DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Chinese Patent Publication CN214095677U, “Wang”) in view of Yang (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0318744).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a vapor chamber (figs 1-3), comprising:
a first plate (100),
a second plate (200) opposite the first plate, the first plate and the second plate defining an interior cavity, the interior cavity comprising, a first portion (see annotated fig 2 below), a second portion (see annotated fig 2 below), and a third portion (see annotated fig 2 below), the first portion surrounded by the second portion at a perimeter edge of the first portion, the second portion surrounded by the third portion at a perimeter edge of the second portion, the first portion having a first depth extending from the first plate to the second plate, the second portion having a second depth extending from the first plate to the second plate, and the third portion having a third depth extending from the first plate to the second plate (fig 2);
a plurality of first support structures (330) disposed in the first portion, each plurality of first support structures having a first ends and a second end opposite to each other, the first ends of the first support structures contact the second plate (fig 1);
a plurality of support structures (320, 310) disposed in the second portion and the third portion, respectively, each plurality of support structures having an end and a second end opposite to each other, the first ends of the second support structure contact the second plate, and the second ends of the second support structures contact the first plate (fig 1); and
at least one tubular heat transfer structure (500) disposed in the first portion, the at least one tubular heat transfer structure extending from the first plate to the second plate and including a first working fluid having a first working fluid circulation path;
wherein the first depth is greater than the second depth and the second depth is greater than the third depth (fig 2).
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion include a second working fluid having a second working fluid circulation path different from the first working fluid circulation path. Yang, however, discloses a vapor chamber (fig 5) wherein a tubular heat transfer structure (12) has a first working fluid having a first working fluid circulation path (inside 12) and a second working fluid having a second working fluid circulation path (in 11) different from the first working fluid circulation path. Yang teaches that this configuration enhances heat transfer efficiency (¶0011). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Wang to have the tubular heat transfer structure have a separate working fluid circulation path to that of the first, second, and third portions in order to enhance heat transfer efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wang and Yang discloses all previous claim limitations. Wang further discloses a plurality of heat transfer base structures (350), the plurality of heat transfer base structures disposed in the first portion (see annotated fig 2 above), each plurality of heat transfer base structures having a first heat transfer base contact end and a second heat transfer base contact end opposite to each other (see fig 2), the second heat transfer base contact ends contact the first plate (100), the first heat transfer base contact ends contact the first ends of the first support structures (330, see fig 2).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wang and Yang discloses all previous claim limitations. Wang further discloses wherein the interior cavity further includes:
a first surface area defined by a second plate (200) surface area of the first portion (see annotated fig 2 above),
a second surface area defined by a second plate surface area of the second portion (see annotated fig 2 above), and
a third surface area defined by a second plate surface area of the third portion (see annotated fig 2 above),
wherein the first surface area, the second surface area, and the third surface area are configured so that a gas phase of the second working fluid condenses back into a liquid phase when cooled (as this is inherent to a vapor chamber).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wang and Yang discloses all previous claim limitations. Wang further discloses wherein the interior cavity further includes:
a plurality of first liquid flow surfaces defined by a first plate (100) surface area of the first portion (see annotated fig 2 above) and surface areas of each of the plurality of support structures (330) and surface areas of each of the plurality of heat transfer base structures (350) disposed in the first portion;
a plurality of second liquid flow surfaces defined by a first plate surface area of the second portion (see annotated fig 2 above) and surface areas of each of the plurality of support structures (320) disposed in the second portion; and
a plurality of third liquid flow surfaces defined by a first plate surface area of the third portion (see annotated fig 2 above) and surface areas of each of the plurality of support structures (310) disposed in the third portion;
wherein the plurality of first liquid flow surfaces, the plurality of second liquid flow surfaces, and the plurality of third liquid flow surfaces are configured so that the second working fluid that is condensed back into a liquid phase when cooled flows to an outer tubular liquid flow surface (see annotated fig 3 below) of the at least one tubular heat transfer structure (500).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wang and Yang discloses all previous claim limitations. Wang further discloses a capillary structure, the capillary structure (410, 420, 430) is disposed on the plurality of first liquid flow surfaces, the plurality of second liquid flow surfaces, and the plurality of third liquid flow surfaces (fig 2).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wang and Yang discloses all previous claim limitations. Wang, as modified, further discloses an outer tubular capillary structure (114, Yang), the outer tubular capillary structure is disposed on the outer tubular liquid flow surface (122, ¶0023, Yang).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wang and Yang discloses all previous claim limitations. Wang further discloses wherein the first plate surface area is further configured so that the first working fluid transitions between a liquid phase and a gas phase when heated (as this is inherent to a vapor chamber).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wang and Yang discloses all previous claim limitations. Wang further discloses wherein the second working fluid circulation path is defined from the outer tubular liquid flow surface of the at least one tubular heat transfer structure, to at least one of the first surface area, the second surface area, and the third surface area, and then back through at least one of the plurality of first liquid flow surfaces, the plurality of second liquid flow surfaces, or the plurality of third liquid flow surfaces, to the outer tubular liquid flow surface (as the fluid would flow from the bottom of the vapor chamber to the top of the vapor chamber and vice versa).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wang and Yang discloses all previous claim limitations. Wang, as modified, further discloses wherein the outer tubular liquid flow surface is configured so that the second working fluid that is condensed back into a liquid phase when cooled flows to the first plate surface area, and wherein the at least one tubular heat transfer structure (heat pipe such as taught by Yang) further includes a first tubular surface area (bottom of the heat pipe), a second tubular surface area (top of the heat pipe), and an inner tubular liquid flow surface (between the top and bottom of the heat pipe), the first tubular surface area defined by a first plate surface area of the at least one tubular heat transfer structure, and the second tubular surface defined by a second plate surface area of the at least one tubular heat transfer structure (fig 2, Wang), wherein the first tubular surface area is configured so that the first working fluid transitions between a liquid phase and a gas phase when heated, the second tubular surface area is configured so that the first working fluid condenses back into a liquid phase when cooled, and the inner tubular liquid flow surface is configured so that the first working fluid that is condensed back into a liquid phase when cooled flows to the first tubular surface area, and wherein the first working fluid circulation path is defined from the first tubular surface area, to the second tubular surface area, and then back through the inner tubular liquid flow surface, to the first tubular surface area (as the second working fluid would flow from the bottom of the vapor chamber to the top of the vapor chamber and vice versa, and the first working fluid would flow from the bottom of the tubular heat exchange member to top and vice versa).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wang and Yang discloses all previous claim limitations. Wang, as modified, further discloses an inner tubular capillary structure (114, ¶0023, Yang), the inner tubular capillary structure is disposed on the inner tubular liquid flow surface.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wang and Yang discloses all previous claim limitations. Wang, as modified, further discloses a heat source contact surface (F, Wang) opposite the first portion (see annotated fig 2 below, Wang), the heat source contact surface configured to thermally couple to a heat source, whereby the at least one tubular heat transfer structure decreases a vapor space of the first portion (such as taught by Yang), increasing a temperature within the first portion, and increasing a temperature difference between the temperature within the first portion and the temperature within the second portion and the third portion when the heat source contact surface is thermally coupled to the heat source.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wang and Yang discloses all previous claim limitations. Wang further discloses wherein at least two of the plurality of first support structures (330) is disposed on each of the plurality of heat transfer base structures (350).
5. Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Chinese Patent Publication CN214095677U, “Wang”) in view of Yang (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0318744).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a vapor chamber (figs 1-3), comprising:
a first plate (100),
a second plate (200) opposite the first plate, the first plate and the second plate defining an interior cavity, the interior cavity comprising, a first portion (see annotated fig 2 below), a second portion (see annotated fig 2 below), and a third portion (see annotated fig 2 below), the first portion surrounded by the second portion at a perimeter edge of the first portion, the second portion surrounded by the third portion at a perimeter edge of the second portion, the first portion having a first depth extending from the first plate to the second plate, the second portion having a second depth extending from the first plate to the second plate, and the third portion having a third depth extending from the first plate to the second plate (fig 2);
a plurality of first support structures (330, 350) disposed in the first portion, each plurality of first support structures having a first ends and a second end opposite to each other, the first ends of the first support structures contact the second plate (fig 1);
a plurality of support structures (320, 310) disposed in the second portion and the third portion, respectively, each plurality of support structures having an end and a second end opposite to each other, the first ends of the second support structure contact the second plate, and the second ends of the second support structures contact the first plate (fig 1); and
at least one tubular heat transfer structure (500) disposed in the first portion, the at least one tubular heat transfer structure extending from the first plate to the second plate and including a first working fluid having a first working fluid circulation path;
wherein the first depth is greater than the second depth and the second depth is greater than the third depth (fig 2).
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion include a second working fluid having a second working fluid circulation path different from the first working fluid circulation path. Yang, however, discloses a vapor chamber (fig 5) wherein a tubular heat transfer structure (12) has a first working fluid having a first working fluid circulation path (inside 12) and a second working fluid having a second working fluid circulation path (in 11) different from the first working fluid circulation path. Yang teaches that this configuration enhances heat transfer efficiency (¶0011). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Wang to have the tubular heat transfer structure have a separate working fluid circulation path to that of the first, second, and third portions in order to enhance heat transfer efficiency.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wang and Yang discloses all previous claim limitations. Wang further discloses wherein a shape of the plurality of first support structures (330, 350) comprise a cuboid shape (at least 350), and wherein a shape of the plurality of support structures (320, 310) comprise a cylinder shape.
6. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Yang as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Chen (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0355444).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wang and Yang discloses all previous claim limitations. However, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein a shape of the plurality of heat transfer base structures comprise at least one of an elongated oval-like shape, an elongated barbell-like shape, or a wavy bump shape. Chen, however, discloses a vapor chamber (fig 3A, 3B) wherein a shape of a plurality of heat transfer base structures (140) comprise an elongated oval-like shape. Chen teaches this as alternative to a cuboid shape (see fig 4A, 4B), such as taught in Wang. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Wang to provide the elongated oval-like shape of Chen in order to optimize the heat dissipation efficiency of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
8. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach the limitations of claim 15 when combined with claim 1 and the intervening claims. Specifically, the prior art does not teach the tubular heat transfer structure and heat pipe as claimed. Wang, considered the closest prior, art teaches provide the first, second, and third portions, as well as a tubular heat transfer structure. However, Wang fails to teach the combination of the tubular heat transfer structure and heat pipe.
Conclusion
/HARRY E ARANT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763