DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoss in view of Bae et al (US 2025/0103141) OR Hassan (US 2017/0103124) and further in view of Mori et al (US 2023/0108419), Springer (US 2022/0353473) OR Duquette (US 2024/0242380).
Claims 1 and 11, Shoss teaches a computing system and medium configured to perform video segmentation and processing operations, comprising: a memory device to store received video data; and processing circuitry configured to:
obtain video data from a video data source, the video data depicting a human user and an object in a scene;
Shoss: Fig. 6A and 6B: host 604 and objects 621, 622 and 685);
obtain context data from at least one other data source that provides non-video data, the context data related to an interaction of the human user with the object;
Shoss: Figs. 7A and 7B: a host individual picking up a product from a table), speech pertaining to the product (e.g., a host individual mentioning the product), eye gaze (e.g., a host individual looking at the product), and/or other activities, [0069-0070]);
analyze the context data to determine a shape of the object and a type of the interaction of the human user with the object;
Shoss: to identify objects…[0035]. Please see [0033-0038] for more detail on analysis of object and human interaction. Regarding context data which can be “news and weather information, sports highlights, product information, reviews of products and services, product promotion, educational material, how-to videos, advertising, and more, [0008] or icons, company logos, [0051, 0069, 0070, 0076]. Regarding shape which can be a “box” as in in product 622 or can shape as in product 621 which is a subject matter keyword that the host selects and discusses. Springer, via Fig. 10, utilizes Speech-to-Text to evaluate the textual; data for keywords or character strings, [0120-0128], the keywords “zoom.com”, [0105], or keyword for a baseball, [0106]. Since both Shoss and Springer teach a capability to identify an object, it is obvious that it can also identify the shape of an object, i.e., every object in Shoss’ figs. 6B, 7A, 7B. or a baseball (round baseball at least by obviousness) as in Springer, [0106]. However Examiner wishes to provide additional data to support the obviousness as Bae teaches that keyword identifies an object having a unique shape, See Fig. 2. Hassan teaches, “when the search keyword describes a shape of a visual pattern, the analysis program analyzes the content of the scene and lists the shape of each object that appears in the scene assigned with a location corresponding to each object's location, [0032]), and
generate a video stream that includes a virtual background overlaid on the video data, (Shoss: virtual background can replace actual background, [0009];
wherein the virtual background is modified to be segmented based on at least one outline of the human user, to remove the virtual background and cause the video stream to display portions of video data inside the at least one outline of the human user, and wherein the virtual background is modified to be further segmented based on the shape of the object and the type of the interaction of the human user with the object, to remove the virtual background and cause the video stream to display other portions of the video data inside the at least one outline of the shape of the objects.
As presented in the previous action, Shoss teaches everything in the immediate step (Figs 7a and 7b and [0066])… except the amendment highlighted.
Shoss, via Figs. 7a and 7B, generates/composes a livestream video combining of the outline or contour of the host individual’s hand lifting up the objects/products 621 and 622 with the shape of a can or a box as the host individual interacts (i.e., discusses/demonstrates the products, [0066]. Furthermore, Shoss teaches removing a virtual background and replacing with a new background [0058]… Again he does not teach the highlighted (underlining) amendment.
Mori teaches, via [0037], “In order to increase the accuracy of the picking control model, it is necessary to let the picking control model learn an image for training which is as close to the real environment RE as possible. For this reason, it is conceivable to generate a virtual environment image showing a state within a photographing range of the virtual camera VC after making the virtual object VO a color close to the real object RO and making the virtual background VB a color close to the real background RB. Alternatively, for example, a portion of the virtual background VB in the virtual environment image may be replaced with a portion of the real background RB in the image taken by the camera 40. OR
Springer similarly teaches via [0065], “A preconfigured rule may also include negative operators to preclude when a virtual background is not to be used. For example, a user may have personal based virtual backgrounds that are used when video conferencing with family or friends, and may not want to have the virtual background used for company or business meetings. The user may identify conditions and/or parameters of when not to use a particular virtual background for certain meeting contextual information. In this instance, this would preclude use of the virtual background from being automatically selected for those do not use meeting situations. Also, the system may be configured to preclude the user from manually selecting the virtual background is such situations, or at least prompt the user noting the virtual background has been precluded for use for the particular meeting at hand, and then allowing the user to override the preconfigured rule is the user so desires.
Duquette via Fig. 5B and 5D show the contours/masks of the virtual objects once the virtual background being removed.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Bae or Hassan into the teaching Shoss for the purpose of expressly detail the keyword associating with an item and its characteristic, i.e., shape, to enhance the communication and also to incorporate the teaching of Mori, Springer or Duquette into the teaching Shoss for the purpose of providing tool to replace/remove the virtual background with some proper real images for the communication.
Claims 2 and 12, wherein the context data includes audio data with speech from the human user, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: perform speech-to-text conversion of the audio data to produce text, (Shoss: speech-to-text, [0045, 0051] where the selection of the product can be based on information in an audio track 232. The information can include a combination of tones. The information can include utterances and/or speech from a host individual. The speech can be processed by a speech-to-text process for further analysis, [0045]” where a product is selected and discussed by a host, [0011]) wherein the shape of the object is determined based on at least one keyword from the text; Springer, via Fig. 10, utilizes Speech-to-Text to evaluate the textual; data for keywords or character strings, [0120-0128]. Springer further details the if a preconfigured rule includes the keywords “zoom.com”, and the contextual information includes a reference to zoom.com, such as a user email address, then the virtual background boundary area 704 would be initiated and become active during the video meeting, and the system would display the associated virtual background (e.g., the graphical image of the word “ZOOM”., [0105], or keyword for a baseball, [0106]
Claims 3 and 13. The computing system of claim 2, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: identify the object in the video data based on the at least one keyword from the text. (Shoss: subject matter keyword, [0051]; …The selection of the product can be based on information in an audio track 232. The information can include a combination of tones. The information can include utterances and/or speech from a host individual. The speech can be processed by a speech-to-text process for further analysis, [0045]”.
Claims 4 and 14. The computing system of claim 2, wherein the shape of the object is provided from a database of pre-trained objects, and wherein a selection of the object from the database is performed using the at least one keyword from the text. (Springer, via Fig. 10, utilizes Speech-to-Text to evaluate the textual; data for keywords or character strings, [0120-0128].
Claims 5 and 15. The computing system of claim 2, further comprising:
a camera to capture the video data; and a microphone to capture the audio data. (Shoss: Some devices may include multiple cameras, including wide-angle, ultrawide, and telephoto lenses, (i.e., camera 608 of Fig. 5), along with stereo microphones, [0005] to provide information which can include a combination of tones. The information can include utterances and/or speech from a host individual. The speech can be processed by a speech-to-text process for further analysis. In embodiments, the defining the virtual background is based on the host individual's spoken words, [0045]).
Claims 6 and 16, further comprising a display device; wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to identify screen content output on the display device; and wherein the interaction of the human user with the object is ignored or identified based on the screen content. (Shoss: the identification of the foreground object as a product can include performing optical character recognition on text imprinted on a foreground object, and/or implementing other image recognition techniques. Further, the identification of the foreground object as a product can include scanning of an optical code such as a barcode that is imprinted on the product, [0026] or by motion of the product. For example, when a host individual picks up an object, the motion of the object can be detected and a virtual background can be defined and/or selected based on the motion of the object, [0027] on the screen of Fig. 7A and 7B).
Claims 7 and 17, further comprising a user input device; wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to identify a user input provided to the user input device, wherein the user input includes at least one of a keyboard, mouse, touch, or gesture input from the human user; and wherein the interaction of the human user with the object is ignored or identified based on the user input. (Shoss: The insertion point can be based on an absolute time, a time interval, a change of subject matter, motion of a foreground object, spoken words of a host individual, motion/gestures of a host individual, and/or other criteria, [0039, 0040, 0066, 0072]).
Claims 8 and 18, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: analyze the context data to determine a plurality of candidate objects in the scene for interaction; and select the object from the plurality of candidate objects based on at least one other interaction performed by the human user related to the object. (Shoss: Figs. 6A and 6B: products 621, 622, 685 where the individual interact with the products in Figs. 7A and 7B).
Claims 10 and 20, further comprising: communications circuitry to provide the video stream to another computing system in a video call or video conferencing session. (Springer: See Fig. 9 for multiple participants at different locations. Here clearly video stream is distributing to more than one participating system).
Claim(s) 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoss in view of Bae OR Hassan and in view of Mori, Springer OR Duquette and further in view of in view of Lovemelt.
Claims 9 and 19, Shoss does not teach, “perform video post-processing on the video data based on the shape of the object and the type of the interaction of the human user”.
Lovemelt: [0085] In addition to previously described features and functionality, the video processing system 1020 is depicted as compositing functionality 1026 and effects functionality 1027. In an example, the compositing functionality 1026 is adapted to process camera video streams (e.g., camera feeds 760, 765) from a NIR/Visible camera system (e.g., dual camera system 300), and create a matte (e.g., luma matte 780) and generate output image and video (e.g., image with alpha channel 785) from the two respective video streams. The effects functionality 1027 is also adapted to implement post-processing video effects on all or a portion of the video streams (e.g., with the addition of additional video objects or layers, the distortion of colors, shapes, or perspectives in the video, and any other number of other video changes). In a further example, the video processing system 1020 may operate as a server, to receive and process video data obtained from the video capture system 1030, and to serve video data output to the video input/output system 1010.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Lovemelt into the teaching Shoss for the purpose of providing a post-processing effect in the composing technique to enhance communication in the immersive video environment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the current claim(s) filed 1/16/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Please see the remark for detail of the applicant’s arguments.
Examiner respectfully disagrees as examiner has produced new references to address applicant’s arguments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUNG-HOANG J NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691