DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Amendment filed 01/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application. No new claims have been added.
Response to Arguments
35 USC 102. Applicant's remarks regarding the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Constabeber (US 2016/0151974 A1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
35 USC 103. Applicant's remarks regarding the rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Constabeber (US 2016/0151974 A1) in view of Holt (US 2021/0122104 A1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
35 USC 103. Applicant's remarks regarding the rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Constabeber (US 2016/0151974 A1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20, Applicant concedes that “Costabeber further discloses that in other embodiments, the thrusting device comprises a plunger arranged in each reservoir 5, 5a. (Costabeber, [0102])” (Remarks, PG 9). However, Applicant asserts that “Costabeber does not teach or otherwise disclose any feeding means using a movable structure,” “Costabeber does not teach or otherwise disclose that the thrusting device is a movable structure within the first chamber and, in fact, suggests the contrary,” “the feeding means comprising a thrusting device is depicted in Fig 6…resides on the boundary of the reservoir, not within the reservoir,” “Constabeber fails to define or disclose any details regarding the plunger,” and “based on the ordinary mechanisms of a plunger, the thrusting device must necessarily remain outside of the reservoir given the positioning of the seal formed by the plunger at the first end of the reservoir. Accordingly, the thrusting device cannot be a structure movable within the first chamber (i.e., reservoir). Furthermore, every embodiment of the feeding mechanism disclosed or taught by Costabeber employs a mechanism to supply air into the reservoir to manipulate pressure to facilitate the flow of material from the reservoir to the container. Costabeber does not disclose a movable structure within the chamber as claimed by Applicant” (Remarks, Pg 9-11).
Examiner notes that Costabeber discloses that the thrusting device comprises a plunger arranged in each reservoir 5, 5 a and a thrusting device 18 suited to thrust the materials 6, 6 a from the reservoirs 5, 5 a (a structure, movable within the first chamber adapted to transfer a portion of the printing material from the first chamber) towards the container 3, wherein the modelling platform 14 is arranged in contact with the material 6, 6 a or 6 b present in the container 3, and wherein the movement of the platform 14 is parallel to the bottom 9 of the container 3 (a printing area between a surface of a window and the platform in the second chamber for receiving a curing light for curing a layer of the printing material onto the platform or onto a cured layer of the printing material on the platform, in order to build the 3D object on the platform) (¶0099,0102,0152-0160). Accordingly, Constabeber teaches a structure, movable within the first chamber (plunger) adapted to transfer a portion of the printing material from the first chamber to a printing area between a surface of a window and the platform in the second chamber for receiving a curing light for curing a layer of the printing material onto the platform or onto a cured layer of the printing material on the platform, in order to build the 3D object on the platform.
Accordingly, based upon the reasons stated above, the rejection of claims 1, 11, and 20 set forth in the Office Action mailed 07/11/2025 is maintained. The rejection of claims 1, 11, and 20 is provided below.
Applicant’s arguments that prior art cited in the rejection of dependent claims do not make up for the deficiencies of the prior art cited in the rejection of independent claims 1 and 11 is not persuasive. The rejection of claims 1 and 11 is not considered to be deficient as argued above. The rejection of amended claims 2-10 and 12-19 is provided below.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 01/12/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,624 and 12,128,625 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
The terminal disclaimer filed on 01/12/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on Application No. 18/401,160, 18/401,155, and 18/619,744 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Interpretation
Functional language is often associated with a "controller" in the claims (see instant claims 11-19). The specific language associated with the "controller" will determine what subject matter must be given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Constabeber (US 2016/0151974 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Constabeber discloses a cartridge 2 (a container assembly adapted to store a printing material) comprising an enclosure housing a reservoir 5 (first chamber adapted to store a printing material) and container 3 (second chamber adapted to receive a platform); and a thrusting device (structure movable within the first chamber adapted to transfer a portion of the printing material from the first chamber to a printing area between a surface of a window and the platform in the second chamber for receiving a curing light for curing a layer of the printing material onto the platform or onto a cured layer of the printing material on the platform, in order to build the 3D object on the platform) (Fig 4 and ¶0078-0095,0099-0102).
Examiner notes that Costabeber discloses that the thrusting device comprises a plunger arranged in each reservoir 5, 5 a and a thrusting device 18 suited to thrust the materials 6, 6 a from the reservoirs 5, 5 a (a structure, movable within the first chamber adapted to transfer a portion of the printing material from the first chamber) towards the container 3, wherein the modelling platform 14 is arranged in contact with the material 6, 6 a or 6 b present in the container 3, and wherein the movement of the platform 14 is parallel to the bottom 9 of the container 3 (a printing area between a surface of a window and the platform in the second chamber for receiving a curing light for curing a layer of the printing material onto the platform or onto a cured layer of the printing material on the platform, in order to build the 3D object on the platform) (¶0099,0102,0152-0160). Accordingly, Constabeber teaches a structure, movable within the first chamber (plunger) adapted to transfer a portion of the printing material from the first chamber to a printing area between a surface of a window and the platform in the second chamber for receiving a curing light for curing a layer of the printing material onto the platform or onto a cured layer of the printing material on the platform, in order to build the 3D object on the platform.
Examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation “channel within the enclosure connecting a side wall of the first chamber with a side wall of the second chamber,” a side wall of the first chamber and a side wall of the second chamber are not mutually exclusive and may be the same structural element. Here, Constabeber teaches conveyance ducts 8 a formed on an intermediate wall 16 (channel within the enclosure connecting a side wall of the first chamber with a side wall of the second chamber to fluidly communicate the first chamber with the second chamber) (Fig 4 and ¶0078-0095,0099-0108,0148).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 9, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constabeber (US 2016/0151974 A1).
Regarding claims 2-5, as applied to claim 1, while Constabeber does not specify wherein the second chamber is adapted to limit or prevent a rotation of the platform; wherein the second chamber is a non-cylindrical chamber; wherein the second chamber includes a circular cross-section extending a first length along an axis of the second chamber, and a non-circular cross-section extending a second length along the axis of the second chamber; nor wherein the platform includes a cylindrical portion adapted to register with the circular cross-section extending the first length along the axis of the second chamber, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the container assembly disclosed in Constabeber such that the second chamber is adapted to limit or prevent a rotation of the platform; the second chamber is a non-cylindrical chamber; the second chamber includes a circular cross-section extending a first length along an axis of the second chamber, and a non-circular cross-section extending a second length along the axis of the second chamber; and the platform includes a cylindrical portion adapted to register with the circular cross-section extending the first length along the axis of the second chamber, since it has been held that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B).
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 4, while Constabeber teaches a portion coupled to the platform 14 for removing the platform 14 from container 3 to facilitate removal of the 3D object built onto the platform 14, Constabeber does not specify a handle portion, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the container assembly such that the portion is shaped as a handle portion, since it has been held that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B).
Regarding claim 20, Constabeber discloses a cartridge 2 (a container assembly adapted to store a printing material) comprising a single-use enclosure housing a reservoir 5 (first chamber adapted to hermetically store a printing material) and container 3 (second chamber adapted to receive a platform); and a thrusting device (structure, movable within the first chamber adapted to transfer a portion of the printing material from the first chamber to a printing area between a surface of a window and the platform in the second chamber for receiving a curing light for curing a layer of the printing material onto the platform or onto a cured layer of the printing material on the platform, in order to build the 3D object on the platform) (Fig 4 and ¶0078-0095,0099-0104,00129).
Examiner notes that Costabeber discloses that the thrusting device comprises a plunger arranged in each reservoir 5, 5 a and a thrusting device 18 suited to thrust the materials 6, 6 a from the reservoirs 5, 5 a (a structure, movable within the first chamber adapted to transfer a portion of the printing material from the first chamber) towards the container 3, wherein the modelling platform 14 is arranged in contact with the material 6, 6 a or 6 b present in the container 3, and wherein the movement of the platform 14 is parallel to the bottom 9 of the container 3 (a printing area between a surface of a window and the platform in the second chamber for receiving a curing light for curing a layer of the printing material onto the platform or onto a cured layer of the printing material on the platform, in order to build the 3D object on the platform) (¶0099,0102,0152-0160). Accordingly, Constabeber teaches a structure, movable within the first chamber (plunger) adapted to transfer a portion of the printing material from the first chamber to a printing area between a surface of a window and the platform in the second chamber for receiving a curing light for curing a layer of the printing material onto the platform or onto a cured layer of the printing material on the platform, in order to build the 3D object on the platform.
Examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation “channel within the enclosure connecting a side wall of the first chamber with a side wall of the second chamber,” a side wall of the first chamber and a side wall of the second chamber are not mutually exclusive and may be the same structural element. Here, Constabeber teaches conveyance ducts 8 a formed on an intermediate wall 16 (channel within the single-use enclosure connecting a side wall of the first chamber with a side wall of the second chamber so that the first chamber and the second chamber are in fluid communication) (Fig 4 and ¶0078-0095,0099-0108,0148).
Although Constabeber does not specify wherein the second chamber is adapted to limit or prevent a rotation of the platform, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the container assembly disclosed in Constabeber such that the second chamber is adapted to limit or prevent a rotation of the platform, since it has been held that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constabeber (US 2016/0151974 A1), as applied to claim 4, and in further view of Porch (US 2022/0305560 A1).
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 4, while Constabeber teaches a system comprising a platform with circular cross-section extending the first length along the axis of the second chamber (base device), Constabeber does not specify wherein the platform includes a seal adapted to hermetically seal the circular cross-section extending the first length along the axis of the second chamber.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (platforms including a seal; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Porch discloses a system wherein seals (seal) are associated with an edge of the build platform 130, which physically engage with the bore 132 of the build sleeve 131 (Fig 1-3 and ¶0035) (known technique applicable to the base device).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Constabeber by applying the known technique of providing seals associated with a build platform as disclosed in Porch to the system comprising the platform with circular cross-section extending the first length along the axis of the second chamber disclosed in Constabeber with predictable results and resulting in an improved system. MPEP 2143(D).
Claims 7-8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constabeber (US 2016/0151974 A1), as applied to claim 4, and in further view of Stahl (US 2022/0161500 A1).
Regarding claims 7-8, as applied to claim 4, Constabeber does not disclose a system wherein the second chamber includes one or more structures along one or more side walls adapted to alleviate a negative pressure during a movement of the platform nor wherein the one or more structures includes a negative pressure cavity or air vents along the one or more side walls of the second chamber.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (structures adapted to alleviate a negative pressure; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Stahl discloses a system wherein as fluid is sucked in the dome-like, opens region can be immediately emptied through the removal of the negative pressure via the vent channels under the action of atmospheric pressure during the printing process (¶0010).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify system disclosed in Constabeber by disposing the vent channels disclosed in Stahl along one or more side walls of the second chamber as disclosed in Constabeber in order to remove the negative pressure via the vent channels under the action of atmospheric pressure during the printing process (Stahl, ¶0010).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constabeber (US 2016/0151974 A1), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Ong (US 2021/0247325 A1).
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 1, Constabeber does not disclose a system wherein the enclosure is adapted to receive heat from a heat source external to the container assembly.
However, in the same field of endeavor, stereolithographic 3D printing apparatus, Ong discloses that the additive manufacturing system 101 can include a set of heating elements (heat source) arranged around the perimeter of the build window 110 and configured to conduct heat into the build window 110, thereby indirectly heating the interface layer of material adjacent the upper surface of the build window 110 (¶0095).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Constabeber by disposing the set of heating elements (heat source) disclosed in Ong external to the container assembly disclosed in such that enclosure is adapted to receive heat from the heat source in order to indirectly heat the interface layer of material (Ong, ¶0095).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constabeber (US 2016/0151974 A1) in view of Holt (US 2021/0122104 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Constabeber teaches stereolithography machine 1 (system for printing three-dimensional objects) comprising cartridge 2 (a container assembly adapted to hermetically store a printing material) including an enclosure housing a reservoir 5 (first chamber adapted to store a printing material) and container 3 (second chamber adapted to receive a platform); and a thrusting device (structure, movable within the first chamber adapted to transfer a portion of the printing material from the first chamber to a printing area between a surface of a window and the platform in the second chamber); a power means (motor…configured to move the structure) and an emitter means 13 (light emitting module; the light emitting module…configured to emit a curing light through the window to cure at least a layer of the printing material to the platform or to a cured layer of the printing material on the platform, in order to build the 3D object on the platform) (Fig 4 and ¶0078-0095,0099-0108).
Examiner notes that Costabeber discloses that the thrusting device comprises a plunger arranged in each reservoir 5, 5 a and a thrusting device 18 suited to thrust the materials 6, 6 a from the reservoirs 5, 5 a (a structure, movable within the first chamber adapted to transfer a portion of the printing material from the first chamber) towards the container 3, wherein the modelling platform 14 is arranged in contact with the material 6, 6 a or 6 b present in the container 3, and wherein the movement of the platform 14 is parallel to the bottom 9 of the container 3 (a printing area between a surface of a window and the platform in the second chamber) (¶0099,0102,0152-0160). Accordingly, Constabeber teaches a structure, movable within the first chamber (plunger) adapted to transfer a portion of the printing material from the first chamber to a printing area between a surface of a window and the platform in the second chamber for receiving a curing light for curing a layer of the printing material onto the platform or onto a cured layer of the printing material on the platform, in order to build the 3D object on the platform.
Examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation “channel within the enclosure connecting a side wall of the first chamber with a side wall of the second chamber,” a side wall of the first chamber and a side wall of the second chamber are not mutually exclusive and may be the same structural element. Here, Constabeber teaches conveyance ducts 8 a formed on an intermediate wall 16 (channel within the enclosure connecting a side wall of the first chamber with a side wall of the second chamber to fluidly communicate the first chamber with the second chamber) (Fig 4 and ¶0078-0095,0099-0108,0148).
While Constabeber teaches a system comprising a structure, light emitting module, window, and platform, Constabeber does not explicitly teach a controller; a motor coupled to the controller; nor a light emitting module in communication with the controller.
However, in the same field of endeavor, stereolithographic (SLA) 3D printing apparatus, Holt discloses a system comprising any device which emits digitally controllable light (controller, inherently disclosed; light emitting module in communication with the controller) (¶0055-0059) (known technique applicable to the base device). Holt discloses a system further comprising a piston attached to platform 110 in the resin reservoir chamber 101, which can be controlled by computer to allow pistons to lower and retract in the desired sequence (controller; structure) (Fig 1 and ¶0061,0072) (known technique applicable to the base device).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Constabeber by applying the known technique of a system comprising a controller; the controller coupled to a structure and configured to move the structure; and a light emitting module in communication with the controller as disclosed in Holt to the system comprising a motor configured to move a structure and a curing light engine disclosed in Constabeber with predictable results and resulting in an improved apparatus. MPEP 2143(D).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constabeber (US 2016/0151974 A1) in view of Holt (US 2021/0122104 A1), as applied to claim 11, and in further view of Solorzano (US 2018/0281280 A1).
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 11, while Constabeber in view of Holt teaches a system comprising a container assembly, motor, and structure (base device), Constabeber in view of Holt does not teach an arm coupled to the motor and adapted to press on the structure of the container assembly.
However, in the same field of endeavor, arms coupled to motors in 3D printing apparatus, Solorzano discloses a system comprising a piston and a level arm connected to the piston, wherein blocks that hold the cartridges 301, 370, 350 are held together by both the top plate 310 and the bottom plate 360, wherein the engager 340 uses a mechanism to raise itself up and down using either mechanical or pneumatic pressure mechanism 345, wherein piston 335 moves up and down in sync and a lever arm 330 that supports the piston, wherein pneumatic air inlet 325 sends air down plunger 320 to a syringe 380 loaded in a cartridge, and wherein creation of pneumatic force extrudes material out of the tip 355 of cartridge 301(arm coupled to the motor and adapted to press on the structure of the container assembly) (Fig 3 and ¶0016,0079) (known technique applicable to the base device).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt by applying the known technique of providing arm coupled to the motor and adapted to press on the piston (structure) of the container assembly disclosed in Solorzano to the motor and structure of the container assembly disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt with predictable results and resulting in an improved apparatus. MPEP 2143(D).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constabeber (US 2016/0151974 A1) in view of Holt (US 2021/0122104 A1) and Solorzano (US 2018/0281280 A1), as applied to claim 12, and in further view of Stadlmann (US 2022/0032539 A1).
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 12, while Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano teaches a system comprising a supporting structure 34 (housing), Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano does not disclose a housing for the controller, the motor, and the light emitting module.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano such that the supporting structure (housing) is shaped to house the controller, the motor, and the light emitting module, since it has been held that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B).
Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano does not disclose an exterior surface of the housing including a holding frame adapted to receive the container assembly.
However, in the same field of endeavor, stereolithographic (SLA) 3D printing apparatus, Stadlmann discloses a system wherein one or more cartridge units 5, 6 are held by way of respective associated receiving units 75, 76 and are arranged on a base plate 77, wherein the base plate 77 forms the support unit 7 (holding frame) (Fig 1 and ¶0057) (known technique applicable to the base device).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano by applying the known technique of providing a support unit (holding frame) disclosed in Stadlmann to the system comprising a container assembly disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano with predictable results and resulting in an improved apparatus. MPEP 2143(D).
Claims 14-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constabeber (US 2016/0151974 A1) in view of Holt (US 2021/0122104 A1) and Solorzano (US 2018/0281280 A1) and Stadlmann (US 2022/0032539 A1), as applied to claim 13, and in further view of Ong (US 2021/0247325 A1).
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 13, Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano and Stadlmann does not disclose a touch screen interface disposed on an exterior of the housing.
However, in the same field of endeavor, stereolithographic 3D printing apparatus, Ong discloses a system wherein the base assembly 102 of the additive manufacturing device 101 can include a controller that controls the electromechanical components of the additive manufacturing device 101 in order to execute Blocks of the additive manufacturing process and wherein the controller controls and receives instructions from a user interface, which can be a touchscreen (touch screen interface) (¶0041).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano and Stadlmann by adding the touchscreen (touch screen interface) disclosed in Ong to an exterior of the housing disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano and Stadlmann in order to control the electromechanical components of the additive manufacturing device in order to execute the additive manufacturing process (Ong, ¶0041).
Regarding claim 15-16 and 18-19, as applied to claim 13, Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano and Stadlmann does not disclose a system comprising a heating module adapted to heat the printing material inside the container assembly, wherein the heating module comprises a transparent surface heater disposed over portion of the holding frame, nor wherein the heating module comprises an adapter removably coupled to the holding frame, the adapter having heating elements disposed on walls of the adapter.
However, in the same field of endeavor, stereolithographic 3D printing apparatus, Ong discloses that an additive manufacturing system 101 can include a transparent resistive heating element imbedded within the build window 110 configured to selectively heat regions of the build interface or broadly heat the build window 110, thereby evenly transferring heat to the material at the build interface (heating module adapted to heat the printing material; wherein the heating module comprises a transparent surface heater) (¶0094). Ong discloses that the additive manufacturing system 101 can include a set of heating elements (adapter having heating elements) arranged around the perimeter of the build window 110 and configured to conduct heat into the build window 110, thereby indirectly heating the interface layer of material adjacent the upper surface of the build window 110 (¶0095).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano and Stadlmann by disposing the transparent resistive heating element (heating module; transparent surface heater) disclosed in Ong over portion of the holding frame disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano and Stadlmann in order to evenly transfer heat to the material at the build interface (Ong, ¶0094).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano and Stadlmann by removably coupling set of heating elements (adapter having heating elements) disclosed in Ong to the holding frame disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano and Stadlmann in order to indirectly heat the interface layer of material (Ong, ¶0095).
Although Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano and Stadlmann and Ong does not specify the adapter having heating elements disposed on walls of the adapter, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano and Stadlmann and Ong such that the adapter has the heating elements disposed on walls of the adapter, since it has been held that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B).
Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano and Stadlmann and Ong does not explicitly disclose a heating element disposed over the arm, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano and Stadlmann and Ong such that the heating element is disposed over the arm, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention is an obvious matter of design choice and would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constabeber (US 2016/0151974 A1) in view of Holt (US 2021/0122104 A1) and Solorzano (US 2018/0281280 A1) and Stadlmann (US 2022/0032539 A1) and Ong (US 2021/0247325 A1), as applied to claim 15, and in further view of Ebert (US 2017/0334129 A1).
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 15, while Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano and Stadlmann and Ong teaches a system comprising a heating module (base device), Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano and Stadlmann and Ong does not disclose wherein the heating module includes a layer of an Indium Tin Oxide (ITO) coating.
However, in the same field of endeavor, stereolithographic 3D printing apparatus, Ebert teaches a system comprising a trough bottom 3 and a heating unit applied thereon in the exposure region, wherein the trough bottom has a glass plate 31, on which a transparent silicone layer 32 is applied, wherein a plastic carrier film 35 is laid on the silicone layer 32, which has an electrically conductive, transparent coating 33 on its underside, and wherein the electrically conductive transparent coating can consist, for example, of indium tin oxide (wherein the heating module includes a layer of an Indium Tin Oxide (ITO) coating) (Fig 1-2 and ¶0039) (known technique applicable to the base device).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano and Stadlmann and Ong by applying the known technique of proving a heating module that includes a layer of an Indium Tin Oxide (ITO) coating disclosed in Ebert to the heating module disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt and Solorzano and Stadlmann and Ong with predictable results and resulting in an improved system. MPEP 2143(D).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMEL M NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743