DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s communication filed on 12/18/23, wherein:
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) 1, 9, 17 as written recite “predicting operating parameters of the off-grid solar power system comprising one or more of: a solar panel power, a solar intensity, a load profile, a battery voltage over time based on the received information; comparison between one or more predicted operating parameters and one or more actual operating parameters” are the process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is other than reciting “by processing device”, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind (e.g., including observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion). For example, but for the “machine learning model implementing on one or more processor” language, the step of “predicting…; comparing….”, the context of this limitation encompasses that a person can mentally observing/reading the received power generation information monthly. If the person observes the decrease/drop in energy output from the received information compare to the previous month. The person can be able to predict or forecast the abnormal performance of the solar panel. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under the 2A prong 1 analysist.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application with respect to the 2A prong 2 analysist. In particular, the claim using a machine learning model to implement on a processor to perform the abstract idea. This step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., a generic processor ) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic component. Further, receiving information…; and sending user notification” are not considered as significantly more than the abstract idea because they are merely data gathering and outputting the data. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
With respect to the 2B analysis, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discuss above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using generic computer components to perform all of the steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component or other machinery .
In addition, receiving information…; and sending user notification are not considered as significantly more than the abstract idea because they are merely storing data in a memory and outputting the data which are considered as well understood routine conventional as it has been held by the court. Particularly in receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; (see MPEP 2106.05(d)). Viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Noting that claim to a system is held ineligible for the same reason, e.g., the generically-recited computers add nothing of substance to the underlying abstract idea. Therefore, the independents 1, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al.
Dependent claims 2, 4-8, 10, 12-16 are merely add further details of the abstract steps/elements recited in claims 1 and 11 without including an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, they are rejected for the same rational and are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 12-15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM ET AL (US 2024/0396498). Herein after KIM.
As for claim 1, KIM discloses a computer-implemented method for monitoring an off-grid solar power system {figures 1-2, 5-6} comprising:
receiving, by a first machine learning model implementing on one or more processors, information comprising one or more of: a solar panel current, a solar panel voltage, a battery current, a battery voltage, a load current, or a load voltage of the off-grid solar power system {at least figures 1, 2 and 3; pars.. 0054-0056, 0065-0066 discloses The electricity generation amount forecast unit 110 includes an electricity generation amount forecast model 111. The consumption amount forecast unit 120 includes a consumption amount forecast model 121 that receive the information regarding electricity generation amounts and consumption amount from the ESS device 200; par. 0071 discloses transmit and receiving data through communication with a power management system (PMS) of the energy storage apparatus (the ESS); par. 0076 discloses the input values include past electricity generation amounts, weather conditions (temperature, humidity, an amount of cloud, and the like), and energy electricity generation information (for example, solar light panel information and the like}
predicting, by the first machine learning model, operating parameters of the off-grid solar power system comprising one or more of: a solar panel power, a solar intensity, a load profile, a battery voltage over time based on the received information {see at least figure 3, step 310, pars. 0076, 0081, discloses e.g. the electricity generation amount forecast model 111 may output, as an output value, a time span-based forecast electricity generation amount, which can be generated on a per-time span basis, using, as input values, past electricity generation amounts, weather conditions (temperature, humidity, an amount of cloud, and the like), and energy electricity generation information (for example, solar light panel information and the like).;
receiving, by a second machine learning model implementing on the one or more processors, a comparison between one or more predicted operating parameters and one or more actual operating parameters {see at least figure 3, step 320-3040, pars. 0083-0091 e.g. detect the abnormality of the solar panel 300 based on the forecast electricity generation amount, which is forecasted on a per-time span basis, and the actually generated electricity generation amount};
and sending, by the second machine learning model, a user notification for an abnormal operating condition of the off-grid solar power system based on the comparison result {see at least figure 3, step 350, par. 0092 e.g. the control module 130 may provide a previously connected user terminal (or mobile terminal) with an alarm about the presence or absence of the abnormality of the solar panel 300 and the cause of the failure of the solar panel 300}.
As for claim 2, KIM discloses providing, by the second machine learning model, one or more maintenance recommendations based on the abnormal operating condition {see at least figure 5, item 4-2, pars. 0029, 0130, 0134}.
As for claim 4, KIM discloses the one or more maintenance recommendations comprise initiating a cleaning procedure for one or more solar panels {see at leastpars. 0029, 0130, 0134}.
As for claim 5, KIM discloses the one or more maintenance recommendations comprise reducing energy consumption by controlling active loads using a Battery Management System (BMS) {see at least pars. 0017-0018}.
As for claim 6, KIM discloses wherein the information further comprises one or more of: an air temperature, a wind speed, a wind direction, or a humidity {see at least par. 0045, 0076}.
As for claim 7, KIM discloses wherein the information further comprises one or more of: a battery charging level, or a battery temperature {see at least pars.0095, 0110-0111}.
As for claims 9-10, 12-15, 17-19, the limitations of these claims have been noted in the rejection above. They are therefore rejected for the same reason sets forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM as applied to claims above and in view of LINCHIEH ET AL (US 2024/0146060). Herein after LINCHIEH.
As for claims 8, 16 and 20, KIM discloses receiving information regarding energy electricity generation information (for example, solar panel information and the like) as indicated above. However, KIM does not explicitly disclose removing outliers from the information. However, such this known limitation has been taught in LINCHIEH reference as least in pars. 0085, 0099 e.g. “the data processor may perform other tasks such as identifying and removing outliers from the data, filling-in or removing gaps in any of data sources…. to make the training or inference processes more accurate”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective of filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of LINCHIEH into the system of KIM with a reasonable expectation of success in order to make the information/data more accurate.
Claim(s) 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM as applied to claims above and in view of JEONG (US 2022/0077820).
As for claims 3 and 11, KIM discloses claimed invention as indicated above except for the one or more maintenance recommendations comprise a flight path of Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) for detecting a malfunctioning device in the off-grid solar power system. However, JEONG discloses the known teachings of suing unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) for detecting the malfunction of the solar photovoltaic panel as shown in abstract, 0033, 0123, 0126, 0139 and figure 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective of filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of JEONG into the system of KIM with a reasonable expectation of success for performing a malfunction area inspection/detection process for the solar photovoltaic paned when using UAV.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Clifton et al (US 2022/0012644): Method and system for monitoring remote system;
Rakshit et al (US 2024/0429857): receiving a combination of weather data, power output data, and solar image data to pin-point dust contours from the solar panel;
Shi et al (US 2023/0198258): Apparatus and method for optimizing carbon emissions in a power grid;
Balawi et al (US 2025/0062719): System and method for determination of soiling loss on solar panels of photovoltaic (PV) power plant;
Murugesan et al (US 2018/0131190): energy flow prediction for electric systems including photovoltaic solar systems;
Valerino (US 2024/0403977): Solar monitoring systems, devices, and methods.
Kim (US 2021/0305937): Device and method for determining whether power generation system is abnormal.
/KIRA NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656