DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amendments filed on 04/17/2026 have been received, to which the Applicant is thanked. The Applicant has overcome some of the Drawing Objections of record and they have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
The arguments have been fully considered, but have not been found to be persuasive.
In response to Applicants argument on page 5 regarding the Drawing objection over the C-shaped braces 1002,
The examiner respectfully responds the Applicants comments on this matter in the response is appreciated, however, the Examiner believes the issue still persists even with the Applicants explanation, as the Examiner fails to see any element of element 1002 that can be construed as “C” shaped; such a statement could be subjective, as the Examiner could also say it is “A” shaped, as presented in Figs. 18 and 19. The Examiner would suggest the Applicant remove such subjective language from the claim language, or amend the Figures to positively create an end brace 1002 that is positively “C” shaped, as the Applicant has already demonstrated they posses the knowledge of what letter shapes are to be, for example, an actual V-shape is to be, with their recitation of the V-shape of the hood, overcoming the Applicants argument over the Drawing Objection of record.
In response to Applicants argument on pages 5-6 regarding newly amended claim language,
The examiner respectfully responds the Applicants arguments are directed to new amendments to the claim language, which have been addressed in the rejection below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
End braces 1002 (C-shaped) – (the disclosure identified element 1002 as “C” shaped end braces, however, the figures of at least Fig. 19 seem to identify element 1002 at a location where one can visibly see inside the device, meaning the “C” shaped end brace is not shown, much less any structure that can be readily identified as specifically a “C” shape; only a possible location for the end brace)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, & 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfert (US 4,325,290), in view of Matsushita et al (JPH07157690), hereinafter referred to as Matsushita, in further view of Vallery et al (63/305,389, dated 02/01/2022), hereinafter referred to as Vallery.
Regarding claim 1, Wolfert (US 4,325,290) shows a ventilation system comprising:
a vent body (12, Fig. 5);
a perforated barrier (30, Fig. 5) comprising outer edges (see Annotated Figure 1);
a hood (10, Fig. 5) defining a V-shape (see Annotated Figure 1) and comprising lateral side ends (see Annotated Figure 1),
wherein the V-shape engages at the top of the vent body (see Annotated Figure 1), and
wherein the lateral side ends engage the outer edges of the perforated barrier to contain the outer edges (see Annotated Figure 1);
and
a baffle (82/84, Fig. 5) located above the perforated barrier (Fig. 5), creating a multiple barrier system that limits the intrusion of water and debris into the vent body and also allows for adequate net free ventilation area for the egress of stale attic air (Fig. 5 - MPEP 2115 states material or article worked on does not limit an apparatus claim provided the apparatus is capable of performing the claimed function. The claimed structure of the prior art is capable of performing the claimed function of limiting the intrusion of water and debris into the vent body and also allows for adequate net free ventilation area for the egress of stale attic air).
However, Wolfert lacks showing a nonwoven polyester baffle.
Matsushita (JP07157960), a baffle used in buildings, is in the same field of endeavor as Wolfert which is a baffle used in buildings.
Matsushita teaches a nonwoven polyester baffle (¶0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the baffle of Wolfert to incorporate the teachings of the nonwoven polyester baffle of Matsushita, which would provide a nonwoven fabric for reinforcing asphalt roofing which has excellent processing operability in the manufacturing process of recyclable polyester asphalt roofing that is superior to conventional products (¶0005).
However, Wolfert lacks showing an indent at the top of the vent body.
Vallery (62/305,389), a roof ventilation system, is in the same field of endeavor as Wolfert which is a roof ventilation system.
Vallery teaches an indent at the top of the vent body (see Annotated Figure 2 – the Merriam-Websters Dictionary defines Indent: “to force inward so as to form a depression”; the Examiner is taking the broadest reasonable interpretation to understand the identified element is an indent, formed at the top of the vent body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vent body of Wolfert to incorporate the teachings of the indent in the vent body of Vallery, which would facilitate a means for the vent body with an indentation to provide adequate rigidity to support the cap weight and reinforce the roof with a separate rigid member laying therein (Page 2, Lines 8-10).
Annotated Figure 1
Annotated Figure 2
Regarding claim 2, Wolfert shows wherein the vent body comprises two flanges for attaching the ventilation system to a roof deck (see Annotated Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Wolfert shows wherein the top of the vent body defines a V- shaped cavity that receives the V-shape of the hood (see Annotated Figure 1).
However, Wolfert lacks showing an indent at the top of the vent body.
Vallery teaches an indent at the top of the vent body (see Annotated Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vent body of Wolfert to incorporate the teachings of the indent in the vent body of Vallery, which would facilitate a means for the vent body with an indentation to provide adequate rigidity to support the cap weight and reinforce the roof with a separate rigid member laying therein (Page 2, Lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 6, Wolfert shows further comprising two mortar stops (see Annotated Figure 1), allowing for the packing of mortar between the two mortar stops and field tiles to prevent the intrusion of water underneath the tiles (see Annotated Figure 1 - the previous statement is interpreted as a statement of intended use, of which also invokes MPEP 2115 which states material or article worked on does not limit an apparatus claim provided the apparatus is capable of performing the claimed function. The claimed structure of the prior art is capable of performing the claimed function of allowing for the packing of mortar between the two mortar stops and field tiles to prevent the intrusion of water underneath the tiles).
Regarding claim 7, Wolfert shows wherein the hood (10, Fig. 5) caps the baffle (see Annotated Figure 1 – the hood caps and encloses the baffle).
Regarding claim 16, Wolfert shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1 including wherein the vent body doubles as a structural member that can support weight (Fig. 5 – the vent body doubles as a structural member that can support weight, for example the weight of elements 82/84), while also providing sufficient air flow for venting an attic (Col. 1, Lines 5-8).
However, Wolfert lacks showing wherein the vent body doubles as a structural member to support the weight of a ridge cap tile.
Vallery teaches wherein the vent body (see Annotated Figure 2) doubles as a structural member to support the weight of a ridge cap tile (Page 2, Lines 3-6 – the vent body acts as a structural member to support the weight of a cap of a roof tile).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vent body of Wolfert to incorporate the teachings of the indent in the vent body of Vallery, which would facilitate a means for the vent body with an indentation to provide adequate rigidity to support the cap weight and reinforce the roof with a separate rigid member laying therein (Page 2, Lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 17, Wolfert shows wherein the baffle (82/84, Fig. 5) is located above the perforated barrier (Fig. 5), and formed by two sections of material of a relative cross-section placed on each side of the vent body (Fig. 5).
However, Wolfert lacks showing the baffle formed of nonwoven polyester material
Matsushita teaches the baffle formed of nonwoven polyester material (¶0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the baffle of Wolfert to incorporate the teachings of the nonwoven polyester baffle of Matsushita, which would provide a nonwoven fabric for reinforcing asphalt roofing which has excellent processing operability in the manufacturing process of recyclable polyester asphalt roofing that is superior to conventional products (¶0005).
Regarding claim limitation “the baffle is of a of trapezoidal cross-section”, the courts have held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. At the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the baffle being of a of trapezoidal cross-section instead of having the baffle being of a relative cross-section, because applicant has not disclosed that having the baffle being of a of trapezoidal cross-section provides an advantage, is used for particular purpose, or solves a stated problem.
As Wolfert shows the baffle is of a relative cross-section, one of ordinary skill in the art, would have expected the Applicant's invention to perform equally well with having the baffle being of a of trapezoidal cross-section or having the baffle being of a relative cross-section or shape, because both cross sections or shapes performs the function of filtering out external elements and transferring air equally well. (MPEP 2144.04, Sect IV.B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the baffle of Wolfert of having a trapezoidal cross-section for the predictable result and benefit of filling the contour of the shape of the vent hood with the baffle, increasing the filtering effect.
Claims 3 & 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfert (US 4,325,290), in view of Matsushita et al (JPH07157690), hereinafter referred to as Matsushita, in further view of Vallery et al (63/305,389, dated 02/01/2022), hereinafter referred to as Vallery, in further view of Inokawa et al (US 4,545,292), hereinafter referred to as Inokawa.
Regarding claim 3, Wolfert shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1 except further comprising a male body extension flange configured to overlap an adjacent vent.
Inokawa (US 4,545,292), a roof ventilation device, is in the same field of endeavor as Wolfert which is a roof ventilation device.
Inokawa teaches further comprising a male body extension flange (54, Fig. 9) configured to overlap an adjacent vent (B’, Fig. 9/10 – as the Applicant shows an adjacent vent for their claimed invention to have a male body extension flange to overlap with said undisclosed adjacent vent in their own Figures, as does Inokawa teach a male body extension flange 54 for overlapping a female end of an adjacent vent B’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vent of Wolfert to incorporate the teachings of the male body extension flange of Inokawa, which would provide a way to connect adjacent vent sections in a water-tight manner, which would help prevent damage to property in case of a leak (Col. 4, Lines 30-33).
Regarding claim 4, Wolfert shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1 including the vent body.
However, Wolfert lacks showing further comprising two C-shaped end braces attached to an interior of the vent body.
Inokawa teaches comprising two C-shaped end braces (50, Fig. 9/10, Col. 4, Lines 22-24 – as the Applicant shows any end cap being C-shaped where element 1002 is identified in at least Fig. 19, as does Inokawa teach comprising two C-shaped end braces 50, of which is C-shaped as the top of the structure is curved in the shape of the letter C) attached to an interior of the vent body (Fig. 9/10, Col. 4, Lines 22-24 elements 50 are attached to the interior of the vent body comprising of element 20 and 22/22’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vent body of Wolfert to incorporate the teachings of the two C-shaped end braces of Inokawa, which would provide end caps of a shape that fits the device accordingly to close the ends of the device, which would prevent foreign objects including weather elements and animals out of the interior of the device (Col. 3, Lines 46-53).
Claims 8-9 & 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfert (US 4,325,290), in view of Matsushita et al (JPH07157690), hereinafter referred to as Matsushita, in further view of Vallery et al (63/305,389, dated 02/01/2022), hereinafter referred to as Vallery.
Regarding claim 8, Wolfert (US 4,325,290) shows a universal tile ridge vent (UTRV) comprising:
a vent body (12, Fig. 5) comprising multiple holes (24/26, Fig. 5 – elements 26 are ports, or holes on each respective element 30);
and a V-shape at the top of the vent body (Fig. 5, see Annotated Figure 1);
a perforated barrier (30, Fig. 5) to minimize water intrusion into the vent body (Fig. 5 – element 30 is a perforated barrier, with the statement of “to minimize water intrusion into the vent body” being interpreted as a statement of intended use, of which MPEP 2115 establishes that material or article worked on does not limit an apparatus claim provided the apparatus is capable of performing the claimed function. The claimed structure of the prior art is capable of performing the claimed function of minimizing water intrusion into the vent body); the perforated barrier comprising outer edges (see Annotated Figure 1); a hood (10, Fig. 5) defining a V-shape (see Annotated Figure 1) and comprising lateral side ends (see Annotated Figure 1), wherein the V-shape engages at the top of the vent body (see Annotated Figure 1), and wherein the lateral side ends engage the outer edges of the perforated barrier to contain the outer edges (see Annotated Figure 1); and
a baffle (82/84, Fig. 5) adjacent to the perforated barrier (Fig. 5) to further limit water intrusion into the vent body (Fig. 5 – the statement of “to further limit water intrusion into the vent body” is being interpreted as a statement of intended use, of which MPEP 2115 establishes that material or article worked on does not limit an apparatus claim provided the apparatus is capable of performing the claimed function. The claimed structure of the prior art is capable of performing the claimed function of further limiting water intrusion into the vent body).
However, Wolfert lacks showing a nonwoven polyester baffle.
Matsushita (JP07157960), a baffle used in buildings, is in the same field of endeavor as Wolfert which is a baffle used in buildings.
Matsushita teaches a nonwoven polyester baffle (¶0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the baffle of Wolfert to incorporate the teachings of the nonwoven polyester baffle of Matsushita, which would provide a nonwoven fabric for reinforcing asphalt roofing which has excellent processing operability in the manufacturing process of recyclable polyester asphalt roofing that is superior to conventional products (¶0005).
However, Wolfert lacks showing an indent at the top of the vent body.
Vallery (62/305,389), a roof ventilation system, is in the same field of endeavor as Wolfert which is a roof ventilation system.
Vallery teaches teaches an indent at the top of the vent body (see Annotated Figure 2 – the Merriam-Websters Dictionary defines Indent: “to force inward so as to form a depression”; the Examiner is taking the broadest reasonable interpretation to understand the identified element is an indent, formed at the top of the vent body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vent body of Wolfert to incorporate the teachings of the indent in the vent body of Vallery, which would facilitate a means for the vent body with an indention to provide adequate rigidity to support the cap weight and reinforce the roof with a separate rigid member laying therein (Page 2, Lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 9, Wolfert shows wherein the vent body comprises one or more flanges for attaching the UTRV to a roof deck (see Annotated Figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Wolfert shows wherein the top of the vent body defines a V- shaped cavity that receives the V-shape of the hood (see Annotated Figure 1).
However, Wolfert lacks showing an indent at the top of the vent body.
Vallery teaches an indent at the top of the vent body (see Annotated Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vent body of Wolfert to incorporate the teachings of the indent in the vent body of Vallery, which would facilitate a means for the vent body with an indentation to provide adequate rigidity to support the cap weight and reinforce the roof with a separate rigid member laying therein (Page 2, Lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 13, Wolfert shows further comprising a mortar stop (see Annotated Figure 1) for creating a seal to prevent water intrusion underneath the UTRV (see Annotated Figure 1 - the statement of “for creating a seal to prevent water intrusion underneath the UTRV” is being interpreted as a statement of intended use, of which MPEP 2115 states material or article worked on does not limit an apparatus claim provided the apparatus is capable of performing the claimed function. The claimed structure of the prior art is capable of performing the claimed function of creating a seal to prevent water intrusion underneath the UTRV, as the mortar stop creates a seal with the roof deck to prevent water intrusion underneath the device).
Regarding claim 14, Wolfert shows wherein the hood (10, Fig. 5) caps the baffle (see Annotated Figure 1 – the hood caps and encloses the baffle).
Regarding claim 15, Wolfert shows wherein the perforated barrier is coupled to the mortar stop (see Annotated Figure 1 – the perforated barrier 30 is coupled to the motor stop, as it is different elements of the same physical structure) and subsequently attached to the vent body (see Annotated Figure 1 – the perforated barrier is subsequently attached to the vent body 12).
Claims 10 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfert (US 4,325,290), in view of Matsushita et al (JPH07157690), hereinafter referred to as Matsushita, in further view of Vallery et al (63/305,389, dated 02/01/2022), hereinafter referred to as Vallery, in further view of Inokawa et al (US 4,545,292), hereinafter referred to as Inokawa.
Regarding claim 10, Wolfert shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 8 except further comprising a male flange configured to overlap an adjacent UTRV.
Inokawa (US 4,545,292), a roof ventilation device, is in the same field of endeavor as Wolfert which is a roof ventilation device.
Inokawa teaches a male flange (54, Fig. 9) configured to overlap an adjacent UTRV (B’, Fig. 9/10 – as the Applicant shows an adjacent vent for their claimed invention to have a male flange configured to overlap with said undisclosed adjacent vent, or UTRV, in their own Figures, as does Inokawa teach a male flange 54 configured to overlap a female end of an adjacent vent B’, or UTRV).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vent of Wolfert to incorporate the teachings of the male body extension flange of Inokawa, which would provide a way to connect adjacent vent sections in a water-tight manner, which would help prevent damage to property in case of a leak (Col. 4, Lines 30-33).
Regarding claim 11, Wolfert shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1 including the vent body.
However, Wolfert lacks showing further comprising an end brace attached to an interior of the vent body.
Inokawa teaches comprising an end brace (50, Fig. 9/10, Col. 4, Lines 22-24 – as the Applicant shows any end cap where element 1002 is identified in at least Fig. 19, as does Inokawa teach comprising an end brace 50) attached to an interior of the vent body (Fig. 9/10, Col. 4, Lines 22-24 elements 50 are attached to the interior of the vent body comprising of element 20 and 22/22’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vent body of Wolfert to incorporate the teachings of the end brace of Inokawa, which would provide end caps of a shape that fits the device accordingly to close the ends of the device, which would prevent foreign objects including weather elements and animals out of the interior of the device (Col. 3, Lines 46-53).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN L FAULKNER/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762