 line 15). In addition to stabilizing dibenzoylmethane derivatives, the bemotrizinol also stabilizes cinnamic acid esters (see column 2 lines 34-46). Examples provide the trio of octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) as the cinnamic acid ester along with bemotrizinol and avobenzone at 2:2:1 and 1:2:1 (see column 7 lines 7-10, tables 1-2, and formulation examples 1g-1I). This grouping of bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate provides long lasting, high sun protection factors that has a broader spectrum of coverage than any single active in the grouping (see column 3 lines 16-42). Octinoxate can fulfill the role of the instant at least one active agent or the instant optional octinoxate (see instant claim 8). Birrenbach additionally teach the inclusion of anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, all of which can be deemed active agents. They also teach the inclusion of titanium dioxide, a coloring agent and UV filter (see column 5 lines 54-65; Gannis et al. column claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate as added UV filters to include in the composition of the copending claims in light of Birrenbach who teach their combination as particularly useful in attaining a broad spectrum, high performing, and stable UV protective composition. This modification is obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Their inclusion at ratios that stabilize the avobenzone and octinoxate would follow as would formation into a stick or emulsion as contemplated forms for such compositions. Additional UV filters are not required. Alternatively, titanium dioxide could be included as recited by the copending claims and by Birrenbach as a contemplated further addition. Similarly it would have been obvious to add anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, in light of Birrenbach to confer their desired properties as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-13 of copending Application No. 18/985642 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-13 of copending Application No. 18/985642 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view of Dueva-Koganov et al.
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 of copending Application No. 18/985642 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-10 where bemotrizinol and avobenzone, optionally in combination with octinoxate, are present in a sunscreen composition. The presence of a colorant is not exemplified in a composition.
Dueva-Koganov et al. teach a sunscreen composition that includes at least one sunscreening agent (see abstract). They disclose a cosmetic emulsion form that includes octinoxate at 7.5 wt%, avobenzone at 3 wt%, and bemotrizinol at 1.5 wt% (see example 14; instant claim 5). In addition to emulsion forms, Dueva-Koganov et al. also teach stick forms (see paragraph 187). They further detail the inclusion of cosmetically acceptable ingredients such as colorants (see paragraph 182).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a colorant to the composition of the modified copending claims in light of the teachings of Dueva-Koganov et al. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-13 of copending Application No. 18/985642 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach and Dueva-Koganov et al.as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 14-20 of copending Application No. 18/257179 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims a topical composition that comprises UV screening actives. At least one UV screening active selected from a grouping that includes bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) and butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane is recited. A particular combination of instantly claimed UV filters is not recited.
Birrenbach teach of the photostabilization of dibenzoylmethane derivatives via the inclusion of bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) (see abstract, column 2 lines 5-15, 47-58, 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6). They detail and exemplify 4-tert-butyl-4’-methoxydibenzoylmethane, also known as avobenzone, as a dibenzoylmethane derivative stabilized by the presence of bemotrizinol in sunscreen compositions (see column 2 line 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Examples 1A-1C are emulsions devoid of other UV filters (see instant claims 3-4). The bemotrizinol is provided at 0.5 to 10 wt% while the dibenzoylmethane derivative is provided at 0.1 to 10 wt% where examples have the bemotrizinol and avobenzone at a ratio of 2:1 and 1:1, respectively (see column 2 lines 47-58 and column 3 line 11-15 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Birrenbach exemplify emulsions and detail other contemplated forms that include sticks (see column 3 lines 66-column 4 line 15). In addition to stabilizing dibenzoylmethane derivatives, the bemotrizinol also stabilizes cinnamic acid esters (see column 2 lines 34-46). Examples provide the trio of octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) as the cinnamic acid ester along with bemotrizinol and avobenzone at 2:2:1 and 1:2:1 (see column 7 lines 7-10, tables 1-2, and formulation examples 1g-1I). This grouping of bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate provides long lasting, high sun protection factors (see column 3 lines 16-42). Octinoxate can fulfill the role of the instant at least one active agent or the instant optional octinoxate (see instant claim 8). Birrenbach additionally teach the inclusion of anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, all of which can be deemed active agents. They also teach the inclusion of titanium dioxide, a coloring agent and UV filter (see column 5 lines 54-65; Gannis et al. column claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate as the UV filters of the copending claims in light of Birrenbach who teach their combination as particularly useful in attaining a high performing and stable UV protective composition. These particular compounds or similar compounds of the same class, as in the case of avobenzone, are recited by the copending claims. This modification is obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Their inclusion at ratios that stabilize the avobenzone and octinoxate would follow as would formation into a stick or emulsion as contemplated forms for such compositions. Additional UV filters are not required. Alternatively, titanium dioxide could be included as recited by Birrenbach as a contemplated further addition. Similarly it would have been obvious to add anti-oxidants, vitamins, and skin care agents, in light of Birrenbach to confer their desired properties as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over 1-12 and 14-20 of copending Application No. 18/257179 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 14-20 of copending Application No. 18/257179 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view of Dueva-Koganov et al.
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 of copending Application No. 18/257179 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach as evidenced by Gannis et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-10 where bemotrizinol and avobenzone, optionally in combination with octinoxate, are present in a sunscreen composition. The presence of a colorant is not exemplified in a composition.
Dueva-Koganov et al. teach a sunscreen composition that includes at least one sunscreening agent (see abstract). They disclose a cosmetic emulsion form that includes octinoxate at 7.5 wt%, avobenzone at 3 wt%, and bemotrizinol at 1.5 wt% (see example 14; instant claim 5). In addition to emulsion forms, Dueva-Koganov et al. also teach stick forms (see paragraph 187). They further detail the inclusion of cosmetically acceptable ingredients such as colorants (see paragraph 182).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a colorant to the composition of the modified copending claims in light of the teachings of Dueva-Koganov et al. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 14-20 of copending Application No. 18/257179 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach and Dueva-Koganov et al.as evidenced by Gannis et al.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/543721 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims a topical composition comprising bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) and octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate). The composition may be in the form of an emulsion or stick. A colorant and active agent are also recited ingredients. A particular combination of instantly claimed UV filters is not recited.
Birrenbach teach of the photostabilization of dibenzoylmethane derivatives via the inclusion of bemotrizinol (bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) (see abstract, column 2 lines 5-15, 47-58, 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6). They detail and exemplify 4-tert-butyl-4’-methoxydibenzoylmethane, also known as avobenzone, as a dibenzoylmethane derivative stabilized by the presence of bemotrizinol in sunscreen compositions (see column 2 line 67-column 3 line 11 and column 7 line 3-6 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Examples 1A-1C are emulsions devoid of other UV filters (see instant claims 3-4). The bemotrizinol is provided at 0.5 to 10 wt% while the dibenzoylmethane derivative is provided at 0.1 to 10 wt% where examples have the bemotrizinol and avobenzone at a ratio of 2:1 and 1:1, respectively (see column 2 lines 47-58 and column 3 line 11-15 and tables 1-2 formulations 1A-1C). Birrenbach exemplify emulsions and detail other contemplated forms that include sticks (see column 3 lines 66-column 4 line 15). In addition to stabilizing dibenzoylmethane derivatives, the bemotrizinol also stabilizes cinnamic acid esters (see column 2 lines 34-46). Examples provide the trio of octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) as the cinnamic acid ester along with bemotrizinol and avobenzone at 2:2:1 and 1:2:1 (see column 7 lines 7-10, tables 1-2, and formulation examples 1g-1I). This grouping of bemotrizinol and avobenzone alone or in further combination with octinoxate provides long lasting, high sun protection factors that has a broader spectrum of coverage than any single active in the grouping (see column 3 lines 16-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add avobenzone to the combination of bemotrizinol and octinoxate in the composition of the copending claims in light of Birrenbach who teach their combination as particularly useful in attaining a high performing and stable UV protective composition. This modification is obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Their inclusion at ratios that stabilize the avobenzone and octinoxate would follow as would formation into a stick or emulsion as contemplated forms for such compositions. Additional UV filters are not required. Therefore claims 1-10 are unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/543721 (reference application) in view of Birrenbach.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/CARALYNNE E HELM/ Examiner, Art Unit 1615