DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on April 05, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered and accepted by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on December 18, 2023, has been considered and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wagner et al. (US 2009/0122816, Applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on April 05, 2025).
Regarding claim 1, Wagner disclose a method for generating multiple wavelength (see paragraph [0036]), narrow linewidth, single longitudinal and single transversal mode emission (see paragraph [0037], discloses that single frequency, i.e. single longitudinal mode emission is envisaged. A single frequency beam is by definition also single transversal mode as a multiple transversal mode beam comprises different frequencies corresponding to the various transversal mode), in a lighting device (see Figure 4 and paragraph [0031]) comprising a nonlinear output crystal (see Figure 4, characters 411 and/or 412 and paragraphs [0032 – 0033]), an optical parametric oscillator (OPO) resonator (see Figure 4, character 409 and paragraph [0032], the reference called “OPO cavity”. The OPO cavity 409 terminated by mirrors 403 and 410) comprising an OPO-resonator ingress mirror (see Figure 4, character 410 and paragraphs [0032 – 0033]) and a nonlinear OPO crystal (see Figure 4), and a laser-resonator (see Figure 4) comprising a laser-resonator ingress mirror (see Figure 4, character 405 and paragraph [0032]), a laser-resonator egress mirror (see Figure 4, character 403 and paragraph [0032]), a single laser medium (see Figure 4, character 406 and paragraph [0031], the reference called “Cr2+ laser crystal”) and the OPO-resonator (see Figure 4, character 409 and paragraphs [0031 – 0033]), comprising the steps of:
receiving a pump beam (see Figure 4, character 415) from a single pump diode (see Figure 4, character 414, paragraph [0033] and claims 7 and 8, the pump source is a semiconductor diode laser or diode-pumped solid-state laser);
pumping the single laser medium (see Figure 4, character 406 and paragraphs [0031 and 0033], the reference called “Cr2+ laser crystal”) inside the laser-resonator (see Figure 4, character 402 through 403 and paragraph [0032]) with the pump beam (see Figure 4, character 415) to produce a laser wave (see Figure 4, character 416 and paragraph [0033], the reference called “laser beam”);
resonating the laser wave (see Figure 4, character 416) by the laser-resonator (see Figure 4, character 402 through 403 and paragraph [0033]);
pumping the nonlinear OPO crystal (see Figure 4, characters 411 and/or 412, paragraphs [0032 – 0033]) with the laser wave (see Figure 4, character 416 and paragraph [0033]);
producing by the nonlinear OPO crystal (see Figure 4, characters 411 and/or 412) a short OPO wave and a long OPO wave (see paragraphs [0030 and 0032 – 0033] and claim 20, the OPO crystal produce “signal” and “idler”. The signal: is the output beam with the higher frequency (shorter wavelength) than the idler and the Idler: is the output beam with the lower frequency (longer wavelength) than the signal);
resonating the short OPO wave (see Figure 4) by the OPO-resonator (see Figure 4, and paragraph [0033], the OPO beam is circulated between mirrors 403 and 410);
receiving the short OPO wave by the nonlinear output crystal (see Figure 4, characters 411 and/or 412 and paragraphs [0032 – 0033]) to produce at least one output wave (see Figure 4, character 413 and paragraphs [0033 – 0034] and claims 3 – 6, the OPO beam circulates in the OPO cavity and therefore is received by the nonlinear crystal which “produces” and output wave, that part of the circulating OPO beam is outputted. It is noted that the second nonlinear does not specify which type of “output wave” is produced by said nonlinear crystal); and
emitting by the laser-resonator egress mirror (see Figure 4, character 403) at least a leaked portion of the laser wave (see Figure 4, character 416) and the at least one output wave (see Figure 4, character 413 and paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 2, Wagner disclose the laser-resonator egress mirror (see Figure 4, character 403) is further configured as an OPO-resonator egress mirror (see Figure 4, character 403).
Regarding claim 13, Wagner disclose an illumination device for generating multiple wavelength (see paragraph [0036]), narrow linewidth, single longitudinal and single transversal mode emission (see paragraph [0037], discloses that single frequency, i.e. single longitudinal mode emission is envisaged. A single frequency beam is by definition also single transversal mode as a multiple transversal mode beam comprises different frequencies corresponding to the various transversal mode), comprising:
a laser-resonator (see Figure 4, character 402 through 403 and paragraph [0032]) further comprising:
a single laser medium (see Figure 4, character 406 and paragraphs [0031 and 0033], the reference called “Cr2+ laser crystal”) configured to receive a pump beam (see Figure 4, character 415) from a single pump diode (see Figure 4, character 414, paragraph [0033] and claims 7 and 8, the pump source is a semiconductor diode laser or diode-pumped solid-state laser) and produce a laser wave (see Figure 4, character 416 and paragraph [0033], the reference called “laser beam”);
a laser-resonator ingress mirror (see Figure 4, character 405 and paragraphs [0032 – 0033]) and a laser-resonator egress mirror (see Figure 4, character 403 and paragraphs [0032 – 0033]) configured to resonate the laser wave (see Figure 4, character 416); and
an OPO-resonator (see Figure 4, character 409 and paragraph [0032], the reference called “OPO cavity”. The OPO cavity 409 terminated by mirrors 403 and 410);
the OPO-resonator (see Figure 4, character 409) further comprising:
an OPO crystal (see Figure 4, characters 411 and/or 412 and paragraphs [0032 – 0033]) configured to receive the laser wave (see Figure 4, character 416) and produce a short OPO wave and a long OPO wave (see paragraphs [0030 and 0032 – 0033] and claim 20, the OPO crystal produce “signal” and “idler”. The signal: is the output beam with the higher frequency (shorter wavelength) than the idler and the Idler: is the output beam with the lower frequency (longer wavelength) than the signal; and
an OPO-resonator ingress mirror (see Figure 4, character 410) configured to resonate the short OPO wave with the laser-resonator egress mirror (see Figure 4, character 403 and paragraphs [0032 – 0033]); and
a nonlinear output crystal (see Figure 4, character 411 and paragraphs [0032 – 0033]) configured to receive the short OPO wave and produce at least one output wave (see Figure 4, character 413 and paragraphs [0033 – 0034] and claims 3 – 6, the OPO beam circulates in the OPO cavity and therefore is received by the nonlinear crystal which “produces” and output wave, that part of the circulating OPO beam is outputted. It is noted that the second nonlinear does not specify which type of “output wave” is produced by said nonlinear crystal),
wherein the laser-resonator egress mirror (see Figure 4, character 403) is configured to emit at least a leaking out laser wave (see Figure 4, character 416) and the at least one output wave (see Figure 4, character 413 and paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 14, Wagner disclose the laser-resonator egress mirror (see Figure 4, character 403) is further configured as an OPO-resonator egress mirror (see Figure 4, character 403).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 – 6 and 15 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner et al. (US 2009/0122816, Applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on April 05, 2025) in view of Chen et al. (“High-peak-power 786nm and 452nm lasers based on 1064nm intracavity-driven cascaded nonlinear optical frequency conversion”, Applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on April 05, 2025).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Wagner discloses the nonlinear output crystal (see Figure 4, characters 411 and/or 412) is disposed within the OPO-resonator (see Figure 4, characters 409).
Wagner discloses the claimed invention except for the nonlinear output crystal configured for second harmonic generation (SHG) of the short OPO wave. Chen teaches a second harmonic generation (SHG) (see Figure 1). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the second harmonic generation (SHG) as discloses by Chen in (see Figure 1, Abstract, Page 30727, first full paragraph and Page 30728, first full paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the second harmonic generation (SHG) as suggested to the device of Wagner, the SHG is a nonlinear optical process in which two photons of the same frequency interact with a nonlinear material to produce a single photon with twice the frequency (and half the wavelength) while conserving the coherence of the input light.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Wagner discloses the nonlinear output crystal (see Figure 4, characters 411 and/or 412) is disposed within the OPO-resonator (see Figure 4, characters 403 through 410) and the laser-resonator (see Figure 4, character 402 through 403 and paragraph [0032] the laser cavity terminated by mirrors 402 and 403 is placed an OPO cavity 409 terminated by mirrors 403 and 410).
Wagner discloses the claimed invention except for a nonlinear output crystal is configured for sum-frequency generation (SFG) of the short OPO wave and the laser wave. Chen teaches a sum-frequency generation (SFG) (see Figure 1). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the sum-frequency generation (SFG) as discloses by Chen in (see Figure 1, Abstract, page 30727, first full paragraph and page 30728, first full paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the sum-frequency generation (SFG) as suggested to the device of Wagner, the Sum-frequency generation (SFG) is a second-order nonlinear optical process in which two input photons (light beams) interact in a material lacking centrosymmetry to produce a third photon whose frequency is the sum of the two input frequencies. This process is a form of optical mixing and is governed by the conservation of energy and momentum.
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Wagner discloses the claimed invention except for the nonlinear output crystal comprises a sum-frequency generation (SFG) region and a second harmonic generation (SHG) region. Chen teaches a second harmonic generation (SHG) region (see Figure 1) and a nonlinear output crystal is configured for sum-frequency generation (SFG) region (see Figure 1). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the second harmonic generation (SHG) region (see Figure 1) and the nonlinear output crystal is configured for sum-frequency generation (SFG) region (see Figure 1) as discloses by Chen in (see Figure 1, Abstract, page 30727, first full paragraph and page 30728, first full paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the second harmonic generation (SHG) region (see Figure 1) and the nonlinear output crystal is configured for sum-frequency generation (SFG) region (see Figure 1) as suggested to the device of Wagner, the SHG is a nonlinear optical process in which two photons of the same frequency interact with a nonlinear material to produce a single photon with twice the frequency (and half the wavelength) while conserving the coherence of the input light. The Sum-frequency generation (SFG) is a second-order nonlinear optical process in which two input photons (light beams) interact in a material lacking centrosymmetry to produce a third photon whose frequency is the sum of the two input frequencies. This process is a form of optical mixing and is governed by the conservation of energy and momentum.
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Wagner discloses the claimed invention except for the nonlinear output crystal comprises a region configured for second harmonic generation (SHG) of the laser wave. Chen teaches a second harmonic generation (SHG) (see Figure 1). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the second harmonic generation (SHG) as discloses by Chen in (see Figure 1, Abstract, Page 30727, first full paragraph and Page 30728, first full paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the second harmonic generation (SHG) as suggested to the device of Wagner, the SHG is a nonlinear optical process in which two photons of the same frequency interact with a nonlinear material to produce a single photon with twice the frequency (and half the wavelength) while conserving the coherence of the input light.
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner et al. (US 2009/0122816, Applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on April 05, 2025) in view of Chen et al. (“High-peak-power 786nm and 452nm lasers based on 1064nm intracavity-driven cascaded nonlinear optical frequency conversion”, Applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on April 05, 2025), further in view of Kozlov et al. (US 8,599,474, Applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on April 05, 2025).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Wagner and Chen discloses the claimed invention except for the step of translating the nonlinear output crystal with respect to the laser wave and/or the short OPO wave and the nonlinear output crystal is configured to be translated with respect to the laser wave and/or the short OPO wave. Kozlov teaches a nonlinear output crystal (see Figure 4, character 406) is translated by positioning mechanism (see Figure 4, character 420). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the nonlinear output crystal is translated as discloses by Kozlov in (see Figure 4 and column 6, lines 202 – 24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the nonlinear output crystal is translated as suggested to the device of Wagner and Chen, the positioning mechanism is arranged to translate the nonlinear optical medium in a transverse direction relative to a longitudinal direction of propagation of the resonant optical modes through the nonlinear optical medium. The positioning mechanism is arranged to translate the nonlinear optical medium so that the resonant optical modes propagate through any chosen one (e.g., region 406a, 406b, 406c, etc.) among two or more of the regions. The positioning mechanism can comprise any suitable translator, translation stage, moveable platform, or actuator (any of which can be manual, mechanized, or automated), or other hardware or software suitable for moving the nonlinear medium as described. If the regions are transversely arranged in a single line relative to one another.
Claims 8 – 11 and 20 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner et al. (US 2009/0122816, Applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on April 05, 2025) in view of Kozlov et al. (US 8,599,474, Applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on April 05, 2025).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Wagner discloses the claimed invention except for the nonlinear OPO crystal comprises a first OPO region and a second OPO region. Kozlov teaches a nonlinear OPO crystal (see Figure 4, character 406, the reference called “nonlinear optical medium”) comprises a first and second OPO regions (see Figure 4, character 406a or 406b or 406c or 406d). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the first and second OPO regions as discloses by Kozlov in (see Figure 4 and column 5, lines 57 – 67, and column 6, lines 1 – 41). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the first and second OPO regions as suggested to the device of Wagner, each region differs from that of another region (e.g., with respect to their respective odd orders of quasi-phase-matching of the optical parametric conversion). If the regions are transversely arranged in a single line relative to one another, then a single axis of transverse motion (substantially parallel to the row of regions is sufficient. If the regions are arranged in two transverse dimensions, then two-dimensional transverse motion of the medium can be employed to enable any one of those regions to be positioned so that the optical modes would propagate through it.
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Wagner and Kozlov, Kozlov discloses translating (see Figure 4, character 420) the nonlinear output crystal (see Figure 4, character 406) with respect to the pump beam (see Figure 4, character 402, Abstract, column 2, lines 37 – 45, column 6, lines 1 – 41 and claim 8 rejection)
Regarding claims 10, 11, 22 and 23, Wagner and Kozlov, Kozlov disclose tuning the nonlinear OPO crystal and/or the nonlinear output crystal and tuning the nonlinear OPO crystal and/or the nonlinear output crystal further comprises at least one of the group of: changing a temperature of the respective crystal, changing an angle of incidence of the respective crystal, and translating the respective crystal according to two or more regions of the respective crystal (see column 5, lines 29 – 42 and 57 through column 7, lines 33, column 11, lines 50 – 53 and column 12, lines 42 – 46, the nonlinear may be moved in relation to the pump beam to tune to the desired signal and/or idler wavelengths. The nonlinear output frequencies may be varied by changing the temperature of the nonlinear. The output light can be tuned by moving the nonlinear position and/or angle, and/or changing the temperature of the crystal ).
Claims 12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner et al. (US 2009/0122816, Applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on April 05, 2025) in view of Zhou (US 2011/0150015, Applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on April 05, 2025).
Regarding claims 12 and 24, Wagner discloses the claimed invention except for a wavelength selective element disposed within the laser-resonator and/or the OPO-resonator. Zhou disclose wavelength selective element (see Figure 8, characters 80 and/or 88). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify wavelength selective element as discloses by Zhou in (see Figure 8, Abstract and paragraphs [0015 – 0016 and 0042] and claims 20 – 26 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify wavelength selective element as suggested to the device of Wagner, in order to select the desired wavelength. A wavelength-selective element is an optical component that controls which wavelengths of light pass through or are reflected, allowing only a specific range (or single wavelength) to reach the detector or sample.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references US 6130900 disclose intracavity frequency-converted pulsed laser, output-pulses having a duration longer than three milliseconds are simulated by a burst of temporally spaced-apart pulses having a shorter duration, the burst duration being about equal to the duration of the pulse being simulated. In an example of the laser including a KTP crystal providing frequency-doubling and having an Nd:YAG gain-medium for providing fundamental radiation at a wavelength of 1064 nm, a thin-etalon having a thickness of about 75 micrometers is included in the laser cavity to suppress generation of laser-radiation at wavelengths of 1061 and 1074 nm. Suppression of oscillation at these wavelengths prevents damage in the KTP crystal due to abrupt intracavity power surges thereby preventing damage to the KTP crystal. Examples of intracavity-pumped optical parametric oscillators including a thin etalon and operated in a similar manner are also disclosed.
US 20050078718 disclose a method of intracavity frequency conversion in a CW laser includes causing fundamental radiation to circulate in a laser resonator. The fundamental radiation makes a first pass through an optically nonlinear crystal where a fraction of the fundamental radiation generates second-harmonic radiation in a forward pass through the crystal. The residual fundamental radiation and the second-harmonic radiation are then sum-frequency mixed in forward and reverse passes through an optically nonlinear crystal such that a fraction of each is converted to third-harmonic radiation. The residual second-harmonic radiation and fundamental radiation from the sum-frequency mixing then make a reverse pass through the second-harmonic generating crystal where the second-harmonic radiation is converted back to fundamental radiation. The third harmonic radiation can be delivered from the resonator as output radiation, or can be used to pump another optically nonlinear crystal in an optical parametric oscillator. Second-harmonic radiation can also be used to pump an optical parametric oscillator.
US 9281652 disclose a laser system includes a laser resonator having a laser resonator volume and a gain block disposed therein, the gain block being configured to emit light at a predetermined laser wavelength, and an OPO unstable resonator having an OPO unstable resonator volume, the OPO unstable resonator optically coupled to the laser resonator and configured to receive light therefrom, wherein a portion of the OPO unstable resonator volume is situated with respect to the laser resonator volume so as to form an overlapping volume.
/Delma R Forde/Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828